Church Shells Out N17m To Rent Hall | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 14 June 2010

Church Shells Out N17m To Rent Hall

House On The Rock Church in Lagos State, South West Nigeria, has shelled out N17 million to rent a hall for a two-day service. The hall was rented at the luxurious Eko Hotel & Suites in Victoria Island, Lagos. The newly completed multi-media hall, called Eko Expo Centre, is rented at N8.5 million a day. The money, P.M.NEWS learnt, was used as payment for yesterday and next Sunday’s service at the hall.

More when you continue
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The founder and Senior pastor of the church, Paul Adefarasin, who preached yesterday at the Eko Expo Centre, told the elated congregation that the idea was to bring all the members of House On The Rock to a combined church service.

For many years, the church has been renting two separate halls for three services at the Muson Centre in Onikan, Lagos, for their activities on Wednesdays and Sundays. Our correspondent learnt that the move to conduct two services at Eko Hotel & Suites is a marketing strategy meant to motivate reluctant donors to contribute swiftly to the completion of the Millennium Temple, the multi-billion naira structure Adefarasin is building in Lekki area of the state.

P.M.NEWS gathered that members have not been forthcoming in recent months to donate for the completion of the church. The air conditioning at the Millennium Temple alone, Adefarasin disclosed, will cost the church N410 million and will be purchased in China.

“Are you not happy to be in this lovely auditorium? Are you not happy to see people who come for third service while you come for first service? It is countdown to Millennium Temple,” Adefarasin’s wife, Ifeanyi told the congregation. Adefarasin told his congregation that God can change their lives in 24 hours. He disclosed that eighty percent of material used in building the Millennium Temple comes from China while the rest comes from Europe.

The pastor also revealed to his church members that he was invited by the Presidency to pray for the Nigerian President, adding that the Presidency is too expensive. “What I really want to tell them is that the Presidency is too expensive,” he said. He said that one politician at the Presidency is allowed to possess many SUVs and called on Nigerians to stand up and fight for their rights.

By Simon Ateba
As culled from PM News.

13 comments:

Utter madness

not one to criticize men of God, but I would have thought that people in such positions would make it their priority to make a difference in changing people's lives practically. i mean no one is going to really recognize you for building a million dollar church auditorium but think of building a standard school that's free for poor kids. i mean, they'll be talking about you for years, u might even get one of them nobel peace things (not saying that should be your motivation but u get my point lol). just my 2 kobo sha. i hope i can make a real difference someday

To spend 17m to worship God is not a bad idea, i've been to the new Eko hall a couple of time just to party like Pepsi business meeting, MBGN, Hiphop Award, if they can afford it, then Gods people can do the same. Go Paul!!!

WHat do you expect he is a prosperity preacher ...what a waste of resources!

Vera Ezimora said...

Wharrahell?????????????????????????????????? What is in the hall sef????!!!!

The hall is in a hotel right? Churches and hotels don't go hand in hand. The guy is extremely materialistic so i'm not surprised.

ChiChiLuv said...

Chai, see tithes money at work! Couldn't they bargain to get another hall for less? All na show! We Nigerians love to brag, all this na so dem to fit talk sey "we are so prosperous that we could afford to rent a hall for
17m at the famed Eko Hotel hall, oh yes, God has been good, God has been faithful etc" meanwhile, God is also a practical God! I cosign with Anonymous 11:23pm.

Well...to God be the glory, right?

they done turn house of GOD to a business 17m to rent a hall and there are millions of starving people who they trick to get money from, only to use the money to rent a hall what a shame.... and if i know nigerians another church would come out and want to top that amount

ChiChiLuv said...

anony 1.59pm - can you explain why hotels and churches don't go together because i don't understand your logic?

when i went to los angeles a few years back, i stayed at the marriott or sheraton, i can't remember which it was at the moment, but there was a church that rented one of the banquet halls for service and guests of the hotel who might not know where churches are in the area could attend as well. personally, i loved it. i was able to have my free continental breakfast, go to church, head right back upstairs, change into my bathing suit and lay by the pool with something cold in my hand.

and if you are saying that hotels and churches don't go together because you are thinking of indecent activities happening in hotels, well then I say, what even better place to have a church service! who knows who can be converted to christ by the presence of the church on the premises.

Femiluv said...

I don't understand, can't they build their own church?

PM News! u have started again! that hall on a normal day will cost 8.5m, HOTR got dis hall on a very large discount ok. Get ur facts right. Afterall a night before, the Okoya's rented same hall for a party so why cant a church spend to mak its congregation comfortable?

@Femiluv, HOTR is building their church at lekki.

@ anonymous 9:29am
u are a bloody fool, people spend such doesnt mean christians should...dat logic of urs is 100% crap

cos politicians swoon people out of their money, does dat mean churches should??

the goal of the church should be to set examples for others to follow,

Christianity is a huge hurdle for us to cross in Nigeria in large part because of the way we’ve chosen to interpret walking in the spirit versus being too cerebral in our approach to faith.
The Church in Nigeria is a mile wide but an inch deep

Apostle Paul in the book of Romans encourages us in his letter to the Romans, not to be conformed to the standards of the world but to be transformed by the renewing of our “mind” (intellect) so that we can demonstrate and prove Gods good, perfect, and acceptable will for our lives. Clearly the renewing of the mind is necessary only if the mind is a vital part of demonstrating God’s perfect will, otherwise that would be a redundant and unnecessary process. Christianity at its essence is not just for the benefit of the Christian.
If your Christianity supposedly changes you yet doesn’t impact the people around you, then its veracity in your life must be called into question.