PDP releases press statement on AIT ban, says it's dangerous for democracy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 April 2015

PDP releases press statement on AIT ban, says it's dangerous for democracy

Press statement from the PDP on AIT ban, which the APC has since lifted..
The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has described as unacceptable the Monday’s directive by the President-elect, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari to bar a television house, the AIT, from covering his activities, saying the suppression of the media under any guise portends danger for the nation’s democracy.
PDP National Publicity Secretary, Olisa Metuh in a statement on Tuesday said that after carefully studying the defence posited by General Buhari’s campaign spokesperson as well as the smokescreen statement by the APC to cover and mitigate his anti-media posture, the PDP and indeed all lovers of democracy are persuaded that the action was not only unjustifiable, but also unconstitutional and completely against the spirit of liberty and the rule of law in a democracy.

He said “the PDP as a party that have nurtured the nation’s democracy in the past 16 years cannot afford to fold its hands and watch the constitutional rights, media freedom and personal liberty of Nigerians, the basic tenets of democracy being demolished.

“We ask, is this a beginning of the feared erosion of the freedom and personal liberty the media and Nigerian citizens have been enjoying in the last 16 years under the PDP led-administration? Has our dear nation finally fallen into the clutches of totalitarianism and impunity where government actions will based on egocentric decisions and impulses of individuals rather than the rule of law?

“While we assure the President-elect of our resolve to run a mature and responsible opposition based on issues, we are disturbed by this emerging development and reassure the Nigerian people that we will continue to stand with them on issues of democracy and freedom at all times.

“Perhaps, we need to remind General Buhari that part of the challenge of his new position, even as President-elect is that he has lost his private life which is now subject to public scrutiny and media interrogation, as required of the custodian of the mandate of the Nigerian people.

“The PDP is not oblivious of the background of the President-elect especially as it relates to the freedom of the media, but we had thought that having declared to be a converted democrat, he would make himself amenable to the basic principles of democracy by following the due process of the law on any circumstance.

“General Buhari may also wish to be reminded that the Nigerian constitution upon which provisions he emerged President-elect, also gave the media powers to cover activities of public office holders while at the same time providing legal avenues for redress in the event of any violation. If the right of the President-elect was in anyway violated by the AIT or any media house for that matter, he is expected to act within the law and seek redress in the courts otherwise one would have no option than to conclude that he is out for personal vendetta.

“The APC and the President-elect may have one or two lessons to pick from President Goodluck Jonathan, who though the most maligned and abused President in the history of our nation, even by the APC, allowed his actions to be sufficiently guided by humility, tolerance and the rule of law”, the PDP said.

The party called on Nigerians not to despair but remain steadfast and unite in resisting any anti-democratic tendencies intended to instill fear in them and set the stage for a dictatorial order and the erosion of their personal freedom and liberty as citizens, which they have been enjoying in the last 16 years under the PDP.

Signed:
Olisa Metuh
National Publicity Secretary

123 comments:

Not just for democracy but for Nigeria as a whole........the water iheat is just starting........ If this aboki and his cohort finish dealing with Nigeria, I ran and Iraq will be like heaven to Nigerians

PDP has no say. Lindaobserve

Not just for democracy but for Nigeria as a whole........the water iheat is just starting........ If this aboki and his cohort finish dealing with Nigeria, I ran and Iraq will be like heaven to Nigerians

Yep yep very dangerous...

What do they know?

Nonesence talk olisa. PDP is dead my friend

ROTFLMAO....gbam

Ur mates dey school o

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH

BUHARI WILL ALWAYS SUPPRESS THE PRESS.
THAT I'M SURE OF 100%

I thought APC said any accredited Station including AIT is free to cover shit, whats this PDP statement for again

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH

I know PDP will make noise out of this tnk God d issue had been resolvedd if not dem for use mount tear APC.

This is just too bad

I smell a rat. What is buhari trying to do? He shd better lead us well n stop d beef

Oyindamola Ogundiran, where re u.I need u in my life pls!!!

Innocentia Annie said...

we hear

He is just getting started,you christains who voted buhari watch out!

Innocentia Annie said...

We hear

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH

Dave Mide said...

APC got it wrong this time! Personal grudge shouldnt be seen as a whole govt vendetta. i am sure PDP will capitalize heavily on this. All the same, the ban has been revoked but it shouldnt have been in the first place.

AIT should come out openly to apologise to the President Elect and retract all they have said,even tho I know this is a Democratic Government, I still understand why Buhari wilk feel so strongly about a group of people who dit ti falsify stories about him,

AIT should apologise,they almost cost him the election,coz of their love for mrney and they dont expect it to be business as usual from there on.

Talking as a human with emotions

Wrong move by APC. Wrong move by APC already undone and addressed. Situation under control. PDP's lengthy statement late and unnecessary and screams of idleness. PDP take a back seat.

tony rich said...

Buhari actually needs to be careful

Gee said...

Yes Buhari should be cautious of AIT!
A suicide bomber dressed as a journalist blew himself up killing Abu Maqhood who was opposed to the Taliban Govt.
AIT and Diokpesi threw decorum and professional ethics to the wind, negated the principles of balanced journalism and exhibited crass partisanship during the last electioneering campaign. Nigerians must realize that it's no more business as usual, thus discipline must be restored in every facets of our national life.
Dokpesi is a desperate man!

AIT don put hand for barb wire

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

President elect should better watch what he's tryna do.

Wateva dis means.....i need money o

This is why I think all PDP members should remain united and steadfast. we need a formidable opposition to put these so called 'converted democrats' in check. they have the tendencies to switch to dictatorship and someone shuld be around to monitor them for balance and for the sake of the average Nigerians. APC was once an opposition. so why not PDP, at least for our sake, abeg!!!

the dog and the baboon tinz!!!loading!!

Foreverslim said...

Go and sit down PDP ,when you air your useless documentary on Buhari you didnt know its dangerous to our democracy. yeye.

Is AIT PDP station or what is their own in this matter? Now the failure of NBC to sanction AIT for their actions during the campaign when AIT aired horrific documentary on opposition figures GMB,BAT,PYO is what we are seeing,however ,GMB is not yet sworn in and can decide who covers his private life period.Boston Herald was once barred by white house for similar action anyone can confirm this fact,so it is not new. PDP should go and learn how to be opposition frm ALM!

Buhari!!!! This is 2015 and not 1980

we will watch how the General will unfold his northern agenda,we will watch how he will cripple Tinubu's dynasty,we will wait and watch how Nigerians will start cursing this uncircumcised philistine and we will watch his attempts to soak his dogs and baboons in blood!it will not tarry!

I'm confused.

The same party once reacted to the then opposition party's enquiries when asked what Mr president was doing abroad (rumor had it then that he was ill).

I clearly remember Mr Reuben Abati saying that the president is entitled to a private life as well.

And that's THE PRESIDENT.At the moment,GMB is the president elect and hasn't been sworn in.should there be a coup right now,except agreed,the coupists will not handover to him on the 29/05.

By the way,I haven't heard from the pdp chairman.lol.heard he resigned during the campaign but he was asked to please stay as this wouldn't go down well for the numbers.he stayed but took a back seat.

Lmao.hello to the latest opposition party in town.how have the mighty fallen.

AIT/BAR/CIVIL SOCIETIES/LABOR ETC GO TO COURT NOW

NOT A GUD ONE AT ALL, ITS AIT TODAY TOMORW CAN BE SOCIAL MEDIA OR OTHERS...TOMJERRYSWIT

A dictator ll always remain a dictator..... the story continues

Pdp should shut up there! They already cleared this earlier today. They just want to be heard by force.....abeg comot there, nonsense.

YES OOOO, WE ARE IN A DEMOCRATIC SETTING AND NOT AN AUTHOCRATIC ONE: PRESIDENT-ELECT TAKE NOTE

One million likes

No be small gobe go happen soon. I dey wait. Linda take note!

God will bring to light all the evil plans of the enemy.

Has Sahara reporters, punch, premium times ever come out to apologize to Jonathan for all they said? Called him a drunk and all sort of belittling things. Please abeg. What is good for the goose is good for the gander

Why is this flippig PDP the spokesperson for AIT. Why don't they SHUT the heck up. Sai BABA is still a regular citizen until May.,he can choose who he bars from his Home-Office or Event. In civilised world the PRESS stays neutral like a referee but Dokpesi is such a MORON period!

UK Tog

odikwa very risky

Very dangerous

This criticism will not move us anywhere, the man has not resume and PDP should not see any mistake made by the president elect as a way to point fingers. Let him do what he want, after all, you did your own.

PDP don use their gand buy market i swear.....

Good day all. Well i dont know the full details off what went down, but there must be a reason behind all this............i just dey passs oh!

Lmao... all of U shouting CHANGE CHANGE... I guess U'v seen one nw.
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

PDP is dead, they are very stupid fools just barking after losing the election. It is not wrong for president elect to barr a media organisation because they don't observe the creed, ethics and principles that govern media news coverage. AIT should apply the right ethics and nobody including the president elect can barr them from carrying out their constitutional duty.

Abdulrasheed Abubakar said...

Correct me if I'm wrong! He only said they shouldn't cover his activities. Did he said he's going to probe them and take them to court for the billions of naira that we saw GEJ paid them?

Marshall Matters said...

shut it.. #slave

Ashawo kobo kobo..

talk2frankky said...

Ehen see PDP.
When Al jazeera reporters where detain this brewsdghuytred didnot utter a word and now AIT suffer common ban and you release statement in less than 12 hours.

una just de start.greedy daar communications.went as far as talking about his late daughter

The place where this event took place I d defence headquarters.....not his personal residence. Jonathan travelled out.....the defence headquarters is a government property in Nigeria.

mR SLIQ said...

I was so happy AiT was ban...but they have a point about the president been a public figure. morality is the key to development

Make all of una pack well.pls free me from this drama called indecision.klindrive@yahoo.com

Fhuck but we are democracy,they are entitled to cover anything sahara report are number one jonas downfall but he never ban them.so this buhari should not start what will consume him.

APC know what they did with the media. Now they are scared.

olusamjide said...

Where were PDP when Al Jazeera journalist were detained few days to general election?
Where are they when military were impounding newspaper and beating vendors and dispatchers? PDP is known for hypocrisy

I told many who care to listen Buhari is a dictator who hv d mindset of 80ties n he think he can govern this generation of people who fire at u at any slight mistakes Media is d Voice of d people u can ban all stations but u can't ban Twitter!!! Instagram n FB

wen Diokpesi threw professional ethics to the wind,running his smelling mouth like an old fool.he should know that AIT has no say in his Government. n allow the MAN to concentrate on important things.. thatz d price AIT will have to pay for ben sentimental

Henry Eze born throw way u re a coward, PDP party and their cohort have nothing to offer Nigeria than corruption, PDP party is empty vessel!

PDP Olodo! This issue has already been resolved by the APC. Late comer...olodo.

Shut up, baby factory pikin

Adeagbo Kabir said...

Olisa Metuh should take his big mouth away. There is no issue on that matter again. APC had release a statement saying any media house can cover their activities? Besides, AIT that was banned might not be in the knowledge of GMB or even the leadership of the APC. PDP should accept their defeat in good fate and stop making unnecessary noise.

Make is dead party get lost. PDP shame

AIT is PDP toy which they use anyhow they like, president elect did not say he don't want media in his life he said he don't want AIT, so AIT BACK OFF GMB business

GMB is not God! Even If he authorised the ban,He makes mistakes like you and I. PDP should do their work as a formidable opposition. It is Good for our democracy

Can anyone raise personal attack on your lifestyle , family, make fun of wat hurt u most in life in public and still wanna make friend with such person? I don't fink so... Nevertheless,if he choses not to identify with AIT so be it since they had failed to apologies for their previous attack on GMB

haykaymoni said...

Nothing is antidemocratic in this for pple correct sense of reasoning. Wen d Ait was doing d damaging nobody said noting forgetting d ethics. So discipline them by this act of shielding is correcting measure itself if NBC av failed in their responsibility.

simple and short. AIT did not exhibit neutrality in the last polls. Buhari shud be careful of them.

o said...

Egbon olisa,u don find ur voice shebi? ds one na small tin 2 AIT.make dokpesi n co dey ready,we go soon tell dem say railway wan pass dt place,so we av 2 relocate dem 2 vast land in badagry.na 4 dere dem dey operate.

aeesha said...

I am waiting for FFk's comment on dis b4 I say anytin....stupid PDP

I guess u re speaking from the land of the dead cos na person wey reach der dey know pple wey dey der. Rubbish...

Where was Olisah and the entire PDP when AIT was broadcasting malicious and scandalous materials out of expected professionalism against GMB Broadcasting is a respected profession let no group dishonour it

Goaldyn Boy said...

Buhari is definitely on a vendetta mission! He has not entered, he has started banning and probing!I can confidently say anytime, anyday, anywhere that I didn't vote for Buhari! As far as I am concerned, Buhari is not my President! I will just be an onlooker and watch how those who voted him will soon start cursing him and regretting! When he will take away from people that freedom of expression that they cherished so much!

Una Neva even see anything....once a soldier, always a soldier...he has not even gotten into office ooo,talk more of when he gets in.

Chop Chop said...

I don't support the ban. Most be allowed unrestricted access for media coverages

this is jst the preamble of what wl come from this aboki in the name of change.nigeria is finished.

It's better to bar the freedom of press, than to bar the freedom of Nigerian's, as PDP did.

Are u listening to urself? So it sounds right for AIT to be banned? Wats the beef? Keep an open mind!

Fantastic comment. Where was PDP when AIT was busy releasing those hate documentaries?

webbman90 said...

The Opposition war has started. We would put this government in CHECK. That's all.... PDP would return in 2019.

GOD bless buhari

The stupid buhari self never enter office him done dey do nonsense and I know say this man Na him go make Nigeria scata

This is what you get when u vote an old 73yrs old fool into office

I hate this buhari and nothing can make me like him

Nigeria our suffer just start this man has come to destroy this country

Good radiance to bad rubbish. We sit down dey look!

the queen said...

What would u now say about chanels wey dey broadcast scandalous and horrific things about people GEJ, diaris god o woman and my Oga at the top? Dey ban dem? Naija is in for it!

Tboy said...

PDP, noisy makers. I heard someone saying "Christian that voted Buhari should watch out" Mumu from the highest order. When Christian voted Christian, was there any change in your life? Have you scrutinise your life and that of your entire family and see of what benefit you benefited from the so-called Christian presidents?And hear you open that your smelling uncompleted teeth of yours to say trash. Why did you sue the Christians to tribunal that voted Buhari. For the past 16yrs years we have been leaving under tyrannical leaders in the name of African solidarity the only person that has a very good plan for us then, died in the process without actualising his plans for the amalgamation and the anticipation of this country. How many millions where we when we did census and only Dimeji Bankole took 40 billion and hear you talk trash. Zombie.

Whether you hate Buhari or not is your problem.Where were the PDP when they started the hate campaign on AIT?

Rubylicious said...

PDP were the sponsors of those vile documentaries.

the queen said...

What about hate comments that other TV stations broadcasted against Jonathan? He ban dem? What wud u say about the hilarious jingles channels TV make against people especially the first lady? Dey Ban them? Tell ur Buhari that this is a democratic system of government where people are allowed to express their views and not a tyrannical system of government. As a matter of fact, as a public figure that he is, everything about him shall be in the public eye because people are always going to talk... he should get used to it... dis kinda of person comedians no fit use am crack joke cus na kirikiri dem go find demselves. obasanjo who is also a retired general was defamed by the media but he let it be, Gej was also badly criticized by the media but he paid it no mind, why must ur Buhari's own be different? Mtscheeeew!

So wen PDP was insulting APC and henchmen they did not know it was bad for democracy. ...mtschewwwee. .next pls

I only pity all those Christians that has supported buhari and his train, I also pity his vice!, a pastor that has preached about christ ,now associating himself with the same people the bible warned us about,(an Israelites associating with the philistines, its a taboooooooooooooo, osinbajo beware and becareful before its too late.

True talk

Eze911 said...

So,
PDP use of AIT before election was not dangerous for democracy?

He never said all media, but only AIT, whereas not only AIT we have in this country, Other media can cover him

pdp shld shut up, other media can cover him, he need to protect himself against likely evils frm AIT

Roli said...

Very childish! Is this how he intends to rule Nigeria? Una Neva see anything wait till he resumes power and show more of his bully attitude,thanks to those who has sold Nigeria back to the North and military regime...

PATALEX said...

THIS IS JUST THE BEGINNING

saharareporters nko?

Buhari cannot do what he likes because Nigeria is not a jungle. He must abide by the rule of law.

Which president of a country has ever told a TV station should not cover his activities. For believers of Buhari he will keep on embarrassing you people....there are more to come..... this is interesting.

Gbam!

He hasn't event been sworn in yet, and his already suppressing the press. #Ok. let's wait n see.

#ukgreatDreamHouse

I can't see any sai baba in the house.

I tell u

Demango, use ur brain, personal attack or not, AIT isn't askn 4 Buhari's friendship, dy r askn 4 free press, dats dia right. D campaign was filled wit hate speech, Patience was calld barren, wats worse dan dat? Abeg Buhari is 72, he shld act his age!

Militrcrazy..2015-2019. Watch out for more enta10ment.

This is just the starting