123 Nigerians spend over N500 billion on private jets | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 September 2012

123 Nigerians spend over N500 billion on private jets

The acquisition of private jets by Nigerians, for business or pleasure, has increased in the last three years, according to the president of the National Association of Aircraft Pilots and Engineers. He said in the last one year, the number of private jets acquired by wealthy Nigerians have more doubled. 123 Nigerians which includes billionaire business men like Mike Adenuga, Ifeanyi Ubah, Aliko Dangote, Bishop Oyedepo, Pastor Enoch Adeboye, Peter Odili, Nduka Obaigbena, ex bank MDs, politicians, business moguls, oil companies and banks have spent over N500 billion buying very expensive private jets.

In the last one year, at least five Hawker 900 XP jets have been bought and each cost $14.9million. Five 800 XP at $13 million and at least two Hawker 4000 at $21 million have been bought.

Many of these private jets are parked at the apron near Arik Air hanger and at the General Aviation terminal near Aero Contractor's terminal. It costs at least N80 million to maintain these jets annually and over 500 expatriate pilots and engineers working on these private jets.

108 comments:

Dis men are chillin....

Na waoh

They should be ashamed of themselves!...esp the ones that have more than one and do not have a foundation they run. That money you waste for hangers and air crew can feed a community in a poverty stricken country....if you stay on the island in Lagos you can be deceived into thinking the whole of lagos is like Yaba at least....reality check!; Nigerians are poor!!!!

The rich should be doing more, that's what obtainable in the USA and like countries

Owa alryt. Miss dee

Issorrai. And they lived forever after. ~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA3310.

MAXIMUS™ said...

I can't hate mehn. If they worked hard for their money, heck they can spend it however they want!

Hmmmm!!! Our mny... Am sure l8r we wuld b told no mny in nigeria.abeg ee linda 4get dem.

Damn! D wealth of this nation is so undistributed. Many wallow in penury, while a few have d luxury of 'too much money and troway syndrome'.

after they will say we dont av money in dis country.....

Choi,living the life

"Few are enjoying while many are suffering".Later they'll start insulting rick ross 4 showing d suffering of d many

I just love this two men....... But I believe there are many nigerians who are as rich or richer than this men but they do not have a history of how they started accumulating wealth. (Stolen money) People like obj and babangida...

ITS THEIR MONEY LET THEM ENJOY. IF THEY EVEN WANT TO SPENT 100 BILLION ON SHOE, ITS NONE OF MY BIZINESS. COS EVEN IF THEY GIVE ALL THEIR MONEY TO THE POOR, GUESS WHAT THE POOR WILL NEVER FINISH.

(AND YES POOR TYPO BUT GUESS WAT I STUDIED IN SCHOOL, INDUSTRIAL MATHEMATICS SO WHO CARES AS FAR AS U UNDERSTAND)
LOOL

Mine will soon join IJN,welldone to those who bought it with hardwork but those who aqquired it odawise God is watching

So good for them,they owns †Ñ’ξ money so they have †Ñ’ξ right to spend a̶̲̥̅̊₪d to buy whatsoever they desire. My prayer is for God to bless me too so I can live †Ñ’ξ life that I desire. Money is damn GOOD. @RECTITUDEYEMI. On twitter

GLAM ME PRO said...

*CRYING! And some of you blame Rick Ross for using our ghetto to do a video... they chop all d money alone while their neighbors re suffering and youths unemployed...MY GRT COUNTRY!

Oge Nsimah said...

Wetin the wants us to do nw ... We go fight them?

Tunero said...

Lmao why am I not suprised all d 'fake' talk of 're-building' the Nigerian economy Its not bout hate or anything, yes they can afford it but our economy cannot afford it. They know this! Its a very foolish and selfish development in a country that dsnt ve a 'working' national airline.

Abeg free dem joh, some of them worked their ass out 2 get to where they are today! Its their money so they can do as they please. I like it...poverty is jst a mentality. I haven't hrd of anybody who really worked hard and wasn't rewarded @ ∂ end of ∂ day. The reward myt nt come immediately or ∂ way U̶̲̥̅̊ expect bt its sure goin 2 come.its jst a natural rule. Yu can ask linda if U̶̲̥̅̊ think am lying:)

Jungle Justice said...

Their money, their prerogative. I have nothing against working hard and ballin hard(er). No matter how much they donate, even if they donate the billions to charity there will still be a lot of needy, poor and homeless people. While giving back and helping out the needy is desirable, there isn't any law compelling donations from the rich and famous. They own the money...e nor concern us 1 bit how dem wan spend am.

..my boss has one ,,,big boy tinz..i like naija sha

Balling nigerians ..you jus gotta luv them...

Funny hw dey classified oyedepo and adeboye as businessmen

Sooo cozy!!! God bless my hussle and connect me to the ryt source Amen.

chasis. said...

No condemnation here abeg... God, please bless me too so I can live and enjoy life to the fullest. In Jesus' name I pray.Amen.Linda, plz post this one..at least for the first time so I can pray this prayer 4 u too..lol

Na wa o......cost of maintenance is even more expensive (about 6x) than buying it

Godiswatching

Nigerians wisen up o... Pastors n private jet ur little money they take from u to acquire jet while u trek to church. Sorry y'all

Oh now you guys agree that Nigerians are wallowing in poverty, but yet you got angry when rickross portrayed the poverty in his music video! God will judge all these people that's all I can say. Only them know if their money is as a result of hardwork or not. I really don't understand why a pastor needs a private jet. Why cant they fly commercial? What ever happened to humility? Help your congregation first. I doubt Jesus rode around in a carriage back then or whatever was like a private jet back then.

@ivieayo said...

I don't understand why religous men are doing one the list. What does the bible say about extravagance and wastefulness?

Free them jor, A jet may seem mighty to you and I, to them its just a tool for better productivity. And even if they spend all they have on "the poor", these poor pple may still remain poor cos they seriously lack financial literacy

If they had all pooled that money together Nigeria would turn around instantly.

There is nothing wrong with enjoying your wealth, but how these ppl can see the abject poverty day to day around them and continue in their oblivion is beyond me. What a waste and for something that is not even a necessity.

Mehn its dia money o. Don't hate. :) let dem spend it however mehn

Even celebrities abroad do something, even to the youngest of them Justin bieber has a non profitable organisation..It's called "philantrophy work" shame on them all..

123 have private jets and 149 million in abject poverty.if our population is about 150 million then less than 1% eat well.what a country! now i understand why pple hate us all around the world.

They should be ashamed? Lmao they should be ashamed of their wealth?I'm getting you.My dear they work hard so hell they've got to Chill too,I speak for the Business men anyways.As for the Pastors and Politicians SMH Only in Nigeria

Linda stop being biased and post my comment,na so u hate Odili reach

Anon 4.53 which one is your money,hahaha abeg go and arrange yourself,I'm sure you don't even pay tax,shouting our money. Hiss free dem jo

Pls I want meet Mike Adenuga. Can someone hook me up

Anon 6.53 which philanthropy work do u do? Remove the log from your eye first. Because some people don't come out to announce to the press what they do to help the poor doesn't mean they don't help people, some people send things to motherless baby homes without carrying the press,only God sees the heartof men.

Warri Girl said...

Na wa o, am people are still dying of poverty everywhere.

Eazy Joe said...

life is to short for one to work all day without grooving ooo, is their time let dem chop there money we don't care oooo.

Warri Girl said...

Na wa o, and people are still dying of poverty everywhere.

dosh said...

Well I believe out of the 149 or so private jet owners, only a few really worked and deserve it u know for easy conveyance. However those whose wealth roots can't be traced and are flying high well, God is watching. BTW charity work is not by force, it comes from the heart.

Eya Ayambem said...

For those who can afford it, safer than putting their precious lives in the hands of reckless airlines. It is also safer than exposing themselves to highway robbers. Not a bad idea considering the security situation in NAIJA.

Wrong priority!

Nduka Obaigbena never pay staff salary him dey travel private jet. God is watching.

stacylicious2000@yahoo.com said...

Anyone who has struggled and acquired wealth through the right way should be allowed to enjoy it. Wonder why a typical Nigerian is so full of hate towards the rich.#He who struggled to acquire wealth, should not be told how to spend it, save your advice, you will need it "WHEN" you make yours#

Which means the aviation industry will continue to be shambolic.

@ Anonymous 5:50,talkin abt hard work,let me ask u,what of those barrow pushers in the market,are they not working hard?

#A poverty sricken man's mentality# Lol

Jide said...

Linda, I'm hoping to get my own jet by winning the MTN Promo...hehe. Keeping my fingers crossed.

loooolz @ stacy.

Secretman said...

Remeber as a baseline of humanity GOD made their success possible with the morally imbibed doctrine to always remember those that does not have!
If they afford †̥ have jets and help the needy no crime,but where they keep it @ scrictly luxury? Hell its crime against humanity!
Let them follow the instructions of their conscience & not ignore it!
Those who are not as rich as they are,do their best S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡...

warri girl and all the other poverty stricken nonentities should recognize that its smart work and not hard work that pays. who told you they haven't reached out to the poor. anon 7:37 and 6:57 should get a job and then pass on all their wealth to the poor. when celebs give and splash it all over, you'll say "it should have been in secret" when decent men of God give in secret, you'll say they don't give at all. pls get a life, if u can afford it, buy it, but obviously, you cant...Bishop Oyedepo, I hail o! no one will understand your wealth till they understand your heart for God. awon haters!b

when men were working hard, some idiots were sleeping. now those same idiots just woke up from their slumber and realize that their peers have gone far and carved a niche for themselves. pls jare maje ur own money and don't judge people u dont know with ur false witness tactics. stupid haters. a

Where ubong udofia and I'm rich brother Akan name dey? He suppose get like 3 now

Mayor of pitakwa

#Stricken#....Not Sricken,yeah typo error. "EnglishMajors" hold ur peace. *TongueOut*

.......and YET! these (ex-)politicians, (ex-)bank MDs, (ex-)governors, (ex-)business moguls, (ex-)oil companies and their executives cannot ensure:

1. there is consistent electricity
2. clean water
3. smooth roads for travel
4. functional airports for the masses

***Lush

There's more to life than lavish spending.... The real definition of wealth lies in the direct impact on people in terms of empowerment... Empower the community and touch the less privileged and the down throwding....... The rich pastors can as well develop the rural communities rather than joining the circular people in lavish and ungodly spending # that's why I don't pay my tithe and offerings to any church or pastor. New generation's men of God SMH. ...................... Ayolekan

Can I have their contacts plzzz

***Lush said...

.......and YET! these (ex-)politicians, (ex-)bank MDs, (ex-)governors, (ex-)business moguls, (ex-)oil companies and their executives cannot ensure:

1. there is consistent electricity
2. clean water
3. smooth roads for travel
4. functional airports for the masses

***Lush

Abeg abeg make make una free dem jorrr, a lot of dis pple u haters r crucifyin worked hard 4 der money so y sud'nt dem spend it d way dey lik, abi u want make dem dey mak announcement 4 every help dem give to pple ... D earlier we knw dis truth d beta 4 us dat all d money in d world put 2geda can't bring nigeria out of poverty until we change hw we think. Finito! Angelic

Why are you saying "OUR" money? Is it your head they used to do the juju that brought it? KMT

In the name of God, if people have so much like this, cant they come together to repair our roads after all they too will be driving their expensive cars on these roads. We all know that the government will not repair them.

Its a new age where unemployment has made more and more people, business minded and now more than statistics show that has been a 52% increase in busniess start up from 2010 -2012, What you can do, or dream you can, begin it.
Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it. Join the business world and imbibe the business culture.. Check my blog at businesright.blogspot.com . Please and Thank you.

Dr. Pincher said...

Imagine, who ever wrote that list is mad he didn't even include my name.

The pastor amongst dem still says "vanity upon vanity" very good!

DEEZ NIGGAZ CAN'T HOLD ME BACK!!!!!!

PUSSY ASS NIGGAZ...PUSSY ASS NIGGAZ..ugh (Ross grunt)!!!

I will get there but let them help the poooor ! Empower the youths more to be like deem..,!

Linda when u go buy ur own na?

Based on some of the comments here I wonder when it became the thing to do to mock the poor. Jesting about others being poor will only ensure your own poverty. Because by whatever seed you sow, so shall you reap.

Monique said...

Holy! Holy!! Holy!!! Do something new in my life, something new in my life,something new in my life,Lord Jesus *still singing*

You've moved from Jonathan now...are they responsible for electricity, travel and water in Nigeria? Haba!

Anon 8:17, 7:23 you guys are not ok, it is you who needs to get a life.. Stupid mofos,am sure if you were in their positions,you wouldn't even look back to drag others behind along with you.. Awon Ewu Naija..

How many Catholic Bishops have a private jet?

Ndi Oshi!

Nduka Ogbaibena(Lekeleke) inherited James Iboris jets.

Big ballers!

Ndi Oshi!

justlikeme@live.com said...

This David Oyedepo sef.....him and Pastore Adeboye! Just so y'all know....Jesus walked from city to city....he only used Donkey during one special occasion! Donkey(luxurious car) then wasnt even as expensive as a chariot(Private Jet).....I dont see why this people should do this when there are hungry people in church and homeless and children that arent in school! Bishop Oyedepo most especially....buy this book, buy that....come to covenant that is fucking expensive! To me...this is UNCHRISTLIKE! I am not a catholic oh but i know Catholics get revenues that is far more than those pastors combined yet no pope has a jet!

By the side....I didnt see Davido's father in the list...for all the omo baba olowo talk ;)

Naija una too much, i sip my coffee jeje as i read this post

NOS said...

U know him? Cos I know one Ndu Nddc tinz is it same same?

And they say we have no money...it is well.

nigerians sef, now you lot are cursing the rich men that beautify nigeria right? the people that have the houses and malls in victoria island n lekki u suggested rick ross would have shot his video....this is what rick ross saw and shot that video....

How many of you are willing to share your meal with a beggar on the street or give out 5k to put a smile on someone's face, luck shined upon them, let them be and stop the hate, after all when we all pass away, we take back NOTHING!Billionaire or destitute.

useless people...they dont have an NGO...charity organization etc...just claiming big men up and down..dnt worry our time is coming...

Diva said...

I don't understand why people are buying jets instead of making their country a better place by using that money to make life better for people who are suffering in acute poverty. All these pastors who are into material wealth.....it's only God that will handle you. This is why I can never give credit to Protestant churches.... They are so materialistic, u will never for once hear that a reverend father bought a jet or built a mansion. As for the politicians using the country's money to buy jets and causing more problems for us instead of properly allocating funds. God will punish them. Ndi oshi! I can understand Dangote's own situation. But non other....

Sociable said...

You are totally right. Obasanjo,babangida,atiku,tinubu,orji uzor kalu,sarakis,bamanga tukurs,in short all the Pdp chieftains ,and many more fake pastors building expensive school that members can't afford but non member who have money not to mention their private jets and companies. Abeg make I see road pass I don't like to remember the pastors bcos their case worst pass .

All this critics!in ur own small way as an average Nigeria,ow have u helped solve d prob of poverty?u don't expect this fella to donate all they have to d poor,and deprive themselves of luxury dey can get?smh!!

KD said...

I believe everyone is reserved the right to spend their money as they deem fit. Helping out the needy is the right thing to do,however its still their choice. The pastors and politicans in that list I can't just comprehend. Politics and religion have become the fastest ways to earn cash in naija*smh*

Mckenziegal said...

With this I console myself " WE SHALL ALL DIE ONE DAY AND BE BURIED IN THE SAND....SAME SAND....and not a dime will go with us........Gbam

Mrstsquare said...

YeSsSs oooo...YOLO!soon it ll be my turn...

just like keme- keep forming that you know scripture. what about Solomon whose wealth was so great that the queen fainted. ode oshi. get away from here with your broke self. monkey... b

anon 10:43...there are no priests with jets, because they have no fruit. by their fruit you shall know them. all they do is Mary Mary Mary, obviously that aint working

just like me... priests are broke...stupid dummy

you know, i find some of the comments on this post repulsive!
What's all this they've worked hard let them enjoy their money shit????
If u check their local communities now, u would still find poor relatives in their lineage oh!
Misplaced priorities!!

chipins said...

Don't hate pls. Aspire to be even richer and better.

The Centre Of GRAVFITI said...

The fact is this. Most of these people worked hard and genuinely for their money and besides they dont need to shout when the make donations, probably for reasons best known to them.

@ Stacy look at u yeye dey smell,u can't even spell stricken and u're yabbing anoda person, eflefu(fool in Idoma language)

HAAAAAAA!!! When souls are perishing!

iyecdaii said...

readin pples comments here jus makes me realise d level most nigerians are operating on...if d poor kip gettin moni frm d rich dey wont hit the realisation dt dey nid to work hard fr moni...dnt quote me wrong we shld give espcialli fr d little orphans buh we cnt kip criticising men that have workd fr their money dt dey r thieves...they workd hard fr it...as fr the pastors as much as they r men of God they r also businessmen...if dey ve no businesses u hypocrites wuld b d same pple insultin dem dt dey stole tithes n offeringts ...basic point poverty is jus a state of the mind if u dnt strt thinkin big u wuld alwais remain whr u r

mayor of pitakwa why the gossip now....

Str8FrmDaHips said...

I take it back..glad Rick Ross shot that video!!..this is akin to driving a Bentley in a flooded road full of pot holes..when you think of the reality on ground and the excessive vanity....doesn't make sense..guess this tripped Rick Ross too.What they trying to portray is we might live in a shit hole but would still enjoy the same luxuries afforded the Queen of England or the US President.
Guess the praise singers on here have all been settled or lost their damn minds..poverty mentality indeed!!..just look around u..

VEEON said...

PLEASE BISHOP OYEDEPO IS NOT A CATHOLIC. CATHOLIC BISHOPS DO NOT USE PRIVATE JETS.

sharpie said...

nigerian money!

What re u saying where u there when they obtained massive loans and struggled to pay it back eh eh see thus one except for the pastors it's it money o enjoy ur life go nd make money nd stop commenting on Linda ikeji blog lol

Mark said...

Ermm...Linda and co as for d pastors..adeboye let it be made known dat d jets is not his private property..ok? D jet is for d RCCG. Let me clarify it.... Wen he passes on as God dim it fit, it will remain wit d church available for d next G.O (general overseer) to use and d oda pastorates,ok? It will not be passed down to his children or his family....
D politicians....hmmm. Well we all knw where d money came from.
And for d oda honest hardworking bizmen...ENJOY Ɣǒǖr money joor forget dese poverty stricken pple condemning Ɣǒǖ... Buh Ɣǒǖ can atleast lend a hand to d needy... I'm out..

Amen ooo