YOUNG SUCCESSFUL NAIJA CHICKS | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 April 2007

YOUNG SUCCESSFUL NAIJA CHICKS

Here is a list of some Nigerian women that I think have done very well for themselves in their different fields of endeavour. Women who alot of us look up to. Women who are strong, hardworking, determined, go getters and achievers but best of all, they are YOUNG. Most of the women listed below are in their 20's. There's nothing more fulfilling than achieving success at a young age.
Check out the list.
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde
Actress/Singer

Caroline Chikezie
Hollywood Actress

Stella Damasus Aboderin
Actress/singer

Dakore Egbuson
Actress

Nnenna Agba

International model

Chimanda Adichie
Writer/Poet

Rita Dominic
Actress

Sasha

Rapper

Ashionye
Singer

Agbani Darego

Ex-Miss World/Model

Ara
Musician

Sophie Okonedo
Hollywood Actress

Kemi Adetiba

TV Presenter

Oluchi Onweagba

International model

Asa
Musician

Ibidun Ajayi
Ex-Miss Lux/Event planner

Banke Meshida
Make-up Artist

Genevieve Nnaji

Actress/Model

Lisa Folawiyo

Designer

Tara Durotoye

Make-up Artiste

Karima Kotun

TV Presenter

There are so many other successful naija chicks who are doing great things. Chicks like Rita Idehen owner - HAIR Salon, Lanre Da silver - designer, Folake Coker - designer, Tiffany Amber, Funke Bucknor of Zapphire Events, Lola Oduba of Expose, and so many others who are paving the way for other young women in Nigeria. Most of these women are married with children and have have done so much in the development of the Nigerian society.

If you know anyone that deserves mention, please throw in the name...be sure I'll catch it lol!

I'm going to do a part 2 of this, there are so many other young Naija women who deserves to be mentioned and appreciated.

So send in more names.

21 comments:

Admin UD said...

wow, this is revealing. I never knew Sophie Okenodo is from Nigeria

is 'dat ashionye's nipple im peeping at...?

I DONT KNOW HALF THE WOMEN ON THIS LIST.WHAT MAKES THEM SUCCESSFUL?

sasha should not be on that list.who 'da fuck is she?a common rapper whose lyrics are childish, girlish and mediocre.common linda, give us women with substance

@anon.Sasha rocks.Stop hating!!!
@kc.if you dont know half the women on this list then please do not say nothing else.They are upwardly mobile young women who have made a name for themselves

How about yourself, Linda? Afterall, u're d first female model in naija to get a six figure sum on a job. ;)

And as for Sasha's pic, abeg there'r better ones now.

I agree with anonymous,Sasha shouldn't be on that list,what the heck makes her successful hun?She's nothing near suc.......!

oooh, I just realised Ashionye is also on the list.Who the heck is she?she can't even boast of one hit song!!!

Is this just for ladies in the entertainment industry? There are other professional women that have accomplished a lot in their respective fields, which i consider to be commendable in the brutish men's world that we live in in Nigeria. Women like Cecelia Ibru et al.

'success' is subjective..what is ur defination?..becos one is popular does not mean successful...u put alot of ladies in the entertainment world who are known...but are they successful?...i beg to differ....
As u rightly said..there MUST be a part2...and hopefully they will contain women who has made 'wealth' in their chosen career..and not just thousands of films that is worth nothing in real terms!...

Linda dear,

Please tear down this list and start over abeg.

Lets stop celebrating mediocrity!

Because some girl makes it on a Nigerian local TV or has appeared in a few home videos that aren't worth a dime does not qualify success.

I know succesful Nigerian women regardless of age, who are model citizens, well educated and have balanced family life and a worthwhile career.

I might not live in Nigeria but I know there are women spread over both in Nigeria and abroad who have held their forth in every area, be it entertainment and most importantly otherwise.

Entertainment should not be the only thing we celebrate anyway, what are about other profession,please let's not teach generations after us that the only way you can matter is by singing or dancing.

Let's encourage our young girls to look up to professionals and individuals who have given up something to make this life a better place for all. Just my 2 cents.

Please who is Rita Idehen and what salon is that?

how can you have a list without bola balogun and omoyemi akerele of exclusive styling and image consultant they won the future award for nfashion and beauty entrapenuer of the year. they are the first professional fasion stylist they made magazine like genevieve and truelove popular. they made designers like jewel by lisa and lanre da silva popular by styling they clothing in magazine and fashion shows and many others popular. they put produced the this day fashion shows and the united nation catwalk the world with deola sagoe. the dressed the the hosts of big brother nigeria, they dressed the hosts of temptation nigeria. they are the ones dressing the contestants for nigerian idols. they did the huge ad camapaign and commercials for glo rule the world and the new lux ad. they are the creative directors and official fashion stylist for nigerians top designers deola sagoe tiffiany amber and odion mimonet out of all the ladies you listed they were interviewed on mnet studio 53. they dressed all top nigerian from nike oshinowo to dare art lade. these ladies are mothers wifes and both under 30 and very stylish and beautiful. they are what i call silent achivers and we need more of that in nigeria and everyone you named have worked with these very talanted ladies i'm surprise you don't work with them since you are a model and own a fashion magazine they are the ones that styled fashion shows for adebayo jones, tiffiany amber, deola sagoe, odion, jewel by lisa and many others they work with several mags like sleek truelove geneveive thisday style. pls find out about them the are wonderful

all gorgeous women in their own right

Belema said...

Please do a part two of this list ...Im sure there are other chicks to feature !!
Great job sis !!

Just stumled on your blog, i think successful naija chicks is not complete without the likes of Funmi Iyanda of new dawn, Erefa Fynecontry Of Doheney Services ltd,Mo abudu of Vic Lawrence & associates and many others professional who are role models

Success is not fame its not about being wealthy its about being felt.I feel all these women they've touched lives in several of ways.this qualifies them to be successful people

ababoypart2 said...

Nice list - there are quite a lot of more successful naija ladies in other professional fields (medicine, architecture, teaching etc)

naijas,generally have a problem understanding english,success is all encompassing,it must not be measured in terms of financial reward,or what we like.some have succeeded in finding fame,financial heights,or just doing what they wanted and being recognised for it,so lets stop hating.if what these women have done were so easy,then we will all release our own albums wether successful or not,or we will all be on tv.i agree this list has not even scratched the surface,and seems to have been copied from city people,but then again comes the english problem,the caption says "young"and Mo Abudu and the likes of Cecilia Ibru,albeit being successful,are not young.

linda,linda,linda,who are these woman u listed how have they impacted in our lives?singing,acting,dancing,if u are looking for actress that are role models then u should have put tiawo ajayi lycett,joke silva,and singing songs that corrupt our kids is not an achivement,entertainment is not impacting anything into our lives,how has sasha song helped u?part 2 please n delete these name.

Hey, nice list but how about you go outside the box and include a list of young under 30 Nigerian women who have made their mark in industry, architecture, diplomacy, agribusinesses, food, academics, automobiles, sports, banking, telecommunications etc. Lets praise our YOUNG women who are setting the pace.