President Goodluck Jonathan Commissions 'Almajiri School' In Sokoto | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 10 April 2012

President Goodluck Jonathan Commissions 'Almajiri School' In Sokoto

President Goodluck Jonathan today commissioned the first of a series of schools aimed at giving the northern Nigerian kids popularly known as "Almajiris" a chance of proper education.

The federal government plans to build 400 "Almajiri" schools across the 19 northern state of the Nigerian federation. 100 of the schools  will commence operation in June 2011. (Sahara Reporters)

50 comments:

He should try,

Nice!!!! But then again,is this a priority oga Jona? Are u by this action not encouraging the existence of almajiris?? Don't u think more will rise up since they know they will be cared for by the Federal government??
Many questions on my mind begging for answers but then again.....whatever makes Mr President n his croonies happy!!!
Nuff said!!!!

This is the bull fuck stunts all these govt will be pulling. Schools will not get funded in a matter of time and we'll be back at one again. For forsakes.....NEXT!!!!!

Clueless mufu

Puppet

What is the ADC looking at? I doubt this dude knows his job description.

Is Jonathan afraid to visit the North in his native attire? Has he send condelence messages to the families of those who lost thier loved ones in this latest bombing? Or it does not matter bcos they are ordinary Nigerians;and, not foreigners?

Any leader in his right senses would have postponed the commissioning of this school in honor of those who lost their lives; the nation is still reeling from this attack and he is there taking pictures. This guy is out of touch with those he promised to protect. Nigeria sucks! ...NYC-1

Almajiris?? sounds like a terrorist movement about to start to me.

I don't get it. Fed. Govt. bldging schools to give them chance to proper eduction? I hope he is doing same in South-South and South-East. Just to ask? What is the state govt. doing? Looking for more women to marry? Don't be surprise, those kids belong to one father.

God bless Rochas and Fashola...NYC-1

Let's go back in two months and see if those classrooms still have desks and chairs... And if the students still turn up for school. Nigeria is a total WEIST.

I see this as a good things because these education in the north is very dire and therefore makes them susceptible to outside influence telling them to do awful things aka boko haram. Causation is not equal to correlation but just my opinion

Teriza said...

hahahha Boko haram in progress.

BRIGHTINO said...

A step in the right direction.

I hope this is not a training ground for boko.

Just thinking aloud. What Curriculum will this Almajiri school adopt? What will be the medium of communication? English or Hausa? Can those students I see in this picture read all those big books or are the big books for show? Na wa for Oga Jonah ooooo.

school- yes
almajiri-no
even a lame name like "teletubbies primary" could have been more dignifying than "almajiri school" wat da hell...
yes i dey vex bcz i be hausa! n almajiri is not exactly a fun name to be called.

karimatu said...

Almanjiri!!! This is a school where kids at a tender age taken from their parents and bombarded with awkward doctrines and their minds washed. Is this not a plot to train Bokoharam candidates. Because they are thought from a young age that when they kill, they win souls for God. Our president I shake my head for him,doesn't see the picture here.

Why do we always think we have better solutions every time things like this happen? What are you insinuating? That these people r not nigerians and shouldn't be cared for? 'encouraging the existence of almajiris', what kind of a foul, hatred-driven statement is that? Are they not nigerians? In fact, I pity how we reason as a people.... It's totally pathetic.
The internet has given us an opportunity to run our mouths at every given time, we all think we have the panacea to Nigeria's problem.

monticarlo said...

another way of prompting terrorism if u ask me sha..ve stayed in the north for yrs and i don't these kids are ready for western ishh cos they like violence.....

BLOGLORD said...

President Jona, should ds be ur priority? see mass death everywhere in the north, n u there commissioning a sch. may God help u.

they dont wanna get educated,u have to pay them to attend the school oga Joe.

Daniel Akobi said...

Right way to go My President! Goodluck has never claimed to be a messiah and has never promised to solve all Nigeria's problems. One thing you can't deny about this President is that he talks less and work more

And apart from commissioning the schools,they also bought them uniforms, shoes and will probably feed them for the next 10years. This is how they are gonna keep spending our money, on MEND and then terrorists who they think developed from Almajiris.These people obviously dont wanna go to school.
Oga Joe, try and face the real issues please, we have millions of graduates with no job and we spend billions on these dudes? wake up and smell the coffee

2moro those lil kids will bomb ...

400 schools in the North only?!!?
I think the whole of the Nigerian country can make use of 400 schools, and not just Northerners.

Is it to bribe boko haram ? But no be dis same western education dey cos d boko haram wahala!

This cannot and will never solve the problem, an average nothern muslim is violent in nature, violence is their religion i tell you you have just promoted bombing from tender age, ask yourself is Abdulmutallab not educated? these people believe they are fighting for their god to have many virgins in heaven.Sooo with this now those that were having 10 children will now increase. CHANGE THEIR RELIGION ORIENTATION and the problem is solved

As for those asking why the schools are only in the North, please dont forget that hundreds of the so called "ex millitants" are being sponsored ABROAD for education and " skills acqusition". This country belongs to all of us and every part of the country deserves some aid from the Government whether oil producing or not.
And for those asking whether the schools will constitute " terrorist camps", why not also ask what the miliitants will do when they return from abroad. We complain of the Almajiris roaming the streets and becoming thugs and assasins but now that the Government is trying to do something to clear them off the streets, its Insults, jeers and complains all over.

oh is building more schools for them to promote terrorism GOD pass all of you

No ones disputing the gesture..but why is this a federal issue??..isn't this the job of the state govs..and when Jona leaves office what's going to happen to dem schools..run down naturally..nothing but a tokem cheap gesture to the menace of boko haram..commissioning a school after people were just blown apart..Dude is clueless and has equally inept advisers..def not fit to be a leader should stay in the background where he belongs..cannot take anotha 4 yrs of this man..

sleemeto said...

nice...lets check back on the schools in one year :)

sleemeto said...

*straight face* lets check back on the schools in one year :)

the white enchantress said...

he has commissioned n paved way to increase in BOKO HARAM bc that is what they teach there. it is these alamajiris that they use to stage this attacks. they brainwash them from childhood.....well done Uncle GEJ.

ONOME says........................
I dunno,I am a bit confused about this move.

Will building schools for them reduce the current trend of bombings going on?Will it change their perception of western education?Are all Northerners bad?Are some deserving of this laudable venture?What about the unemployed graduates roaming the streets whose parents slaved and "sweated" to send them to school?Are they less deserving of ventures like this because they are not of the Almajiri folk?Should evil be repaid with good?Is it more effective to bomb to pass your message across than to pray to God for help in your downtrodden circumstance?What about the MEND who are fighting for at least distribution of wealth to their lands?Is it not better to capture these young ones young and change their mindset about bombing and violence and in this way change the mindset of the others?WILL THIS STOP THE KILLING OF INNOCENT NIGERIANS?

Unfortunately I have no answers.I do know that education is a right step to development of any region.

God bless Nigeria,God bless Nigerians

This cannot and will never solve the problem, an average nothern muslim is violent in nature, violence is their religion i tell you you have just promoted bombing from tender age, ask yourself is Abdulmutallab not educated? these people believe they are fighting for their god to have many virgins in heaven.Sooo with this now those that were having 10 children will now increase. CHANGE THEIR RELIGION ORIENTATION and the problem is solved

JUST ANOTHER SCHEME TO CHOP OUR MONEY! SOME GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS HAVE JUST FOUND ANOTHER WAY TO EAT GOVERNMENT MONEY!

Smh. Jonathan can NEVER do right by some people. Everything is one step at a time. This may Not be priority but he is doing something, those who say they are not willing to learn, what is wrong with at least trying and giving them a beTter opportunity to? These almajiri boys don't know any better so what's so wrong with trying to influence them positively from childhood before they grow up to become terrorists as they are wont to do? I attended law school in kano and these children are very violent, because that is all they know, and eventhough quite a large number of them shun western education, I met some who really cherish and appreciate it. There's the child I knew, Isa, his friends are almajiri boys but Isa wants to be a doctor, I helped him with his skl fees once n other stuff and I could see his deTermination, cos when I give him money he'll use it to buy books and come and show them to me. I'm sure there are others like him. Ignoring them is tantamount to encouraging them. I only pray that these schools won't end up being bombed cos its going to piss off some people. God bless Nigeria. Valerie.

BUSY BEE said...

Can we for once applaud and encourage our President? This is a wake up call to our clueless Northern leaders. It took GEJ to make dis happen. Our prayer shld be that GOD shld grant d men in charge of this school the wisdom to key into transforming the lives of these Almajiris for the better. Stop the insults on GEJ and join hands for a greater Nigeria. Goodluck is trying, he needs our collective support.

the white enchantress said...

apart from the boko haram angle, these northern govt used these medium to obtain more funds from the federal pocket since their own share of oil revenue has been reduced drastically they had no other option than to look for means to get more funds

........in btw...

mr.rafiu, no run ur mouth for here. judging by the way you attacked every comment,it seems you from the northern part of Nigeria,thanks to your name. why should FG build schools for them? is it not part of the oil revenue funds they collect? are your govts not meant to be taxing you people? yeye......i dont even know why he wasted money there because obviously all you people need is the desert or bush or even under dogonyaro tree to learn.

run your mouth here while the rich northerners send their kids to reasonable schools and they occupy positions.don't go and find reasonable way to lead your people in the right direction.......and yes! thanks to internet we can run our own mouth and sharpen it the more bc dis same internet has made hidden things pretty bright and obvious for all to see and know........that's my piece.

urmm all of u making dumb comments saying this is not a good idea u need to read more and think more... the almjiris make up a good number of terrorists in Nigeria due to their lack of western education which abhors terrorism. Therefore, the only education they were getting be4 now is how to make bombs and kill themselves and others. with these schools they will be given western education which will enable them aspire more and want to live in peace to achieve more...

Mine said...

But y dem give dem white wear na...Abi govt plan to do laundry for them*just asking*

Idea great. But not much thought was put into this. Can you all see how high the table is for the kids

@ Busy Bee i support you when you say this is a wakeup call for Northern leaders. Well said indeed. and @Jen 1.58 Pm.. the Federal Govt is sending hundreds of millitants abroad, why havnt you asked why the Niger Delta Governors didnt do so? You run your mouth on rich northern Governors..... are thieves like Ibori and Alamesigha from the North? We saw the pix of the properties they bought abroad tanx to the internet you allude to. Is the Niger Delta not undeveloped despite the oil that seeps from their land? with all the percentage derivation allocated to these states why havnt these regions being developed??? Cos their theiving leaders loot the treasury and buy houses in UK, US etc at the expense of their people. It took a northern president to declare amnesty and set up the programme to educate the restless youth that were spreading their own mayhem in the South. And people are upset becos GEJ built almajiri schools??? bullshit abeg!

and Jen not everybody that bears Rafiu is from the North. free your mind from bias!!!! Ignorance is not an excuse anymore.Learn not to judge people from their regions or watever. if you want to respond to commets do so professionally. its people with minds like yours that are creating enmity and hatred around.

Idiots! All you nay-sayers, how would to resolve the majiri problem then? You cannot re-orient one's religion. I am Christian and I love God, Jesus, HolySpirt but Islam is here to stay. We cannot re-orient an entire religion that more than half of Nigeria's population follow. Instead of ranting over every GEJ and other political leaders, we need to start discussing avenues to help Nigeria. Ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country.

what nonsense, what is d meaning of boko harram? now they're sending them to skol, no o, dis is another training ground for them. mstcheew

I am, the no Sender. said...

Guy or Babe, which ever you be, I'd have loved to hug you. This good response to the number of clueless Nigerians sometimes you find droping comments on this blog.

It's a pity Linda refused to upload my comment for I expressed same sentiments as you more or less in response to a post by BLOGLORD.

Ajoke said...

Linda, this post is VERY misleading. Almajiri schools DO NOT give children proper education. They indoctrinate and brainwash poor young children with the Qu'ran and they are abused and treated like slaves, they DO NOT learn English, math, science, or any form of "Western" education. They have similar schools in the middle east and they are a breeding ground for terrorists. This is something to be very concerned about. GEJ is a terrible president. No, well educated person would commission an Almajiri school, very shameful.

Where's my post..??..anyways how dare u compare MEND to those bastard terrorists Boko Haram..did u see Mend blow up the population..they had a just cause but got hijacked by opportunists..through kidnapping..but Mend was all about oil pipelines..it wouldn't work cos its a token gesture and they have a different mind set..if u like Linda give this in ur closet like u did my last epilogue..

chica said...

ahn ahn y r the students carrying their bag packs in class,, they should drop it na..

good riddance for bad rubbish.what are they graduating to become?who takes care of their feeding which their parents are running away from.what is jona planning for the south