Reuben Abati Vs Dele Momodu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 February 2012

Reuben Abati Vs Dele Momodu

Dele Momodu criticized GEJ in an article he wrote last Saturday titled - In Search of a Radical President'. Presidential spokesman Reuben Abati obviously didn't like what was written and replied Bob Dee in today's Thisday Newspaper. Dele Momodu has also issued a response to Reuben's article. Read it all below...

Jonathan: A Radical President By Reuben Abati
I have always regarded Dele Momodu as a man of very passionate convictions, but lately, I have begun to wonder about the motives that drive his recent contributions to the public discussion of the state of our nation.
I started to worry when he suddenly decided he wanted to be President of Nigeria. A day after D-Day, the joke on Twitter, Facebook and online (the essential scourge of our time) was that Dele Momodu got only one vote at the polling booth in his ward, and that even his wife who followed him to the polling booth voted for someone else - Goodluck Jonathan, most probably. But he has trudged on since then like a man of faith, proclaiming his undying faith in Nigeria.
Dele Momodu has made it clear since then that he is very disenchanted with President Goodluck Jonathan. I have also noticed a strange and inexplicable streak of extreme radicalism in his ThisDay column in recent times, and I have had cause to call him to express my amazement. He is ordinarily right of centre, but he is gradually shifting to far left of centre. I confess to not being very certain about what could have caused this sudden shift to extremism by Bob Dee, but frustration, anger, mischief, misinformation, partisanship, and expediency have been suggested.

He fully advertised his “apostasy” in his piece titled “In Search of A Radical President” (Saturday, January 28). What was missing in that fallacy-laden analysis, as in most criticisms of President Jonathan, is a proper contextualization and deconstruction of the current Presidency. Momodu says the “fad in government today in Nigerian government circles is to label every critic as an enemy of government”. But there are truths and there are fallacies. What needs be noted is that President Jonathan does not consider any critic of his administration, an enemy.

President Jonathan, it must be remembered, signed the Freedom of Information Bill into law, whereas at least two Presidents before him demurred on the same issue. During the “removal of fuel subsidy” protests, the President repeatedly acknowledged the average Nigerian’s right to protest. He publicly declared that he is prepared to take unpopular decisions in the long term interest of Nigerians, at the risk of being abused in the short-term. The President’s conviction is that every Nigerian should enjoy the right to know, and the right to differ, and that Nigeria is a collective enterprise. He is a man who truly believes in the rule of law and the sovereignty of Nigeria.

However, when people talk about the disintegration of Nigeria, or regime change, it certainly bothers President Jonathan who rightly insists that he will not preside over a Nigeria that will disintegrate. The problematic in Momodu’s analysis is thus to be thrown back at its source. The true enemies of our country are the anarchists who insist that Nigerian must disintegrate. The real enemies of the Nigerian project are those who for opportunistic reasons seem to have resolved that they will not allow the present administration to have a moment of peace. Democracy yes; but anarchism, no. Where exactly does Momodu stand?

I go to the second level of Momodu’s very apparent discontent. This goes back to the circumstances of President Jonathan’s emergence as President: how he was the underdog without shoes that nobody gave a chance, the man that everyone including Professor Wole Soyinka, Pastor Tunde Bakare, the Save Nigeria Group and our very own Dele Momodu helped all the way to the throne, and now that he is there, he no longer remembers those who made him king! As Momodu puts it: “…we expected to see a President full of gratitude to man and God. We had hoped to have a radical President who would use his exalted position to correct the ills of our nation and heal our wounds…”

The sub-text of Momodu’s assertion is that too many people think Dr. Jonathan is President because of their own personal sacrifices, and Momodu makes that clear. And he is not alone. The attendant verbiage is like this: we fought for him to be President, when the Yar’Adua cabal did not want him; and he doesn’t seem to be showing us enough gratitude. Or the other face of it: he is using our term; if Yar’Adua had not died, he would not be President now. Or as the royalists put it: where is he coming from? How did we allow a minority to emerge as President?

Of course, the truth is that the essential Jonathan persona has not changed in any negative way since he assumed the mantle of national leadership. The President remains a perfect embodiment of humility who fully appreciates that it is a great privilege to be entrusted with the leadership of our great nation. He has certainly not forgotten the millions of ordinary Nigerians who voted to elect him and he constantly proclaims that God has been very kind to him. Nobody in Nigerian history has been so significantly historic, given the awakening of his emergence and its illustrative dimensions.

But he asks for one favour: the “shoe-givers” should allow him to walk with the shoes and effectively implement his agenda for national transformation. President Jonathan sincerely wants to transform Nigeria. They should allow him to do so. The most ardent critics have spoken about declining goodwill and declining legitimacy. The latter is fictitious because the legitimacy is real and incontrovertible; the former is contrived, and can only be redressed by the learning of appropriate lessons on both sides. President Jonathan has a four-year tenure; those who want his position should wait till the next election to stake their claims, and not seek to sabotage Nigeria for selfish reasons. Those are the enemies Dele Momodu should worry about.

He says “a true radical”, according to Abiola, is “a man who was ready to put his personal comfort at risk.” That is precisely what President Jonathan is doing. The Presidency of Nigeria is a difficult assignment: it is not easy to lead such elite “shoe-givers” mentioned by Dele Momodu. He has however, offered “a few tips free of charge” to make the task easier, albeit he is mostly preaching to the already converted. He says President Jonathan must cut budget and slash all salaries and allowances of public officers by at least 50 per cent. But that advice is belated and not very original. The President is already doing that and more to redirect national resources away from wasteful and unproductive expenditure to critical areas of national need such as power supply, infrastructure, education, healthcare, agricultural development and employment generation.

I give a personal testimony: before my arrival at this post, the Nigerian President used to travel abroad with a retinue of independent journalists. That has been slashed to just three under Jonathan and two weeks ago, I was asked to go and reduce that figure by 25%. I still can’t figure out the calculation: 25% of 3, translated into individual representation!

Dele Momodu adds that the President: “must stop all frivolous contracts and concentrate on revamping our disgraceful infrastructure”. Sir, President Jonathan is already doing so too. It may have escaped your notice, but he set up a high-powered committee months ago to review all contracts and on-going projects, and he is diligently implementing the recommendations of that committee. I was there when that committee first presented its report. It was a comment on Nigeria. President Jonathan has inherited projects that were awarded over 50 years ago, and that are still in progress! I have never seen him so incensed. Momodu should ask: Is this President being fought by “enemies” because he resolved publicly to change the order of things?
Momodu also wrote that “…Our ragtag police are begging for serious attention.” President Jonathan has said that much and has set up a Special Committee to do just that. Momodu says: “The Presidential Villa need not be a Saudi palace.” As anyone who has been to Saudi Arabia knows, it certainly is not. Momodu also says “All foreign travels must be kept to the most essential ones as determined by the Foreign Ministry.” Mr. President already said so, two weeks ago in a national broadcast and has since acted accordingly. “The biggest task before our President is how to cut waste and increase revenue at all levels,” Momodu adds. That is precisely what Mr. President is doing. In addition, he is fighting corruption, tackling Boko Haram, encouraging investment and the diversification of the economy.

Dele Momodu complains that “we are spending trillions of Naira every year without any visible progress.” Progress is being made, and President Jonathan is as much in a hurry as every Nigerian. President Jonathan understands the great historical opportunity that he has to make a difference, and he is not relying on luck but hard-work, diligence and dedication as well as the continued support of all truly patriotic Nigerians.

Dele Momodu's response below...
Remember Reuben - By Dele Momodu
“Not every journalist begins his career with an entrĂ©e in the nature of a bang. Journalistic careers tend to take a long, and windy route of much obscurity and misfortune, rejection and despair, and then, slowly, and accidentally, the career takes an upswing and the journalist is made and born…Exceptions to this rule are rare…Dele Momodu whose book you are holding…qualify as one of such exceptions.

“Momodu has proven to be one of those over-subscribed men who appear to be in all places at all times and capable of doing anything to the best of their abilities…”
That was my friend and brother, Dr Reuben Abati, Ph.D, writing an introduction to my unpublished book, DELE MOMODU, PENDULUM: essays, letters and columns, in 1997, while I was in exile in London, one clear year before Dr Goodluck Jonathan joined politics. As I remember the Reuben of those days, I weep for Nigeria. I weep because I never imagined in my wildest dream that a day would come when Reuben, our own Reuben, would be used as an attack dog, by people who are totally disconnected from reality.

Reuben remains for me one of the finest products of journalism, a man I foolishly thought would add some finesse to the lacklustre occupiers of Aso Rock Presidential Villa. But the Reuben I see today is a shadow, a pitiable sight, of the old Reuben, who has confirmed the adage that a goat that keeps the company of dogs would eventually become a dog. How else can I describe Reuben’s crass crudity in his response to my last article, In Search of A Radical President? While I grant him the right of reply, it was cruel to have brought my dear and innocent wife, Mobolaji, into the whitewash of his boss.

I was aware he was under fire from everyone. His friends are grumbling aloud that this is not the Reuben they used to know. There are also rumblings from his employers that he was not pulling his weight and I have been one of his sympathisers. His employers are suspecting that he’s worried for his battered reputation, and thinking he might dump them if the heat gets too hot. They need not worry because our friend has crossed the Rubicon. He’s at a point of no return.

But why would Reuben ever drag my wife (a woman who had fed us all in our poverty-stricken days) in the mud? This is the only reason I’m responding to his diatribe. He knows in his heart that Nigerians are too smart to accept his assessment of Goodluck Jonathan. I expected a journalist and lawyer of his standing to check his facts but he was in a hurry to cast aspersions on my wife by subscribing to the rumour that she did not vote for me on election-day. Channels Television and BISCON Tv accompanied us to the voting centres and can bear witness to what happened that day. 

My wife and I voted in different Wards within the same school. Why won’t a wife I married properly vote for me? 

Beyond that, INEC recorded over 26,000 votes for me nationwide despite not having unrestricted access to public funds like Dr Abati’s boss. I would want Reuben to tell the world if indeed he and his two wives voted for President Jonathan. I doubt it, unless he was a fake critic. I can’t think of Obama’s spokesman bringing the wife of a journalist into an argument. Is this what power does to otherwise sensible men? How would posterity remember Reuben? I guess: A man who voluntarily set fire to everything he ever wrote. Shame!

84 comments:

lucabracee said...

im a tad disappointed that dele momodu didn't properly address abati's article
i was expecting him to delve into the the electioneering campaign amount good luck spent and then do a comparison to his including some of the most obvious and blatant stealing going on unchecked under gem case in point nnpc,ppra

Good response from Dele Momodu. Thumb up!

Like i always say, everybody has a price!' Souls and truth can be bought with MONEY! Simply know the 'right' price!

I personally saw Dele momodu as a joker when he came out to contest for presidency, but i now see Reuben Abati as a 'traitor and betrayal' of trust some people like me had in him!

What happened to the fiery analytic speaker and writer huh?

Of course, he would defend himself by saying he was simply doing his job!

But don't forget Reuben, You would soon be out of 'govt protection' then you would feel the 'anger' people have for you! mscheww!

AWON AGBAYA BURUKU
olowo

I really cant believe Reuben!He should remember that no condition is permanet. He has lost his credibility. What a shame. He dared reply Dele Momodu, ha,Dele would finish him in a split second! He would bring out his intestine for the public.Ode. Aso Rock would soon get rid of him, then we shall see where he would run to. Fool. OOH trust me, this is round one.

Nkem said...

"I give a personal testimony: before my arrival at this post, the Nigerian President used to travel abroad with a retinue of independent journalists. That has been slashed to just three under Jonathan and two weeks ago, I was asked to go and reduce that figure by 25%. I still can’t figure out the calculation: 25% of 3, translated into individual representation!"-Reuben Abati. Reuben Abati just exposed to us how daft our president is.

Legaldiaries said...

I must give Abati praise here, he's a good writer. Wow! I wish I could write as good as him.
Onto d issue at hand, Segun Adeniyi was labelled a traitor too, till he wrote a book on his stint during 'd cabal days' and everybody's eyes opened. Decisions are taken on d spur of the moment, so many factors nt readily available to d man on d street, come into play to affect those decisions. I've realised to be a critic is d easiest thing to do, until u get there and realised u may hv been looking at stuff frm rose colored glasses. If not why wud so many notable govt critics Oshiomole, Maku, segun Adeniyi, Abati etc start singing diff upon entering govt?
Dele Momodu wudn't hv been different if he was president. Even Obama wit his goodwill during elections now have the fieriest critics. The biz of governance is not child's play. Momodu didn't respond to d article, but was mentioning wife this, wife that.
My advice Dele, stick to Ovation!

orange said...

Reuben, two wives? With his pedigree, his exposure and his letters? Wonders shall never end. Please, where is a woman's dignity? If she can stoop low to go share someone elses's pudding. I was in 400 level when Reuben was doing his PHD in University of Ibadan. He was a fine gentleman, well lettered, very brilliant, focused and a source of inspiration to a lot of people, albeit unknown to him at that time. Women issues can really make someone an idiot if not properly handled and mess up a whole lot of life's accomplishment. Personally, I am disappointed. Dunking two women and professing equally love, right? And probably other Abuja and Lagos babes. Something's are unimaginable. You expect that your role models will comport themselves with dignity, grace and caution bearing in mind that their lives has a direct effect and impact on their known and unknown followers and admirers.

Treeze said...

Lol! Its freedom of info I guess... Both were interesting works of art. I am personally more interested in the construction of words than the content. But I 'll say that, I agreed with Dele that, a mare rumour concerning his wife should not 've been part of the theory, if it has any thing to do with facts. Meanwhile, Dele retaliated by mentionining Abati's two wives. Hnm! So this man has two wives, lol! What did he(Dele) say happened... Ok, since he actually retaliated in his responce, it became an eye for an eye. Nyz literature guys!

'Jide Aluko said...

@lucabracee Thumps up! I could not but totally agree with you. Dele Momodu ought to have learnt by now how to take advantage of loopholes in 'an enemy's strategies.' Reuben Abati's defence of his boss has such loopholes in scores and I, a far distant observer, was discerning enough to see them. Dele should not have reduced his response only to Reuben's insinuation on his wife's 'electoral betrayal' when he has lethal literary weapons to dismantle Abati's extremely weak defensive armour. The special committees-plagued govt of GEJ ought to have been shredded into irretrievable atomic pieces by Dele while that 'lie' of Abati about the Dele's single vote would have been equally accorded acerbic response too. Abati's failings are so glaring even to the visually impaired, so Dele ought to have pointed his flaws out. All the same, Dele has shown he is a responsible family who would go any length to protect the integrity of his closely knitted family. Kudos to you, Bob Dee, on this.

sakara said...

Reuben or ruben or whatever his name s wl not seize to make a mockery of the presidency, cause he knows they are all a bundle of joke, a president that is so clueless getting a backbone from a hungry journalist is pathetic, if dele momodu dd not get a single vote, d people who voted jona idiot what r they getting from him now...boko harams right??? he shd remember segun adeniyi where is he today, he had to run away from nigeria, ruben ur own time is coming when u'll be witing ur 'gilberish' from outside d country to clean ur already dirty, stinking image...shame on you

Idemudia Austine said...

Reuben v Sahara reporter,Reuben v Dele,honestly my respect 4 Reuben over d yrs is waning,he is now a double speaking pdp politicial,this not my REUBEN ABATI

Hahaha,'' I laugh at d both of them''Dele Momodu should stop criticizing Reuben Abati.That what money can do,it can buy the soul of people who use to be once great critics..Dele momodu is not an exception..I wonder if he had become president,how he wld av done.Abegiii both are birds of the same feather,dnt deceive us wit ur words...

REUBEN ABATI USED TO BE UGLY OUTSIDE AND BEAUTIFUL INSIDE BUT NOW THE UGLINESS HAS OVERTAKEN HIS BODY, MIND AND SOUL....MONEY CAN TRULY BUY SOME PPLE'S INTERGRITY. HE IS A DISGRACE TO HIMSELF, FAMILY AND COUNTRY AS A WHOLE!!! FEWWLLIIIISSSSHHH MAN!! NOW SOUNDING AS DAFT AS GOODLUCK

Very good response 4m dele

mama somtee said...

hmmmm pls reuben ignore dele , he is a spent force and wishing he were in your shoes , roles being reversed he would grab the opportunity sebi we sabi am , pls do not expose him oooh it's okay , everyone knew you did not lobby for this unlike him that is an activist and dines with the good , bad and ugly of them all , who no bi ehim friend just to keep ovation running aaaabeg dele siddon joor for gutter.

Momen said...

...Ukochukwu, Na the same people!!!

what does dele momodu think nigeria and we nigerians are?a muppet right???this is the same dele momodu that used his ovation to promote the likes of babangidas and abachas...that also went and interview mariam abacha in her living room portraying her as a woman who helped her husband to shape nigeria,hmmmm...after money don enter his pocket...lol...then he thought how else can i make big money...yeah be the nigerian president with his qualification as a yoruba passed level from o.a.u,ife,
he is against gej today cos he hasnt asked him to come and photograph him in as rock and put the pictures in ovation...and collect some of the national cake.if u all voted for jonathan,does that mean jonathan will have to invite u all to aso rock and startd given u cash or contract that u wont execute..if dele momodu become the president of nigeria today..he will do worst and cut off all his old friends and his wife will be just like them old party loving first ladies.

Leximary said...

Dele Momodu. Instead of addressing Reuben's article, you're wailing over your wife. Of all the things Reuben wrote, that was the only sentence you could understand. Reuben is so obviously a better journalist than you claim to be.

I wonder y people seem to b sympathetic to bob dee's course,d truth is bob dee's OVATION is d same magazine dt celebrates thieves(Government & Private) wealth,Frm d article reuben abati wrote,he didn't cast any aspersion on bob dee's wife,he only reiterated d trend on social media den dt even his wife didn't vote 4 him.Moreover,bob dee new he was a joker,even his earlier party chairman(Labour party) said so..all dis is antics are jst 2 seek relevance & d continuation of 9ja's PhD(pull him down) syndrome.As much as reuben abati cud v shifted in his philosophy,a Dele Momodu isn't an upright person anywz,mayb he craves 4 appointment which isn't forthcoming..

baj007 said...

its very unfortunate that two respected gentlemen, highly recognised in their profession and present role models for these generation, can stoop so low as to exchange words on the pages of newspaper, we should leave that to the "old dogs" the OBJs &IBBs!, we are all fighting for the same thing, be it from different perspectives, it should not become a platform for personal vendatta, i hope they settle and lets face real issues.......

emeka said...

Mr Abati,i have followed the story of bob dee and his wife and she happens to be one of those women that will stick to her husband and friends through thins and thins.having said that and since you brought it up,it obviously didnt occur to you that you have just exposed how much engineering of votes was done during the elections as we all know there is no way she wont have voted for her husband.so if the votes reflected differently,you have just foolishly and shamelessly shown us how much the governemt you are defending cheated yet again.good luck to you.the tenure is almost over so lets see where you would be then.shameless old man!

Olu-omo said...

These two mediocre men have over-inflated sense of self.What struck me the most when i ran in to Reuben at the Opic plaza chinese restaurant a few years ago;and Dele at sheraton hotel about the same time was their notice-me posturings.Similar to one who was mostly ignored or looked down upon as a child by his peers and now because he has some change feels the whole world should stand still in his presence.While you may use your money to impress insecure females you cannot recapture your youth!

@Nkem, its ur president that is a daft like ur father,

Dr Reuben Abati,i held more respect for you than i did Bob Dee.i also wondered what he was doing vying for presidency?this is to let you know as i now know that you have no serious job than to scourge online sites and newspapers searching for stories that arent in favour of your boss.your response is childish and not befitting of someone of your status!but oops,i should take that back as you donnot have a status left.granted GEJ might be a good man.but a goodman who has surrounded himself with evil men is bound to fail.the word of God says we should walk with like minds.he is too spineless and owing too many people as well as too in awe of this people to make any significant actions.however my response isnt about GEJ but about you.you have lost all that you have carefully built over the years.you are a disgrace to your children and cannot tell them in future to remember the children of who they are.as you have disgraced and ridicled the name you built and poor them a name they are forced to live with.shame on you sir.the lust for material and worldly comfort has eroded your spiritual reward.

Reuben has indeed showed me that every man has a price. I am still in shock that this man whom I was a fan of for years could be bought. I did think he would bring some sense to GEJ's administration but sad he is as thuggish as the average politician. Shame.

I wonder y people seem to b sympathetic to bob dee's course,d truth is bob dee's OVATION is d same magazine dt celebrates thieves(Government & Private) wealth,Frm d article reuben abati wrote,he didn't cast any aspersion on bob dee's wife,he only reiterated d trend on social media den dt even his wife didn't vote 4 him.Moreover,bob dee new he was a joker,even his earlier party chairman(Labour party) said so..all dis is antics are jst 2 seek relevance & d continuation of 9ja's PhD(pull him down) syndrome.As much as reuben abati cud v shifted in his philosophy,a Dele Momodu isn't an upright person anywz,mayb he craves 4 appointment which isn't forthcoming..

Linda abeg post my comment naa

What two good examples of men of dishonour and shame. Examples of men that will make our generations yet unborn to refer to us as men of wasted generation if we dont act fast.

I pray that God will arise concerning the case of oppressed Nigerians. Amen

Irrespective of dele momodus agenda,you are truly a shadow of your old self Dr Abati.now instead of your usual style of journalism,you have been relegated to making excuses for a non performing govt.Dr Akunyili was reduced to making pap for Turai Yaradua after her years as a successful DG and your turn is just around the corner.sooner rather than later sir.2015 is just 180 degrees to your left shoulder.

kcee said...

I very much disagree with him on where he said that Jonathan is putting his personal comfort at risk as expected from a radical president.
He is very far from it. Cutting the basic salary of office holders by 25 % is rubbish. What of their allowances that run into millions. He should abeg go and sit down.
Jonathan is no where near a radical president which the country Nigeria needs. Period.

I just loved dele's conclusion about ruben. That's what I also saw. And if anyone can rem actor Chiwetalu Agu and the roles he played in movies, then u will see mr ruben in him. See how our valueless naira has rubbished a mans' certificate. House boy.

I expected Abati to do his work as aide to the president but i never thought he would as far as fighting his former consistuency. He is pulling down his house. What a shame.

In all fairness, i expected Dele to be more indepth and logical in this pitiable response in the Abati vs Momodu debate. it just shows how shallow the so called learned we look up to do are when they claim they are speaking for the masses. Dele please do some home work and come out and tackle Abati like the respected journalist u are and stop crying about your wife being mentioned... it was just a joke and a near the belt punch by abati to throw u off the fight, and u took the bait...smh.
i give Abati round 1
round 2... FIGHT...

uncle dele, nice one!
you guys need to know how much they reference this abati guy in my skool like he is the father of journalism/editorial writing in Nigeria. shameless peeps!

that is nigeria for you, a good man or woman steps into govt. and they begin to see white as black...............

In don't get y every1 is blamin abati.y shud dele momodu make such comments about Present. Jonathan? Try ruling a family den u can think of ruling a country.it's not easy,& with all dese big pple in nig against him hw do u think he can cope.dele momodu shud shut d fuck up & just live wit d fact dat he is a loser,besides he is far frm being good 4 Nigeria

Why must Reuben Abati respond to everything that is written about GEJ?Goodluck is a disapointemet and embarrasment, people are going to always talk about him he is the gaddem president!

R.A should go and sit down.People have lost respect for him!

leggy said...

i actually thought the reuben abati response was very well written. dele mmodu is just trying to put his campaign for 2015 in place. he couldn't even address any of the questions reuben abati presented. i personally think nigerians need to support jonathan and give him a chance to work. all these politicians are using these platforms to try to bring him down and prepare their campaign for 2015. i can't believe anyone is taking dele mmodu seriously just because he's opposing jonathan. he was a joke in the last election.

I think Reuben is not helping himself or GEJ. Does he have to respond to every criticism about the president? Reuben, I respect a lot and Bob Dee too have my respect anyday and I believe they both know how to reach out to themselves without all these poke, jabs and light punches in the public. If truly GEJ means well for Nigeria he should get his back to work and take all criticisms as building blocks to work with or reject (he doesn't have to respond) let his work speak for him. Then Nigerians can say this is what GEJ did for us or this is what he didn't do. Simple.

Ugh 2 daft old men; it's almost embarrassing to watch. Almost. I dont know how Dele Momodu can be described as a journalist - he writes so poorly plus Ive always rated his intelligence as low. And as for Reuben using journalists as an example of cost cutting...please. At least they are doing a job, unlike Bola Shagaya and Pelebo Banigo that follow Dame everywhere. Nonsense

Abati is a disgrace to men and women of the fourth realm estate. His shame will soon be made open

Vaughn Samuel said...

I was one of Reuben Abati's greatest fans. i bought the Guardian only on Friday and Sunday to read his piece which was laced with humor while touching on real issues. However since he joined Jonathans cabinet as spokes person, He has become a sham. I see him in the see light as I see Segun Adeniyi who was Yaradua's spokesman. I dont trust all these commentators, they are snakes!!!!

Basil-Uka said...

DELE spend the whole page defending his wife without addressing the main points raise by Agbati. politicians i pity all of you.

Abati is a disgrace to men and women of the fourth realm estate. His shame will soon be made open

"I give a personal testimony: before my arrival at this post, the Nigerian President used to travel abroad with a retinue of independent journalists. That has been slashed to just three under Jonathan and two weeks ago, I was asked to go and reduce that figure by 25%. I still can’t figure out the calculation: 25% of 3, translated into individual representation!"-Reuben Abati. Reuben Abati just exposed to us how daft our president is.

This is the funniest part of the article.....two PhD holders having to divide 3 human beings into four equal parts and throwing one away. Big shame

Alex said...

So wetin concern us with all this stories now, instead of us looking for the way forward, people are busy abusing each other like kids. Rubbish.... Mtscheww...

Naijabizcom said...

See, Linda I have discover one thing about Nigerians.
Those who are in power wants to remain in power by all means and those who are not in power wants to be there at all cost. Therefore both of these two sets of people will to the public and showing themselves as if they truly love Nigeria.

I can see the over bloated Abati trying to paper over wide cracks and crevices, pretend to be loyal while desperately trying to keep his job. Let him be told that Nigerians need not be fed with his rhetotic crap. Everyone knows the most deplorable and accidental president Nigeria ever had. Boko Haram zero, anticorruption disaster, electicity tragedy....the list is endless, but one thing is certain: the blood of innocent Nigerians, especially Christians, and particularly our eastern brothers will cry for vengeance. The is no escape. Or what is the point of a Nigeria where human life is worth less than pure water? Search yourself!

These men and their swollen faces should go and sit down jo!

Ijeoma Ekoh said...

GEJ must understand that Nigeria is a democracy (or at least purports to be one) and so dissenting opinions must be allowed.

Must he send his dogs to bark at anyone who disagrees with his ways of governing?

Of course one may argue that Reuben engaging with Momodu is proof that Nigeria is partaking in a democratic dialogue but what are the consequence?

Momodu may speak openly because of his status and relative wealth in Nigeria but what does this mean for the ordinary woman or man who disagrees with this president. If privileged people are attacked for disagreeing what happens to the poor who dissent?

I guess the proof is in GEJ's unleashing of his military dogs during the strikes.

so Reuben has two wives?

Abati shuld knw that no condition is ever permanent, my question to him where is Andoaka today. posterity will judge him

Contracts awarded in 50 years and still being executed..
Obviously Abati needed the job to buy range rover for his 2 wives..!!..9jas are too corrupt haba!!..everyone can be bought!!..even Linda na small remain sef..had a little taste of the Youth conference and defended it like Abati..

IN AS MUCH AS BEUBEN ABATI IS A JOKER, DELE MOMODU IS A CLOWN!!

I also doubt that Reuben voted Goodluck as president but as dem come offer am big money to take care of him 2 wives na him come sell him soul to d devil.agbaya!ode oshi!u are not even a human being,degenerate idiot!no shame!u don't even have anything to say u had to bring his wife into the matter,me sef I don't like dele momodu either but that dsnt give u d right to bring his family into d mata.he curse ur wife or children?na only ur already battered integrity him bring to question and ur fighting like a drowning man!idiot!

This is a classic case of GREED, BETRAYAL and FOOLISHNESS.

On one side is the person that has benefited immensely from Ass kissing and Ass licking - Dele Momodu and on the other side is the once upon a time "Critic" that is now a TURNCOAT - Abati..As someone rightly wrote...Everybody has a price indeed.

The sad part of the whole story is that, when it is all said and done...they will be forgiven by teh ever so forgetful Nigerian.

Reuben Abati and two wives...I did not see that one comming.

nikky said...

How the hell can Ruben Abati classify an ordinary article as "extreme radicalism" just because it has an opinion that criticized the present administration. When Nigeria is currently plagued with extreme and radical Islamist s terrorizing people, chai.... This is sad. and talking about Dele Momodu`s wife is just lower than low

both of them equals bloody fools....awon ode meji.....shiorrrr. and to think sum pple actually supported Momodu....pscheewwwwwwwwwww!!!

When reuben is sacked, dele momodu will be appointed and it will just be the same, mtchewww.

chikeaghadiuno said...

My problem wit dele is that he eptomize the yoruba syndrome: once is not them that is their or the person they approve of then they wil destroy. Haba. Tel me wat has reuben done. Also check d replies i think they are most yorubas echoing d same crude sentiment. We should separate reuben as a columnist n a spokeman. They are two different jobs. Dele is a big clown dat should embarking fastin. Reuben is a tinking guard dog i prefer him for d job.

this na demoncracy

awon agaya meji silly old fools

Ola said...

It is interesting that all what Reuben seems to do now is to defend and portray GEJ in the best possible light. His he going to respond to every single criticism against GEJ? Does he not have better things to do? I never was a fan of him anyhow. He could put words together, no doubt, but a journalist, he never was. I am glad that everyone can see him for the fraud he is.
To Bob Dee- really? That was entire content of your reply to Reuben's article? You couldn't counter with evidence, with valid suppositions? You had to end your article with shame?! You are the biggest fraud of all. You sought asylum in England...we all thought you would have the freedom to write insightful and damning articles about the then military dictator but what did you do instead? You started a magazine to depress and oppress the Nigerian people. You all lack integrity and finally, the Nigerian people can see the truth.
The Fourth Estate has failed us. No wonder Nigeria is the way it is.

webround said...

I agree the public should expect more from the Presidency but I just don't understand why it is that once someone agrees to serve in government, the person is now a sellout. Abati is GEJ's spokesman. His job is to defend his boss and that is what he is doing, based on information he has available, which we the public may not be privy to. We can respond to the points he raised but that does not mean he has sold his conscience for a pot of money. It's very easy to be a government critic. It's a different ball game when you get into governance.

Dele's response to Abati was entirely childish. Abati did not disparage his wife. Dele should have responded to the points that Abati raised (just like Abati did to the points that Dele raised). Dele should have taken an example from the exchange between El-Rufai and Dr Okogwu of the budget office.

MsEzed said...

Dele Momodu failed to respond to the points raised by Reuben Abati raised except the "comment" that his wife didn't vote for him in d last elections. He had every chance to take him on point by point and failed to do so and to me that is poor journalism i.e if you consider dele one. His Saturday column in ThisDay was a clear case of sycophancy and bringing up Abati's 2 wives was highly unnecessary. A mon vie, Dele is seeking relevance.

Reuben, where is the spirit of patito's gang? I now understand the meaning of your popular statement, " Nigeria has now become a big contract", chop and clean mouth I guess. Bros, where are not proud of you.

People wey declare themselves to be extreme radicals..Boko Haram ..ur Oga never catch na civilian dem dey fit attack..
Momodu should have torn to pieces his reply..laughable the bit about Presido and Freedom of Information..didn't the same mumu Jona bring out the Army!!..how did Dele miss that...

WE KNOW WHAT DELE S PROBLEM IS. HE IS ASKING FOR WHAT HE CANT GIVE . HE WANTS GEJ TO UNDO PROBLEMS CREATED BY HIS PEOPLE IN 50 YEARS IN ONE YEAR. SHALLOW CRITIC I MUST SAY.

reuben should go and sit down jo. "jonathan's dog" that is who he is and it would neva change. i am not really a fan of bob dee but reuben is more annoying. why be a bulldog for a government that is not performing! the guy is an idiot and he has sold his soul to the devil.

This abati man is funny

roses said...

Dear Dele.. Take solace for it is really true who pays the piper dictates the tune.. Shame on Reuben .. All his write ups against govt policies are still evident online..money has twisted his mntality

Please return Dele Momodu to his people o. He's Edo. Even we Yorubas don't grow his kind for our farms. Olorunmaje. Double speaking, integrity lacking, money obsessed punk. Stopped reading Pendulum a while ago. All his postulating and self praise turned me off. It's people like him that thank God for June 12 and NADECO because na dat give am relvance.

DELE MOMODU is frustrated because he didn't get a position in GEJ's government. He should go and rest. Its like his Ovation business is no longer functioning (Well, Bela Naija, LIB etc are there so why will people buy papers.

He should start by contesting councillor of his ward before looking at the presidency. Again, I see him as a typical Yoruba talkative #Hiss.

As for that Reuben guy, he should keep quiet for once.

Payme said...

Reuben Abati does not have to reply every critic...makes the presidency look like a joke..it's a democratic rule right?

http://payme-my2cents.blogspot.com

Abeg dele momodu should deal with d issue @ hand. Reuben is right his wife didnt vote for him is dat d only tin he can hold on to.what has reuben abati done to deserve all dis. Dele would doo worst given d same position. Agbaya oshi. I dont like when grown ass men fight over issues like dis. How is our coutry suppose to get beta? Pls o guys stop washing ur dirty linens in public.

They are all part of the problems we have.

Feb 5, 2012 – Shocking Confessions Of A Former Boko Haram Member

Reuben is d presidents spokesman 4 crying out loud!what was he supposed to do?watch some disgruntled,bitter bad losers misinform d public abi*hissssssss*who is dele monodu preaching to?his is a typical case of bad belle!let him go & sit down in one corner & stop this Jonathan this & that everyday

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fnetworkedblogs.com%2FtAHl3&h=KAQH6jENsAQFhtkOkxBDWQYil1idOq9n2VOivbY7--6l31g

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fnaijagists.com%2Fibrahim-babangidas-top-secrets-exposed-hes-the-godfather-of-boko-haram%2F&h=xAQH3EX0mAQE7aO_UoXT2vWfBghzfyRf18bVP3idxJizwlA

REUBEN ABATI ONLY QUOTED DELE MOMODU AS SAYING HIS WIFE VOTED FOR JONATHAN NOTHING MORE.

Femillionaire said...

Unknown and Webround, make una chop knuckle...

Linda, i seriously wonder at the intellect of most of your posters... Reuben Abati's job as the presidential spokesperson is to defend the president. People should stop questioning him for doing so as that is his job. Dele Momodu had put out some posers in the public domain and it was up to Reuben to defend or throw more light on what Dele has perceived to be the shortcomings of the president. There is absolutely nothing wrong in that.

I no understand some people and Dele Momodu wey dey yarn say Reuben abuse Dele wife. It was a joke taken off the internet which Reuben clearly stated, abi people no know the meaning of joke again? Rather than address Reuben's defense, Dele chose to be petty by bringing in Reuben's alleged 2 wives. That was very petty and reeks of immaturity. Just goes to show that Dele does not have the maturity to be entrusted with any public office. He had better stick to his photo album magazine of the rich and notorious...

mr abati is a very dishonorable man. every one has the right to criticize any public worker. for him to even respond to dele momodu,s article makes him very stupid and daft . all i know is that history would judge GEJ WRONGLY. EVEN PEOPLE that are struggling very hard to keep their jobs mr abati

Dele! Dele!! Dele!!!. Na wao! after taking money from Lagos State coffers vide a certain scribe of the LS govt to fund ur campaign, na u still dey point accusing fingers abi?