He admitted that the jibe about his size came at a time when he felt 'suicidal' and concludes by urging those struggling to reach out for help. The post has been shared many times. Read after the cut...
"Today I found myself the subject of an Internet meme. Not for the first time." he wrote
This one, however, stands out from the rest.
In 2010, semi-retired from acting, I was keeping a low-profile for a number of reasons.
First and foremost, I was suicidal.
This is a subject I've since written about, spoken about, shared about.
But at the time I suffered in silence. As so many do. The extent of my struggle known to very, very few.
Ashamed and in pain, I considered myself damaged goods. And the voices in my head urged me down the path to self-destruction. Not for the first time.
I've struggled with depression since childhood. It's a battle that's cost me time, opportunities, relationships, and a thousand sleepless nights.
In 2010, at the lowest point in my adult life, I was looking everywhere for relief/comfort/distraction. And I turned to food. It could have been anything. Drugs. Alcohol. Sex. But eating became the one thing I could look forward to. Count on to get me through. There were stretches when the highlight of my week was a favorite meal and a new episode of TOP CHEF. Sometimes that was enough. Had to be.
And I put on weight. Big f--king deal.
One day, out for a hike in Los Angeles with a friend, we crossed paths with a film crew shooting a reality show. Unbeknownst to me, paparazzi were circling. They took my picture, and the photos were published alongside images of me from another time in my career. "Hunk To Chunk." "Fit To Flab." Etc.
My mother has one of those "friends" who's always the first to bring you bad news. They clipped one of these articles from a popular national magazine and mailed it to her. She called me, concerned.
In 2010, fighting for my mental health, it was the last thing I needed.
Long story short, I survived.
So do those pictures.
I'm glad.
Now, when I see that image of me in my red t-shirt, a rare smile on my face, I am reminded of my struggle. My endurance and my perseverance in the face of all kinds of demons. Some within. Some without.
Like a dandelion up through the pavement, I persist.
Anyway. Still. Despite.
The first time I saw this meme pop up in my social media feed, I have to admit, it hurt to breathe. But as with everything in life, I get to assign meaning. And the meaning I assign to this/my image is Strength. Healing. Forgiveness.
Of myself and others.
If you or someone you know is struggling, help is available. Reach out. Text. Send an email. Pick up the phone. Someone cares. They're waiting to hear from you. Much love. - W.M. #koalas #inneractivist #prisonbroken
54 comments:
Lol... Sorry o
My crush before before
Lol... Sorry o
ALRIGHT.
It's well with him...People get bad mouth though! dnt want to laugh...
Depression, hmmm. Keep d hope alive bro
Aww my gay man crush
I advice he should go back to his normal physique...
Noted
HMmmmmm
Hmmmmmmmm ok
Hmm deep.I always believe that in the depth of winter, there lies an invincible summer inside us.Its too sad some people don't realize that.People are quick to ridicule others without knowing anything about their struggles.
Its something like this;
Society: You look fat
Person: *Commits suicide*
Society: Oh No!And he was so strong
Thank God for his life!
People don't know what others go through on a daily basis it's well
Michael in prison break. I love that movie
Hmmmmm
Mr cold in flash making his money n some badass writing shit
Most beautiful gal on linda ikeji's blog
I fell in love with Michael in PB wonder what could have caused his depression. May God heal him completely in Jesus name amen.
At least he is still alive!!!!a happy for him wight or not people should learn to be consoling not betraying o with their words.
His boyfriend likes him fat! LOL Yea he is gay
THE OTHER STATURE IS NOT BAD FOR A 45 YEAR OLD MAN
What am I seeing
The profile is the lab bible. Bible can not make jokes of people
Nice piece of encouragement! The only one that can save u from depression is u! You are who you think you are
Abeg shut up. Na only una dey go thru life's struggles? Every time suicide, every time depression. Y'all have it way too easy sha, not ur fault
Gay Fuck.
Micheal of serah, one day!
Unfortunately it's the trials of being gay and having a conscience, depression and suicidal thoughts are a rule. Just ask Godwin Linda Blog
Strong one! Hmmmmm! Life sometimes!
Life is only meaningful through Jesus Christ!
Kk, datz una way sha
Scofield you broke our heart when you declared yourself gay,you brought depression upon yourself. ..Such a beautiful nonsense!
Eeyah.pele.rily loved him in prison break en loved him personally until I heard he was gay
I wonder why? hope he is not HIV positive
Awww...
I've always loved this guy!
Was hot for days mehn.
But one wont always be a hunk now...
Accept who you are now .
Suicide is never the way out.
Its a selfish decision.
One love💕
Ppl like gossip oo heard a rumour years back that Miller was death that's why they couldn't complete the movie (prison break)
Who hurt my baby
Hmmmmmmmm. Gbam! Word!
When men loose focus on God the devil takes over that the reason for these days suicidal tendencies
Oga anyi, please work out and get back to making good movies, stop making excuses.. enough abeg
Don't judge people, u never know what they are going through. #Suz#
Awww... I like the part where he said he could have turned to anything... thank God he turned to food!!
Prison break. my best of all season movies
Na wa o! Linda take note!
I have the same story tho.. So Depressed by so much, I actually embraced bodybuilding.
Why won't u be depressed when u chose to f*** anus instead of a vagina! What isn't depressing about longing for a smelly hole for satisfaction!
God is the healer of our struggles. It is well
People will always have their way with words, scathing hurtful words! Glad he made lemonade out of the lemons thrown at him!
could dis be fashion or Nudity? C what a bursty lady wore.
This guy don unsexy ooo .... Na wa ..
Yeah I was really disappointed.Wish he will fall in love with a woman, marry and have kids.
Gay people will always find suicide appealing because the sane world will never accept gayism as normal. You better go for deliverence from the demons of homosexualism so that your life will have a meaning. Bible says that the Word of God straighten every crooked place and is sharper than a two edged sword..
Come to Jesus. He loves you. He will heal you. You will be normal again. Those voices that tell you that you were born this way are demonic and satanic validations that seek to perish your soul. Go to a deliverance minister of God and be set free.
Gay idiot
Damn,this guy is cute even when he is fat...unlike rob that became fat and was ugly...Wentie is a darling sha
Hmmm now he really looks like fish, its dis stupid gay tin dat u became, find a woman dat ll mmke u hapi nd take kia of u not a man dat ll depress u