Myne Whitman's 'A Heart To Mend' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 5 January 2010

Myne Whitman's 'A Heart To Mend'

Nigerian author Myne Whitman has written a captivating first novel that presents the gripping tale of a young woman finding her feet in the world and how her life intersects with that of the wealthy egoist she meets. This main story line runs through the subplots of a tear-soaked family reunion and high-powered company acquisitions.

A HEART TO MEND narrates the relationship between Gladys and Edward and offers a unique reading experience. Direct and action packed, the masterful use of emotion and suspense will keep readers totally engrossed and guessing till the end.

Sheltered Gladys Eborah has spent most of her life in a suburb of Enugu brought up in a deprived single parent household after losing her father as a young girl. After finishing her education, she moves to Lagos to seek a job and moves in with an estranged aunt who now wants to be forgiven for all perceived wrongs. Gladys suspects Aunt Isioma abandoned them out of disdain for their poverty, and has the uneasy role of the bridge between both families.

Her new friendships and career achievements gradually transition Gladys into an independent young woman. Soon, she begins to fall for wealthy Edward Bestman who, though physically attracted to her, is emotionally unavailable. Edward is very wealthy, but he is haunted by the past of his illegitimate birth and other secrets he will not share.

The themes of premarital sex, social class mobility, and romantic ups and downs that mark a budding love are fully explored. However, Myne Whitman takes the story even further. Some unnamed people are about to take over Edward’s business empire and Gladys is implicated. Who are these people who want to betray him and destroy their happiness?

A HEART TO MEND will bring tears to the eyes and cheers at the end especially for those who have experienced the search for a career or tumultuous family and emotional relationships. Readers will be pleasantly surprised by the description of Lagos, the Nigerian stock market, and other business intrigues.

About the Author:

Myne Whitman grew up in Enugu, Nigeria, studying a lot, reading everything she could lay her hands on, and playing the rest of the time. She describes herself as friendly, caring and fun-loving. Though quiet and laid-back, she likes a good debate once in a while. She has been a teacher, NGO consultant, banker, skate-hire attendant, researcher and Scottish government worker. After a postgrad degree and a few years in Edinburgh, Scotland, she now lives in the United States with her husband. More information is on her Blog, Facebook and Twitter.

7 comments:

Dith said...

Myne the lovely blogger.

All d best honey!!

doll (retired blogger) said...

Myne all the best....

yaaaay another Nigerian contemporary author, I love it! As much as I love our critically acclaimed authors, who write about really deep meaningful, thought provoking educational subject matters, sometimes I just want to pick up a book and be entertained by characters who I have something more than the color of my skin in common with.

I will be ordering this book now. Congrats to the author, I hope another one is its way already.

Myne said...

Thank you Linda, I almost missed this!

Not meaning to sound like a bitch
but what the fekking fek with all these 'proper African' looking female authors, using 'oyibo african looking ladies as their cover picture?

Thats selling out! Black girls have it tough in the market as it is. We are almost invisible compared to north african types or mixed race et al, kinda like we dont exist, without one that looks exactly like us selling out jare

Apart from that great Job my sister, please keep it up! :)

Sefi Atta is amazing, she has won so many awards.

every good thing will come is a great book every one should read.

mimi

it seems repetitive.african writers that arent known seem to do that

toni kan

sarah lapido manyinka

and sefi atta is definitely amazing.