EFCC BOSS TENURE ENDS TODAY! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 8 April 2007

EFCC BOSS TENURE ENDS TODAY!

The tenure of Mallam Nuhu Ribadu as Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) will today Sunday April 8th, expire, according to the Act of National Assambly setting up the anti-corruption agency.

Ribadu, a Commissioner of Police and lawyer by training, was appointed in April 2004 for a three year tenure which according to the EFCC Act is renewable for another term of three years.

President Olusegun Obasanjo who is the appointing authority has not discussed the issue of renewal of tenure with Ribadu who has been in the United States for close to two weeks to drum up support for the work of the agency.

The President, is however still undecided about whether to renew the EFCC chairman's tenure or just leave him to act for the eight weeks when the life of the President administration will expire so that the next President will handle the issue alongside other key appointments which he would have to make in his very first few days in office.

If President Obasanjo takes the first option by announcing Ribadu's re-appointment, then he will have to wait till May 1 when the Senate will reconvene after their present recess.

I hope he continues as the Chairman of EFCC. He's really done a great job of exposing and arresting corrupt Nigerians.

5 comments:

Yes Ribadu has really done well.

First of all, i don't like dat picture up there, it looks like a mugshot. He deserves more than that abeg. He's really done d country good.

I don't understand why OBJ should be d one to decide d fate of d agency. I think it's high time d agency gain its own independence and it should be d federal high courts to do dat.(sorry i'm not sure about how these politics run there???), so me no know o.

he shoud move over for another person.i think he is Obasanjo's puppet

he's done a great job but let someone else be given a chance

WIENNA:OBJ CANNOT DECIDE RIBADU'S FATE ALONE,IF U'VE BEEN FOLLOWING POLITICS IN NIGERIA CLOSELY,U WOULD KNOW THAT THE EFFC HAS BEEN FREED FROM THE DIRECT CONTROL OF THE PRESIDENCY.ON THE 15TH OF MARCH, THE SENATE SPECIFICALLY AMENDED SECTIONS(3)2 AND SECTION 43 TO REMOVE EFFC FROM THE DIRECT CONTROL OF THE EXECUTIVE.THE SENATE AMENDED SECTION 3 OF THE ACT TO STRIP THE PRESIDENT OF THE POWER TO APPOINT AND SACK ANY OFFICIAL OF THE COMMITTEE AT WILL.THE SENATE RULED THAT THE PRESIDENT CAN ONLY SACK ANY ERRING STAFFER OF THE EFCC THROUGH A TWO-THIRDS MAJORITY OF THE SENATE.