THE SOUND OF MUSIC KIDS TODAY. SO PRECIOUS | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 February 2007

THE SOUND OF MUSIC KIDS TODAY. SO PRECIOUS

The Von Trapp children in 1965

How many of you ever wondered about the kids from THE SOUND OF MUSIC? This movie is one of the best movies ever made and it's my all-time favourite movie. It was filmed in 1964 and released in 1965. It won FIVE Oscars, including best picture. The movie is full of magic, beautiful songs, love, great acting, and fairytale. Really beautiful!

For years I wondered about those SEVEN cute and adorable Von Trapp children. 42 years later, are they all still alive? What are they doing now? Where are they? I bet some of you don't even know their real names.

Well, I went digging to find out about the children, they are not children anymore, and this is what I found out about them.

I present to you, the Von Trapp children...as they are today!

Gretl, Martha, Brigitta, Kurt, Louisa, Friedrich, Leisl, Maria and Captain Von Trapp

The Von Trapp children in 2004

Liesl Von Trapp 1964 (Charmian Carr)

Charmian Carr in 2004 (LIESL)

Charmian is internationally recognized as Liesl and often does personal appearances, radio and television as a result of the phenomenal success of this film. In 1995, she hosted "The Sound of Music" segment for the A&E channel's special on Rogers and Hammerstein's "The Sound of Movies." She wrote a book titled "Forever, Liesl" about her experiences making the film which is available from Penguin Putnam Books. Her newest book is "Letters to Liesl".

Television audiences remember Charmian when she starred with Anthony Perkins in the John Houseman/Stephen Sondheim production of "Evening Primrose." Charmian found herself involved in two careers. She spent many years acting in national commercials while at the same time developing a highly successful Interior Design business.
Charmian's interests include skiing, aerobics, dance, biking, and she is often called upon to perform "Sixteen Going on Seventeen." She spends as much time as possible visiting her two daughters, Jennifer and Emily and swimming with her three yellow Labrador Retrievers. One of her passions is gardening, and her results are spectacular. For more info http://www.charmiancarr.com

NICHOLAS HAMMOND (FRIEDRICH)
Nicholas was born May 15, 1950 in Washington DC. He has appeared in many movies and television roles including "Spiderman," "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea" with Michael Caine, "Mission Impossible" with Peter Graves and "Flipper," and currently a CBS pilot with Stacy Keach.
He's lived in Paris, New York and Los Angeles and graduated from Princeton University. He went to Australia for a two week vacation ten years ago and has made Sydney his home since then. Nicholas has turned his career to writing and producing and has a miniseries titled "A Difficult Woman" which aired in Australia. He also has a feature he has penned and produced titled "Peril". He continues to work in film, theatre and television down under.

HEATHER MENZIES (LOUISA)
Heather continued to act after "The Sound of Music" in such movies as "Hawaii," "Piranha," "SSSSSSS," and "How Sweet it Is." She played 'Jessica' in the television version of "Logan's Run" and guest starred in many television shows. Heather starred on Broadway with Shirley Knight in "We Always Lived in a Castle" and with Robert Urich, her husband for 28 years, in "Hasty Heart" at the Kennedy Center.

Heather has two grown children Ryan and Emily, Allison, born in May 1998 and two grandchildren. Now a Producer and part time actress Heather works tirelessly for the Robert Urich Cancer Foundation which she founded with her late husband. She is also in the process of producing various projects with her partner Angela Cartwright. For more info http://www.heathermenziesurich.com

DUANE CHASE (KURT)

Duane lives with Petra, his wife of 12 years outside Seattle, Washington. Duane left show business after high school and went on to get a masters degree in geology. Today, he designs computer software for geologists and geophysicists.

ANGELA CARTWRIGHT (BRIGITTA)

Angela was born in Altrincham, Cheshire, England and moved to Los Angeles, California with her sister Veronica and her parents when she was 3 years old. She started as a child fashion model and by the time she was four, Angela was well known by the top photographers and appeared on magazine covers and in many advertisements. At the age of 3 she made her movie debut in "Somebody Up There Likes Me" as Paul Newman's daughter. Another part followed in "Something of Value" with Rock Hudson and Sidney Poitier.
Angela was signed by Danny Thomas when she was 4 to play his daughter "Linda Williams" on the TV series "Make Room for Daddy". The series ran for 7 years, during which Angela found time to star in "Lad: A Dog" with Carroll O'Connor.
In 1965 following the end of "The Danny Thomas Show" Angela was cast as "Brigitta" in the movie version of "The Sound of Music." Soon after, she returned to television as "Penny Robinson" in Irwin Allen's "Lost In Space." This now-classic series ran for 3 years. In the years that followed Angela guest starred in numerous television shows and commercials. She recreated her role as "Linda" in a revival of "The Danny Thomas Show" called "Make Room for Granddaddy" and worked for Irwin Allen again in the movie "Beyond the Poseidon Adventure." She returned to the big screen in "Lost In Space - The Movie".
While continuing to pursue her acting career, Angela married in 1976 and has raised two children. She has also to her credit a nationally acclaimed book "My Book: A Child's First Journal." In 1977 Angela opened "Rubber Boots," an eclectic gift boutique which is now on the internet which she owns and operates. She has written a fantasy novel with Bill Mumy and is in the process of producing several projects with her partner Heather Menzies. She has also been a successful photographer for over 30 years and continues to pursue her love of art. Her recently released book "Transparent Art" she wrote in collaboration with Stampington & Company and she writes articles and contributes art for Somerset Magazine. Her photography has been licensed by various companies. For more info http://www.angela-cartwright.com

DEBBIE TURNER (MARTA)

Debbie Turner (Larson) was born & raised in Southern California. She worked as a television actress since the age of 6 months. Before she was cast as 'Marta' she was in numerous commercials including over 30 for Mattel toys. After "The Sound of Music" she became a professional skier in Utah.

Debbie has a floral design business since 1989 concentrating on floral designs for distinctive tastes. She also designs one of a kind collectable Santa Clauses and is now perfecting her skills as a restoration artist for European antique furniture. Debbie has lived in Chanhassen, Minnesota since 1985. She is married, and the mother of four daughters.

KYM KARATH (GRETL)
Kym began her acting career at the age of 3, appearing in "Spencer's Mountain" with Henry Fonda and Maureen O'Hara. "The Thrill of It All" with Doris Day and James Garner, and "Good Neighbor Sam" with Jack Lemmon before winning the role of the youngest Von Trapp daughter.
After "The Sound of Music," Kym continued acting, appearing over the years in such television shows as "Dr. Kildare," "Lassie," "My Three Sons," "Lost In Space, "Family Affair," and "The Brady Bunch" before taking time off to pursue her education.
Graduating from USC with her degree in Humanities, Kym made television appearances in such shows as "Archie Bunker's Place," and "Midnight Offerings," before moving to Paris to model and study art history. Upon returning to the States, Kym appeared in "All My Children" and various print ads before taking time off to raise her son, Eric. She is now resuming her acting career in Los Angeles, California.
Glad to know they all turned out well.

3 comments:

How sweet. I watched their interview on tv and reminisced about how much i used to love The Sound Of Music as a child. It was lovely to see what they all looked like now as adults. I promptly purchased their DVD the following day from HMV and whilst i was at it, i also bought other old classics like Annie, Oliver Twist, My Fair Lady, The King And I and Summer Holiday. Who knows, they may also be very popular again some day...

I was wondering also, is Nicholas Hammond the brother of Richard Hammond who acted in After The Promise? They look kinda alike, but i may be wrong. Do you know Linda, if they are brothers?

ese said...

Nice to see them all, but I thought I heard that the last child (Gretl) died on their trip back to where they came from? Na wa... World people sabi use mouth take kill people oooo..