Photo: Olayinka Sunmola sentenced to 27 years in prison for scamming hundreds of lonely American women | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 February 2017

Photo: Olayinka Sunmola sentenced to 27 years in prison for scamming hundreds of lonely American women

A Nigerian man who scammed hundreds of lonely U.S. women online was on Thursday, February 2, sentenced to 27 years in federal prison and ordered to repay $1.7 million, by U.S. District Judge David Herndon. Olayinka Ilumsa Sunmola bilked dozens of women in Missouri and Illinois alone, driving some to bankruptcy and at least one to the brink of suicide, prosecutors said.
Sunmola and others would pretend to be members of the U.S. military stationed overseas or businessmen working there, some of whom were widowers with children.
They used pictures of men in uniform they found online, sometimes lifting pictures of dead servicemen from memorial websites.

They wooed their "soul mates" via emails, instant messages, flowers, candy and other gifts. Some of the women bought wedding gowns or began to use the fake last names that Sunmola and the others were using. The scammers then began to concoct emergencies that grew ever larger until their victims' assets were gone, prosecutors said.

One Bond County, Ill. woman bankrupted herself buying electronics and shipping them to Sunmola, re-shipping things he bought using stolen credit card numbers and taking out cash advances on a credit card.

A woman identified in court last year only as Jane Doe No. 6 was a recently divorced single mother when she met Sunmola, who was claiming to be a U.S. Army major. She is also partially disabled and a survivor of an abusive relationship.

Sunmola's victims didn't know that credit cards and checks he sent to them were bogus, and that the electronic items were fraudulently purchased. Sometimes victims would be tricked a second time, when contacted by fake foreign “investigators” who demanded thousands of dollars in customs payments to send back items they claimed to have seized. Sunmola persuaded some victims to send sexually explicit photos or videos, then used them for blackmail. In one case, Sunmola shared the pictures with a victim's relatives even after she paid him, prosecutors said.

While "systematically destroying" the women, Sunmola used their money for lavish parties, two Range Rovers, four properties in South Africa and a $363,000 home in Nigeria, prosecutors said. After two days of a jury trial in U.S. District Court in East St. Louis in March, Sunmola pleaded guilty to eight felonies, including mail fraud, wire fraud, conspiracy, and interstate extortion.

Sunmola was arrested in 2014 as he was preparing to board a British Airlines flight from Heathrow Airport to Johannesburg. The U.S. attorney’s office in Southern Illinois worked with the U.S. Postal Inspection Service, Homeland Security Investigations, the U.S. Secret Service and the Illinois attorney general’s office, which referred the case to prosecutors. Source: St. Louis Post-Dispatch

21 comments:

Hrm Paul said...

He is 42 fucking baststd by d time he gets out he will b in his sixties wasted life. He enjoyed d moni for 4 years now he is going away for 27 sweet justice he is a piece of shit.

Criminal, there are many of them on Instagram, living lavishly on others sweat, they reap where they did not sow.
Oneday they'll experience same fate.

Disgraceful Idiots spoiling our image everywhere.

Chaiii! I know this guy from our church, RCCG Heaven's Gate Parklands, Cape Town. He is one of the Porsche, Range Rover, Messerati Naija big boys. Will be be living a 5 star life behind bars now? I hope all his illegally bought assets are confiscated and the victims given something back.
They show off big time ooo! They live life bigger than UK footballers, Hollywood A listers, UAE royalties sef! Nawa ooo! What will the big bois of Heaven's Gate and his mates Mohamed aka Moh-la-boss and Tony say now?
What about his other mates the "big boys" of Parklands DrDD (Dr for where), Innocent (looming extradition to US and Canada still causing u headache), etc....
Instagram lives na be vanity! Yo Southy wives should be arrested too because they are part and parcel of your businesses and fake lives.
Linda these boys have tarnished the good image of Nigerians in this country ooo.
I am a MSc and MBA graduate working in fund managementand it was hard to get a professional job the this what these boys have done to this country.
By God's grace I am living a comfortable life with my family.
I hope all the Yahooz boys learn a lesson from this, there are no short cuts in life.

They attend church simply to show off and to mock God. But God waits for their cups to be full before He acts.

Well, he's no different to our of our rich folks in Nigeria. The politicians are scamming the nation while he was scamming individuals

YORUBAS REPP'N

Safe journey

Good bro

God bless the guy hustle.........all of una here dey talk non sense.na una father money he steal....na our fathers slavery salary he dey collect frm dem white nw so y u ppl complaining like dix...why all dox politicians wey buhari catch wit una money why dey knw jail dem...na dx guy own linda see to publish with sweet heart and una dey comment rubbish......mtcheeeww

The world is a scam. He obviously didn't play his cards right. Show off is wrong. Always be a smooth bad guy. Live simple to keep eyes off you. Also, the corporate politicians stealing your money back home need to be jailed. No pure money out there. It's not a crime if you don't get caught

Yorubas and scam

ijeoma the sexiest said...

Hushpuppi is next

Vivian and Ogbonna yorubas still dey learn scamming where Igbo boys dey!

Igbo and stealing around the town they're all thief you dis idiot

Michi said...

U are right bro they have tarnish the image of our dear country... its hard to get a decent job out there. I pray theat whoever plan to dub any innocent white be caught.

Michi said...

Lets face this wire boys before coming to the politicians

Michi said...

Can u imagine? What kind of hustlr is that? I wonder how some people think irrationally. Thats why all U can do is to write pdigin and think like a pig. Mind You all is vanity

Michi said...

Lets face this wire boys before coming to the politicians

May other yotuba guys doing the same thing be caught in jesus name. They are many in toronto canada , usa and Europe. Olujimi shoga take note. You will soon be caught