High-heels for little children. Is it OK? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 24 September 2011

High-heels for little children. Is it OK?

Tom Cruise's daughter, Suri, in high heels

Parenting groups have criticized top retailers for selling high-heeled shoes for girls as young as three, claiming they encourage the sexualisation of children.

Rita O’Reilly, of Parentline.com said: ‘Parents need to say No. A child should be dressed as a child.
'Parents are dressing their children as adults if they are putting them in high heels. I wouldn’t consider it appropriate. We all wore our mother’s heels which is fine.

‘Putting children in adult clothing can sexualise them and make them grow up before their time. Also if you put a young child in heels then they are not able to swing on swings and skip, and other things children naturally do.’

What do you think?

30 comments:

y is that baby looking like a supermodel???? Oh my God! designer bag n heels

Dat kid might fall victim of sexual abuse if brought 2 9ja. She luk gud. Abeg make una no let dat little girl near Abia state o

franni said...

That picture looks like a paedophile's dream come true. Me no likey. *SMH slowly*.

livingstone said...

its not bad once they are tot how to carry their legs in it it has notin 2 do with sexuality

Tudbee said...

I think its overdoing it....the whole ensemble. First off, at that age she needs shoes that will support her ankles and growing feet. What happened to a pair of good old mary-janes. Why risk a future bad posture?

Secondly, why would i dress my little girl in clothes she cant run aouund or get dirty in. Thats the whole point of been a child. Abeg let them be kids and stop forcing them to grow too quickly.

methinks said...

pareke, arugbo je gbese ta ni osan. look at her looking all grown up, in fact she looks like a dwarf.

Kemiismyrealname said...

Ah beg free the Cruise's!!!!! They have made heels for little girls since time long gone!!!!! Disney have always sold princess slippers with a little heel for say 15 years now - I know that my daughters wore them so what? It is not the heels encouraging pedophiles.

If an adult has a liking for little children it is not their dress or conduct that will entice him/her to them. The person is just sick. It is for parents to watch their children and know what is in the best interest for their child.

I appreciate what these different 'child watch' groups are trying to prevent, but people should mind their business.

I do not agree with this i think those heels are okay on a kid if a lot of you look up your baby pictures im sure you would find similar shoes maybe not as expensive but similar. As far as im concerned those shoes look like they were made for a kid the only reason why that picture is under so much scrutiny is because she is the offspring of a movie star.Yes the shoes my be an expensive pair but if you could afford it would you not spend that much on your child too? Maybe she could have been dressed in a less flamboyant colour but besides that i personally think people are just being JUDGMENTAL!!!!

Deep Soul said...

Minus d "sexuality" issue, my bother is growth impairment that might be caused by d strain on their legs. U know how we say in 9ja that if a kid carries too many buckets of water on his or her head, growth is stunted. My "opinion" may be baseless. But surely, there shd be a health concern...?

if she's wearing heels now,wat is she gonna wear wen she's all grown up.i think there is a tyme for everitin....

Quinzie said...

dat grl is looking gud....@ a young age u need 2 teach dem hw 2 dress...

bibi said...

she looks inviting dressed like that i almost forgot she is a kid...my bad!!!the heel is not too high but it starts gradually...when pple start to bye it,the next thing they produce very high ones trust me...anything to make money ,poor child!!!

Esther said...

It is not good for them. It's not even about sex or what have you. They'll have a lifetime to make that choice. Why start paying money to a podiatrist that early? Even adults who wear heels know how much damage they can cause.

umm.. those shoes have been out since were were young. Most kids shoes have been like that. Sooo what's the opla cause Suri Cruise is wearing it??? please. Next!

Keji said...

Abeg jo! Is it the girls that wear aunty-gimme-cake that don't get molested? I dressed like this when I was young and the only diff is that they were called "princess shoes" and I know I felt like a little princess when I wore it so free them.

Mother Xmas said...

Please we all wore koin koin shoes as babies...unless u grew up in d village.... Even village children wore koin koin shoes.. Abeg there is nothing wrong with d picture

Yes said...

What is wrong with what she wore....absolutely nothing!!

The heels are balanced and girly..she looks like she is happy and loved , having the time of her life....happy for them.

Nothing wrong with the shoes. I won't even call these heels. They were out a long time ago. wore them as a child

Miss E said...

The heel is not as high as I thought, even though her shoes look more adult than girlish. But she looks like a miniature adult in the whole ensemble.
Heels with shoes for Kids IS IN NIGERIA and LAGOS, I've seen covered black shoes with heels in a popular lagos market on the Island when I went to shop.

CLF said...

Suri Cruise; they say she has a brain of a woman. She also loves her make-up, nail varnish and Jimmy Choo shoes. Scientologists? At best, they are dysfunctional!

I can barely walk in high heels right now. I own a gazillion pairs but 3 hours is ma elastic limit. I sometimes wish I started wearing heels earlier. Kids have always had high heels. Y is this news? As long as they don't wear it 2 school and for play dates I'd say "Bravo!" "Nice one!" whenever I have her, ma little girl is gonna be stuntin in those babies ;)

Latest free browsing said...

This is really getting out of hands,but what do i say?
After all,we're in a civilized world.
Freebrowsingtime.blogspot.com

i kinda agree...its unfair on the child. in any case...Suri's feets are are cute in her shoes. i wont put my daughter in heels tho,i will let her enjoy her comfy colourful pink fluffs or whatever.

I realy dnt see anythn wrong wif wat she's wearn.she looks gud!!!!wnt mind dressn ma daughter up like dat 1bit.

im sure Suri doesnt dress like this when she is at home playing or going to the park or when she has a sleep over for that matter, all kids dress up when they are going out, i think Suri is just color coordinated. As for people that molest young children, havent you heard that even infants are victims? I would totally dress my baby like this end of story.

those shoes look like any other pair of kiddie shoes!

dis pic actually luks lyk a pedophile took it. n she may fall victim of sexual abuse if care is nt taken. d world is no longer wat it used 2 b, kids are put in spotlight 4 all d wrong reasons which will attract all kinds of animals. yes, lil gels wore heels bak in d days n still lukd innocent, bt Suri luks old bt yet she's a child. society is messed up...

she looks like someone going to work or better still one who has missed a very important appointment. She looks so worried and overgrown in the jacket. abeg free the little girl. get her a child's gown!

Men people are just so damn quick in judging others as long as dey r not affected party. Pls if we r rily bin sincere with ourselves we would know that those shoes av bin in existence like forever. There is nothin sexual abt dem we just kip givin these pedophiles excuses to be one. They r pedophiles so regardless of what a child may wear or not wear its already in their psyche to be one. Pls let's cut these celebs a slack n give dem a chance to raise their kids their own way. We r not all perfect so there should be room for mistakes in their lives. Just sayin.

I will readily dress my little girl like this, when I am going to my office with her, or when she is going to daddy's office.