Audu Maikori retracts his statement that 5 students of Kaduna state College of Education were killed in Southern Kaduna crisis | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 February 2017

Audu Maikori retracts his statement that 5 students of Kaduna state College of Education were killed in Southern Kaduna crisis

Chocolate City president, Audu Maikori, has released a statement retracting a story he shared online some weeks ago where he said that 5 students of the Kaduna state College of Education were killed in the Southern Kaduna crisis.

According to Maikori, after carrying out a detailed investigation that involved the police, he found out that his driver who claimed his brother was also killed, lied to him just to extort money. Read the statement after the cut...

Following the statement by the College of Education, Gidan-Waya Kaduna and the Kaduna State government refuting the story that 5 students of the school were killed by Fulani herdsmen en-route to school on the 27th of January 2017, as reporter by my one Simon Joseph (my personal driver) I decided to further investigate the story to ensure that all the facts of the case and evidence were presented to the authorities.

My driver Simon Joseph had travelled to the village to attend his younger brother’s burial and on his return on Monday the 30th of January 2017, I asked him for pictures from the burial, the ID card of his brother and also pictures of the casket so I could submit to the authorities and he told me that he had phone issues so he could not store pictures on his phone. He told me however that his sister had the pictures on her phone and I proceeded to give him money to go to Ikeja to get the pictures from his sister, so I could have evidence. He didn’t return till evening, and when he did, he showed me some blurry picture of a male body which didn't show the face of the victim. At this point I began to strongly suspect foul play. I again questioned him about the veracity of his story to which he swore on the bible that his brother was dead and even began to shed tears.

Not totally satisfied with the story I made contact with his referees ( who helped to engage him) and they didn't seem to know about any death in his family . So on the 2nd of February, 2017 I went in company of his referee one Mr Dauda to the Lekki Police Station for questioning in the absence of his providing any concrete evidence of the death of his brother and fellow students(He clearly didn't suspect anything at this stage). When we got to the station, I lodged my complaint and when he was questioned he maintained his story about the deaths were real until the police officers at the station threatened to arrest him . It was only then that he confessed and said he was just trying to collect money from me; that he knew that I was involved in the advocacy on the Southern Kaduna crisis and he thought that I after obtaining money for me for the fake burial expenses I wouldn't cross check the veracity of his story. So he was duly arrested.
Following this development, I decided that the right thing to do was to issue a statement retracting the tweet which reported the killings of students of the College of Education as relayed to me by my driver. And I had no reason to doubt him due to the spate of killings in the area and because in the 8 months he has worked for me, he had never "lied" to me about anything or so I thought. Besides why would any right thinking human lie about the death of a sibling?
Consequently, I hereby tender an unreserved and sincere apology to the Management of the College of Education, Gidan Waya, His Excellency the Governor of Kaduna State and the Kaduna State Government, and also to the people of Southern Kaduna and the Fulani community and also VANGUARD newspapers whos source was my driver for the false statement by my driver which I also publicized believing same to be true.
This action is made even more imperative because I understand that as a leader in my community, my statements are taken seriously and shapes the narrative. But nothing is more important in leadership than owning up to mistakes honestly and with integrity regardless of the repercussions or circumstances.
I make this statement with all sense of responsibility, realizing that by admitting what transpired, people may begin to doubt my credibility and that of my statements in future… this is a risk I am willing to take but I would rather tell the truth about the situation than suppress it.
Besides this what is clear to me is that there are people who are simply just creating and concocting pictures and stories to deliberately mislead people , like I was misled. With benefit of hindsight I should have checked the story in detail but given that I am not a journalist or Police officer my experience in these matters are/were limited.

I must also seize this opportunity to plead with my brothers in Kaduna, regardless of ethnic or religious persuasion that the time to unite and fight for peace is now. This unfortunate situation is now actively being used by crisis opportunists, politicians and some unpatriotic elements to forge their personal or commercial agendas to the detriment of the peace and stability of the state. This must stop.
Instructively, it is important to note that nothing in my clarification undermines the fact that the lives of Nigerians citizens have been lost in the Southern Kaduna crisis rather it refers to this particular incident which I have verified to have been untrue and fraudulent.
The arrest of the arrest of 17 suspects with arms and ammunition in connection with the Southern Kaduna killings on the 3rd of February by security agents is evidence that our agitations are yielding fruit and to that end I commend the government on these arrests as well as many more in the nearest future.
To this end, I am even more resolved in this quest for the restoration of peace in Southern Kaduna and also working even more closely with the all the stakeholders to ensure that normalcy returns to Kaduna. What is however clear is that unverified facts , hate messages and ethnic stereotyping only exacerbates the issues ,they don't help the pursuit of peace.
As I speak, my former driver Simon has been handed over to the police authorities.He is available to help the authorities with any further investigations.
Finally all the people that posted #IstandWithAudu I appreciate the trust bestowed on me and hope I haven't lost it.

31 comments:

U see where is apostle SULEIMAN and all,nobody is saying pple were not killed but lying and incitement is not a good look at all

Allure automobile said...

Welcome Oga.E ka bo... Hope u have learnt a huge lesson from this... you need to re-verify the authenticity of any story thoroughly before making it public.

Wasn't he sure before?

AustineInfornet said...

This just confirmed what I HV been saying all this while

He has been threatened... Nigerians change has come.

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

why fooling urself ? always investigate any information before coming to SM to rant, rubbish!

Ejike Manny said...

Am sorry Audu but this does no harm to your integrity. My respect for you has even increased. You're my kinda person. Respect boss.

You are a mad man for posting such a fake news. See you big head

Something is not right. Is this a cover up?

The truth is gradually emerging.
Audu I used to look up to you, but you have proved a very big disappointment.
This is to many people exaggerating issues so as to paint this government in a bad light.
Then we asked you simple questions because the story you told didn't add up, but your friends attacked anyone who dare question the story.
See your life outside now.
Shame on you

Audu no dey see money again. The sure_p money no dey flow again. So his now on social media trying to make this his fight...

chris77 said...

Thank God another Christian was not killed. But the fact is that people are being killed in southern kaduna because they are Christians. Period. And the united states house of reps just said yesterday that Nigeria is the most dangerous place for Christians to live in the world.

No, shame on you, Bonario. You are a stupid ass~wipe. The guy finds out he was wrong,having been lied to and apologizes and you are still castigating him? You are just an insufferable prick.

Y r u always stupid?

This hard working Dude owned up 2 a Honest mistake n u r here ranting jst like the imbecile u r.
Maybe all the curses being spawned on u on this platform is finally taking shape and celebrating it will not evade my humble being.

Miserable Fuck.

Y r u always stupid?

This hard working Dude owned up 2 a Honest mistake n u r here ranting jst like the imbecile u r.
Maybe all the curses being spawned on u on this platform is finally taking shape and celebrating it will not evade my humble being.

Miserable Fuck.

Word!!

Oghenetega said...

Shame on U dude..
Verify ur story b4 coming on social Media Like the Ibadan Lunatic Woman making up diff stories to tarnish celebrities image..
U know ur Twitting dat rubbish could hv caused chaos in sone quarters..
I just hope ppl will ever take U serious again with ur arrogant self absorb self...
Yeyebrity

"I again questioned him about the veracity of his story to which he swore on the bible that his brother was dead and even began to shed tears."
Nonsense. This Audu man has been compromised.

People should stop misquoting and maligning APOSTLE SULEIMAN. "If you see any Fulani Herdsmen in the church compound" is not the same as "if you see any Fulani herdsmen anywhere." Why are we selectively sentimental?

hmm

Most of NIGERIA prbms caused by all this online fake news , especially for us living outside, some of us really wanna come home to do one or two things in order to contribute to d building of our economy but these f***cking news is driving us back . Cos we follow what we read online . I guess enough is enough. Pdp will do their own too . Haba

As educated as they are, they always forget the world is a global village now , only in Nigeria ,the youth will come online to ridicule their country ,forgetting that the whole world are reading. Na wa o , and later they will be blaming the old men for always leading , is this how the youths will be running the country? With their fake unverified negative news .

I read with dismay how low people will lie to extort money.I mean can you imagine the level of lost value to life?as the driver misled his Boss (Audu) to react by putting the message on social media . Audu is a man of integrity & he has apologized for being misled but the truth must be told about the way Nigeria is heading to its own destruction for lack of religious tolerance particularly looming in the North.People must know that LIFE IS PRECIOUS & no matter what happens we must attach a lot of value to tolerance & above all learn to coexist not by violence.Audu you have done well trust me & I'm with you.May God bless federal republic of NIGERIA.Remain blessed Bro

GTFOH.
Stupid cunt.

It is grossly irresponsible for people with the means to broadcast unverified rumors. If not that i hear from God, i would have laid a grievous curses on el'Ruffai but God refused to actualize the curses.

This one has owned up after doing incalculable damage to the integrity of El Rufai and the Kaduna state government, as well as the federal government. What of the plethora of such fake gist that have not been retracted, and that is still generating so much hatred and suspicion? God save Nigeria.

Fairo said...

It takes a man with guts and integrity to first of all stand up for his home town and then apologize after realizing he was deceived.

How many of you go on social media to protest against the TRUE ills of society.

The respect i have for this self made man has only grown in leaps and bounds.
Fuck y'all haters!!!