Attorney General won't prosecute Yerima | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 August 2010

Attorney General won't prosecute Yerima

The Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Muhammed Bello-Adoke has said he has no power to prosecute former Zamfara State governor, Ahmed Yerima over his marriage to a minor. He, however, admitted as immoral, Yerima’s marriage to the 14-year-old Egyptian.

Read more >>
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The AGF, who made the remarks when he paid a courtesy call on the Minister of Information and Communication, Professor Dora Akunyili in Abuja yesterday, however said, “even though, there have been questions here and there over Yerima’s action, all I can say is that it was an immoral act.” Adoke, who disclosed that the visit was to congratulate Akunyili for her good work, riterated his commitment to upholding the rule of law saying, “I’m ready to be attacked or sacked.”

Commenting on the controversial issue of the Vaswani Brothers, Adoke who said he did not withdraw their case, however stated that they were deported through court orders. “Of course, they have been in this country for the past 40 years and have created jobs for about 40,000 people. “I have been hearing a lot of things about the Vaswani issue but I am not ready to listen to critics because they destroy to build. “I am ready to be attacked and sacked for doing the right thing and not ready to do any wrong to impress anybody. I am not ready to compromise the reputation I have built for years,” he said.

Speaking on how he will use his office to fight against rape of young girls in Nigeria, Adoke said he had a meeting with the Nigerian Reform Commission recently and they are mapping out strategies to put an end to the menace. “In no distant time, we will come out with a proper solution. We shall look for a better way of sanctioning culprits,” he remarked. On the controversial zoning issue, Adoke said it is a private arrangement of a particular political party and the requirements are very clear. “Zoning is not part of the constitution,” he concluded.

Responding, Akunyili said Adoke has been described as an incorruptible Nigerian. “He is somebody I have always admire even before he came into the cabinet. This is the report I want to hear about every Nigerian.” Akunyili further congratulated Adoke for the good name he had brought into the Ministry of Justice and for his commitment and loyalty to his duties.

Source: The Sun Newspaper

3 comments:

they need to put proper child protection rights in place. i knew they wouldn't do anything to yerima. some people are able to make their own laws in nigeria. na wa o

skankmypeaceofmind said...

spineless-ness in control.

CHILD FUCKER would be so proud of his PERVERT self. who could blame him huh? when the Nigerian judiciary is scared of the Muslims?

wow a chance to prove we are a bit forward...but no...nigeria has claimed it is ok for men to fuck 13 year old girls...nigeria does not care about the rights of the 13year old girl and instead allows the 'important people' to break the law........whats the use of perscuting the likes of ibru and ibori.....if senators can marry and sleep with children..because of indisciplined, greedy, selfish people like yerima, we are a failed state!