"For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When The Rainbow Is Enuf" out Nov 11 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 2 September 2010

"For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When The Rainbow Is Enuf" out Nov 11

Tyler Perry's production of 'For Colored Girls who have Considered Suicide when the Rainbow is Enuf' was supposed to open during Martin Luther King Holiday weekend 2011, but Tyler pushed the date up so he could be considered during this year's award season. The new opening date is November 5.

What the heck kind of title is "For Colored Girls who have Considered Suicide when the Rainbow is Enuf"?
What's the literal meaning? I read literature in school but this one pass me...
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

7 comments:

skankmypeaceofmind said...

my dear as far as na TYLER PERRY i no dey watch. eh no dey ever do better thing. always telling the whole world that African american women are crazy and the men are losers.

blackgold said...

@ skank ,i have never come out from watching any of Tyler Perry movies and felt what you said rather i come out knowing that African American women are strong and there are good brothers out there.
DIARY OF A MAD BLACK WOMAN had no crazy woman and only the husband was a loser,who later changed.That is not the case in DADDIES LITTLE GIRLS,MADEAS FAMILY REUNION,MADEA GOES TO JAIL,WHY DID I GET MARRIED,WHY DID I GET MARRIED TOO,I CAN DO BAD ALL BY MYSELF,MEET THE BROWNS or PRECIOUS, all these are his movies and they don't tell the story you say they do.
The title of this one speculative but i do trust him to bring out an inspiring film

@ Skank, i beg to differ, he portrays the reality of African American.The good, the bad & the ugly.

I LOVE YOU TYLER PERRY

I CANT WAIT TO WATCH THIS

THERE IS ALWAYS SOMETING TO LEARN

@SKANKMYPEACEOFMIND NA WA FOR YOU

Uche (@UcheAnne) said...

I dont get the title, but I know as long as it's Tyler Perry, it will rock. Don't even know what Skank is talking about. I get the exact opposite feel from his movies. The guy is just too much, and then some!

Hey Linda,
Google the title and you would read all about the book/play. It won a Tony award in 1977.It isn't originally from Tyler. I am so sure it would be realllllly good. He holds his own,

You know, when the stars are gloomy and one has had enough. Something of that nature. Tyler Perry is good though.