We will soon begin to teach Science subjects and Maths in our local dialect- Min of Science & Tech' - Ogbonnaya Onu says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 30 January 2017

We will soon begin to teach Science subjects and Maths in our local dialect- Min of Science & Tech' - Ogbonnaya Onu says

Minister of Science and Technology, Ogbonnaya Onu, over the weekend, disclosed plans by the Federal government to introduce a new policy where Mathematics and Science subjects will be taught in local dialects in schools across the country.

According to him, teaching these subjects in local languages would increase the interest of students in them. He said this when he spoke with some students of Ekulu Primary School in Enugu state.

"These pupils grow up with their indigenous languages at home before they start going to school where they are now taught in foreign languages. So, we have observed that there is a challenge to understand the foreign languages first before they could even start understanding what they are being taught. We believe that this plan will help our students to understand mathematics and the science subjects, and also promote the application of science and technology for national development.”he said

26 comments:

Mtcheeeeeeew! Is this what we need now?

Li addict#jut passing#

Oghenetega said...

Rubbish idea with Misplaced priorities. .

*SIGH*
ANOTHER CLUELESS MAN HAS SPOKEN...

All this bunch of jobless ministers,am still wondering who brought this men to power,busy saying all this bullshit just to make it looks as if they are working.

Ok oh! A very Clean & sharp Range Rover Autobiography with low mileage for sale lagos and a 2013 ford edge with 60k mileage for sale in lagos and a toyota avalon 2008 model with 58k mileage for sale in portharcourt for details call 08107095662 or 08155125194 for pictures and price. Pls serious buyers should call

obiora said...

See priority!

Ladun Liadi said...

SO EXCITED!That will be a massive leap forward. Think of the possibilities!

Nice move. It will go a long way in preserving our dialects which seem to be going extinct..

Long live LIB

Sam X said...

It's going to draw back developments in schools,the states and the country at large,why not step up quality English Language in schools,there should be standby mechanism to follow suit if you want to teach these subjects in local languages for instance computers in Igbo.The FG have already cancelled History in Junior classes which is meant to bring up proud and conscious Nigerians. See ahead and don't let some part of the nation destroy our Educational System and the Country through monopoly control.

Then, what happens to the teachers who don't understand their local dialect? All these to favour the mumus in the north. Plans and plans to cover up a physics student that can't speak English (chibok film). God is watching all of you

Confused man

Good idea! If our government can make it work. The more reasons why non-speaking countries are technologically more better and advanced than us

Sorry

Tesh peters said...

Can u imagine??? Is that progress? Why not include English language to be taught in local dialect too. Rubbish

Confused country

SMALL CHOPS EMPIRE 08031156936. said...

How is this possible, With the multi languages we have in this country?.

when people are seeking reasonable change, this is what you can offer??? SMH!

They achieved nothing by teaching in English, so what the heck will they get by going local? Nigeria funny government sha.😃😃

nunulicious said...

I watched a video on youtube the other day that was astounding! it made me realise that the odu, opele and kola nuts that the Ifa priests use to consult the diety was actually a form of binary code known as boulean algebra!! BINARY CODE….a tribe in the jungles of Africa, in Nigeria had a form of binary code looooooooooong before they came! Then they came and told us that black is dirty and white is clean, that speaking english means being refined but your native dialect is retrogressive, that their method is the only way to get educated, that you can only learn science in english language.

Chai, who sold us that lie? Who deceived us? when will Nigeria wake up? and take it’s role in leading Africa out of the doldrums? Why don’t we teach our history? damn!

for those interested, in the link Tunde’s Kelani 2 part video of 10 minutes each on youtube….the mathematics of Ifa https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8VFXbMxyyS0

me I concur to this teaching our young ones in native language. The Chinese do it, the Indians do it and see where they are and where we are…

babat said...

Misplaced priority. Here we go again! They said Babs Fafunwa's mother tongue project in Ile-ife was success? Based on whose assessment? Instead of asking the poor students whose academic future got truncated by silly project, they will keep deceiving themselves.
Will these students do common entrance or waec in igbo, yoruba or HaUSA?
Thank God I was pulled out of one of the guinea pig schools before it was too late. Many other brilliant students who got stuck in the scheme found themselves helpless when it was time to sit for common entrance exam in English.
Nonsense!

nunulicious said...

Our educational system in Nigeria is fundamentally flawed. I watched a video on youtube which was astounding! The opele, the odu and the kola nut that the Ifa priest used in the divination of the Ifa deity was actually a form of boolean algebra…a form of BINARY CODE! (binary code by the way is the backbone of computers and technology)

Can you imagine, we had a form of binary code loooooooooong before they came! Then they came and taught us black was dirty and white is clean, that education means literacy in English language and thought, that science and and maths can only be taught in English language.

Biko, remember that the Russians who went to the moon BEFORE the Americans did not speak an iota of English! The Chinese, and Indians giving the west the run for their money are educated in their native languages first!

For those interested, check the video of Tunde Kelani’s channel with the topic The mathematics of IFA with Tunde Adegbola

bella naija, this is the 3rd time i am posting it, and I will continue to do so

nunulicious said...

Our educational system in Nigeria is fundamentally flawed. I watched a video on youtube which was astounding! The opele, the odu and the kola nut that the Ifa priest used in the divination of the Ifa deity was actually a form of boolean algebra…a form of BINARY CODE! (binary code by the way is the backbone of computers and technology)

Can you imagine, we had a form of binary code loooooooooong before they came! Then they came and taught us black was dirty and white is clean, that education means literacy in English language and thought, that science and and maths can only be taught in English language.

Biko, remember that the Russians who went to the moon BEFORE the Americans did not speak an iota of English! The Chinese, and Indians giving the west the run for their money are educated in their native languages first!

For those interested, check the video of Tunde Kelani’s channel with the topic The mathematics of IFA with Tunde Adegbola

Foolishness. In a class where there are kids from over 10 ethnicities, which language will the teacher speak or will they discriminate against minorities again. The teacher too will have to learn another language abi. Instead of them to improve amenities, and improve the lives of public teaches, they be saying rubbish.Was that how it was in his time.

Meaning ginikwanu? Pls u people should think of better and important thing biko.