Photo: Nigerian woman dies after refusing blood transfusion because she is a Jehovah's witness | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 February 2017

Photo: Nigerian woman dies after refusing blood transfusion because she is a Jehovah's witness

Her friends have taken to social media to mourn her. One of them, Ossai Ovie Success wrote;
Peace Euodia pictured above, died of excess bleeding during child delivery, because her church, Jehovah Witness Church does not permit her to accept blood transfusion. Why will Jehovah Witness church not allow her to receive blood from someone because of church tradition.
Rest in PEACE EUDIA. COMBINED SOCIAL SCIENCE CLASS OF 2011 UNIVERSITY OF NIGERIA has lost a rare gem. We will mourn your death together with your family. Adieu

157 comments:

Chai!religion hmm freeborn wept!Is JEHOVA WITNESS A RELIGION OR CULT HUH? THAT THING IS NOT DIFFERENT from MUSLIMS THEY ONLY DIFFERENT IS THAT THEY DON'T KILL OR MARRY LITTLE GIRL. Why huh? In this 21 century u still dey play religion game hmmm WELL SHE SHOULD CONTINUE HER RELIGION BELIEF IN HELL i trust chief lucifer to handle her.
Freeborn wept for ur lost soul and ignorance.

Ewo ndi jehova witness dis ur law is killing ur worshippers how many una b sef for d church if everyone dies who go remain

RIP dear.....
Her church didn't permit her or she didn't permit herself?.... . Bad friend!

Jehovah witness women pls can I speak wit u,u got pregnant time to born reach u need blood transfusion u rejected it did u think of d baby u will leave behind pls I knw u r trying to abide by d law of d church buh pls remember those who need u around esp d child who will need a mother,i beg always tel ur doctor am a witness o if time to born reach nd I need a transfusion pls jst lock me somewhere don't let any of my family nd church knw gve me blood.Heaven helps those who elp themselves o Rip to her

This got to stop pls this is systematic euthanasia.

Linda, it is not a church tradition and Jehovah's witnesses do not run a church... if you have read your Bible, Jehovah's own word and his command and guide for humans you will know that she acted on her own conviction that God's word, the Bible is the final authority for All Christians on every matter.

Please Linda if you a copy of the Bible read.. the following and tell the world what you can understand from these portions of the scriptures
Genesis 9:4
Leviticus 7:26, 27
Leviticus 17: 11 & 13
Acts 15:29

Read and tell us what those verses mean.

I know of a woman who lost her only child due to this same refusing blood transfusion... How can people be so foolish.rip dear one.

She chose her path

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

so sad! may her soul rip.

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

so sad! may her soul rip.

Their church? More like their cult.

Ejike Manny said...

In my opinion deliberately refusing blood transfusion is tantamount to suicide and suicide according to the Bible is a sin. May her soul rest in peace.

Smhh....Dat's how dey use to do,i don't understand them at all

church ko Jehovah witness ni, nw u r dead, y Jehovah witness no stop dead from taking you, my sister na u do your self pop, rip sha

It's so painful. May her soul rest in peace

Rubbish rubbish rubbish....
U r a witness that misunderstood the bible, the lady n her stupid family allowed her to die out of ignorance.I wonder how dey watched her die #wicked family#

Obey God rather than men. How about people that accept blood and still couldn't escape death? She wasn't foolish.

Was it Linda that misinterpreted the Bible? Preach your Gospel to the Jehovah witness people. That's what they believe in. Some of them even refuse to go to the hospital when they are sick cos they believe God will heal them naturally.

It's not a church, it is called a Kingdom hall and it's not a cult cos it's an open door and the bible is the basis for the teachings. Why don't you attend once and see for yourself rather than a preconceived mind.

Explain more please. How is that suicide?

Precious Chidiebube diamond said...

In these days of Trump?

No its nt Jehovah witness,na she choose 2 die. Do dey kw wen their members abroad get blood transfusion? Or did d pastor stand by her bed wit gun? Selfish woman,she cudnt pity her baby,and stay alive 4 her! God forbid a member frm my family,i will hancuff u,tie u 2d bed & mk sure dt blood is passed 2 kip u alive,nonsense. Stl living under d law and not by Grace dt Jesus brought us,then wat r u guys preaching?

Read your bible very well and you will understand. Acts 15:20

So sad. But I believe Jehovahs witnesses don't force people on any issue that has to do with blood transfusion, is individual decision and right to decide the medical options to accept. I don't think they are against going to any hospital fir treatment because my sister gave birth to a big private hospital own by a Jehovahs witness.

Can you stop death? Unforeseen circumstances befalls us all. Be it today or 50 years time, we shall all die one day. Better for her to die obeying God.

Acts 15:20

You just lied....witness are not deeper life....verify your fact before you post.....witness go for treatment but don't accept blood transfusion...that does not mean they don't go to the hospital....

Enter your comment...she act base on belief and a wise decision, abstain from blood, blood transfsion is not safe

In Acts 15: 20 and 29... the Christian Greek Scriptures ( New Testament) accepting blood in any form is same as sexual immorality. It is clear

My sister, u ve said it all. Jehovah value blood of every human. Blood is sacred & it be treated as such.

One of the best hospitals in Lagos is owned by a Jehovah's Witness. Many of you know the hospital. It is a necessity for any and all who profess to be Christ followers to obey Act 15: 20, 28 & 29. Her God is very proud of her and the promise in Acts 24:15 and John 5: 28&29 will be realised soon.

Those passages talk about eating blood, do not misinterpret the Bible

Before finishing the headline I knew it had to be Jehovah witness. Hope they don't take holy communion in their church too cos then it won't make sense to me.

Long live LIB

Jossy said...

@ Anon 15.59. You are misunderstanding the bible. Pray for wisdom to understand. If the bible say you should abstain from blood, then drain out the blood in you. That passage is only saying you should abstain from blood shed.

Freeborn, May you be liberated from this ignorance of yours. I don't want to believe you are real. No no, you can't be normal. You need psychiatric evaluation.

It is not a Jehovah's witness law. It is God's law found in the bible in acts 15:20. It's a personal decision and not forced on anyone.

Total false! No Jehovah's witness refuses to go to the hospital. Have your facts right. You can also do your research and see that most doctors opt for blood transfusion cos it's the easiest way for them. She adhered to her bible based principles and God will reward her for that.

Somepeople are busy defending the religion and forget to even say RIP to the beautiful lady. SMH

Total false! No Jehovah's witness refuses to go to the hospital. Have your facts right. You can also do your research and see that most doctors opt for blood transfusion cos it's the easiest way for them. She adhered to her bible based principles and God will reward her for that.

Some people are busy defending the religion and forget to say RIP to this beautiful lady. SMH

Somepeople are busy defending the religion and forget to even say RIP to the beautiful lady. SMH

Am happy u know they don't kill.
People take in blood and still died (loosing their life and disobeying Gods word)
I chose to obey Gods words even if it means loosing my life,I won't regret ii since he is the giver of life.

Well said.

smartegha said...

that was not a very wise decision, this is total nonsense, it wouldn't happen in the US ... the doctors would call security personnel to escort them out of the hospital and go ahead with the blood transfusion be it the victim likes it or not, so long as its a matter of life and death.

I've gone through all d comment and I say it's all rubbish.
Am a witness and I want to ask u dis what will we gain if we gain all these and loose d most important thing-everlasting life.
She can choose to accept or refuse blood transfusion without hiding it she chose her path, she chose her faith and above all she chose her God Jehovah. So u see she does a happy woman maintaining her love for Jehovah who is against blood as recorded in his holy word d bible.
We re not cults our gates are open during our Christian meeting in d Kingdom Halls and without admission fee or offerings we welcome all to attend our meeting and get to learn more about Jehovah.
You can visit our website on www.jw.org for more answers to ur many questions
My bad mouth no gree me waka commot like that so I say make una receive sense and be healed of ur mouth diarrhea LOL

Nony said...

Keep firing on dear, we are behind u

Nony said...

We u believe it or not we still have live under God's laws but d grace there is dat we will be forgiven if sin but not when we deliberately overstep God's command. It profits nothing to gain life in dis system of things and den loose it cos we disobeyed our father, Jehovah

Hermajesty said...

Points of correction plz " in d above statement "suicide is a sin bcus d person in questn takes d life dat he didn't give to him self, Secondly , we all must not die, read ur bible book of 1corinthians 15:51. May her soul Rest in d Bosom of d lord....

Death of a fool

June said...

Anonymous 15:55 just shut up already! It's better to make people think you're dumb than open your mouth and prove it. ShiooR!

Knowledge,they say is power,according to Leviticus 7vs 26-27,it's talking about fellowship of offering..Try read from vs 7 down and get the message.

Ass wipe!!! Wah do u know? Leviticus 17:14...twas her personal decision too buh out of a desire to please her heavenly father...

Incredible India

Enter your comment...if you die as a christain Hell is your Destination chikena..

Shut up idiot! you are nothing but a retard like your fellow church people.Imagine the nonsense!

Yes it's true,jehovah witness church dnt accept blood transfusion, my anties,husband also died after an eye operation, he needed blood transfusion cos of their church doctrine he died,d man's people almost killed her,RiP to d dead.

It was her choice based on her knowledge of the word of God. there are cases of people who received all the blood they need but still died. The sister is not dead but resting and when the time comes, Jehovah Himself will raise her back to life and probably grant her everlasting life. She made a wise choice to obey Jehovah unto death and I pray that our heavenly father will grant us the same rare courage to stand up to our faith to the end Amen.

Niyi said...

What does eating fresh blood got to do with transfusing it into ur body? dont you wash and cook your meat before you eat?..you err..Matt 22:29

Mina said...

The American leaders of the Jehovah's witnesses cult religion misinterpret a dietary law which has resulted in the death of thousands of members, including children.. especially in Africa where bloodless treatment is very costly.
How can the leaders sleep at night knowing their hands are covered in blood?

I am a sinner but to my level of understanding; one should be able to understand the level of relationship S/he has with God before trying to operate from the heavenly realm. Even the people that brought 'religion' don't seem to be ignorant the way I see Africans are in this issue

Mina said...

The American leaders of the Jehovah's witnesses misinterpret a dietary law which has resulted in the death of thousands of members, including children, especially in Africa where bloodless treatment is very costly.
How can the leaders sleep at night knowing that their hands are covered with blood?

Mina said...

The American leaders of the Jehovah's witnesses cult religion misinterpret a dietary law which has resulted in the death of thousands of members, including children.. especially in Africa where bloodless treatment is very costly.
How can the leaders sleep at night knowing their hands are covered in blood?

Ignorance

George Emmanuel said...

That's how i lost my late grand father only brother because his wife refused blood transfusion on him.

Please show me the dictionary where "eating meat with blood in it" is synonymous with blood transfusion. Mtchweeew... Killing people due to lack of understanding!!!

@anon 15:53 u play ur part n leave d rest for God!!

Abegi!!!! You go and read your Bible with understanding!!!! God did not ask this of you!!!

Its better to die in obedience to God than dieing disobeying him.God's world warns us to clearly abstain from blood cos out of it life comes forth.

Dammy said...

Hum

Enter your comment...RIP

Does blood fransfusion really saves lives. A medical Dr. Once asked dis question. He admitted dt blood does not save life cus he was confronted wit two pregnant patients. One had 30PCV and was transfued to avoid complication while d other had 11PCV & refused to accept transfusions. During d delivering operation, d one wit 30PCV died while d one wit 11PCV survived d operation. No wonder d bible book of Mathew 16:25.says who ever dt wants to save his life will lose it but who ever dt wants to lose his life for Christ sake will ve it.

Am happy for her bcoz she have hope of living forever in new world..May jehovah help me to hold to my Bible believes still the day I,ll die like her...May jehovah help her family and friends to endure the lost

painful exit...Rip

Can you just kindly keep quiet.

Enter your comment...She will surely be remembered by Jehovah for her strong faith.

THAT IS THEIR BELIEF!TO THEM; ITS A SIN TO DONATE BLOOD

Anonymous 14:51.....so u are OK knowing she's dead now....i pity una.....u couldn't even tell her to rest in peace..u are busy quoting bible...God helps those who help themselves... rip dear one. Hope God accepts u bcos u killed urself

MissVee

Anonymous 15:49 u re mis understanding the Bible. Gen9:4 says you shouldn't eat meat with blood in it that God forbids it. How does dat relate with blood transfusion? Leviticus 7:26 says no matter where d Israelite live they must not use d blood of birds or animal for food.
Biko, how does dat mean blood transfusion? Same with other verses u listed. You guys should stop misinterpreting d Bible abeg

nna nawao!!!

Oh please don't say what you are not sure of! Jehovah's witnesses goes to hospital n they own hospitals too

CHUK NORIS , BLOOD TRANSFUSION SAVES LIFE. I HAVE A NEIGHBOR WHOSE DAUGHTER IS SICKLE CELL; THEY ALWAYS LOOK FOR WHOM TO DONATE BLOOD FOR HER ANYTIME THE THING STARTS AND WHEN THEY DO THE NEEDFUL, EVERY THING CALMS DOWN

Acts 15:9 says eat no blood n meat, do not eat animal dat has been strangled Bcos if u eat such animal u hv taken d blood too. Dats y ppl don't eat animal dat is not killed. When u kill it u allow d blood wash out before eating it. And u guys says it's blood transfusion... nawaoo

Sorry about the loss of Euodia. She believed that blood transfusion is wrong and she died for her beliefs. It is good to be ready to die for what you believe. Jehovah's Witnesses teach that the Bible prohibits the use of blood. Clearly the Bible admonishes Christians to "abstain from blood" If we truly love God, and try to please him, death is only a temporary setback. It is better to die faithfully than to sin against God simply because you want to save your life.

Further, blood transfusion does not always save lives. In fact, it is riddled with risks. My neighbor told me she regretted taking blood the last time she was ill. She has vowed never to allow herself be transfused again.

When you know what the Bible condemns and you disobey, how long can you really live? Obedience saves more because it guarantees us eternal life.

ALL OF U SAYING IT IS BETTER TO DIE THAN TO SHED BLOOD, ARE U VIRGINS? IS SHE A VIRGIN TOO? HAVE U NOT BEEN WICKED TO UR NEIGHBOR?

It is better to obey the Bible and die than try to save our lives through disobedience. Sorry about Euodia. She died faithfully! People like her are worthy of imitation. She had great faith.

DADA LAKUEDA said...

It is better to obey the Bible and die than try to save our lives through disobedience. Sorry about Euodia. She died faithfully! People like her are worthy of imitation. She had great faith.

Simply explain and don't be bitter. I am not rude like you. Explain how you came to that conclusion.

Well said.

It is better to obey the Bible and die than try to save our lives through disobedience. Sorry about Euodia. She died for her beliefs! She sought medical attention, she wanted to receive the best possible treatment. But she did not want to displease her creator. People like her are worthy of imitation. She had great faith!!!

You are also speaking due to lack of proper knowledge. When you are seriously sick and can't eat, they give your drop to sustain you through IV right? The same way, the blood passes through your veins too and that is same thing as eating it which the bible clearly warns against.

I live abroad and it's same bible belief. I have a sister that her pcv Was just 11% and she had a successful surgery. There are other medical alternatives other than blood.

Wow. most of you sound like that little voice that was telling Jesus during his 40days fast "why don't you turn this stone to bread, you are so hungry, don't be ignorant, God will understand". What you don't know is you are only letting your selfish reasoning lead you, what u stand to loose and gain. You don't even condersider what God wants and how he feels. The Bible is God's word . u can accept the areas which suits you especially the area that talks about riches and prosperity and then discard the area that does not tickle you mind. Indeed God only want people to worship Him in spirit and truth. not only when it's rosey. That dead Lady made Jehovah's heart glad. but U all won't ever know why/how , cos u have refuse to read your Bible.

Wasn't going to say anything but this is the height people....i know or knew the lady n her hubby well.....we all went to school together....the lady dt posted d story does not know her at all. Morden medicine does not do blood transfusions get your fact straight....i refuse to stand by and watch y'all maligne her friend and her hubby and where they choice to worship...all you judges please go on the Internet and listen to real professionals talk about the harm of blood transfusion....if you don't have the facts don't postulate please....adios

swaag said...

Lier

I always like ur comments on this blog. Funny comment

She has d hope of resurrection into a paradise earth were she would live forever without dieing.

http://sandraadii22.blogspot.com.ng/ said...

Eeya, this is suicide and it's a sin, my jehovah witness friend died having an abortion, make we hear.

It is not the lady fault and being a Jehovah Witness did not kill her.If anyone is to be blamed,It is the hospital fault for not having blood alternatives and other treatments.
Fact 1 - Having blood transfusion does not mean that you will survive.
Fact 2- Most doctors refuse blood transfusions because it is not safe.A lot of people have gotten diseases such as Aids,Hepatitis, Hiv from transfusion blood.
Fact 3- Jehovah Witness do not force people or impose their beliefs on others.Accepting or refusing blood transfusions is based on a person conscience.Most hospitals accept and acknowledge Jehovah witnesses beliefs on blood transfusions and even encourage their patients by providing other alternatives to blood.
Fact 4- Hospitals in Nigeria are known for being negligent and endangering patient lives.I believe the doctors should have prepared and anticipate a situation like this and provided alternatives for this woman.
There are hospital around the world who specialise in providing efficient and appropriate care for patients who refuse blood.
Being a Jehovah Witness does not stop a person from refusing blood transfusions.It is based on the patient conscience and personal decision.Witnesses do not accept transfusions of whole blood, red cells, white cells, platelets, or blood plasma.
Once again,Jehovah witnesses do not force or impose on their beliefs on people.Jehovah Witnesses are normal people who live and have day to day problems like everyone else. They belive what the Bible say and that is to Abstain from Blood meaning not taking in any form of blood either by eating foods with blood in it such as Black pudding,pig heart or drinking blood.Jehovah believe in not taking blood in any form.Thats is why most hospitals have blood alternatives such as Volume replace mentioned,Growth factors,Intra- Operative Cell Savage,Plasma and plasma expanders.
I think it is time we stop blaming the witnesses when a person dies because he or she refused to take blood.This woman is dead due to to the negligence and inappropriate care administered to her by the doctors.

But many of them don't marry as virgins, I used to be one before I became a Catholic, abi fornication is not a sin but refusing blood transfusion is?

Please where is her husband let me go and marry, and transform him to a Catholic the way my mum did my former jehovah's witness dad. Will raise her kid well for her.

sam said...

She died of poor healthcare facility not absence of blood transfusion. There are lots of safe non blood surgical practice and expanders which is better and safer than the injecting another man blood into your system. (There are no two identical blood)
Blood or no blood transfusion people can die during or after surgery.
A good healthcare system is available in many good hospital even in Nigeria where you can have bloodless surgery. And you can be sure that Mrs wxy is not flowing in ur vain.
Effort should be on advocating for good healthcare even in remote town than on blaming her death on her believes.

Did she marry as a virgin? If she didn't she died for nothing and only sent herself to he'll quicker than others.

Ur sister gave birth to a hospital? Wow?

Let us drain all the blood in ur body and leave all the blood in my body, I'm sure u'll survive. The other lady might have had other complications but because of religion our slave masters brought us we carry for head.

You're deceiving ursef.

Hope u're a virgin and have never lied or be mean to anyone, cause if u have please accept blood transfusion when needed else u may die for nothing, u people don't keep to the ones that u want, a friend of mine was sleeping around even as her parents were forefront in the kingdom hall, yet she refused transfusion when she needed it, I know it's he'll direct sha ash she died having an abortion.

Before you come to conclusion about jehovah witnesses and there believe on blood transfusion cheek Bible book of Genesis 9 vs 4 or Jw.org to get more info about men witnesses

sexie mama said...

So this lady committed sucide and her gullible church/kingdom members are justifying her sucide act... SMH

Such act of selfishness!!!

Those that have commented negatively about Jehovah's witnesses do so out of ignorance of Bible principles. They should search their consciences and say the truth has their been news of people who take blood and still unfortunately loose their lived yet these are not mentioned. w hv respect 4 life, respect the instruction of the giver of life.

The lady chooses d part of righteousness and when u choose that part the majority cannot take it OK with u. Remember the apostles disciples and faithful men of old were seen by their contemporaries as foolish people. Well ressurection in God's new world awaits her.

Ur an idiot freeborn, always so insensitive and stupid.
Anonymous 21:29, I hope freeborn will weep for you as well cos it's obvious you're both stupid.
May the Lady's soul rest in peace.

But let's face fact, no one can really tell for sure that blood transfusion would have saved her life? Besides, what is the source of this blood? Are really safe? Any one who refuses blood transfusion, does so at his/ her prerogative.

All d best for u o.
It's modern not morden . Abeg no dey give Pple bread.we all know blood transfusion nd even organs transplant are fruits of modern medicine MN

Not her wish. It's Jehovah's witness wish. Sily no nonsense

I always appreciate the training Jehovah's witnesses receive. The don't resort to insuling people to make their point. Many who commented on this issue choose to rather cry more than the bereaved. From all I know we all have the right to choose to accept or reject any medical pprocedure. And this right is in most countries in the world. Proverbs says"there's is a way that seems to be upright in the eyes of men but the end is destruction". Seek to have the accurate knowledge of God's word the Bible and Eudia's decision will never be strange to you. You can visit www.jw.org to find answers to life big questions.

MCDUFF said...

Jehovah's witnesses don't care about popular beliefs but they stick closely to Bible counsel and instructions. they obey God as ruler than then men,in other words He's is our statute giver.Jehovah's witnesses prefer to adhere to bible principles even if that should cost them their lives either as individuals or as a group.what our dear sister did is the best decision one can make.I prefer to die doing Jehovah's will than live to compromise my faith.

So she rejected blood transfusion to make heaven. So what happens if a some random sin she had earlier committed would be against her making heaven#just Saying. We would all make heaven by GRACE, all you can do is try cause the bible says: your righteous is nothing but filthy rags. Make God have mercy on us all and may her soul RIP.

People fear what they don't understand. Your comments about Jehovah's witnesses is just a prove of ignorance, the bible says "abstain from blood". She has made her decision, let Jehovah God be the judge of that.

What is hell? Hell is a common grave for all mankind. Lol (check your dictionary for the meaning). And if you are trying to say hell fire, kindly quote me a scripture in the bible that mentions hell fire. Do not judge dear, leave that to God and God alone. It was her decision to refuse blood, so you all chill out and live your own life.

I don't think this is true....no one can refuses blood transfusion at the face of death.....it shouldn't be a doctrine....it must be a personal decision....nowadays people are wiser and well informed.Rip dear.

Common on anonymous 22:08. You know what he/ she was true to say. Stop being sarcastic cos you know it was a typo. Lol

Rip dear.

@ Chuku Princess. Lol. She has gone to sleep according to what Jesus Christ said in the bible. Death is like sleep. So whether you say rest in peace or not it she has definitely gone to rest from this wicked world.

@Smartegha. Not true. I live in the US and work as a nurse in a hospital too. Doctors respect Jehovah's witnesses abstinence from blood transfusion. No security personnel walking anyone out cos there are other alternatives.

Beautiful said...

Anonymous 14:51, these bible passages you listed only said we shouldn't EAT blood.
I had to look up the word eat and it means 'to put or take food into the mouth, chew it and swallow it'. So please, how does this relate to transfusion?

The same bible says 'my people perish (die) due to lack of knowledge (Hosea 4:6). You people should seek knowledge, stop misunderstanding and misquoting the bible.

The same bible says that faith without works is dead ( James 2:20 and 26). You can't just stay and have faith that God will save/heal you when you have not done your path / allowed the doctor to do his part. DO ALL YOU CAN TO SAVE YOURSELF THEN LEAVE THE REST TO GOD.

It's just unfortunate that she's gone, she was such a lovely lady with an infectious smile. May God receive her in his blossom

@ Precious Chidinma. Takes the like how? Stabbing herself with a knife or using a gun. Through Adam sin entered the world and we all inherited death through that sin. We can only gain everlasting life through Jesus' ransome sacrifice.

@June and what do you have to contribute?And No he/she is not dumb. You just might be the dumb one for your rude mouth asking someone who has not insulted you to shut up. You lack proper training when it comes to respecting other people's opinion especially when it wasn't directed at you. Silly little girl.

Anonymous 17:51. What an irony cos you too will go to hell. Check the dictionary meaning of Hell.

Jehovah witnesses with their misinterpretation of the bible, may God Almighty deliver you all from this soul destroying ignorant.

Hahaha endtime religion! So it is his wish for her to leave a new born behind! What a waste of life because people decided to turn the bible upside down. When it is your turn dont transfuse blood, you go just kpeme for nothing and your husband would marry another woman catholic this time to raise your child. With all our religion our country is still one of the worst place to live. Mtcheeeewwww.

Mumu

God is not a mean God, he sent his only son to die for us, so why would i die for nothing? If your god says you should ignore a life saver and leave a young child to be without a mother then i must say he is not nice. My God is so nice, he gave me brain to use it, he gave medical scientist wisdom who knew blood transfusions save lives. You better leave that church or whatever it is.

Anaigbo said...

SAD,REMINDS ME OF BROTHER TO FORMER SPORTS MINISTER OBAKPOLOR,WHO WAS SHOT IN THE TUMMY IN THE NINTIES AT EFFURUN,LUCKLY HE SURVIVED HIS OPERATION WITHOUT TRANSFUSION.STILL AM AGAINST THIS DOCTRINE,THE JUST WASTED A PRECIOUS LIFE.RIP

Jehova witness can argue for Africa! Turning bible upside down, rendering members' life useless! As did to my uncle for 30years! He was saved sha! RIP to Aunty Jehova doctrine!

Smart egalitarian if they did that in America the doctors will be sued. By.law you cannot force a patient to take a treatment they.must give consent. Say what you.know pls. Also the.church was no standing there telling her.not.to.do it. She decided herself not to in order to.abide.by the laws of.the.church.

But that is just 1 sin. How about alk d others she committed. Does she.not know that they are all equal in the eyes of God! Lying talking behind people's back sex before marriage. Why choose to die to obey this? Does it cleanse her of.all her other sins?

Do.you.know the.bible also says you should.not wear two.cloth.made of different material? That means wearing ankara and lace together is also a sin against God. Pls tell.me all your cloth.you wear are d same material.

My dear why be a jehobas witness in a country without adequate alternative treatment to.blood transfusion. That's like saying you are a vegetarian I'm a land of only meat. Pls don't blame d hospital. The hospital. Has never lied to anybody.about what they have and don't.have. The hospitals have been that way for years. Meanwhile what of all the other sins she committed. Why did she not choose to die instead of.commuting those sins? Or do you guys think in the eyes of God one sin weighs more than the other? Dying for this.one sin.and leaving.a baby.behind is.not really justifies when you.commit so.many others is.my point

Nobody.knows that going to.hospital after injecting poison will save you. But you don't sit at home abi?

Must you just talk only because you have a mouth or reason before doing so? It's because of people like you that this nation will not move forward. Hypocrite!!!

Can some please kindly explain this difference between taking drug or medicine via mouth, nose and via vains ? Then williness and force or persuade.

Braveheart said...

Sometimes in life, when we don't understand why things happen, it is best not to be sentimental with our judgments.

What should be first is out respect to God not the fear of not wanting to lose our life that has no guarantee.

God gives the commandment, God promises us resurrection, even if we die in the wicked system of things, Jehovah promise to wake us up in his new world where there will be no more death. (Rev. 21: 4,5)

It is not by the religion doctrine that my Sister refuses transfusion, it is by her faith in Jehovah who will raise her back to life soon (john 5: 28,29)

We ain't scared of death, we try living a life that is not full of regret.

People say they want to go to heaven, but why bending God's law just because the want to live a short life with no guarantee.

I am sure you part of those that wants to go to heaven. Then why you scared to the extent of bending God's law to abstain from any form of blood intake.

Don't judge by religion, She stand on her faith in God. And God will surely reward her.

We mourn when we lose our loved ones in death, but just for awhile, because we still stand a chance to see them again in paradise.

It is now left for us that are still living to also run the race of faith till the end.

I will see my Sister soon in a world when there will be no more death.

I am so proud of her courage and faith in God.

She place her trust in God, and I know for sure she will come out of the grave when he calls.

First of all no church or religion hs any right to mek decisions for its members. I v read tru so many comments n no one person amg doz i read asked if blood transfusion stops bleeding. i wld prefer doctors comment rather than ds heap of religious sentiments i see. After all there r many cases where ppl after blood transfusion still died. So is it really her refusal to blood transfusion dat made her die? Nw wat if she had taken blood n still died? Wld it v mattered? wat abt women who can gv viginal birth BT choose c-sectn then eventually die during surgery? y nt talk abt dat as well. Ppl nid to no DAT it is possible to survive major surgeries where large amt of blood is lost without blood transfusion bcz medicine has evolved way beyond our nigerian tinking. So it is nt her refusal to blood dat caused her death somtin else did n only d hospital can tell.

Freeborn you are a born bastard
Linda shouldn't allow this type of comments on her blog.

JAO said...

#Ignorance#RIP.

anonymous d said...

Jesus Christ made it clear that those who follow him will have to carry their torture stake, just like he did, and follow him continually.This means that obeying God's laws will never be easy for a christian. The bible is clear on the matter: Abstain from blood" If your doctor asks you to stop taking alcohol because it is dangerous for your health, will you then pass it through your veins as in IV(intravenously)? I'm sure you said no. The bible's command to abstain from blood includes eating blood, drinking blood, bathing with blood, and as modern science developed, taking blood transfusions. Its like saying that internet fraud(yahoo yahoo as they commonly refer to it)is not stealing that is condemned in the bible because it does not have to do with physically taking another's property, since the bible did not specifically say 'internet fraud'.True Christians must apply God's law in their lives even when it results in some temporary pain or discomfort or as in this case, the painful death of a loved one. The precious deceased sister made the decision herself as there is a power of attorney document which she would have duly executed and which must have been in her hospital file. she was not coerced or induced to make that decision. Jehovah's witnesses worship and obey God out of a willing heart,of their personal volition.For more information, please visit JW.ORG under bible teachings. I sympathize with her family and friends, may Jehovah the God of all comfort, soothe their hearts, surely Jehovah will reward the faithful sister with everlasting life when the time comes.

anonymous d said...

I am from America and a JW, with a blood condition. I have to face the decision of transfusion each time I am going into surgery, telling my doctors that I do not want the procedure. Not following an ancient commandment, just because we live in the 21st century, but because I love my Heavenly Father, more than disobeying him and his principles. If as an alcoholic I was told to ABSTAIN, would I have it piped into my veins, anyway? Or would I actually stay away from it all together? In any form? We are told to hold blood sacred, for life is in the blood, not by what the world around sees it, but how the Creator who gave all living things LIFE! He calls the shots. And if any of us should die, because of that stance, what many of you who only see death, Jehovah God, will remove death, not gathering souls, but returning life to those who have returned to the dust from which we came. That is why he so loved us that he sent his Son! Jehovah God will change the condition of those of us who have died such as this young lady, giving her life again, not in heaven, nor punishing her in a hell. But she will be where Jesus told the evildoer he would be while they both were dying on stakes. This is the hope of true witnesses of Jehovah worldwide, who study the Bible for themselves and find the truth based on the faith that Paul wrote about at Hebrews 11:1, on the assured expectations of things hoped for. That is my hope, it was her hope also and the hope of billions who are dead in the memorial tombs at John 5:28,29, waiting to here Jesus' voice to come out.

yetty k said...

abeg. it s the girl that wants to die.if i was the girl, i l collect the blood and change my church straight.who wan die

capestar said...

Linda, Please Approve this Post!

I took my time to read through all the comments and I was amazed. Not a single one of you who support blood transfusion quoted a scripture from the bible to back up your claim, not a single person. Are you wiser than God? If U are so sure that taking blood transfusion is ok by God, why not use the scriptures?
I am not surprised, after all Jesus made it clear that Broad & Spacious is the road that leads to destruction, and many are the ones passing through it. (Matt 7:13)
Are U surprised by the overwhelming majority insulting JWs and who think "Transfusion" is ok thereby justifying it just to save lives??? These same people have forgotten what Jesus said in Mattew 16:25:"For whoever wants to save his life* will lose it, but whoever loses his life* for my sake will find it." (Read also Mark 8:35)
Jesus also asked a vital question in Matt 6:27: "Who of you by being anxious can add one cubit* to his life span?".
Please take Ur time to read all cited or quoted scriptures in your bible again. That was why Abraham was ready to sacrifice ISAAC knowing fully well that Jehovah, the life giver could resurrect him or even give him another son. That is "FAITH" in action.
Lesson from Jesus: "Obeying God's Law is better than Sacrifice" (1Samuel 15:22) - So therefore Its not about sentiments, neither is it about us "Trying to SAVE our lives", but its about what God wants & Approves.
So before U start ranting & insulting, maybe U should take your time to do some research and come up with constructive reasonings especially based on the bible.
You all will rather listen to the Pastors & Bishops who will tell you what you want to hear (Read 2Tim 4:3) and allow you do whatever you like so all of you can keep coming to church and enriching them by paying tithes. ()
If Jesus had been alive today, these same set of people (You know yourselves) will think He is insane and would be part of those who will abuse him and stone him to death for saying something "you don't want to hear" like "ABSTAIN from BLOOD". Jesus warned his followers that the world would "HATE" them, especially if you don't Agree with their ideologies, the evidence is clear here. (Read John 15:18, 19)
Back to the matter on ground, obviously the majority are not interested in thinking, let alone reasoning, but lets see if some of you will give way to humility & common sense or what is called "Intellectual Honesty" for better understanding.
BLOOD represents "life" and is unique to each person just like a finger print, hence, the one who gave life said in simple terms as stated in Leviticus 17:14: "For the life of every sort of flesh is its blood, because the life is in it. Consequently, I said to the Israelites: “You must not eat the blood of any sort of flesh because the life of every sort of flesh is its blood. Anyone eating it will be cut off.” (or Destroyed).
In Acts 15:20,29, the Greek word for Abstain means "avoid", "keep yourselves from", there were no exceptions at all. "Abstain from Blood" simple. Either it is "Eat", "Consume", "Injest", "Infuse", "Transfuse", etc, God's mind is 100% clear on this matter, He commanded: "ABSTAIN" and we shall obey God as Ruler rather than you Men.
So for the records, all who fear God would avoid taking "BLOOD" in any form, not only in obedience to God who has power over death but also out of respect for him as the Giver of life.

All of you who are saying Jws are silly and so on..... Are unreasonable,your are blunt headed, no reason for your statement.i hope you who said this can drink blood?....no body will say yes,then you say it's called blood transfusion ..the bible says abstain from blood, why should you do against the bible you people who claim to be christains ...the lady did it out of her bible trained conscience ..and our Heavenly Father Jehovah will remember her....one is that she has the hope of everlasting life.. Where do you guys fall into,, absolutely nowhere, no hope for you!..you should see the reason behind her faith it .instead of dropping nonsense out your mouth

Lilian Adjarho Topanude said...

It's a sad thing she died but she died upholding Jehovah's standard for the sacredness of blood. And she will be resurrected back to life soon. She isn't a baby and was not forced not to take blood, it was her decision not to. I have had a major surgery before, it was done without blood,and was successful.

Bias everywhere. The prostitutes on the streets, in bars and brothels are members of christendom churches and are respected by their pastors and church members. They r commended for their "hard work". However, a witness girl has a boyfriend and tongues lash. She is called names. She is the devil.
You are brainwashed to pay tithes and u comply to the fullest. Yet u condemn the one who has a scriptural basis for her stand - HYPOCRITE!
Above all, many out there are very ignorant of what the witnesses teach/believe. An educated person will ask a witness about his belief and hear him or her out. Even if u abhor such beliefs afterwards, at least it would be after getting all the facts.
Anyway, this is naija as usual. I can imagine this post on a foreign site. More reasonable comments would be made.

I've read the same passage and I didn't see it that way.
How can they make laws against a practice that didn't exist back then?

Can you then refer us to the laws in the bible that concern driving without a license etc

Ella said...

Jehovah witnesses can argue blindly. They are always right and know the scriptures. In fact they think their religion is d right one. Always misinterpreting the bible.in fact They claimed Angel Michael is Jesus. Only God know his true worshipper.