Dubai banks reportedly closing accounts of Nigerians in the UAE | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 May 2015

Dubai banks reportedly closing accounts of Nigerians in the UAE

Saw that Dubai was trending in Nigeria and checked to see why, and saw these tweets from Nigerian journalist Fidelis Mbah! So I went to dig and found more details.

The UAE Central bank this week enacted a new policy prohibiting Nigerians who do not work in their country from operating accounts in any of their local or foreign banks. They say this is to prevent money laundering by Nigerian politicians which they claim has become rampant.

Now, they have reportedly closed accounts of all Nigerians not working in the UAE and issued them cheques equivalent to the amount they have in their accounts. All account holders reportedly have 5-working days to cash their money. See more tweets after the cut..

114 comments:

They r sick

This is gonna be a hard one for them

OKAY

Yay! Defrosted kpomo on deck, can't wait #kpomo lover#

very good. I hope other countries do the same

Elixir said...

Good move!

Mmmmmmmmmmmh!

See wat south Africa has caused

Good move!

frank said...

Good one

Good moves.

All this rotten politicians be creating trouble for everybody

Good radiance...

Good news!!!

This is serious!

Messi does things nobody else can do, says Iniesta

Chelsea await Icardi decision

Guardiola: Bayern were in control... then Messi showed his class

Nice one that is very good

Well.. I dnt really blame them..their country their policy and rules.. Much less our politicians aren't helping matters.. D corruption is too much and obvious

Nice move UAE.........Good for our politians......

Bolty said...

The politicians that are looting our money are in trouble.

I kinda like this idea. I wish every country would do this.

eka said...

nice move
hope Swiss Banks follow suit soon..

It serves Nigerian politicians well. Let the looting stop.

This is good.They keep making bad name for Nigeria. UAE should have even sent the chqs to Nigerian Authority and our people should present evidences before the chqs are released to them. If that is done,large number of people wont be able to explain the source of the large sum in their accounts.

No one saw that coming. A lot of them will have to rush to Dubai to get their money else they will have to forfeit it.

Hmm...

That's a good one....let them use the money to improve Nigeria's economy. But how come all this foreign countries are now returning politicians money after GMB won the election? #shakingmyhead# same apply to Switzerland

Politicians too shuld stop disgracing us

Hmmmm, dis is wht I call second chance. D reason behind dis action is not reliable to stop any form of money transactions taking place witout a/c.

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

What hve we done this time..
Nigerians in every news.why?

lucybings amebo said...

I dnt agree wit dis yes Nigerian politicians are so into dis bt we've got people who are Nigerians but do legitimate businesses.dis is unacceptable!

ama mango said...

So hw do dey want dem to survive without deir monies.

Every day Nigeria must be in the news for the wrong reasons. Nawa ooooo..

Linda cogitate

Nigerians have become a stench the world over! A damn shame!!

Every day Nigeria must be in the news for the wrong reasons. Nawa ooooo..

Linda cogitate

they can afford to do a mad thing like this but I dont see how this is cool, I mean I get it and I understand why we need to reduce or eradicate money laundering but still ....

Na wa o

Hummm

Good...
Our politicians are thieves

Man Of God said...

God have mercy on us! when most states cannot pay workers salaries; politicians are smuggling dollars to UAE! there is God ooooo!

Oj said...

Yes that is what they do....smuggle millions in the name of school fees.

Good for them

Pidgin Mistress said...

WTF!!

What a shameful thing for our corrupt politicians. The efforts of Central Bank UAE is laudable. Wish other countries will do same.

This is good

IS NIGERIA WORTH DYING FOR? FIND OUT...

That's a welcome development, the wind of change is blowing hard!

Sorry to say, this guy is stupid. Where did he get this stupid information from?am currently a student here in Dubai and even my brother and they didn't even touch our accounts. Have not even heard any story that they are closing account of Nigerians who don't work here in Dubai or students

Nice idea

Good move, am beginning the feel the change that we so want. I have the feeling that Buhari's election win is having an effect on a lot of things especially on those political criminal.

Na wa o! Every country dey treat us anyhow dey like cos our leaders don tarnish our image to the outside world. Well its not their fault. Linda take note!

how i wish they could return this money Nigeria government.............oles

For me, I think its a good move

Good news!

NICE MOVE....#YAAGA#

TONIA "D TITAN said...

NICE MOVE....#YAAGA#

ds~production said...

I call it nemesis

Chidinma Grace said...

Nice move, I wish oda countries will do same so as to stop embezzlement bc if u don't av a. Place to hide ur money, den dia will be no need to steal public funds.

Na wah

Why are they singling out Nigeria first if your below 40yrs can't travel to Dubai alone visa restrictions now closing accounts this one is getting too much sef

Well it a nice idea but I don't think it wil make any significant difference. Trust me it wouldn't go far@all.

Chyyyyy my money my money my money oooooooooooooooo

Great news!

Its a good thing bt why re the always singling out Nigerians ? Re we the only corrupt country in the world? In no time now they will ban Nigerian from coming there!, well, that won't affect me directly bc I ve never like that place!

Cant blame them jare.

You really think they are doing it because of Buhari?. Nigerians Nigerians hmmm!. We are just too dillusional in our thinking. How do you think that they would make policies because of political events in Nigeria. You guys must think that you are very important

Its an eye opener for EFCC to catch politicians involved in money laundry, also a plus for GMB to use them as example.

Shakitibobo said...

The UAE should have gone a step further to collaborate and investigate with EFCC to determine and bring to book those engaged in money laundering. Na dem go loose.

see what greedy politicians in 9ja are causing us. making us look so horrible. not cool jur

I KNOW IS COMING BECAUSE THIS ARABS ALL THEY USE NIGERIAN MONEY ALOWED ALL THIS THIVES TO BRING MONEY NOW THEY WONT TAKE IT FROM THEM.UAE IS USING NIGERIN MONEY

Mr Man r u sick? Dnt u get d message?

They should send the names and amount involved to the media,

Sorry to say, u r an ignorant idiot.

North, South, East and West, home is best. Nigerians can make Dubai out of any part of Nigeria. Even d Sambisa forest can be turned into a Dubai. If left to waste, terrorists may return.

Yes. Stay and make ur own country good. We don't need you here.

It's was just a rumour. Nigerians can travel to dubai at anytime without restrictions.

It's good for them. Jonathan is giving them the final blow before he goes. He will do much more in the next 2 weeks before he goes.

chivalon Larry said...

the best news ever
all the thieves will soon run out of places to hide their loot

Amy said...

Good move.

Which wind of change? Last time I checked GEJ was still the president.

Good, all those actresses who they use to launder the money to Dubai, after they must have finished depositing the money given to them to launder , they will start taking pictures in hotel lobbies, oya time up for you all.

Chyyyyyy chyyyyyyy my money my money my money ooooooooooo chyyyyy

2niceNorthEast said...

Nigeria again I tink nigerians are making wave all over the world das gud news bet pls UAE shud pls try and increase the days 5days is 2 small for peppo like ATIKU AND SAS dey can withdraw their money in 5days .........#funny

Chyyyyyyy chyyyyyyyy my money my money my money ooooooooo chyyyyyyyy

2niceNorthEast said...

Linda pls also help to tell dem dey shud xtend dis good gesture to Swiss banks we are very happy wit dix improvement

D should transfer Mi moni oo

Seu said...

God don catch our politicians. How do you carry millions that you can't bring home or take to Europe?

sugarwhip said...

Lol at defrosted pomo

I don't blame them, no time to entertain embezzling

This is a welcome development! They should send all unclaimed money to the Nigerian Govt.
UAE carry go! Ordinary Nigerians support you.

Na politicians cause am ooo...all their secret go cum out very soon

GenGen....

this my country sha. Trouble everywhere they go. It is well

True talk

For the longest, I thought this guy was a butch lesbian.

Look not just politicians alone even this so call yhaoo yhaoo people. I love it. Get ur self an handwork and stop playing people of d money dey labored for.

Help me ask him o, this is a good thing!

Am sure he didn't read it before commenting. It's like he's so busy driving Davido that he has lost some sense of understanding and reasoning..

Akin' Odunsi @gr8akin said...

Good one! Next is Switzerland!

Mumu, who cares if they can explain the source of there money or not.....the important thing is that, its there fcuking money.....even if they stole it, do u know how much time and money it took them to achieve it

ebony said...

Mr Driver u are dumb.

False, you can't operate a local account If ure not a residence. Or an investor Which automatically makes you a residence. please Let's stop all these false alarm.

Get your family visa to .U.A.E from us HUGE GROUP LLC. no deposit required pay on arrival. contact: +971527342491 BBM:     52AE9D8E E-mail: thehugegroup04@gmail.com

As for me, this law does not hold water in as much of the fact that the law did not band them from buying properties in Dubai. or investing in Dubai. The laundry will continue. Rubbish. Nigerians should learn to be smart.

na ur money dem scam...ass

I like that...
I wish they will expose them

Where will the politicians put their CASH now na? 5 working days? And it is cash, so to wire it to Cayman Islands is impossible. They should use the money to buy houses immediately, that is, if they are allowed. I want to monitor my state's legislators for the next few days. Dem go say dem go Abuja. Hehehehehe. I pity the students though.

Chop Chop said...

That's a very good idea.

Wow! Dis is great, all dos thrives stealing our money wl run down if dey don't act fast. Gud move jare

Mr 47 said...

Hmm! Now all the politician will be having sleepless night lol

When is the meaning of "much less?"

I will quickly make a brief so u get the real picture !! Nigerians away from the laundry pass around fake currencies in the country which in very strange way beats the scrutiny of the auto tellers and at times the cash tellers !! When deposited in their accounts it automatically becomes a loss to the government and a plus to this guys !! The other day a group of Yoruba dudes were picked up in a raid and had over a million dollars in fake currency and confessed to have successfully peddled even more !! Sad really the image this guys build for us in the UAE !! They even as much as buy cars with fake cash the other day it was the gold souk!! Linda there is GOD... Dr Harry

This is totally False, I am a Nigerian and I live here in the U.A.E. There is no such news and the Journalist posting such comment should show proof before going ahead to try to spoil the image of our country. Linda you posting such news on your blog page makes it worse because not just Nigerians alone visit your page and you are in a way creating more negative image about our beloved country. Get true facts and proof before you post such news that as to deal with international relations. You are well educated and I believe you should have way of you getting real facts about such allegations on issues from a reputable source.

THIS STORY IS FALSE