Bola Tinubu on trial for having 10 foreign accounts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 September 2011

Bola Tinubu on trial for having 10 foreign accounts

So our dear ex-Gov of Lagos State, Bola Tinubu stood trial today in Abuja for allegedly operating 10 foreign accounts while he was serving as governor, which is contrary to provisions of the law. (The case was adjourned to sometime in Oct). It was a suit brought on by the Code of Conduct Bureau.

And here's a statement he made: “They said I operated foreign accounts, they are yet to provide evidence I used state funds in operating foreign accounts” Ex Governor Bola Tinubu

So what he is saying in essence is that, he actually has several foreign accounts but didn't open them with state funds?

29 comments:

Bola Tinubu is a thief.

Whether it was selling out MKO Abiola to Abacha, or selling our Nuhu to PDP, the man is a rogue.

This case has merit. Tinubu has holdings in the USA in names other than his. It takes nothing to incorporate a company here, if they really want to see what he has, they need to check out the assets and bank accounts of the companies he has incorporated here.

1976AD.com said...

Lol. Yet some will compare him to Awo...

He seems to be missing the point. Even if he didn't use State funds, he should not have operated the accounts. That would make him guilty. Of course, I am tempted to mention that even the current president hasn't declared his assets. That is also against the code. So there is no moral basis for a case against BAT. Not to add that the more obvious cases of our dear friends who looted Oyo and Ogun and are walking free...

I'm not supporting Bola Tinubu. I'm don't care if he goes to jail. But I do care that our 'justice' system really is a tool of intimidation and subjection. That's the worst crime a government can commit.

dkatiya photography said...

Please note this, and a point of correction Bola Tinubu was not in a trail, he was arraigned and the charges were not even read to him today. the adjournment till oct 26th is to determine if the tribunal has the jurisdiction to listen to the petition, then subsequently
charge him and a trail can start.

Son of Babylon said...

This is one of the dumbest cases i have ever heard of in my life. First of all, the accounts were in Yankee and London, so those banks can provide us with every single thing that happened on those accounts between 1999 and 2007. If there was any activity period whether it was state funds or not, then he is guilty. The rule of law States that a sitting governor cannot have active foreign accounts so unless all those accounts were dormant, then he is guilty.

Trust me, USA don't lie or cover for anybody so why has the investigation taken 4 years to conclude?

PDP wants to lock him up so they can try and win Lagos in 2015. It's so clear what their motive is.

Fake Awo is so daft....how can he then be like Awo....mschewwwww!

deeflamez said...

Anon 11:13PM i strongly agree with you.

Let's not forget that this same man was a business man before he became Governor and all the accounts he opened were in his name (not even an attempt to cover up). I am not supporting him,but just for you to know he ran them as business accounts,and must his business suffer just because he became Governor? *just asking*...cos a "thief" who wishes to run foreign accounts before>in>outside office won't leave his accounts traceable to him,there was NO attempt of cover up in these accounts. (I foresee him walking free, unless th Justce System has acually been paid off)

And that comes to the question of: What's being done about the PDP looters; BankOLE, Gbenga Daniel and Alao Akala? GEJ is also a big thief for not declaring his asset which we all know is unconstitutional.

deeflamez said...

...And let me quickly add...even Awo's hands weren't clean. He ran many foreign accounts, many of which were frozen after his death since he the accounts couldn't be linked to him. Swiss Bank appreciates the gesture of being DASHED ghost money #shikena.

He was only imortalised based on his contribution to the Nation not his 'holiness' (which never happened). He struck many foreign deals,many of which are still feeding his family till today.

*we only see a thief in whom we want to, not who actually is*

In Tinubu's time the Lagos State account was very healthy and investigations said there was 'absolutely nothing amiss' as at the end of of his tenure. Let's not forget this man also did his best by putting Lagos State together when it could have suffered as a result of 'bullying' by the then OBJ administration withholding revenue allocation meant for Lagos State. (Can you imagine a President that does that?) Yet Lagos State still turned out best amongst all. He aint no Saint but there definitely aint no proof he's done anything 'wrong' *so let's sit back & watch as we see TACTICS unfold*

Galore said...

I saw Bola Tinubu sitted there like Chicken wen heavy rain don beats....Baba chain-smoker,,,,Baba Ojuyobo,,,,No immunity for you oo dis time around.....I saw Bola Tinubu sitted there like Chicken wen heavy rain don beats....Baba chain-smoker,,,,Baba Ojuyobo,,,,No immunity for you oo dis time around.....

So how exactly did he fund those accounts? He is a big part of why Lagos isnt going forward!

Femillionaire said...

Don't know where some people got it from that the President is yet to declare his assets... Before anybody can be eligible to contest any political election in Nigeria, such a person must file his or her (got to be politically correct before Linda and a horde of women libbers take of my neck)assets with the code of conduct tribunal and not to the public. I am quite sure that the president did this... Declaring your assets publicly (hmm .. wonder what means for a babe, na yoke i dey yoke o) is just playing to the gallery as we saw UMYA do. His assets kept increasing exponentially from the time he first became the governor of Katsina to when he got to the Presidency, yet, nobody asked any questions per the magic.

Linda, you don fall my hand small o... It is "adjourned" and not "adjoined"...

Is it ur money that he used? Are u a tax payer? Abeg joh....... All of u that complain, end up doing the same thing when u get there. Or even worse!!!

CLF said...

It's just so political......

Mmakamba said...

at anon 9.25 sept 22 the fact that we would do d same doesnt justify the matter on ground.its a matter of responsibility.whether we pay tax or not, we as citizens of the country should benefit from being a Nigerian.

Femillionaire said...

Don't know where some people got it from that the President is yet to declare his assets... Before anybody can be eligible to contest any political election in Nigeria, such a person must file his or her (got to be politically correct before Linda and a horde of women libbers take of my neck)assets with the code of conduct tribunal and not to the public. I am quite sure that the president did this... Declaring your assets publicly (hmm .. wonder what means for a babe, na yoke i dey yoke o) is just playing to the gallery as we saw UMYA do. His assets kept increasing exponentially from the time he first became the governor of Katsina to when he got to the Presidency, yet, nobody asked any questions per the magic.

Linda, you don fall my hand small o... It is "adjourned" and not "adjoined"...

Bola Tinubu is a thief. I know this for sure because i am an employee of a Lagos State parastatal and beliven me the man is greedy. Him and his cabinet should be locked up for life....how do you explain Dayo Mobereola of LAMATA having over 15 cars parked in his house!

Of the accounts listed in the case charge sheet, more than half were in the name of his wife and daughters. He had said that they were opened and used when he was living in exile in the UK and US. He was using them to fund his daughters' school fees and other domestic amounts.

I think it will be best to have a transcript of the accounts statements from inception till date particularly for the period from 1999 to 2007.

These accounts were opened long before he became Governor.

More importantly though, is the fact that it will be foolhardy to expect a man who was the Treasurer of a big multinational company like Mobil would not know how to move money offshore. These companies are known to have perfected the art of tax-dodging.

This case is Dead On Arrival.

Who wan bet?

N.I.M.M.O

My God too many Hypocrites!! God will judge all of you that just sit here and abuse people everyday. Including you Linda. To you its fun but ur own day is just around the corner. God is watching you trust me. Better post this. Mschewwwww

o lee ni man yiii jooo! y cant he declare his assets before becoming d Gov. i beg make the m collect the money make dem use am build 4th mainland bridge.

Thief, No other name to call him but a THIEF!

Whoever that is tired of Linda's blog should please create his/her own or better still dont log on to her blog. our leaders are so wicked and inhuman, this money wld have bin use to fix our decay infrastructures but they prefer leaving it in foreign banks accounts and the whites will be using d money to develope their economy. God will judge them.

tayo said...

This is really funny, so the almighty tinubu cant even deny operating foreign accounts. but i hope this wouldnt be the end of this very case. they aklways have their way out. greedy old men.

It obviously has political undertone. its just a strategy for the PDP thieves to capture the west. God pass them

Let us not be fooled by other PDP leaders. Is Tinubu the only ex gov with a foreing accounts? They are only attacking him because PDP knows that he controls Lagos state and they want get their paws on the revenue from Lagos state.

I know that Tinubu is no Saint but I will pick him ten times over than any PDP member who is going to be controlled by any northern leaders sponsoring boko haram.

PDP had their chance to fix Lagos state and they lost out. Let us not be swayed by all this. If justices is to be severed let it start from the top and I mean from people like IBB.

Tinubu is a theif yes. But he allowed a man like fashola to come into power. THE DEVIL YOU KNOW IS BETTER.

If PDP want to get Lagos back, let them start by fixing the other states that they have control over.

Until then they can forget it.

ALL OF UNA HERE BE TIFFF!! UNA SEF O DO WORSE WHEN GIVEN THE CHANCE TO!! AWON OLE GBOGBO!! OLEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fellow nigerians am not suprise about the allegation,can you in ur wildest imagination compare tinubu 8years rule of lagos with fasholas 4years,forget sentiments its like comparing sleep and death.Fellow nigerians am not suprise about the allegation,can you in ur wildest imagination compare tinubu 8years rule of lagos with fasholas 4years,forget sentiments its like comparing sleep and death.

Anon,sept 22 8.45,u obviosly don't even leav in lagos.openin ur maggot infested mouth and talkin crap bout ish u don't no...let me skul u a bit olodo...lagos is working!fashola is working!tinubu paved d way