OBASANJO BLOCKS LAGOS ROADS. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 March 2007

OBASANJO BLOCKS LAGOS ROADS.

Yesterday was a crazy day for most Lagosians. When I say crazy, I mean really crazy. Especially for those who live on the Island. Or work on the Island, or had business on the Island. Obasanjo was in town and had to be somewhere on Victoria Island. And you know what his pips did? They blocked all the roads leading to VI for more than three hours before his scheduled arrival. It was not like he was on his way, they just blocked the roads because he was going to be using it later that morning. So nobody was allowed to move. People in their vehicles had to wait from about 8am till about 11:30 am before they could access the Falomo bridge, the only bridge linking Ikoyi to Victoria Island. After that, one of the busiest roads on the Island, Adeola Odeku and several roads were blocked too. Only God knows where exactly he was going to but he sure did mess the day up for so many people on the Island. The craziness lasted all day long. Till 8:30 in the night, people were still stuck in traffic, waiting for him to come and go. Alot of cars were seen abandoned temporarily on the road and I can tell you yesterday was the day for 'Okada' riders as people had no choice but to use that means of transportation to get around...it was sick.

This country isn't improving. For those of us who live here, I can tell you we are suffering and smiling.

1 comment:

Na only for naija. Just when will our leaders ever learn from their western counterparts. Where in Ldn will u see a road being blocked cos Tony Blair's coming to your neighborhood. Even d mayor of Ldn doesn't have his own car. He takes d public transport to work, underground to be precise. Everything with d govt over there just have to be over d top. Even d senators and common man in d govt has a big entourage.
Here in Ldn, u see your local MP getting on a bus with u. U can go and see them in their offices whenever u want. No SSS or secret agent.
Kaaaai, naija still have a looooooooooong way to go meeeen.