Nigerian professor, Dubem Okafor kills wife, self in US | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 August 2010

Nigerian professor, Dubem Okafor kills wife, self in US

Chukwudubem Okafor and his wife Cheryl

One of Nigeria’s most respected poet and professor of English and Literature, Dubem Okafor is dead.  He died last Sunday in the United States after shooting his wife Cheryl 37.

Read more >>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reports and calls from the US say Okafor, 64,  cousin to the late poet, Christopher Okigbo apparently distraught his wife had left him a few days earlier, arranged to meet her at his sister’s Reading home, Pennsylvania, where he shot her several times and himself once in the head at 3:45 p.m. Sunday, police said.

A small-caliber handgun was found near the bodies, police said. The Berks County coroner declared her death a homicide and his death a suicide.

Chukwudubem A. Okafor, 64, an associate professor of English at Kutztown University, was said to have shot his wife, Cheryl V., 37, who was an artist, several times Sunday afternoon and turned the gun on himself shortly after they arrived separately at the home of his sister, Patricia Ofilin, in the 300 block of Pear Street, investigators said.

Source: Vanguard Newspapers

11 comments:

Dith said...

This is getting very strange! If America frustrates u that much, GO BACK HOME! Nigerians are not known to be suicidal. My gosh!

Selfish bastard. She doesn't want him anymore so he'll make sure no one will ever have her. I hope he rots in hell.

This is strange....there is more to this story....very strange indeed! not like nigerians...it's a case of love gone sour...she is much younger than him...let me wait for more info...

preye said...

i completely agree with @ Dith.

na wa o. na the bad things some people dey learn quick quick! this is just so tragic

skankmypeaceofmind said...

so na this wan dem dey go learn for obodo oyibo?
Nigerians would never cease to be brainless and spineless.

Dubem Okafor, i hope say you know say na the descen-sion go happen to you?

http://www.sentinelpoetry.org.uk/no.61/interviews/dubem_okafor.htm
Why would a world class intellectual talent in the sphere of literature allow his emotions to overwhelm him to disastrous action? This surely ain't love..Sad...

Literatue=creative soul=tortured minds....

I have never heard of him as a poet until now. He could not be that famous at all until now.

I had the pleasure of having Professor Okafor as my African Novel Professor this past semester. It is truly a tradegy that when a person refers to him now his name will forever be tainted with this horrible event. Both Professor Okafor and his wife have done very great and honorable work with in the city of Reading so please help address that too so it too first get lost in the aftermath of this tradegy. I pray for their families in this difficult time.

This boils down to the fact that the fear of God is the beginning of wisdom & that unless the Lord builds the house we are wasting our time. He is well-read with a doctorate in Humanities? Yet, he was over-powered by his emotions?
How about Cheryl? Could something that resulted from age difference and her attractive physical personality have caused something that stimulated Dubem's jealousy? Previous marriage should been a good teacher? But who knows what happened. Genuine fear of God would have prevented this tragic incident! By the way, Dubem is from my own very city in Nigeria and our people do not do this kind of thing. Oh God!