Georgia State executes Troy Davis | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 September 2011

Georgia State executes Troy Davis

Update: Georgia has executed convicted murderer Troy Davis. He was put to death by lethal injection last night at a prison in central Georgia for the murder of a police officer in 1989.

His execution was delayed by more than four hours as the U.S. Supreme Court considered whether to issue a stay. They didn't. Sad. May he RIP.

21 comments:

This is absolute wickedness. This guy was innocent. At a time when United States are advocating the abolishment of death penalty, they are still practicing this barbaric act. What moral right do they (U.S) have in judging countries who still practice capital punishment such as China, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Malaysia, UAE, etc.?

Twitter>> awolam

This kind of punishment should be carried out on CORRUPT public office holders in Nigeria. They have killed and impoverished millions of hapless citizens with their loots.

devour said...

you ar talkin cos its not ur father,brother,husband dat was killed

People shouldn't get too sentimental about Troy Davis. The same day of the murder, he was involved in shooting someone in a moving car and was one of three people pistol whipping a homeless man. It is entirely possible that he was the assailant in all 3 incidences of violence that night or an accomplice. They did not pick some random black guy and try him for the murder, he was very involved.

Nkeiru said...

N

Nkeiru said...

This is so so sad. R.I.P

Allegra said...

Although he could not prove his innocence, neither could the courts prove he was guilty beyond reasonable doubt. This then means a life has been taken on a probability.......well, this does not resolve anything.

CLF said...

The case for this guy was so strong and i believe he didn't do it. Sad! He won't be the first or last person that's wrongly accused and sent to death via the death penalty.

This so sad, no man has right to hake a life that he didn't create. But I have a conviction that God will visit America soon. Just one plague. it is very barbaric and sure he will rest well.

1976AD.com said...

Lol. Some of you are funny. Talking as if the cops picked an innocent man of the street, the courts tried an innocent man, the jury convicted an innocent man, and the state executed an innocent man.

This did not happen, as far as the system is concerned he was guilty, and everything was done by the book, as validated even by the supreme court.

May God have mercy on his soul.

the white enchantress said...

since he is not the last person nor the first to be accused,i guarantee them and everyone involved in such.... may they and their future generations neva find rest.....Lord heap hot coals upon their head..... e don pain me pass walahi.

Anonymous 9.07am you must really b a sadist or miserable in your life to b wishing death on your fellow human. Am sure when u r in that position u will do worse. Be careful wat u wish on others cos it might come bck to you. Heartless u!

They let casey anthony go free but kill troy. hhhmmmmm

victoria said...

the law says its better to let a guilty person go free than condemn an innocent person.I believe there must be a strong reason for condemning him after 20 years of trail but even after the lethal injection the guy still says he is innocent,I mean only God knows.

Bee said...

Well truth is he may have been guilty or innocent. Only him and the cop can say so 100%. However there was reasonable doubt, life in prison would have sufficed. Now his life has been taken, if new evidence comes up, all they can say to the family is sorry.

Troy Davis is Black. Officer McPhail is White. This happened in the southern state of Georgia. Seven out of nine witnesses recanted their testimonies. Black life means nothing in America!

Nigerian Money Discussions said...

They shouldn't have killed him. A life imprisonment sentence would have been more appropriate in the circumstances.

Son of Babylon said...

He got what he deserved and I really have no idea what all these people are talking about. When these miscreants go ahead and get guns and feel like they are gangstas and start shooting people left and right, this is what happens to them. Young black men in USA have lost their damn minds and we need more death row cases like this to show them that all that gang shit leads to nowhere but the grave or jail.

A few years ago, a similar case happened in Texas and the dude was executed even with all the hoopla and protest. USA don't give a shit about black men but yet these kids go around committing crimes instead of going to school.

@1976AD.com and everyother mufu that think Troy Davis is guilty, you need to have ur head examine. I schooled in a little town called Mount Vernon, GA it is about 2 hour away from Troy's city and if you are a black person and you get accused of killing a white person, trust me you don't get a fair trial not to talk of killing a cop. The person that named Troy as the suspect was the Cole(the guy fighting with the homeless guy)who many believed did the killing. Coles own the same type of weapon used to kill Officer MacPhail. Why wasn't Cole examined? I have never heard of a court system that tell an accused to prove his or her innocence himself. It is the duty of any court system to prove an accused innocence or guilty beyond reasonable doubt but that wasn't done in this case. Out of the 9 eye witnesses, 7 recounted their stories that they were coerced under duress by the police to implicate Troy. The only two that didn't recount their stories is Coles( who named Troy as the suspect and believed to have done the shooting)and third guy who was with Troy and Coles in the night of the shooting (whose name i can't remember). With that many doubts, the case should have been reopened.

Am in agreement with Anonymous 9:11am, people are too quick to pull up the race card. This wasn't just a random person pulled off the street, several evidence and witnesses place him at the crime scene. Prior to the homicide incident he already shot someone earlier the same day and several witness placed him at the scene of the shooting (including his friends). FYI, the people that testified against him were Blacks not white. And there were 7 Blacks in a Jury of 12. They could have given him a lighter sentence, but in the end they all felt he was guilt and did him in.

@ Anon 9:11am, U said he was "heavily" involved. Please were u there the day of the shooting and did u witness him commit the crime??? Just because u read or heard it on the news don't mean it is true. God alone knows the truth. All i can say is may his soul Rest in peace!