The attack happened early Monday in the back of an adult entertainment store.
Officers say Robert Giles, 27, asked the victim to call her boyfriend so he could hear the assault.
Instead of calling her boyfriend, she called 911. Police say the savvy 911 operator also kept his wits about him and played along unbeknownst to the attacker.
“It was quick thinking on his behalf. In fact, (it) might have saved her life,” Clayton County police Maj. Joe Woodall said.
Officers say Giles kidnapped the victim from Hapeville and brought her to the closed Starship Novelties and Gifts store on Tara Boulevard around 4 a.m. Monday intending to rape her. That’s when he allegedly asked her to call her boyfriend so he could listen to the assault.
![]() |
| Rapist Robert Giles |
Deonte Smith was the only man working as a Clayton County dispatcher early Monday, when that call came through and he played along.
The victim called 911 and told her attacker it was her boyfriend. The 911 operator, Deonte Smith, played along.
“She explained to him what the perpetrator had told her; that he was wanting him to listen while she was being raped,” Woodall said.
The operator tried to talk the attacker out of the assault and sent police. Police quickly arrived and say they arrested Giles in the act.
“They were able to stop it right then and there and snatched him right from the car,” Woodall said.
Smith told Channel 2 Action News on Tuesday he was just doing his job, but the timing of the call was crucial.
“Honestly I’d say divine intervention,” Smith said. “I was the only guy on the floor that night. The other guy we had had just left not too long before the call came in.”
Smith said the victim deserves credit for her quick thinking while being assaulted.
Giles now faces rape, false imprisonment and obstruction charges. Hapeville police are preparing kidnapping charges against Giles.

69 comments:
Bravo. Hope he gets jailed forever
Thank God she was smart enough to call the police,very lucky girl or would have been a different story!!
anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com
Some people are lunatic wat dose it profit a man by raping an innocent girl
They are both smart...
Sharp girl. Good thinking
Na God save her.
na God save her
smart thought
Hmmmmmmm
#iT wiLL only gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise
The beast must face the full wrath of the law.
Lucky her...
Smart girl
Daz smart ov her
What a wise decision. Brave gurl
aunty linda Enter your comment...
Just negodu this fine boy turned rapist.. Satan is a liar.. Tufiaaaaa!!!
Useless man with useless pennis .they should sentence is dick to death by hanging
Giles would rot in jail
Lol,he deserves worse than dis,d guy is so wicked
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine
One should think fast
THAT WAS SMART THINKING. THE RAPIST SEF NA MUMU LOL
Na #GODWIN things o! Linda take note!
Girl! U are lucky! That 911 dispatcher guy needs a recommendation too, he played smart. I don't know y guys still rape women wen Der are lots of Nymphos around.
Linda I hv arrived, post my comment..
Deonte Smith deserves a promotion.
I think this is totally insane.... y rape a girl nd tells her to call her bull... huh... stupidity in its pick!!
very smart move indeed
Thank God for wisdom.
smart move girl, if most girls can be that smart enough the world will be a better place..
Let him rot in jail. Idiot.
Lol great
Enter your comment...so her boyfriend number is 911.......OK bye
#HaveyouprayedforNigeriatoday#
Thank God, It was in abroad, if you try this Nigeria you are on your own because the kind of stupid question the police will ask you will make the rapist to code that your not talking to your boyfriend
hmmmmm smart girl.
Smart
Today marks the end of 2015, and I am personally grateful dat Linda did not post of the loss of any LIB reader, nor did she announce the burial of anyone of us in dis LIB family.
its worth celebrating.
I say happy and prosperous new year to each and everyone of us, including Mama of the house Linda.
Rapists shall go to hell.God help us.
really a smart move
Nawa o
Nawa o
Thank God. It's always good to not panic. Panic is a fail in every urgent situation
Serves The Mumu Right! http://www.bummyla.com
smart girl
God go punish that man in prison
100years imprisonment.
WHO IS THIS VAL
whoisthisval@gmail.com
Kuduos to you girl..,.super smart girl
Sharp indeed, some girls won't even do this; they will keep quiet especially if the rapist is cute and after taking those hot lashes they start crying and screaming I've been
R
A
P
E
D
That vuvuzela P guy
Make e b 9ja,u go hear"take heart o,no fuel 4 motor & Na only me de office"
Bad market.....were oo
Smart oNe
Awww thank God
So as this one fine finish no babe to satisfy em, na rape him prefer! Good for em! Btw dat babe get sense.
Everyday for d thief,one day for d owner.
Hmm
Smart gurl
This guy is heartless and must be jailed...
Thank God for saving d girl's life... Oloshi rapist, God have mercy on you.
(Linda d Kim K's fan)
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Smart one there from the victim
God don catch am
Good thinking
Good job guys! Nigerian police will not pick your calls. Oya oga rapist enter prison and taste a bit of what you intended to that woman.
some people have dog sex nature but let them marry or better still marry as many wife as possible since women is too many.why should they rape? Linda whyyyyy
Lolz
Smart lady indeed. Fine boy, empty skull.. so babes don finish for town huh? Smh
Smart girl , kudos
Make brain
Dats good.
Soji babe. Mumu guy. Correct dispatcher. Beta police.
smart one
Kudus as God save her life. You can also save lives by dialing 112.
Jesus is Lord!
That was a smart one... Thanks to the law enforcement agency that works, if na naija here you die well, police no go show up till the next day... good one