Charly Boy's father Justice Oputa passes on at 89 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 4 May 2014

Charly Boy's father Justice Oputa passes on at 89

Charly Boy's father, Justice Chukwudifu Oputa has passed on. The former judge of the Supreme Court and Chairman, Oputa Panel, passed on peacefully today Sunday May 4th after recovering from a brief illness, the family announced this afternoon. He was aged 89. May his soul rest in peace, amen

127 comments:

Soul said...

RIP Justice. Jé nke oma! Dike alaaaaaaaa!

Rip to a great man.

Swerve said...

RIP Mr Oputa, your legacy lives on.

#Dorolydia# said...

RIP sir...

Amen ooooo. He lived a good life... RIP sir

Rip baba oputa

May is soul rest in peace Amen #bright bravo#

U were a great man. RIP SIR ! ETTA

Awwww may his soul rest in perfect peace.amen

Oh no,so sad.We have lost a very intelligent jurist,they don't make dem like him anymore.May his soul rest in peace and may God comfort his family.No matter how old your father is,its still a painful loss.Adieu Justice

RIP sir....

Amen!! Rip

May his soul RIP.

Chinyere Ok. said...

May his soul rest in peace Amen!

Tovia babe said...

Finally! May his soul rest in perfect peace

Peejay said...

May his soul rest in peace.

R.I.P

R.I.P

There are very few Nigerian leaders who when they die, I will feel sad. Justice Oputa's death makes me feel sad. I never met the man but I remember the Oputa panel and his priceless experience in jurisprudence. May his soul rest in peace and may God give the Oputa family the will to bear the loss of such a great man

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

May he rest in perfect peace of the Lord

Fare the well mi lord. U were one of a kind. Thanks u for enriching our jurisprudence. I remember so well how u described d Supreme Court " we are not final bc we are infallible but we r infallible bc we r final" Oga nnukwu m, jee nke oma.

blessing swit said...

rest in peace the great oputa panel

Eyaaa! Correct old skool! May his soul rest in peace!

Nana said...

Awwww...may his soul RIP

may his gentle soul r.i.p

Wow dis man try oh he died at zik's age hmm some age mate with madiba too R.I.P papa

phykel said...

May u find rest in the bossom of our Lord.

May his soul rest in peace. Amen......

My heart is broken d president said nothing reasonable 2day

beebee said...

JO said...

May the family have strength to bear the loss. Its never easy losing a loved one. May the souls journey be peaceful, Amen.

Bony bony said...

RIP papa till we meet again

RIP Papa Oputa... May God see him to eternal rest

R.I.P

julz said...

So bad...I saw it coming with his illness. But his is a celebration of life. May his soul RIP

Dike F(xyz) said...

May his soul Rest in Peace.

R.I.P papa oputa.

Rest oN sir..May God com4th members of ur family*LeOnOrA*

Longlife,dats wat errbody iz praying for

RIP grand pa.

Tee-Y said...

Rest in Peace Oputa Panel!! Jee nke oma

RIP great one

RIP.

RIP papa, indeed this is a celebration of life well spent

RIP.

DOBY DOBY said...

Rip..

dies @ 89 lili tnk me later #BaDdest#

Awon Stephen Oshi said...

He died at a ripe age. Rest in Peace sir.

Papa may your soul rest in peace.

Justyswt said...

He really took after his pa !!! RIP

RIP Ekwueme nwa ogaranya. $£.

Na ankara death na...

That Function Gurl said...

RIP Great man!!

Ehaya R I p

Jee nke oma papa!

Sleep well sir

The Great One! RIP

Aaaaaaaawwwwhhhhhh !!!! Rest in Gods bossom Sir.

RIP sir, take heart Oga Charlie

It's celebration of life o. May soul rest in peace!

Life well lived! Oputa JSC was a great legal mind! RIP

A life well lived. May his soul rest in perfect peace. Amen. **kween**

I expect a write up from area father soon. Rip Sir

chzyme said...

RIP, my worthy man, d collosus of our time, ur legacy lives on, ur indeed d JuSTiCe of our time, may ur Justified soul RiP Amen, charley boy, take heart, ur friend is gone but itz well, heaven needs him.

R.I.P Sir.

Tee Wills said...

The great Oputa panel RIP sir u lived well.

Triangle said...

OUR LORD DENNING IS GONE. My heart goes out to the family of Oputa at this moment of grief, the demise of Oputa JSC is a big loss for both the family and Nigeria, and the lacuna his demise has left in the judiciary can never be filled my another. He was a scholar and his judgments spoke volumes of his knowledge and sound reasonings. He was a man that every lawyer; from school days looked up to, because in his reasonings lies wisdom, knowledge and the Law. Go well My Lord Justice Oputa, your footprints will forever remain engraved and indelible in the sand of history.

May his soul RIP. He was good man. My heart goes out to his family. It's celebration of Life.

R.I.P My lord!

Paul Adonor' said...

Waooo I truth has died ,
This is a great lost , though is a debut we all owe
May his gentle soul rest in peace

PRETTYBABIZ said...

Eeeyaa.. May his soul Rest in Peace!

~Onahboy

maccido said...

RIP sir..oputa panel

May is soul rest in peace...RIP PA OPUTA

RIP Sir. I heard he is 96years old.

Leecia said...

Dats sad,RIP sir.

I heard he ws 96 unti death, wch do we believe?
May God almighty rest his soul
Solary

nenny said...

May his soul rest in peace.gudbye daddy oputa.linda!96,89.pls what's his actual age.

mimi said...

Awww, May he RIP

Rest in peace

Oma 101 said...

May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace,Amen. Farewell sir !!!

King Fahad said...

Nigeria has lost a great man. Rest in peace Justice Chukwudifu Oputa

Rest is peace dad, loved u soo much, ur panel was a wonder for me as a lil gal, may d lord rant ur family d hrt to bear, for u worth more dan words......rip in peace dad, we love u bt God loves u more ......

TWITS said...

RIP Sir.

Janelicious said...

RIP Oputa

Linlin ur own news must different, oda news said 96yrs only u say na 89yrs. Wareva may his soul rest in peace.

RIP Pa Oputa. And well done CharlyBoy the only thing I like him for, he took real care of his parents.

Wtf did u just type? I'm gone #damn

RIP grand papi

Pa Oputa, RIP

chinyere said...

Linda, d correct terminology is former justice of d supreme court not former judge of d suprrme court. We say Judge of d high court, but justice of d court of appeal and also justice of d supreme court.

He was 94 ooo. U people should get your facts right!

I pray you find rest in the arms of the FATHER.

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Rest in Peace Pa.

Chei!! The great Iroko has fallen!,the jungle has been laid bare,who can take ur place my lord? You will be greatly missed Sir,,God speed my lord..My heartfelt condolence goes out to his immidiate family and indeed all Nigerians who belive in equity& justice,conflict resolution,reconciliation and peace..Hector from Kubwa.

Rip

Iroko has fallen. Chaiii. Aru emeeeee. Jee nke oma dike ukwu.

Papa u're a great father may u rest in peace.Amen

RIP sir

I agree... R.I.P Justice Oputa

Rip to a great jurist..

RIP to a rare gem who wrote many law books and left an indelible mark in the Nigerian judiciary. We will miss you Justice Oputa

May he rest in peace. A true giant and legend

R.I.P

Oke osisi anaa. RIP papa!

RIP to a great man!

Eby. said...

RIP sir

Lady kim kim said...

Awwwww RIP

May ur soul rest in peace my man, charly take heart guy!

After all the achievement on earth "the man die" what ȋ̝̊̅§ life, how ¢αη we overcome this death, S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ we'll enjoy our benefit? Oo°˚ G♡̷̬̩̃̊D̶̲̥̅̊ pls giv Oputa the rest he deserves, such a blessing †☺ Nigeria, who will step into Ɣ☺ΰя̲̣̣̥ shoe, ȋ̝̊̅§ it not too big for us , will they fit i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ properly? G♡̷̬̩̃̊D̶̲̥̅̊ pls help us

Madam Linda, I am at a loss here. Every Nigerian daily is reporting that he passed on age 96 but u r reporting that he was aged 89.

i heard he was officially 90...anyway...gaa nke oma Papa

RIP SIR!

RIP Justice Oputa of the famous Oputa panel

Yemisi said...

RIP Justice Oputa. Linda please he died at the age of 96 1918-2014 if my calculations are correct.

RIP old man.

Ogbuagu Odumodu, je nkeoma- a live well spent

RIP to a great Man

R.I.P Sir Nigeria just lost another great nigerian.

Kenyan Gal said...

may God rest his soul...looking totally swagged up!it certainly weint easy being a 21st centuary dad n grandpa...

Rip... a great man

Bbg Eze said...

An iroko has fallen....RIP sir

afolabi flo said...

Can linda jst correct this misleading post cos Oputa JSC died at age 96 not 89 pls