Assemblies of God Church calls off wedding at the altar! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 August 2010

Assemblies of God Church calls off wedding at the altar!

The Church was already filled to capacity. The invited guests, family members  and well wishers were seated and waiting. Then the bombshell! The pastor mounted the pulpit, collected the microphone, cleared his throat and said that the wedding could no longer go on!

Read more >>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The above befell Peter and Mercy on Sat. Aug 14, 2010 at the Assemblies of God Church, Ojodu Berger, Ikeja, Lagos. And the reason was that the bride was suspected to be pregnant.

Which perhaps explains why in spite of having undergone a pregnancy test prior to that day, the lady was again whisked away from the church after the wedding was called off to undergo yet another pregnancy test. But this time in a different hospital. The wedding guests were asked to go home.

The bride was said to be devastated and embarrassed and the couple started trading blame as to what prompted their choosing the church in the first place. The bulk of the blame, however, was later heaped at the doorstep of the grooms mother who worships there. It was also gathered that what further ruined their day was the fact that the pastor who had earlier given them the go-ahead for the wedding was not present when the wedding was supposed to take place, as it was a new pastor that came to officiate the wedding.

Assemblies of God Church headed by Rev Ogbonna Osueke does not support sex before marriage.

Source: Encomium Magazine

19 comments:

Tee said...

EHN?!?! Kai!!!

which kain nonsense be that one????? how can they humiliate the couple like that and waste everybody's time??? na wa o naija

hahahhahahh STUFF LIKE THIS HAPPENS ONLY IN NIGERIA AND AFRICA..mesef no di MARRY inside church...weither she is pregnant or not' hows that their business...are they GOD?? THATS WHY I SAY UNEDUCATED CHRISTAINS HAPPEN TO BE THE MOST JUDGMENTAL....POOR COUPLES..TAKE HEART..

Alabi Oluwasegun Leo said...

The couple can never claim not to know what obtains in the church, it is the church's doctrine why did the couple in the first place lied about it.......they should have gone for court wedding, traditional wedding or whatever. The problem usually is wanting to do societal wedding, I think there is need for young people to have a re-think. The church to me is not at fault but the couple.

concur with ALABI...would have avoided this embarassment!..what a pity...not to late, they hould go to court.

for one to do the will of God ,he must displease people. Come to think of it, why must u have sex or get pregnant before marriage.Bible preach against it and God does not approve of it.

Dith said...

Only in Nigeria! They had better start conducting virginity tests as well. Bloody hypocrites.

agree with $Dith. hypocrites!

Like Alabi said, its the couples fault......they should have known the type of church they were going to and adhered to all their bloody rules. However that pastor is very wicked, he didnt even consider the money that had been spent for that day, and just wasted every thing.
This hypocrisy practise by churches will soon see couples no longer getting married in churches.
hope there is a way they cansue that pastor....

u concur and stay or bcom a non-adherent and get out.Bible believing churches have there standards and these standards are God ordained...marriage is honourable, the bed undefiled...a pregnant lady is wed only in a dead church. God frowns at pre-marital sex. if u're o.k wt d standard,stay if u're not,leave.the couple knew d church standard n still decided to go against it...thumbs up assemblies of God church

skankmypeaceofmind said...

its simple; the couple knew the rules but decided to be stupid about it. there are churches you can get away with this pregnancy stuff and there are churches you can't and this church happens to be one of them.
the problem with Nigeria is the crowd mentality bull crap that is going round. not everybody should wed in a church and not everybody needs pastor to wed. if you want to marry in a church like this one for example, there a strict rules to follow and being pregnant is not part of the plan meaning you have to follow the rules in order to prevent disgrace.

i feel sorry for them though. this should serve as a warning to others, you don't need a church to bless your marriage for it to work or for you to be married. marriage is about you and the person you love. so if you want to be married in your living room its still a wedding. its not about some egotistical maniac who calls himself a PASTOR.

Vanity said...

Um all of you blaming the couple and saying it's the churchs rules did you not read that she had undergone a pregnancy test the day before? If it's the church's rules why didn't they say so before the wedding and do all that hoo-ha before the wedding?

CC said...

So she already took a pregnancy test that came up negative, but the Pastor knew she was pregnant? Why didn't they just have her pee on a stick? Abeg I think the MIL had everything to do with the embarrassment.

People should stop critising the poor couple. They did the pregnant test required before their wedding. Beside who are we mortals to judge, the Psalmist says: "If you o God should count on our sins, Who will survives"

My question on this type of issue is always - is it the unborn child that is the sin or the act that led to the conception? But it is obvious the act is the sin and how people can swear that they have not had sex before Marriage.

histreasure said...

it's reported that they did the pregnancy test.nrmally these churches have their designated labs for these tests so whse fauults was this? like already said, 'why didnt they just ask her to pee on a stick to confirm?' i mean it's takes 5 mins max.

i've seen something like this b4 , same church and i think it's bull (at the end, the lady in question wasn't pregnant and all they dis was aplogise) tho her family had rallied around, gotten a hall and a pastor and still celebrated the wedding.they started at about 2pm and babe danced her heart out)

I feel sorry for the couple.However, just because a pregnancy test comes up negative does not mean that the intending couple have not tasted the forbidden fruit. Virginity tests should be carried out on both the man and the woman and then we'll see how many people can get married in a church. He who is without sin should cast the first stone.

UP YOU AG 4 LIFE U DID THE RIGHT THING THUMBS UP?!!!

UP YOU AG 4 LIFE YOU DID THE RIGHT THING THUMBS UP !!!