Easter message to the nation from President Jonathan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 19 April 2014

Easter message to the nation from President Jonathan

Easter message from Mr President..
Dear Compatriots,
I greet you all, especially our Christian brothers and sisters who are celebrating Easter and commemorating the resurrection of Jesus Christ today. 
As we join Christians in other countries of the world in celebrating Easter this year, I urge all Nigerians to reflect on the significance of its lessons of piety, obedience to higher authorities, self sacrifice for the good of others, redemption, salvation, deliverance, renewal and the ultimate triumph of good over evil.
These lessons of Easter and other injunctions on brotherly love, peaceful co-existence, tolerance, honesty, humility, justice, equity and fairness to all without discrimination contained in the Gospels are of particular importance to us as a nation as we continue to contend with the challenges of nation-building and development.

As our Christian compatriots celebrate the Messiah’s   triumph over death and all that it connotes, let us all renew our faith and confidence in our ability as a people to overcome all obstacles, challenges and threats to national progress and well-being, including terrorism and other criminal attacks on our people in some parts of the country.

My belief in our ability to overcome all retrogressive and divisive forces in our midst and build a strong, united and prosperous nation by turning our unique diversity into a source of strength remains unshaken and we will continue to work with all interest groups and stakeholders in the country to achieve the peaceful, secure and politically stable conditions essential for rapid socio-economic development.

In spite of the evil machinations of terrorists, criminals and their collaborators, our Administration remains ardently focused on efforts to successfully execute the Federal Government’s Agenda for National Transformation and achieve sustained development.

We have already made notable advances in this regard. As a result of our efforts and those of previous administrations, the Nigeria economy is now the largest in Africa and the 26th largest in the world.

But we cannot afford to rest on our oars. Much remains to be done and we will continue to count on the patriotic support of all Nigerians as we strive to achieve more inclusive economic growth, generate more national wealth and create more employment opportunities to meet the demands of our increasingly youthful population.

I commend the leadership and delegates to the ongoing National Conference, the vast majority of who have shown a patriotic and praiseworthy commitment to national unity, peace and progress built on justice, fairness and equity for all component parts of the country.

As the Conference breaks into committees to continue its deliberations, it remains our hope and expectation that the end result will be meaningful and enduring contributions towards strengthening national unity and fulfilling our collective desire for a better and greater nation.

Once again, I extend heartfelt commiserations to all the families who have sadly lost loved relatives in recent terrorist attacks.

Our thoughts and sympathies remain with all those who have suffered injuries from the heinous attacks. We  pray for their speedy recovery and shall keep on doing everything possible to assist them with required medical services and material support.

Our Armed Forces and security agencies will continue to do their very best to curb such attacks and restore full security to all parts of our beloved country.

But we must all become more alert and vigilant, and do all that we can to give them the fullest possible assistance, support and cooperation they require to achieve more effective protection of lives and property across the country.

We shall continue to count on your support and prayers for greater peace, harmony, progress and prosperity in Nigeria.

May God Almighty bless our dear nation and guide us, always.
Happy Easter to you all.
Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR
President, Federal Republic of Nigeria

81 comments:

HAPPY EASTER MR PRESIDENT ND FELLOW NIGERIANS.

Editor said...

same to you mr president

You forgot to say that Nigeria got the largest poor ppl in Africa

May God bless you too #bright bravo#

Happy easter to you too!

May God continue to guide us all. Hapi Easter

diamondblinqZ said...

Ok I try small read am finish. Happy easter 2u 2 Mr President!

Shake my head is all i have. 2 do right now

Editor said...

happy Easter my dear president

Dee Tee said...

Happy Easter to Mr President... Ok

May God bless Nigeria!

Lyndy said...

Happy Easter to you my lovely president. Deep down within me, I know u re a good man that means well for this nation. Aside frm boko haram menace which is politically staged to tamper wt ur governance nd portray u as incompetent, every othr thn abt ur govt is somthn to write home abt. No one should expect just Jonathan to solve issues dt hav been existin in ds country ever since. He's tryin his best nd I believ he wl get there. He needs our collective efforts, and not criticism. God bless Nigeria

I guess the 'good will' message just like our National pledge and the oaths taken at 'swear-ins' are mere formalities. Even if only our leaders in times past indeed followed wholeheartedly just a few of these injunctions which are 'Honesty, humility, equity, justice and fairness to all, then we won't have 75percent of the problems we are having right now even if they don't have salvation or exhibit any form of 'self sacrifice'. I guess this message should be printed in bold letters and on big banners and circulated round the public office holders first before it will be tranferred to the masses.

Julietta said...

I even 4got 2 add. Pls Sir, keep dis message 4 d forthcoming ileya & tell dat 2 d one-way-traffic abokis & Muslims who believes in killing there fellow humans like ants all in d name of jihad abi wetin dem call am!

Dave (dave_gino) said...

These lessons of Easter and other injunctions on brotherly love, peaceful co-existence, tolerance,
honesty, humility, justice, equity and fairness to all without discrimination contained in the Gospels are of particular importance to us as a
nation as we continue to contend with the challenges of nation-building and development. Someone please invite El-Rufai to this *smmhh*

God bless you too sir!

Happy Easter My President
God bless Nigeria

Good one. Let's put on these in practice

Buhahahahah, i didnt even read the message, i just clicked on " comment " .....Bla bla bla ...

You lost your respect already! Shame

#daveydave

visit www.loggtv.tv for more entertainment news

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

In response to your last statement God has blessed us already....But corruption and greed is what is killing this country. Enough of all the messages and promises we want action en changez.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Ok Mr President. We have heard.. Written by Reuben Abati...

There are threats that if you win in 2015, there would be bloodshed. How do u wish to address this? We are celebrating easter with fear of bomb blast. Save us

MzAdex said...

oshiiii,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,mr mumu

You wont win the next election. Go and adopt more kids.... #word

Thank you my dear President. We need security please.

kidykuz said...

Same 2 u sir....nat from ma heart...sha..jst dAt am afraid 2 say odawize

GEJ do the right thing...

Nobi him write this thing, person help am...

Wateva , sha call of coeasu strike

Are you crazy! Significance of Easter is obedience to higher authority?

Ahjid said...

Happy Easter ... Rate and review businesses in Nigeria on Africa's 1st ratings & reviews company ... https://www.gibesafrica.com. Influence your world!

Bros e too long abeg... happy easter don do us biko

He's just observing mere protocol.
Nice speech/should I say, lip service!
Speak what you believe Mr President or keep your wishes to yourself!

* My R1.50c comment *

julz said...

Hmmmmm.....the matter doesn't end with an easter message. I don't know why I just sense selfishness towards next year's elections in all our politicians say or do......I mean the message was making sense until he brought up the largest economy issue. I feel he's more conncerned about convincing us to support him next year than performing his obligations and duties as the present president. Am not anti-GEJ,I just wish our president would do his best to help this country. God bless our nation.

About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, "Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?"-which means, "My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?" - The height of suffering and shame.
Jesus was the only one sent to get to this point of unbearable pains and because he already made this statement, no one else is expected to get to this point in life again. When too many citizens of a country begin to wonder if God has forsaken them, then such country is in trouble. I wonder how we all arrived at the conclusion that the Nyanya bomb blast was by boko haram? when we daily push millions of our citizens to the point of unbearable pains. Young men said they are jobless, they needed jobs, you asked them to pay to get jobs, they did, you invited them for interview, they got killed, those who survived protested, you arrested them like criminals, does anybody need to beg those ones or even their family members and friends to throw bombs? Old men served their country for over 35yrs, when it is time to collect their pensions, you tell them someone helped himself and his family with their entitlements and you think they are not daily cursing the land? Young homeless men, who struggled daily to make ends meet, found an uncompleted building to live in, you moved in there and killed them all in the name of securing the city and you think their family members will be so happy with the country? In one day, you rendered jobless, about 45,000 heads of families who were just managing with their commuter buses because you wanted to clean up the city centre , they protested, you settled their executives and you think you have solved the problems, did you notice the target of the Nyanya attack? People put their life savings together to build houses, you move in with your bulldozers and clear the houses with all their personal effects and no one is asking what happens to them thereafter. When an able bodied man is jumping out of a vehicle attempting suicide for being jobless for 10yrs after graduation, a manager of his resources is spending N10b on chartered flights to attend parties, $20b is missing like a needle, yet people spend hours on the queue looking for fuel. You collected N5,000 JAMB fee from over 1m students, the result came out, you asked them to pay another N1,200 to check their results including those you failed, who will have to pay a higher fee next year and you think their parents are so excited about the extortion. While families were looking for their dead bodies, the no1 citizen was busy dancing at a campaign rally, Nepa will forcefully collect money for services they never render, no one to talk for the helpless Nigerians etc, etc, etc. The list is endless, now how many of these people living with much pains caused by those they expected to improve their lives do anybody need to beg to inflict pains on the society? If Easter must be meaningful to us, we must get up now and minister grace to people, Jesus suffered the pains so that no one else will ever experience anything close. Too many wicked men are in power, so it will be suicidal to place our hopes on any of them. In our little communities, we can share the love of Christ, we can shine the light, we can make them see the glorious tomorrow, we can reassure them of the Easter Sunday that will surely come after Good Friday. That should be our collective assignment. Because we failed to take what we have to them, they are compelled to bring what they have to us, the more we keep quiet, the more they will come for us. WE CAN RESCUE OUR LAND and now is the time. Happy Easter, good people of a great nation.

leo2sexy said...

Keep ur greetings to yourself #hiss

Yeye man! Pics better you leave the throne for better future of the nation.

Happy Easter sir!
Long Live Federal Republic of Nigeria!
God bless my dear country
One love!

Happy Easter sir!
Long Live Federal Republic of Nigeria!
God bless my dear country
One love!

Ibro Attabo said...

Mr President,thank you.

............PRAY4NIGERIA............

Point of correction. Jesus Christ did not resurrect today, but on Easter sunday.

Immaculate said...

Thank you for the easter wishes MR PRESIDENT.
Happy Easter to you and your family. God bless You.

I will never waste my tym to even read it...

God bless u presidio, elrufai and his cohorts wnt succeed, y did they throw bomb at nyanya wen they know u WD go for ur rally?cos de wnt to frustrate u BT God pass dem..if u ppl like vote for APC n c how d country WD turn out to be

Na him come make am long like this.....

Abbie said...

Oh yeah, well said. Happy Easter celebration to you too, Mr President. And 2 u also Ms Lind Ikeji...

~It's me noni! Ur 1 n only Abbie~

God bless you Mr. President, may God give you the grace to overcome the attack of evil politician, sycophant, saboteurs in your govt and Nigeria

seeker said...

God bless the president

Stfu GEJ. We all know damn well you didn't write this.

Ohh please!! Don't you have a rally to attend or something...?

sunshine said...

Well done presido

sunshine said...

Well done presido

sunshine said...

Well done presido

Noted Mr President

Oloriburuku,oloshi

Oloriburuku Wayray oloshi

That's My president.A living 48 Laws of Power.Happy Easter too Sir.
I join my faith with yours that we shall overcome em all.
God plz bless Nigeria and my president

Amen! Let God almight hear our tearz in dz country n hlp each one of us. Cos dz battle is bigger dan us. We can't handle it by ourslf. Pls hear our humble cry. I shall nver be a vitcim of dz evil

Babycake$ said...

Its well. Lord into ur Hands we commit ourselves.Amen

Hmmm! It is well Mr president.

Thank u Mr Presido

Bbg Eze said...

It's really not a time for celebration but rather a time for sober reflection; so many evils happening on a daily basis, so many lives bn lost to BH, our govt not living up to their words, insecurity everywhere u go. What we need to do is to pray to God to intervene in our leadership cos when d head is sick every other member of the body is sick too

I don't think we need ur message. We need action!!!..

bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla PATHETIC!

FIX THE COUNTRY G.E.J! EASTER MESSAGE IS NOT WHAT WE WANT TO HEAR O. YOUR PEPO ARE LOOKING FOR A MEANS OF ESCAPE TO SURVIVE O.

Mr Presido! Amen!!! God wil surely c our country tru.

opealao said...

Amen.

opealao said...

Amen.

God bless u our dear president.happy Easter celebration

Jonathan Jonathan happy easter too dear!! Kpele

Dumb, mumu, dafty, olodo, swegbe, ode, evil, clueless, greedy president Jonathan. The worst president any country has ever had. GOD truely needs to help Nigeria and save us from the incompetent thieves that are administering its affairs.

Bross Jona,ur message too long abeg,didn't bother readin everythin...who do u expect to read all that?

hapi easter to u too my humble president, haters go and die.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

Make Bros jona...go drink Alomo joor

Daft! Dats wat u are dave!

History A1

Idijuwon omo-Ibadan said...

...Or anoda methusellah's birthday party...ehn jo'lantern' (burn-lantern cuz no lite)?!

u dis bonario,u no get work..

I no u lack manners but u dnt av 2 open dat ur big mouth nd say such tin abt Islam,if some fools ar killing Muslims and still claiming 2 be Muslim can't U,I mean U! Apply ur sense nd tink?...GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

Uju said...

Mr president, you are the commander of the armed forces, you are the most powerful man in nigeria and maybe by extension in Africa one would argue. There should be no excuse of how your detractors in quote are using violence against the masses to undermine your authority and your presidency. If you know the people responsible for these attacks or their sponsors bring them to justice by hook or by crook. If you cannot arrest them for terrorism, you can arrest them for corruption and let us stop sacrificing people daily to this alter of politics. People need you to act now mr president.now