Violence in Burundi leaves one dead as country protests president's 3rd term bid | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 May 2015

Violence in Burundi leaves one dead as country protests president's 3rd term bid

Burundi's president Pierre Nkurunziza is running for a third term which he promises will be his last but citizens don't want to hear any of it. There have been demonstrations in the country for almost 2 weeks now, but it turned deadly this morning after one person was shot dead by police and 3 others seriously injured. The police reportedly used live ammunition to disperse protesters, killing one. 13 people have so far died since April 26th, the day demonstrations began following Pres. Nkurunziza announcement that he would seek re-election.

The fight is happening in Burundi's capital Bujumbura between the president's supporters and people who want him out. Many protesters have also been arrested and are being held by government forces.

Burundi's constitutional court on Tuesday May 5th ruled that the president can run for a third term if he wants, that he wasn't violating the constitution's two-term limit, saying "renewal of the presidential term through direct universal suffrage" is permitted. This didn't go down well with the opponents who say it violates their constitution. 

Burundi's election will hold on June 26th and citizens say they want another president. 

Over 25,000 Burundians have fled the country to neigbouring countries following the violent protests. They say they are afraid there might be another civil war in the country. The last one ended in 2006 after 13 years.

42 comments:

Oh well

Beausteven said...

Oh why is that you get bad news on a daily bases

Result of power greed.

Result of power greed

Only in africa.....

Pidgin Mistress said...

Violence is not good

African rulers, they'll never learn

Inspired Messi proved Guardiola was right, says Pique

eka said...

Power clinching African leaders;
d only problem we have in Africa

Violence everywhere

Etsako Pearl said...

Senseless protest.mtcheee

Nawaaa.....

Heard the Senate has passed the bill for 3rd term running in Nigeria too. It is well. 2tim 2:1-2

naija dj said...

Wow

That shows that we are reasonable in Nigeria. When Obasanjo tried it, the only thing that died was billions of =N=aira.

RIP to the dead.
Pierre is greedy & selfish.

Everyday we are reminded what sacrifice GEJ made by conceding defeat at the last election. This could have being us, but right now we are only worried about scarcity of fuel which is a relief.

Easy o, should be a peaceful protest

THIRD WETIN?? IS HE HGH ON CHEAP DRUGS??? TOMJERRYSWIT

I will never understand black leaders, why is it that once they get to leadership position they want to die there??!! WTF IS WRONG WITH THE BLACK MAN??!!

Dis empty promises of d President wil definitely continue until he goes into d grave. He wants to emulate OBJ, and I pray he should b put to shame lik OBJ.

PARENTAL ADVISORY
***explicit content***

The quest for unlimited power, why don't u step down and save d life of d ordinary citizens....

Slimy said...

Nkuruuziza biko leave power or u don't love ur country?

Its a popular saying 'No country can survive 2 civil wars'.

They always split up during the second one.

The Constitutional Court caused this fuckery by giving the Retarded President a Legal Backing to Obasanjo for another term.

its so hard to relinquish power. greed!

Haba! It's too much nah. Linda take note!

He wants to carry presidential post to his grave

I Rep 27th May

Tank God for nigeria "GEJ l will always luv u for accepting defeat but Burundi God they must be peace.

I Rep 27th May

linda said...

Tsk tsk tsk....African leaders are officially cursed. So this is why GEJ is being hailed as a hero. This is what happens when a leader desperately wants to hold on to power regardless of the life of his citizens...We barely escaped thru prayers when obj wntd to run for third term,and escaped anoda civil war when Jonathan willingly conceded evn when d opposition made it clear dat dey ' l declare a parallel govt ( fancy name for civil war) if Jonathan wins. I just hope dat old fulani man will give up his title when the time is ready...We av enof issues already to strt thinkin of how to become refugees.

linda said...

Tsk tsk tsk....African leaders are officially cursed. So this is why GEJ is being hailed as a hero. This is what happens when a leader desperately wants to hold on to power regardless of the life of his citizens...We barely escaped thru prayers when obj wntd to run for third term,and escaped anoda civil war when Jonathan willingly conceded evn when d opposition made it clear dat dey ' l declare a parallel govt ( fancy name for civil war) if Jonathan wins. I just hope dat old fulani man will give up his title when the time is ready...We av enof issues already to strt thinkin of how to become refugees.

Phew! Some just want to die in power

AMIJEZ said...

All these sit tight government, remeber there's Godoooo.

Y Dem no go contest???? Drunk in power

The guy said there'll be peace and security WHEN he is elected AGAIN

And the stupid president Nkurunziza, don't want to resign now he is given order to kill innocent citizen useless greedy man.

dilinger said...

Thank God for GEJ! !

African leaders though...smh

Greedy frog

Greedy frog

Haaaaaaa, civil war ke, dey shd learn 4rm Nigeria by voting him out wt der vote. God wl help dem. Vote nt fight o