University of Ibadan students protest over death of fellow student | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 May 2015

University of Ibadan students protest over death of fellow student

Students of the University of Ibadan (last night) and this morning are protesting the death of a fellow student. According to reports from multiple students who reached out to LIB, Mayowa Alaran, a 200l student of Human Kinetics (pictured above) was watching the Barca match in his hall yesterday when he suddenly slumped. He was rushed to the school's clinic, Jaja Clinic, where students claim they were told by nurses that they won't attend to the sick student unless they presented his clinic card. The nurses also allegedly asked for money. Mayowa later passed away in the clinic.

Students are now protesting his death, blaming it on the negligence and lackadaisical attitude of the health centre workers. The students want the school authority to take action. They say it's not the first time a student has died due to the attitude of the nurses at their health centre. Rest in peace, Mayowa.

74 comments:

Sad.rip to him

Rip dear

I saw this broadcast on my BBM. RIP Mayowa

Message to Naija guys.

SMTHNG MST BE DONE...RIP GUY..TOMJERRYSWIT

2niceNorthEast said...

Protest oo

Rest in peace

May his soul rest in peace.

My goodness, heartless nurses! May his soul rest in peace.

Negligence in emergencies in hospitals in this country can not be over emphasised. God saved me on one occasion if not for his mercy and I think government u enact laws against such practices

I pray God grant his family d fortitude to bear their loss.

They shd be punished severely.

Some health workers tho

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Ehya..may his soul rest in perfect peace

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Obviously the altitudeof d nurses lead to his death, if d story as told is true...........Maybe if dey had attended to him on time...he wud av survived d attack......

Rest in peace Mayowa......

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Ehya..may his soul rest in perfect peace

www.hawtshoes.co.uk

Rip Mayowa, Jaja nurses can really be pathetic

iam_raay said...

May his innocent soul rest in peace

So painful, The nurses on Duty must be sanctioned!

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

ayomiposi said...

I weep for my country and continue to wonder when negligence to human lives will be treated as crime... Some people are really heartless sha

Too bad, rip bro

Rip Mayowa

That's sad!
RIP to the dead.

Poor boy.. RIP. Just sad

Chai..RIP Mayowa.
Y r nurses n police so mean n inhumane?

How would an unconscious student, present a clinic card.This is a serious case and something should be done about it.Imagine asking for money too.Those nurses should be sacked or suspended asap.There are many people willing to work with their hearts

Karlsson said...

Rest in peace Mayowa
Ubanagum

Wicked nurses...frustrated idiots, may his soul RIP

Almost all school based medic centers.... stupid excuse not to treat a student

Eeeeeeeyah! May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

This is damn negligent and the health workers need to feel the brunt of the law.

Sad. Nurses have replaced human worth with money. Hope those responsible will be punished and stripped of all title. May his soul rest in peace.

swit said...

Chai! Wat a life, RIP dear

Rest in peace mayowa God will forgive u your sin

* attitude *

May His soul rest in peace n may his family find d strength to bear d loss,thru Jesus Christ our Lord and saviour..amen

Those workers@d health care should b held responsible for dis wht happen to dis student.

Rip

kayceeblink said...

may his soul RIPP

Obidiyakool said...

So sad.

They need to take action, such negligence should stop.

its a school clinic though, why cant they attend to him first, I hope they charge the nurses. RIP

Am a student of the institution all those nurses ar bunch of blood sucking demons, dey av done dat 2 me b4. RIP MAYOWA

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Dis is so sad, comin 4rm my alma mater. Pls look in2 it o mk dem do well 4 Jaja clinic o. Rip 2 d dead

Hope those so called nurses dnt have children, cos they will surely reap wht they sow. who throw stone for market, forget say the stone fit reach him mama or siblings. linda pls post my comment, bikonu.

I guess human lives dont matter to them

M inside UI. SUG has blocked all the entrances to the school, driven students out of the classes. But when you go to Jaja they attend to emerdency cases ; card or no card. God help us

Those nurses should be arrested and reminded in jail....

RIP. Soo painful. He be like say make I see those nurses make I .......dem. Stupid humans

The card part is true but the clinic can never ask for money ooo aunty lindaaaaaaaa!!!

RIP Mayowa

Wickedness...Dis is not fair,they just allowed the poor guy to die like that.

Sad, wicked nurse. RIP

This is so sad. The nurses on duty should be punished for this. JAJA! Stop giving ui bad name o. Hw pathetic!

It's not true. Our medical staff do not ask for money before treating students. The boy suffocated due to congestion in the TV room because there was no light and the generator could not power the fan,the place was overcrowded and boys tried to do what dey could. There was no ambulance to rush him to d clinic, but they took him there late. He was already foaming before before they got to Jaja. He was immediately given oxygen, but he didn't survive it. The issue of d nurses asking for the card was for them to check his file to know his health history.

Funmy Kemmy said...

This is saddening. May his soul rest in peace amen.

This is definately not acceptable

Shut up Linda...they attended 2 him,dey only requestd for means of identificatn so as 2 get his file and chk for hs medical history...linda u just like 2 dey carry fake news

Shut up Linda,dey attended 2 him, dey even gave him oxygen

SAD.....RIP

Fake news linda

RIP bro

Daniel said...

RIP bro

sodeke sunday said...

may ur soul rest in peace

sodeke sunday said...

RIP mayowa

Mufliat said...

Rip. Those nurses need to be sack Asap.

#Hajia Mufliat#

AGB said...

May God Bless his soul in Jesus Mighty Name. Amen.

alaran m.a said...

RIP ...ALARAN M.M

WE LOVE U BUT GOD LOVE U MOST

There are so many hypocrites on dis Liblog....they will hide under d guise of an anonymous....nd m sure most of dem are all dose greedy mofos who always come here to beg....God is watching u In 3D nd he will punish all of you one by one

I think people should learn how to listen to both parties involved in an incident b4 passing judgement. Not likely they were not attending to Mayowa while asking for his ID card since it was an emergency case. I think we should wait for a comprehensive official report on the matter b4 blaming the health workers.

UI Students are silly. They are all looking for a way to boycott lectures cos of lack of light in their hostels. You can imagine a student begging the VC to lift the ban on hot plates at the hostels during the acclaimed protest on behalf of the dead student. All the people cursing the health workers at java clinic should also be careful to avoid GOD'S wrath. I know a couple of the doctors and nurses in java and they will not watch any patient die. The boy was brought in dead and so if blames should be shared,the idiots that they were watching the match together should have their fair share. Mayowa was left at independence hall for more than 10 mind after he passed out and then they expected jaja workers to wake him up with their magic bands. That's so silly!!!! For the bill erases among you question the nurses for looking for his case notes,u should ask GOD for forgiveness. How will they know his medical history and know what drugs to give or not give him? It's better to keep shut when you don't have adequate info about a subject matter than talk nonsense. Lastly madam Linda Pls investigate before posxting anything on your blog,it makes a great deal of difference. May God comfort mayowa psrents.

Guy u r a cow...dey were surpose to attend to him b4 asking 4 is card....it was an emagency situation.... Dey were delayed 4 15mins and dat was when he died ...sooo stop saying trash

This is madness.that's how all the nurses in federal and state government behave like they don't have a conscience.if the poor boy was their child or relative,will they act that way?its an emmergency 4 cryn out loud,a student in the university were u work,dy shud av attended to him first.doz d poor boy kno smtn silly wud hapun to him that hil b takn hospital card up n down?hrtlss set of humanbeings.RIP mayowa n may God console n comfort ur parents.

Wat we don't knw, God knws best. RIP 2 him

RIP mayowa