Walk Against Rape/Violence Against Women | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 24 September 2011

Walk Against Rape/Violence Against Women

On Wednesday, October 5, 2011, Enough is Enough Nigeria, Project Alert, Rubies Ink, Delta Women, National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) along with several other civil society organizations and individuals will walk in several cities around Nigeria to raise awareness about violence against women in Nigeria, and in particular, demand action on the gang-rape of a young lady by five young men alleged to be students of Abia State University (ABSU).

The walk will take place in the following cities:
Abia: Walk will commence at the Okpara square in Umuahia, Abia state and conclude at the state house.
Lagos: Protest will hold at the Abia State Liaison Office in Victoria Island, Lagos.
Abuja : Protesters will converge at The Eagle Square

13 comments:

Ms Kemi Omololu-Olunloyo said...

Linda Ikeji has been very instrumental about these topics for a longtime. She is the Nigerian blogger that actually exposed the constant murder of Nigerian women by their spouses in the USA.

Linda we must all now band together in this problem of women's rights in Nigeria. Social media must not be a weapon to put us down. This was dispicable. Thank you for addressing this subject.

Tess said...

Bravo! An excellent step in the right direction. About time Nigerians start demanding responsible and accountable leadership. Our leaders better start listening. People are really getting tired of our self serving and greedy 'elected' rulers. Ekwusigom

soo happy about this...This is a bold step..and it will only keep getting better!!!We need to stand up and stamp the "bad's" out"!!!

Up till now Okonjo Iweala, Dora Akinyuli, Allison Maduekwe, Mrs Umblerra, and others have not made any official statement / comment concerning this issue, yet they are Igbo women. This is appalling. Abike Dabiri is the one who championed the cause.

good going!!!!!! I'm glad women are finally standing up for their own!

The gangrape of that student has angered me and the denial by the Abia state govt, the university authorities and the police even more so that i propose without mercy the the whole members of all three institutions be publicly executed!!

Tee said...

Good. Linda, biko, please update on the Abia 5. Sahara reporters say two guys have already been arrested in connection with the alleged rape.

Dee dee said...

We need more of this. Well done to these ladies and to you Linda for bringing these issues, that some would prefer to sweep under the carpet, to the forefront. God bless you and your efforts.

*ajalahtravel* said...

Good job linda....your blog nai bring those sub-humans to light.

*ajalahtravel*

Ade_Cool said...

About time too..better late than never!!

Theresa said...

Welldone project Alert, this is a very commendable action.

Does any one know how the victim is coping and how to send help to her.
Linda, I know u r busy enough but could you consider setting up on-line appeal funds for these victims. I think paypal may waive their fees if its for charity (im not 2 sure).

This is great news. It's about time Nigerian women and men began to stand up to the evil activities that are marring the Nigerian name the world over. Thank God for social media, thank God for the likes of Linda Ikeji. I live in Europe but will gladly contribute to any causes that help to eradicate the useless pieces of scum messing up the Nigerian name, and highlight the uselessness of the pathetic creeps that call themselves Nigerian leaders. This is the first of many great steps, in Jesus name.