Broadway Musical FELA! Coming To Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 January 2011

Broadway Musical FELA! Coming To Nigeria

The Broadway musical FELA! co-produced by jay Z and Will Smith is coming to the Nigeria soon. Watch out for that!

28 comments:

Ada said...

yay! Hope I'll be in Lagos when it does...i love drama and musicals :)

Ada said...
Ada said...
UlTraBEEmboBitchie said...

so it took a white american (writer) and a black american (willow smith) to tell us our own story????

SHAME!!! another reason why i never went to see FELA all the times i have been in NYC.....glad americans appreciate Nigerian artistes better the folks in nigeria.

When a local naija musician has a concert, they will say he/she is "razz" "too local".....but when its Rick Ross (who cant fill an arena in his own backyard) they will wear thier best clothes and jeweleries.....hisss

SHame on the KUTI family for allowing the play come to naija with a foreign cast......imagine the National Troupe allowing an all white cast to perform "YEMOJA" at the national theatre....."laffs"

oh well....u can trust this will be another RED CARPET buffonery for our dear lagos socialites.....*snaps for the children of okokomaiko*

direct ur anger and energy at ur parents please.......save BeemboBitchie the saliva

Alicia says...

UlTraBEEmboBitchie, you couldn't have said it any better.
you summed up all my thoughts.

Bushdakta said...

I green white green with UlTraBEEmboBitchie. When Fela was alife, I never went to any of his shows. Seh na this ones I go now go watch. Smh.

I TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU BeemboBitchie ! Honestly its a big shame on Nigeria..We dont need no foreigner to tell us OUR story.....Imagine Africans acting Malcom X?....or something like that...
And as u rightly said...on that d D DAY...one will c governors, ministers etc and clowns like that coming out in full regalia....
as if we dont have the talent and manpower here in Nigeria...if only they will put enough resources....
You will see 'them' struggling to take picture with Will Smith etc...
.......NIGERIA!

I still want to see the show though...by the way, it's not our story..it's Fela's story...and you know what it says about a prophet never being appreciated in his own land...not that I'm saying Fela's a prophet but it's the same concept really...As long as his story is told, shikena!

So disgusted!! said...

WOW!!! What a shame!! Nigerians auditioned for a part in FELA and not one was chosen but Will smith, Jada Smith and JayZ have the guts to BRING the broadway musical TO Nigeria, what a shame but who do we have to blame? Ourselves, because we will be the same idiots that will steal, beg and cry to attend this thing and walk on their red carpet. I will NEVER go and see it because this mess is an insult!!!!!!!!!!! Nigerians, we need to stand up for what is right and stop trying to ALWAYS ride on the wagon others are benefiting from. God Help Us!!

Really?!....this is wonderful!...yay!

our own being celebrated!..am bursting with pride here o! :)

IN MY OWN OPINION, IT DOES NOT MATTER WHO IS TELLING THE STORY BUT 'HOW' THE STORY IS BEING TOLD!

THE MOST IMPORTANT ISSUE HERE IS THAT, ONE OF OUR OWN IS BEING HONORED AND RECOGNIZED!

AS A COMMENTER SAID, A PROPHET IS NEVER APPRECIATED IN HIS OWN LAND.

THANK YOU.

i demand that they show it on national teevee..
maybe some sponsors but we should;nt have to go and pay to watch it
my silly thots

doll (retired blogger) said...

yay!

I went to see the show in London and I agreed with my friend that went with me that it wasn't authentic enough for the Nigerian crowd. Imagine, them trying to speak pidgin and it not being quite right or changing the wordings of some of Fela's songs.

I think they need a Nigerian actor for the Nigerian show to inject some authenticity for it to make sense in Nigeria. But as someone rightly said on here, it'll be chance for these so called Lagos socialites to pose on the red carpet so they may not even notice any of the show's failures as they wil be too busy deceiving themselves.

9jaLife said...

Folks are funny. I went to see the show on Broadway, and it s two thumbs up.

Having said that, do you guys know how much it costs to put up each performance? Talk less of developing the show?

Hov and the Smiths stepped up to foot the bill, instead of folks to rejoice, they are crying foul.

When Naija is ready to spend tens of millions of $ to put together a show, talk less of tens of millions to sustain its run, then we should talk.

Till then folks need to appreciate what's been given to naija's cultural expansion and call it a day...

BTW the show is coming to Lagos,that's not the same as the cast coming to Lagos, so it's quite possible there'll be local talent performing.

Economically it makes no sense to bring someone here from abroad to act as an extra...

Out of curiousity, Are they going to pay Kuti's family for supposedly performing Fela story, or its not part of Piracy abi how we go call am. Abeg someone pls answer if you know. Thanks.

UlTraBEEmboBitchie it's like u read my mind 100%. I live in NYC and didn't go to see the play bcos of the lack of Nigerian talent representation in the cast. U know, Dbanj would have been an excellent choice to play Fela. Hopefully the producers can remedy this when the play comes to Naija. How about as many of us in the States that are reading this topic write the producers about this and see how far that goes. Let's give it a shot guys, cheers.

All u people thinking that we are condeming cos we are haters...
U dont get the point? Okay let me try again
Anonymous @ 6:53 . It is OUR story...Fela is Nigerian, he was a 'culture'..his life was shared with many many Nigerians...so it is not Fela's story alone...
...No one can tell d story like oneself...I have seen the show...very good effort but lacks authenticity....you think Will and Jay Z are doing it to shed a light on FELA?...nopes its about the Benjamins.....they see an opprtunuty they took it...if they wanted it to celebrate Fela so much why on earth didnt they use ONE NIGERIAN? did they contact any of his sons? his dancers? anyone? Nopes.....cos eventhough its Fela's story they wanted to stay away from Nigerians!!!!! To rub salt in this wound...they are bringing to Nigeria!!!!!! and yes we should BOYCOTT IT! oh I forget..Nigerians dont use their brains!!! hence come that day...youl see President, ministers, senators, governors, and the rest of the jokers coming to watch and struggle to take pictures........
What I am saying is that if only money is spent appropiately and if only we appreciate our talents and resources.....there is no reason that Nigeria, either as a goverment department or as a people cannot finance this .....but as we all know money is never spent wisely! rather than pay millions of money to bring foreigners to perform in Nigeria..this musicals could have been well financed and uses as a revenue and also highlight the talents that we have...
So yes, I am highly dissapointed in this...not to undermine Will Smith and Jay Z brilliant effort but that it takes them to put OUR story out for the world to see...
Fela was a Naija man to d core, I doubt if he would agree for foreigners to tell his story for him......

Free World (atleast in where I am writting from!) Free Speech!

9jaLife said...

They pay rights to publishing to whomever owns the songs used.

Fela's estate does get points royalty wise...

there is a side to every story. everyone is right. its bad and its good.

Why didnt Nigerians play bigger roles in this production??It just seems..smh its like a childrens play being acted out to adults..(metaphorically oh). Well, I just think it would have been better for Nigerians to actually starr in the movie and play major roles...The actors have to fake accent.What about those who really have the accent?And the talent too?Well I dont know how it would be, but for those who go and see the play, enjoy!

Folks are funny. Should they have used a quota system to cast for the show?

How many Nigerians are in theater in the US, specifically on the level of Broadway? The director conducted auditions, and the best people filled the roles, incidentally, the understudy for Fela's role is (was) a Nigerian. He didn't get the main role because he wasn't as good as the two guys who played the lead.

For those who want to cast 9jas because it's a 9ja story, why not put your money into developing a show about the 200 million naijas whose story has never been told, and see how that goes.

Till then don't knock those who have done something positive for this country...

9jaLife

Iyaeto said...

I've see Fela @ National theatre, Southbank (Olivier) and it's worth it. Although it's sad but it does cost a lot of money. Sahr Ngaujah (Fela) is a performer. I also notw that Aisha Jawando is in the cast not sure where she's from. I'm seeing it again soon though before it leaves the theatre .Don't miss it if it's affordable in naija

ChiChiluv said...

All the people running their mouth about the show being by non Nigerians etc WHICH ONE OF YOU PUT YOUR MONEY, TIME AND ENERGY TO BRING FELA'S STORY TO LIFE WHEN IT WAS JUST SITTING THERE IN THE ANNALS OF HISTORY?

And when the show was ALMOST being CANCELLED which one of the STINKING RICH NIGERIANS IN HOUSTON, NEW YORK, LOS ANGELES, MARYLAND OR EVEN THAT LAGOS OR ABUJA PUT IN A DIME TO SALVAGE IT?

So now that JayZ, Will and Jada Smith have put their hard earned money into it and have thought as far as to share this wonderful experience with Nigerians who might not ordinarily see it, you all have ONLY NEGATIVE things to say? NA WA FOR UNA, CLAP FOR YOURSELVES!

If an actor, singer, dancer auditioned for the role and was not appropriate either by virtue of not being talented or meeting the physical requirements, they should have been hired just because they are Nigerians? Please, this is a business of both MONEY AND TALENT! This is NOT NOLLYWOOD, okay? This is BROADWAY, honey and ONLY THE FITTEST SURVIVE!

Reserve all this stinking judgement for AFTER you see the show, see the talent that just pours out on the stage, the attention to detail.

This show brought Nigeria GOOD PUBLICITY FOR A CHANGE and brought the beautiful, talented, intelligent Fela Anikulakpo-Kuti BACK to the limelight! Let's appreciate NOT DEPRECIATE this contribution!

ChiCLuv said...

@ January 5th - 4.31pm: I am sorry to bust your bubble, D'banj CANNOT stand on the same stage with Kevin Mambo (the guy in the picture that Linda posted), CANNOT, I REPEAT! Kevin Mambo is a TRAINED actor and MUSICIAN, he plays the saxophone amongst other instruments! Do you know how much work it takes to workshop a show before it gets to Broadway? Do you know how much rehearsal is involved in a Broadway production? They rehearse for 8hrs a day like a regular job, they perform EIGHT SHOWS a week, in addition to some command performances, Broadway pay is shit compared to film pay. And you think that D'banj will leave his enormous ego, worshipping groupies, stadiums/tv performances for this grueling routine? HA! I SAY HAAAAAAAAA! Please do not speak of things you do not know of simply out of emotions, okay!?

Secondly, maybe you didn't know this BUT D'banj had auditioned for the film role of Fela and he DID NOT MAKE THE CUT! Chiwetel Ejiofor got the part.

chichiluv said...

linda, i am waiting for my comments!!! don't you play me, missy because i had very very valid points.

ChiChiLUV said...

*smile* thank you, miss linda! i thought you and i were going to have to duke it out LoL

I once read on Bella Naija that Dbanj would play Fela. Hmmmmmmm so na lie.