Apo Six: Trial of Policemen Accused of Killings Drags On. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 November 2011

Apo Six: Trial of Policemen Accused of Killings Drags On.

In 2005, five Abuja-based traders and a woman, were killed by some policemen. Six years later, their families are yet to get justice.

The trial of policemen accused of killing them began in January 2006 - almost six years later, the case is still in court and the families wonder if their killers will ever be brought to justice.

On June 7th 2005, Ifeanyi Ozo, Chinedu Meniru, Isaac Ekene, Paulinus Ogbonna, Anthony Nwokike (all motor spare parts traders at Apo Mechanic village) and Tina Arebun, all between 21 and 25 were returning from a night out in a Peugeot 406 when they were stopped at a police check point and executed. The lady who survived the shooting was later strangled at the police station.

The story we heard later was that one DCP Danjuma Ibrahim had met the men and Tina (who was a girlfriend to one of the men) at a club that night and made a pass at Tina, who refused his passes. Tina's BF apparently told the DCP off, words were exchanged and the men six friends left the fun spot. An apparently angry DCP chased after them in his car and radioed a check point to stop their vehicle. Six of them lost their lives that night and were labeled as armed robbers by the police until their families, witnesses, and some police men came out with what actually happened. You can read more about it HERE

So, the question now is, why is the case still in court? The trial of Deputy Commissioner of Police, Danjuma Ibrahim; Assistant Superintendent of Police Othman Abdulsalami (still at large) and corporals Nicholas Zacharia, Emmanuel Baba, Emmanuel Acheneje and Sadiq Salami has been on at a Federal Capital Territory High Court presided over by Justice Isaq Bello since 18 January 2006....November 2011, no justice.

Will the killers of this innocent people ever be brought to justice? Why is the courts prolonging the trial? Where are the perpetrators of this crime? 

8 comments:

Atobatele said...

When are we going to get it right in this country? What name can one give to this? since 2006 justice is yet to be done to the case and d criminals are still alive and still in service. No wonder you see them posing arranging their N50 collected on the road. Bunch of fools.

Ada said...

I have heard of police killins (mostly road killings) bt for them to strangle that woman @ their station, thats a whole new level of wickedness, they cant even claim accidental discharge/mistaken identity like they claim in their senseles road rampage...walahi, anyone who will join me in my campaign to erase the nigerian police force is welcome, cos as it stands- how much worse off can we be??? In my eastern home u're confined to ur compound, hearing gunshots everyday n night, fear wont let u enjoy d town freely, state of security is appaling at best....the police only exists to torture citizens - I SAY OFF THE THE ENTIRE NIG POLICE FORCE, EVERY MAN PROTECT URSELF, GOD PROTECT US ALL! TOO MUCH NONSENSE!!!

Ada said...

I DONT KNOW IF THIS IS USING GOD'S NAME IN VAIN, BUT GOD PUNISH THE KILLERS PLENTY, LONG SUFFERING BE WITH THEM AND FINALLY ERASE THEM FRO THIS EARTH TOO, AND THERE SHALL BE NO REMEMBRANCE OF THEM ANYWHERE! AMEN!

I was 22 when i first read about this & each time i come across it, i develop a deeper hatred for the Police Force. My conclusion is that, as far as Nigeria is concerned, 'Justice' is a word that appears only in the dictionary.
God is not silent on this matter. May their souls continue to rest in peace, amen.

Theresa said...

The justice system is pathetic in Nigeria and I guess the only way out is if people like you and I take a stand and petition it. I followed this story keenly when it happened, but got tired when i saw the way the case was handled. How about the NYSC members who were killed? We heard arrests were made, yet we have not heard of any prosecution. I am just waiting until their one-year anniversary when i hope to start a petition. The government foolishly thinks compensating families of victims is enough justice. Justice does not only punish the perpetrators, but warns other would-be murderers that they will not get away with their crimes. Is it any wonder that every day we hear of police men killing people over nothing or the north being a hell hole? Sadly anyone can be a target

grace said...

are u kidding me? God will punish them very well! i am beyond shocked so that DCP danjuma went scott free? nigeria is in trouble oo until the opressed rise up and fight against their oppressors then changes can take place! i weep for nigeria...thats how the olice is anyways i hate nigerian policemen with a strong passion..the hate is so deeep!

I thought nails wr driven into her nose as d story went coz for some reason, she refused 2 die. Imagine!!! Dis is so sad!!

sleekreek said...

I dont know if justice can prevail in dis country...what a pity???...may their souls RIP,,