Burundi: Government blocks WhatsApp and Viber access | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 April 2015

Burundi: Government blocks WhatsApp and Viber access

According to this person from Burundi, the government blocked WhatsApp and Viber access in the country following violent protests over the country's President, Pierre Nkurunziza's decision to run for 3rd term in office. Protesters clashed with police today for a third straight day. The government believes protesters use these apps to engage others and convince them to join the fight...

56 comments:

Hai! Na wa 4 waec! May God bring peace to d nation Amin.

Y?

This may happen in Nig soon with an Authoritative person in power. Smh

If the constitution allows him to run, then he's free to. But the issue of blocking such social network is questionable in this present generation.

This is exactly how buhari would rule Nigeria....... God into ur hands we commit ourselves

Pidgin Mistress said...

Na una sabi

De shud also block calls and text messages......mtchew!

K ooo

What is the problem with African leaders, he should learn from what happened to Ivory Coast president and his wife.

ify said...

What is their headache na... of al the amendments it's nw Viber dat is deir issue... Yeye Govt

Lol.. what a stupid reasoning

You should probably review your writing skills and make sure it goes through some levels of subbing! Lest I forget, where is Burundi again? Let your readers know!! Good job so far, but be watchful to achieve your desired goals.

That idiotic president must be Buhari's brother. Enemies of social media and press freedom. Buhari will be flushed out before his tenure. Finally the chibok girls he asked his Boko Haram boys to kidnap have been released,i thank God it happened when GEJ is still in power. Buhari should look for better things to do than celebrating terrorism. Idiotic hausa moron.

With the recent banning of AIT by the grandpa,this could happen in nigeria very soon when the sharia man take over.

U can imagine. Thank God fr our democracy.

I am Coonett

It's for their own good.

Huh?!

This could happen in nigeria when buhari,the semi illitrate take over.

Innocentia Annie said...

Every country with its problem
Politicians not making it easy
for regular people
Someone will be in a particular
position for God knows how long
Making sure there will be
No room for another person
Its saddening

What a govt ..

Kema said...

African leaders won't you ever learn? Remember the ivory Coast way.

Anoda tyrrant govt.. The pple said they don't want you shoooo, na by force

Apeh piper said...

kai

Lolz, can't dey do it on twitter, fb, IG n oda social media? D president is daft

Hmmmmmmm Buhari and co.

Buhari,dictatator is all i see

They don't want the world to see what is going on in their country...

linda said...

It's like the entire black continent is under a curse...things african leaders do I tell you.

Nky said...

he should also block facebook, mumu

AMIJEZ said...

Another dictator in the making.

Etsako Pearl said...

Chai.God i thank u creating me a nigerian.#9ja4life

khay....so lemme say dis

shut dwn d whole bloody country 4 a we care...dnt bother us baw your problems ya larshluver!

Lobatan, We are waiting for Baba one chance to do same in Nigeria

What's Viber?

This looks like what buhari can do

Buhari bars AIT........ Next will be Linda Ikeji.....( cos shes broader than viber or wats app )....

hehehe....

One of the poorest country in the world

I pity d Nation Nigeria tht just Elected a man who assisted in Carrying out a successful coup plot against a democratically elected Govt. As President today..If not for media,thts how AIT would hv been banned following by others..I pray LIB and other blogs last long too...

Nawah! All this do or die politicians sef

Hian....

that's possible???

TF!, no eyes, no ears?. Can't deal. This is why democracy is d best form of govt

God will soon visit him in way he ll never forget.....

. <<100%Nigerian>>

The modern day politician fears the immense power of the social media, which is getting more powerful by the day.

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Nawaa ooooo

druglordfarian said...

lol.

HOPE NIJIA WNT BLOCK BLOGS AND SOME MEDIA AS WELL ONE DAY...TOMJERRYSWIT

Hahahaha...funny. African leaders and sit-tight syndrom. So they are now scared of Social Media?

Lol, very funny decision

Jobless cow .

Make our naija govt no try am else

وایبر said...

Great! Thanks for sharing.

دانلود کلیپ کوتاه said...

Hi. It's very good post. thanks for sharing.

دانلود کلیپ کوتاه said...

Hi. It's very good post. thanks for sharing.