Naija Gists/Gossip | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 August 2007

Naija Gists/Gossip

Let me start by apologising to two of my ardent readers I offended. Nma and Damilola...sorry sweets...I don't like it when people are mad at me, especially when they're I'm wrong...I've said it a few times that I can be pretty annoying sometimes...if any of my post really piss you off, just think of my other nice posts and smile for me ok? Kisses!

Ok so to Naija gossip gist. I'm sure y'all know I get most of all this stories from our Naija gossip mags...the journalists here will tell you that most of what they write is true. Some are actually true, some are total lies, while others have a little element of truth in it...so you choose what you want to believe or not...

Here we go...

Lagos State Police PRO speak on indecent dressing...
What do you have to say about the latest war on indecent dressing by the police?
Mr Bode Ojajuni "It is in the interest of the public"
But the police are abusing it, they even arrest innocent people at night without no reason
Mr Bode Ojajuni "We are only arresting people that are suspected. Don't you know that some ladies are being used to commit crimes? Those who are innocent and we screened them, were always immediately released by the police"
Don't you think the exercise is an infringement on people's fundamental human rights to freedom of movement?
Ojajuni "When robbers attack you, that is when you will know that it's not about fundamental human rights"
What an Arse! Ass! Arss! In every way it can be spelt!

Ben's baby mama, Tina Vukor Quarshie, (They have a son called Cody) since joining the Silverbird family two months ago, have sacked two top staff of the company. An accountant and a manager, and more people are at risks of loosing their jobs if they don't play by her rules. The other Bruce brothers are said not to be happy with her coming to the company as they see it as an affront on Ben's wife of over twenty years, Evelyn. Tina is a 45 year ex-banker, who was once married for ten years.

Gossip has it that Soul E’s soul mate, Ure Ukezie, is pregnant with the couple’s first child. If this is really true, then congrats to both of them…

Caroline Ekanem speaks
How old is your baby?
Caroline "I can't tell you how old my baby is"
Is he a baby boy?
Yes, if you want us to talk, leave my baby, my husband and my family out of it"
Did the father of your baby actually pay your bride price?
Caroline “ I don’t know what you’re talking about. People are free to talk. But lets leave that for now, when the time comes, we are going to invite everybody”

Eedris Abdulkareem, who is getting set to release his new album, the king is back or something like that, revealed recently that he's writing a book about his life and will also do a movie about himself. Who wants to read a book or watch a movie about Eedris's life? Raise your hands...my hands are raised...I need to understand why people smoke weed! Just kidding!

Nigeria's youngest book publisher, Olusola Oso, has opened a website that would enable people know more about him and his publishing company and also facilitate the on-line sales of his award winning, children's book, The Second Attempt. For more details visit http://www.osopublishers.com/

Rumour has it that Former beauty queen and actress Ibinabo Fiberesima is pregnant for her lover, Fred Amata. End of gossip!

City People hosts female hip hop artistes
Naija’s top softsell mag will tomorrow Thursday 9th august host 30 female hip hop artistes in recognition of their contribution to the growth of hip hop in Nigeria. The girls include Weird MC, Bouqui, Sasha, Kween, Zeal, Blaise, Genevieve, Resonance, Kemistry, Omotola, Essence etc.

Warebi Martha starts jeans line
South African based Nigerian model Warebi Martha is set to launch her own jeans wear line called Fabuleux Jeans. The top model is getting ready to launch this label in SA and another launch later in the year in Naija…the line will consists of various hippy jeans and classy casual shirt line.

Ishioma Onyebo, Aisha Ola and Chinwe Ezeribe tops NNSM
These are some top Nigerian models to watch out for in the maiden edition of Nigeria’s Next Super Model…the other 22 models are hot also. Watch out for that contest!

Pastor Chris Okotie set to wed
Gist has it that the head pastor in House hold of God Church, Pastor Chris Okotie formally confirmed to his congregation that he would be getting married very soon. Church members are now saying, from the description the pastor gave of his wife-to-be, it’s a certain member of the church, a widower of pastor Okotie’s friend called Stephanie Henshaw. Hmmm! Time will tell.

Ure/Soul E and Warebi pictures are courtesy Bellanaija.blogspot.com. I'm always stealing taking pictures from her blog without any mention to her. Sorry babes, It will won't happen again. lol
So feel free to gossip about others...you know what they say about gossip? If you don't gossip about others, they'll gossip about you...lol

On a final note, I'd like to send my condolences to the family of Thisday's deputy Editor, 36 year old Samuel Famakin, who died on Thursday July 26th 2007. I don't know him personally, but his death seemed to have affected a lot of Naija journalists, who seem suspicious of the way he died. He was a father of two and his wife is 8months pregnant. May his soul rest in peace. Also, to the family of Ibukun Adeniyi, the undergraduate who died on the Lagos-Benin road, on her way back to school, and to Senator Obanikoro, whose daughter was the only survivor of the accident. May pretty Ibukun rest in peace...amen!

See y'all later.

11 comments:

Toni Payne said...

My fav part of your blog. lol. You know wots funny a while back I was like it would be nice to have a site where you can read all the soft sell gist online, and vioola. Well not all sha but you dey try.

Per the people who lost their lives, may they RIP. May God see their families through it because losing a loved one is one heartbreak you can never heal from no matter how hard you try.

I think the Police PRO is a crass lunatic..Now we have police chasing people up and down as if we are still in the military era. Instead of them to look for armed robbers and area boyz or street urchins they are dissipating their energies harrassing and arresting innocent women. i think it's because they don't allow them to collect N20 anymore they now shifted their attention to women. Who the f..k are they to dictate to women how they should dressed?

It is shocking that in this age, in this present so called democratic dispensation, some idiotic religious zealot pretending to be the CP Lagos can harass and humiliate females in this manner. It is barbaric and shameful.it is a clear violation of the rights of these Nigerians. A right the present IG of Police vowed to protect when he claimed (refer below)

We are in a democratic dispensation where things are done according to law. In all our actions due process must be followed. There is no room for arbitrariness. Law and law alone must be our guiding principles when acting in furtherance of our statutory duties. The constitution provides for the freedom and liberty of citizens which can only be abridged as required and provided for by law. The law also presumes the innocence of suspects unless proven otherwise. I must therefore warn that wrongful arrests and detentions will not be tolerated as this would be visited with appropriate sanctions....

I think the CP is demented and should be mentally checked. Bunch of nonetities.

Admin UD said...

Naija polics dey MAAAAAAAAAAAD...no further comment :(

wow.... been AWOL for a whle.
u know what Linda, u crack me up all the time.. keep it up darl and bring more
i sure will meet u when am in naija soon.

Everything in Lagos is now turning on its head. I wonder how people still survive in that city. Armed robber and police brutality, which one be the better?

Peace out

souleandure are sure expecting a baby.that no rumour

lol at bellanaija.im feeling that chick also.lol at idris.i heard of obankoro's daughter's accident.i have come across her a couple times,RIP Ibukun.

Linda Ikeji said...

@excitedjade.nice to hear from u.doing ok I hope.holla when you come to naija

chidi said...

its so sad! how did the journalist die? And what accident did the senator's daughter survive. Was it the same accident that killed the other girl? May their souls rest in peace. AMEN

Shopforme.com.ng said...

About the people who lost thier lives may thier souls rest in peace,may life begin to mean more to the contractors who were supposed to repair that benin?ore roads and did not do it or did not do it well or to the govt officials who instead of giving the contract to the right people did not becos of egunje,thats is what will robe them in,You see what goes around will come around to all of us,it is neccessary we go out of our ways to do only that which is right at all times,I am talking to myself too.

Now! lets get to the one that got my full lights on,Linda please donot edit any of the following send it straight to the police idiot on my behalf,what an illiterate,what an old illiterate everyday lagos as well as nigera is being tormented by armed ROBBERS,I have to think twice everytime i come home becos i feel so unsafe in my own country and all this half man half animal can do is arrest girls for indescent dressing,and when it comes to human right he cannot even spell it,it means nothing to him,when will this sort of antique rot get out of office and allow fresh minds do thier bit for our country,it so baffles me that nigeria is filled to the brim with intelligent young men and women who go out of thier counrty and improve other countries but cannot do the same here because they are being suffocated by old rot who say they have got experience,while nodding wisely and speaking foolishly;
O YA BABA POLICE PRO COME AND GO HOME, GO AND BABY SIT YOUR OMOMO (GRAND CHILDREN)
YOU HAVE DONE YOUR BIT,LET THOSE WHO KNOW ABOUT HUMAN RIGHT COME IN...THANK YOU SIR.
NO OFFENCE MEANT.

See LIB when it was stilll in the teething stage. Wow!
#Zinnia