Ben's story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 June 2007

Ben's story

This is the story that has been making headlines in the last two weeks in Naija. It's a story of a US based car dealer, Ben, who recently came home to drop some cars for sale...

Read what happened to him...

For residents of the popular Akerele Street in Surulere, Lagos, a recent event will linger in their memories for a long time. It was the day armed robbers unleashed terror on the neighbourhood, leaving in their trail, sorrow, tears and blood. The unfortunate event happened right in front of the popular Olaiye Canteen on Akerele.

Ben, who just returned to Nigeria from his US base, went to Olaiya canteen with some friends, late Sunday evening. They had driven there in a mint-clean American Spec Seqouia Jeep. Unknown to them, they were apparently being trailed by ramed robbers.

Eye witnesses say immediately Ben and his friends got into the car, the robbers ordered everybody out while Ben who was driving was pushed out of the vehicle. That was perhaps the turning point of the whole tragic drama as fate played a cruel one on the recently married Edo-born car dealer.

Try as the armed robbers would to drive the jeep away, they failed simply because they did not realise the jeep had a neck gear as most American Specs do. The robbers tried unsuccessfully to move the car for about 3 minutes and when they realised they couldn't, they thought it was Ben who had demobilised the vehicle.

They quickly raised after Ben, who eye witnesses say ran towards the olaiya Restaurant. All this while, most of the shops including Olaiya had hurriedly locked up. 30 something year old Ben was caught and shot right in front of the restaurant where he had eaten a few minutes ago...he died on the spot...

US based Ben, who got married three months ago is in the morgue, waiting to be buried...died for nothing!

The most painful part of it was that Ben was due to leave Nigeria back to his US base three days before he was killed...he already booked his flight...

Ben is survived by his wife and parents who live with him in the US. Tell me, what is his new wife supposed to do now?

The way at which armed robbers have been operating in Nigeria in the last few months is alarming and painful...they've become bolder, robbing in daylight...holding up traffic and robbing vehicles...they've been visiting banks, hotels and even Night Clubs...they seem to have multiplied and also seem fearless...a few individuals have lost their lives...there was a case of an American producer killed right inside his hotel room on the Island... I haven't heard of any arrests...what is the Nigerian police doing?

There was a time when one would hardly hear stories of armed robbery, but now this guys are back, bolder and more dangerous

I know saying all this does not reflect well on Nigeria, but that's the reality. People are advised not to be caught in a traffic on the bridge anytime from 8pm, don't drive late at night...at least until the Nigerian police starting doing something about this situation...

It's sad! Hopefully this new administration will tackle most of the problems that make Nigeria a volatile society...

18 comments:

Na wah o Linda.....Oh My Gosh! My heart goes to Ben's family and may his sould rest in peace....What's wrong with naija? Now, many highly educated and successful nigerians in diasporas are scare stiff to go home talkless of investing there…To tell the Truth: Something is Wrong with Nigeria.

Its such a pity that there is still no security of life in Nigeria. In this age and time?It must be admitted that something is definitely wrong with Nigeria. This is why things are going haywire as they are now in the country.

Professor Obaro Ikimi had, in his article entitled "They Shed Human Blood to Get Rich Quick," and I wondered whether Nigeria was under a curse. Theres absolute complete Breakdown of Law and Order in the Polity.
This is evident in the way some people take the law into their own hands. It manifests in the way such actions as assassinations and extra judicial killings, intimidation, robbery, snatching of cars, kidnapping, and destruction of lives and property and arson reign supreme. These actions are the expressions of the people's dissatisfaction with the performances of the Police and the Law Courts, which the Government has shown inability to straighten out. the country is not free and safe! .... the image they have given to Nigeria at home and abroad will require decades of rectitude…

Admin UD said...

Stories like Ben's make me so scared of entering naija. I have a friend here that's supposed to travel back to naija this summer but his parents rejected the idea saying they can't guarantee his safety as there are so many 'EVIL MEN' around! He had since gone to England :(

This is really ridiculous.

BlogVille Idol said...

HEY NIGERIA.(and er.. everybody else)..KILONSELE!......Thank you for ur support on the Blogville idol contest..The Contestants have sang their 2nd song (Nigerian songs)...please go to our page to listen to them and vote! ..Pls pls help us make this contest a success by voting..dont 4 get to leave us a comment!Thank you...PINKPEKE PRODUCTION

Sad indeed. What is the Nigerian police doing? I too want an answer.Must we wait till an oyinbo gets shot in Naija and CNN or MSNBC does a documentary about the sorry state of law enforcement in Nigeria b/4 the Nigerian government both on a Federal, State and local level do something about it? What about the citizens, where is the public outcry for change? I noticed everyone quickly locked up. Very, very sad.

Toni Payne said...

I keep saying it, I cant do it, my security means a lot to me.. Imagine living somewhere where u constantly have to watch ur back.. sighs!

classybabe said...

It's just so sad.I heard about the incident,but i didn't know the story behind it.
The security issue is one of the reasons why i am dreading moving back.God help us!

This is a real sad story. Armed robbers have become something else and we need a drastic solution. Like you said, I'm waiting on the new administration to make a change and make our lives more secure.

Afolabi said...

omg..wow, I thought this arm robbery thing has reduced, Please thig government should do something, if that guy ever had children, they'll hate nigeria for life

Dis is just such a sad story. I wonder when dis country will change. I'm sorry but what's d point of being successful in such a country, wanting to enjoy it for once and then being robbed and killed for it? Linda, pls don't even mention d naija police abeg. Aren't they among d armed robbers too? I guess Ben was just there at d wrong time and wrong place. Also, dat's why a lot of people who go home always keep a low profile and always make sure they don't tell every 'tom & jerry' of their intentions of coming home. I suppose it all comes down to one's sensitivity about d whole thing.

chidi said...

thats so sad. the guy was about to leave 9ja in 3 days time?? Really, what are the Nigerian police up to? Yar'dua has a lot of work he needs to do in Nigeria.

probably ben has not been to Nigeria for a while, cos if he has he'll know that you're not supposed to run during a robbery attack in Nigeria. it is always likely that the runner gets shot by the armed group. its such a sad story. i hope his family will learn to live with this tragedy cos there's no justice in Nigeria.

This is such a sad story.This is one of the reasons i have no interest in moving back to naija,what for if you cant have peace of mind.my sister was robbed when she went to naija last year to say the least it was a bad experience but there was no loss of life to which we are grateful for.May God give Ben's family the strenght to bear the loss. Nkonye

Armed robbery is one ugly social vice which is believed to exist in all countries of the world. However, it seems that the menace is rampant in Nigeria than anywhere in d world!The population is made up of a good number of the good for you working population. This working population is chiefly young people who are skilled labor, semi-skilled labor, or unskilled labor. Most of these young people leave school without being employed for years.

They are not unemployed because they can't work but simply because there are no job opportunities where they can fit in themselves. Some of them roam the streets in search of menial jobs in order to make both ends meet while the lazy ones or those that felt that the society is not happy with them becomes angry and turn to armed robbery among other social vices too many to mention.

The government established the Nigerian Police Force (NPF) and charged them with the responsibility of checking armed robbery and other crimes in the society. But it seems the spate of armed robbery in the country is increasing exponentially by the day. Does is it mean that the Police Force are not doing enough? Who's to blame and How do we tackle armed roberry in nigeria?

This is so sad.May his soul rest in peace.Oh my goodness.

Oh my gosh! This is so scary! Im supposed to be going to Nigeria next week with my family, including my sister who is getting married there. Men, this is really discouraging!!

Na wa oh......Honestly dis is the only reason why am scared of going back to naija.Cos you can't trust anyone, nd all dis armed robbers make u so paranoid.......May ben's soul rest in peace. I hope his family and children find peace within themselves.

princesa said...

Everyday i am confronted with the reality of how unsafe this country really is. Na only God dey save person o!
May Ben's soul rest in peace.
First time here and am impressed.

princesa said...

Everyday the reality of how unsafe this country really is hits me in the face. Na only God dey save person for naija o!
First time here and i got to say 'Nice Blog'.