Bollywood star Salman Khan sentenced to five years in jail for 2002 hit-and-run | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 May 2015

Bollywood star Salman Khan sentenced to five years in jail for 2002 hit-and-run

Popular Bollywood star Salman Khan was today sentenced to five years in prison for killing a homeless man in a hit-and-run in Mumbai in 2002. He hit 5 homeless people, killing one and injuring 3 of them. Prosecutors said he was drunk at the time of the crash and had just left a bar.

His driver claimed in court last month that he had been the one behind the wheels and that the accident occurred after a tyre burst but a judge in Mumbai court today ruled that Salman was the one driving and not his driver after someone in his security team contradicted his driver's claims. Salman was sentenced to five years in prison and was immediately taken into custody.

His family immediately went to a Mumbai high court to seek bail. Salman's lawyers said they plan to appeal the sentence. Meaning that the case will be in court for years.

The prosecution is now set to move a perjury application against Salman Khan's driver for giving false testimony in court.

Salman Khan had left the shooting of a movie midway to attend the court hearing. The movie will have to be put on hold since he's in custody. The 49year old actor who has featured in over 80 Indian movies is said to be worth about $40million.

86 comments:

Dnt know him

Enjoy your time in jail. Train and have 6packs. Lindaobserve

Choi! My very own salman ! With his sexy 6pacs

obietrezy said...

Ms linda na 2012 or 2002... Which year we go collect nau..... Na wao

eka said...

wow;
so sad
l used 2 have a girly crush on him when he was younger...

Oh no not my salman!
I actually thought he would get away with it considering his family name and status.
He has since reformed from his bad boy imagine back then (he dated aishwarya rai bachnaan

Oh no! My secret crush, why na??? Didn't know he was dis old o! Linda take note!

May the deceased rest in peace and justice rendered to his family.

Pidgin Mistress said...

Fine guy

He also used to beat aishwarya back then. But he has changed. He does a lot for the Indian society with his BEING HUMAN foundation. Ehh yaa.
Salman bai... I almost doubt he would be allowed To spend 5 years in jail considering his family status.
But then some high profile Bollywood stars have ended up doing time sha (ie that bald looking guy in agneepath movie)

Abeg o!

Awwwwwwww
I like dis guy

Its a pity...naija learn frm dis

Oh No!one of my best Indian hommie!

Its quite unfortunate, felt so bad when I saw the new earlier today.
The Tom Cruise of Bollywood sentenced to 5years imprisonment over here he would have contested and got elected Actors Guild president.

Wow!!!

Seems like a good Justice system. But then the case might take forever appealing

And he's soooooo fine!!! Damn!!

Amy Amy said...

Na waaaooo since 2002 Hmmmmm luv dis man

una see Nigerians please learn.....money can't buy u everything.

That's what I call justice. Nigeria please emulate and jail all these thieves in agbada and suit

A bit more personal information in this than the article I read before.
On another note: We make fun of Uche Jumbo, Nkem Owoh and their counterparts of playing the parts of teenagers even though they are WAY old, while this guy here stills plays college students, teenaged boys and whatnot! LOL guess that is one thing Bollywood and Nollywood have in common.

OH NO!IT CANT B!IVE ALWAWYS DREAMT OF MEETING HIM N GIVING HIM A KISS,NOW TELL ME HOW AM GOING TO KISS AN XCONVICT.#TEARS#

Emmynado said...

Damn!

If he's guilty, then the law has finally caught up with him. Justice can only be delayed, but never denied.

oh no!! Awww Salam Why Drink and Drive na?.....#Sad!

This is good looking forward to a day we can jail the likes of RMD and Basketmouth etc LOl.

Ahhhh my baby salma khan.... I love all his movies

Ewooo...don't drink and drive....una no go hear

Gud1

Ok serve wella man...

*CRYING* MY BABY!!! WHO'S GONNA DANCE AND MAKE ME DROOL ON MY TV NOW?.. MEHN.. I DON'T LIKE THIS.

Amaka.u.l said...

Jeezz..y hit n run naa?

emmmm ok o
sins of the past

Nimelda said so

Awwww Sallu. There goes Kareena's movie on hold. I hope she has others lined up.

Ahn!my guy,i totally love his movies

Krishna,na you be this?

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Nooooo!
Not my baby Salman..Why?

Khan, don't know why you've decided to
destroy your career like this.
From drinking nd driving to this one.

Sad, but if you do the crime, you don the time.

Click on the link below for instant employment. http://WeeklyFixPay.com/?share=33198 No fuss, no scam., just work and get paid.

My fav indian actor .. why na

drink driving is not a funny topic

He got it easy. He ll be out in 2 1/2yrs with good behavior

One of Ma fav Bollywood actor

OMG! My salman khan, my crush

Wow....and i loved this actor ooo..

Ladies get your weight trimmed and feel young again in 9days with clean 9 .wasap moyo on 07066681022,we deliver anywher in nigeria.

Eyah, why will you drive when you are drunk? See what you have done to yourself

Jeez.. my crush.. awww so sorry

Eyah, why will you drive when you are drunk? See what you have done to yourself

Everything Rosham said...

Oops.. Salman is 49???? Oh boy

No. :(
The hottest of them all

Chair! Such a cute guy

Cas_paul said...

Chei yah...he is even lucky he didn't get more dat five years...I love his movie, esp VEER.

Uh oh!! Not good at all, so not goood

Too bad,don't drink and Drive

TONIA "D TITAN said...

MY BEST BOLLYWOOD ACTOR....SO SEXY BUT WHY HIT AND RUN AND WHY WOULD HE BE THE ONE BEHIND THE WHEEL WHEN HIS DRIVER WAS THERE?

awwwwwwwwwwwwwww....... my husband buh y,crying!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hmmmmmmmm I love this guy why now

Oh No! 13yrs ago??? I love watching ds guy's movies. I pray hea granted bail

He should be lucky he got just 5 yrs. Am sure his family would hv adviced him 2 stop drinking. Those of u dt think getting drunk is proving u re a grown up,, read nd learn, sme hv died.

Royalbeau said...

Gosh, I love this guy oooo, oh why na. Why did he behave so irresponsibly.

Choi! and i like this guy o, can sing and dance, oh sorry, that is all they do in indian movies

wumi adel said...

What a pity and I like the guy

sean said...

No body is above the law

Since 2002. Homeless people they said. They just value lives. Ibinabo did same and still has big mouth in nigeria.

mum jayjay said...

chai my favourite indian actor,o ma ga o

Joy said...

Shit! Why Salman Khan???

quite a pity to see my crush crush sentenced.

Then u don't watch Indian movies.

So sad Mi man

prettiyz said...

Am a fan,so they should not send him to jail pls

Oh! Handsome dude wil hav to b in jail for good five years. Serves him right.

Dinci said...

Can't believe my Salman is going to jail. I adore him so so much

My guy, I so much love his movies. Handsome dude *Wink*

Oh so sad!! One of my bollywood favs

Me said...

Lol Linda, Salman Khan is not worth 40millions Ohh, according to Forbes India, he made 261cr ($77millions) last year, so how can someone make $77millions in a year and be worth $40millions?? He been acting for 27yrs and he have a lot of endosments. he reported worth $200millions not $40million, and about the case....The ProsecutorS sucks big time and Salman will definitely get a bail.
I'm a big Bollywood fan, I watch more Bollywood movies than Hollywood or Nollywood,
Love Salman and praying for him and his family.

Me said...

It happen September 28 2002.
I knw cus I'm the biggest fan Bollywood fan

Me said...

And Katrina kaif

Me said...

Please, Sanjay Dutta spents more time at his home than jail. In India if you re jailed, and you have important family activities coming up, you can get leave from prison and attend that event, so Sanjay Dutta has definitely abuse that, He have been granted leave for over 10 times since he was in 2013.
And as for Aishwarya Rai, she said Salman Khan beat her but she later changed her story.
And yep, Salman Khan is definitely a changed man now, that why he's loved by millions of people

joanne said...

Just FIVE years?? For crying out loud he killed someone and injured several others and got just FIVE YEARS?? That's just crazy. Now his family is gonna appeal d case and he's eventually gonna get 2mins of community service(if they do that in india). But then again if it was naija the case prolly won't even get 2 court.

Dat general said...

Am sure he ll escape from jail.This actor get powerrr!winks

Trouble has always followed him. Jail may be the best place for him to reflect and get closer to his creator, may be a blessing in disguise.

Petite Diva said...

Oh no!!! Jail ke?! Na wa o....

Cynthia Puzo said...

So happy dt ppl actually watch bollywood movies lik dis... tot I was d only 1 ooo

He should also be made to pay family support to the family of the dead.

@me very true , salman is one of the top 3 not even 5 most popular actors in Bollywood. So sad dis case is like dis. But he is worth way more dan 40millon.