Dead On Arrival: A new novel by Nigerian author - Paul Oluikpe | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 9 January 2014

Dead On Arrival: A new novel by Nigerian author - Paul Oluikpe

Nigerian author, Dr. Paul Oluikpe, has written a very touching story of the Nigerian Civil war. Based on real life events, Oluikpe explores the deep recesses of human essence, the brutality and senselessness of war, love, adultery, rivalry, enmity, and human perfidy. All of these play out at the background of the broader story of war. 

Commenting about this book, Mr. Illemakin Soyinka, son of Nobel Laureate, Professor Wole Soyinka said: ""Dead on Arrival" is a story of parallels. It mirrors the suffering, deprivation and the foibles of a village in Nigeria's Biafra and also symbolizes the larger society full of confounding contradictions. The novel is arrestingly authentic and utterly impressive". Continue...

Oluikpe pulls a lot of punches with this book and come to think of it, the book is garnering rave reviews from readers far and wide already. Kudos to our own Dr. Oluikpe for putting this together and wowing the international audience with a thought provoking novel like this.
 Visit the Author website to read a sample chapter www.oluikpe.com

32 comments:

diamondblinqZ said...

Okies

The title sounds intriguing...hope to read it. BGM

Ann Marie said...

I'm surely gonna read this book

Dead on arrival is not just a novel u read like everyother book,you have to put your self in the place of the characters to be able to comprehend what this unique novel seeks to explain.
The effect of the civil war on a small family in the eastern part of the country.
from the first to thelast page,you are taken on a solemn journey of analysing how devastating effects of war could be on the family.

I bliv there are other things to write about except the civil war, too much books on the civil war..half of a yellow sun, there was a country etc. Write somtin else Jare.

IkwerreBoy said...

Well, I am going to buy the kindle version but I think this novel is too short 169 page. I'll finish it in a sitting Mr. Paul, try to make your next book longer Chimamanda has shown us Nigerian writers can write up to 450 pages of novel. Thank you.

How try to get it so that I could read it #bright bravo#

Awwwwww....... Pastor Paul Oluikpe!! My birthday mate and career mate too. More so, my very mentor. I've always known he's a great man. Kudos Sir!!
..........Maryclaire.........

Okay... Nice one!

Nigeria's Biafra......really? What was that? There was Nigeria and Biafra. Hopefully, Biafra will return.

Nice.....

Igor said...

I am happy that the Biafran story has not been exhausted.The genocide committed on the Igbos will always be fresh in our memories

Ok.ilemakin is commenting as what now?its not like his sense dey there like his papa.

I learnt it was Biafran war that caused some of "them" to be eating fellow human beings when the hunger was unbearable... However,I enjoyed "Because I am involved" written by Ojukwu..
-Yemoh.

Cnt wait 2grab a copy.It pomises 2b scintillating

jessica said...

Linda pls am stil beggin 4 help,100k 4 ma rent sch has ready resume n lectures hav started,am usin dis means 2 beg linda n other LIB 2 help pls tanx n God bless

Okay dats a good one we will see how it look like n digress into it

Amarachukwu said...

Noted.

Cytoplasm said...

Looks promising and interesting.

169 isn't dat bad if u ask me..not everone is a bookworm.

#That happy sister!

The tittle is captivating

Have ordered em from amazon sharperly sharperly , cant wait for it to arrriiivvveee!!! Has a wowed 97 percent positive reviews already. WoW

The author's name seems so familiar, I can't just place it. Hilary Obiorah

Innocent Iro said...

This is simply,'wow'.Kudos to you ,Sir

Victor Ndukwe said...

Interesting! The story of the Biafran war couldn't have been told better.

Kudos Doc!.

Victor Ndukwe

Hmmm, Teacher Bonario. Pls take note that not everyone here are dumb or jobless, who ever see such a title shld knw. Some of us r writers ourselves, so keep the I too know for urself or r u d writer?

sounds interesting will love to read this book

Lol! 100k for your rent in school? You must be a joker and lazy person.

Achebe, soyinka, chimada etc all has written so many on Biafra can we read something else pls... #myopinion

whizzev said...

i must get daht book. love literature

It's sad that stories/announcements such as these can only generate a few comments. Publish something about some half naked person or scandal and comments pour in. Linda publish o

We need to sound the story of the Biafran genocide loud and clear. You all want it muted cos it did not affect you. Every family in Igbo land lost someone,women lost their husbands and children to Nigerian bullets and starvation,entire families got wiped out,the pain is ever there, and therefore the memories will never go away. Pls also read " In Biafra Africa died". Our children need to know our history. More books pls. We speaking out now!