World's strangest laws | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 June 2007

World's strangest laws

I came across this and decided to share with everyone. Some of the laws listed here are baffling...Don't know whether to believe it or not...Prepare to be amazed at the strangest laws from around the world.
...see for yourself and tell me what you think...

USA
First is America, home of the wackiest laws of them all. Here's just a handfull of nutty laws that regulate the world's biggest superpower.
Michigan: A woman isn't allowed to cut her own hair without her husband's permission. Indiana: It is illegal to attend the theatre within four hours of eating garlic.
North Dakota: It is illegal to lie down and fall asleep with your shoes on.
Oklahoma: People who make ugly faces at dogs may be fined and/or jailed.
Wisconsin: Women are not allowed to wear anything red in public.
Arkansas: A man can legally beat his wife, but not more than once a month....this I find especially baffling. Those who live in this state, how true is this?
California: It is illegal for a secretary to be alone in a room with her boss...this also find hard to believe. In such a civilised society?...tell me this isn't so...

Lebanon
Under Lebanese law, men are legally allowed to have sex with animals, but the animals must be female. Having sexual relations with a male animal is strictly forbidden.
For want of a better word, I'm baffled at this law!

Germany
In Germany, women who refuse to work as prostitutes risk having their benefits stopped. Prostitution was legalised in Germany in 2003, and is now regarded as a normal occupation.
huh?

Colombia
In Columbia, a woman may only have sex with her husband, and the first time this happens her mother must be in the room to witness the act.
They used to do this in some part of Africa...but Colombia?

Indonesia
The penalty for masturbation in Indonesia is decapitation.
I hope they are wrong about this...

France
Between the hours of 8AM and 8PM, 70% of the music on the radio must be by French musicians. It is also illegal in France to sell 'E.T' dolls or name a pig Napoleon.
ok...!

Australia
Australia is one country you don't want to break the law in. The current life sentence is 200 years. It is illegal to read someone's tarot, or give them a psychic reading as these are forms of witchcraft. Bizarrely, it also illegal to dress up like Batman down under.
Ok that's weird!

Hong Kong
In Hong Kong, a betrayed wife is legally allowed to kill her adulterous husband, but may only do so with her bare hands. The husband's lover may be killed in any manner desired.
Do I like this law? Yes, because I don't know how the hell a woman will kill a man with her bare hands...we need a weapon. I guess the joke is on the women...

Italy
Pinching a passing girl's bottom is perfectly legal in Italy. However, if an Italian man is caught wearing a skirt, he'll be thrown in jail faster than you can say Pavarotti.
I support the skirt wearing, but pinching a girl's bottom is legal? Give me a break!

UK
Did you know that in London it is illegal to have sex on a parked motorcycle? Or that showing a naked mannequin to a boy under 10 in Liverpool could see you behind bars? Is this true. Please someone investigate for us.

Can anyone tell the rest of us what the strangest law in Nigeria is?

6 comments:

Is there even any sensible law in naija at all.

lolll....Linda those ones from US are very bogous...they are not enforced trust me!...lol.i just thing dat those mofos are too lazy to remove those stupid "laws".
Funny enoff...some few yrs bak here in NYC, a girl was arrested for sitting on a milk crate in front of a store!...the stupiud over-zealous cop must was seriously puttin in over-time!...probably his first day...but ofcourse the charges were dropped later...every1 was totally outraged tho!..i think she must've pissed him off, and he had to pull a stupid one from the book

nma

Meadows j. said...

Can we have a law where you are allowed to keep all your man's earnings and spend it as you like.lol.

chidi said...

ok, the laws are weirder than the top 10 deaths you listed!

Style Stalker said...

haha! LoL @ Killing the man with one's bare hands . . . . but it's sooo possible though, depending on how angry the woman is. . . . LOL

ASP said...

indonesian penalty for manstrubation is decapitation, as long as I live in Indonesia, I never saw a lot of people around me who often manstrubation punished like that