What is success, really? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 10 April 2012

What is success, really?

This is a comment from a LIB commenter, Sleek. He/she made it on the Janet Jackson new body post. Please read and tell us what you think
Stop encouraging these failures, no husband, no child, why her waist no go tiny? If u want to be like her u are free, just don't marry and don't have kids. I don't fancy this kind of person. Life is - you have to be given birth to, then live, then marry, have kids and live as a family of ur own apart from ur previous family ( parents and siblings ). To me that's fulfillment and success. Anything less of that is a total failure no matter what anyone says. I know some waste ones here will say immediate family is not by force or some will say marriage is not by force, hey stop deceiving urselves bcos a Person who is average in life with family (spouse and kids) is far better and more successful than a person who is a billionaire without family ( spouse n kids ).  Yes I said it, if u like start consoling urself by saying it's not by force. If u like try make urself feel good by saying it's a choice. Ranging from oprah Winfrey to Janet Jackson and to anyone out there who is super rich but no spouse and kids.

215 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 215 of 215

She/He is an illiterate and rigid thinker.

Success is the ability to achieve what you have set to do. If you had no plan, you can never be successful at "something".

If you decide not to have kids, but you adopted whole orphanges and care for them, such that they become somebody in life, that is success. On the other hand, if you want to raid a bank vault and you succeed with that, that is success.

Even the Bible says if you do not want to marry, if you think you can stand wtout a woman, dont. Is sleek saying Apostle Paul and Jesus were not successful?

Sucess can only be measured vis-a-vis an earlier set objective.

But I do not blame him/her;to understand Success, your IQ has to be at a certain level.

Olah

Zubby said...

You are badt lol

Udeze said...

Phueeeese stop using Oprah to console yourself,can't you live your life instead of copying Oprah, @ 40 you dont have husband and no kids hmmmm,you want to tell me you don't regret it or you hate the truth about life? Madam biko punu ozor you are a sadist woman if at 40 u are proud to be alone mtcheeeeewwww

She choose not to have kids, she did not lost her reproductive organ fool, google pears Morgan CNN interview, pears Morgan interview her, as a matter of fact , she was the first person pears Morgan interview after Larry King Live ended. Her brother sold her to press an she was forced to reveal that part/ chapter of here life, since the baby died, she decide never to get pregnant by choice. Stop cursing, for nothing , air ur opinion and leave cos u don't know the story either.

Binta said...

you all should know d sleek babe is senseless.see d way she attacked me on that bishop and unilag run's girl post.ode.

lolasky said...

Linda seriously how can u even give this malu time of the day. Sleek is an example of a failed man/woman. I'm sure its a she and she's probably in an abusive marriage. All dese yarn is to console herself. Success is relative. it depends on you as as an individual, how u perceive urself and ur feeling of worth. Sleek is a loser. and to her, her husband and brood of bratty kids means success. She's just a baby making piece of pussy that can be tossed aside when her husband gets something better.

big guy in the house said...

You folks are talking rubbish,God says..Increase and multiply.Please for those that are still single and old,Try and fix yaself somewia.Its not N EXCUSE.You people should go and marry.hahahahahhahahahahahahahah.Failures

That is an ignorant statement to make based on the poor choice of words used to explain whoevers' idea. Spouse + Kids in no way equals fulfilment/happiness, if u have no resources to take care of either then what u have is a burden, constant discomfort, strife, unhappiness, stress, anger, resentment the list goes on.....
You cannot continue to dwell on the ideas and practices of the past regarding childbearing/childrearing and marriage because lots of changes have taken place since the 18th century and before
Whoever made the statement may have not considered all these or may have strung words together to concoct a sentence that poorly represents the message being attempted to be passed on.... #my2cents

my name is ken.i read many comment from but against n those for.think those against were to hash on Sleek.He made some good points,though nothing in life is rational.I am not married or have kids,but i think having a child is one of the greatest joy.for couples who cant bear kids,they understand the pain,and they will be ready to give all their money to just have a child.And for those that are not married,you know how lonely it is to be single,being single is not fun compare to being with somebody whether married or not.We all need that special person.For those in marriages that fail,its sad,but we it was working,you can testify there was nothing sweeter.I think the people Sleek was talking to are those chasing money without planning for future.Do you know the joy a father is giving his daughter out for marriage or his grand kids playing in his house when he is old,those are moments money cannot buy.It good to be a successful biz man or woman,but at the end of the day,you need children to share your success with,whether they are your biological kids or not.thanks

Why cant some people comment without cursing.Linda please start deleting those that curse on their comment.People please share ur opinion and leave the rest for the readers..

ifyzzle said...

lmao!i can bet that this woman is one of those people who equate marriage to success. she obviously has lost all of her self esteem in marital "success"..get a life boo and stop hating just because you are frustrated and unhappy.

Oprah is a mother to thousands. She has housed, fed, clothed and schooled thousands. If you have 5 children and you do the same for your five can you truly compare yourself to someone who has done as much for thousands and consider them to be less than you are? Stop thinking with a small mind, and see the big picture, you could live for 300 years and still not have done as mouch for many as Oprah has in 30 yrs. Oprah is a mother to multitudes, you can't even compare. Sorry to burst your bubble.

Go to impoverished villages & see people with 4 wives an 20 children, poor and struggling, drinking garri like there is no tomorrow... Or women who are victims of violence in the hands of men like Arowolo. ARE THEY SUCCESSFUL? Answer me o snake abi wetin be ur name?

Dear Sleek.....u are an ignorant retard....u and anyone that thinks the way u should are part of the reason naija wld never develop.....pity

I read alot of comments here and i shake my head. Why all the insults in the name of God?if what sleek said is not paining u then u nid 2shut d hell up and stop cursing. If having a family is success to Sleek then so be it. What is wrong with most of us young ladies this dayz? When som1 writes about marriage and all our blood gets hot. WHat is the problem wit this generation in d name of God. We are Afrrians and we sure do have a culture. I may not totally agree with Sleek but that is his/her definition of success. The same way we are so easy to cite bad examples of marriage why then cant we cite good examples in the name of God. Is Joke Jacobs not married, Is omotola that all of u adore not married,Was stella Damasus not married up till the untimely death of her husband? Is wunmi Obe not married, WAs Pastor Bimbo Odukoya not married? I can go on n on n on to give u examples of happily married women?Wot of the likes of Nike Adeyemi,Tara Fela-Durotoye,Banke Messida Lawal? Why dont we talk about all those pple. Wot of Betty Irabor. The Bible says as a man thinketh in his heart so he is. What has changed over the years?Alot of us want to be deceived cos the truth bites and stings us. I srsly belive we should pls stop laying emphasis on just the bad examples please.

For some pple yes they have been unfortunate but should we bcos of that start misleading the coming generation. The same Bible talks says "He who finds a wife finds a good tin and obtains favour from the Lord", "Be fruitful and Multiply". Even when Paul talked about marriage not being complusory he also said that those that cannot hold themselves should marry. Most of the pple here come and say gibberish while the are busy hopping from one bed to the other and commmiting abortions like its a way of life. Please enof is enof on the marriage issue abeg. if u bliv in marriage den go ahead and make the most of it, but if u dont all well n gud its ur choice n no1 shud judge u for it. For all u kia some pple even marry for the wrong reasons and wen d whole tin blows up in their face it becomes a tale of marriage is bad blah blah blah...

Please enof of the cursing abeg if wot sleek said is not directly affecting you or ur life den pls SHUT THE HELL UP...

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 215 of 215   Newer› Newest»