Meet the Nigerian surgeon who removed baby from mother's womb, operated on her tumor & returned her back | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 28 October 2016

Meet the Nigerian surgeon who removed baby from mother's womb, operated on her tumor & returned her back

Nigerian Surgeon Dr. Oluyinka Olutoye and his surgeon partner Dr. Darrell Cass of Texas Children's Hospital carried out an operation on a baby at 23 weeks. (Read here)
Lynlee Hope, who suffered from a tumour known as Sacrococcygeal Teratoma was removed from her mother's womb, operated on and returned back. She healed and continued to grow until she was born again at 36 weeks.

Dr. Olutoye is Co-Director of the Texas Children's Fetal Center and fetal surgery team member, as well as a general pediatric surgeon. Dr. Olutoye received his medical degree from Obafemi Awolowo University in Ile-Ife, Nigeria, in 1988 and his PhD in anatomy from Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, VA, in 1996.
 He completed his residency in general surgery at the Medical College of Virginia Hospitals, Virginia Commonwealth University, and his fellowship in pediatric surgery at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia and the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in Philadelphia, Pa. Dr. Olutoye is a member of the International Fetal Medicine and Surgery Society and is a Fellow of the Surgical Section of the American Academy of Pediatrics and American College of Surgeons; he is also a Fellow of the West African College of Surgeons.
Dr. Olutoye has specialized clinical expertise in fetal and neonatal surgery, with specific interest in congenital diaphragmatic hernia and complex wounds. Dr. Olutoye's research interests include understanding the role of the fetal inflammatory response in scarless fetal wound healing, development of animal models of congenital anomalies, in utero correction of severe congenital malformations, and the study of endothelial-leukocyte and endothelial-tumor cell interactions with a goal to better understand the mechanisms of tumor metastasis.
Dr. Olutoye is certified by the American Board of Surgery in Surgery and Pediatric Surgery.

49 comments:

Wow... Nice to meet you Doc, you sure know your onions! 👏

More grease sir

GOOD TO SEE

Am proud of u bro

CONGRATS BRO

Na wa o nija, una don run find d man biography. Bet doctor, wot happened to your country Nigeria where u cn save children. Pls com bak, everytin cnt b money buh humanity.

Kudos!!!

If na Naija him dey, dem for don waste the man talent!

*****************************he did hix Job !!!!!!!!! Carried out d proffession he was trained for *******xo wox d fuss aabout ???????

Good one brother........That's a Yoruba Man

Ojogbon ati Omowe!

Please carry on your great work. Very impressive

Brove doc

Well done, a sensational man, God bless u.

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

nice!

Nigeria is blessed with the best brains but leadership problems will not allow us grow and take our sit in the committee of nations. See brain helping America and we are in Nigeria dying of minor illness/ deceases. God bless you our own man/Doctor

AMIJEZ said...

Keep making us proud,good things coming out of this country.

Dude was born to save souls no doubt.. All the best to him though no doubt....

Went to Ife with him, above average tennis player too. This man comes from the illustrious family of General Olutoye and Dr Mrs Olutoye, PHd.
No be from today, all his siblings are successful as well as foine :)

Good news Naija pikin proud of u. God bless

wow... this is so good. i wish he would come back to nigeria

If it were in Nigeria, his colleagues would have ganged up to ensure the end of his career and the woman would have had to pay for treatment before receiving it. Why can't we have a good and efficient health care system in Nigeria so that both our doctors and citizens can benefit from it?

Making us proud since 1814
Really proud of u.

awwww gifted hands

Hmmmn,God help this country,Our best minds being shipped off abroad,Brain drain everywhere

Good one

Aunty Linda, its 'in vitro' not 'in uetro'. Think you've grown bigger than such blunders

Hrm paul said...

Nigerian Government should celebrate this guy thsi si a medical dfeat that nobody has ever done this before. First it was Dr Ben Omalu with the discovery of Chronic encephalopathy now its this dude again.After Oyibo go say we know nothing kudos to this guy.

God bless your hand work and more grace to ur elbow.

Bad belle because he's not your brother. Get a life and stop wasting your future on LIB.

🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌

Anyistic said...

This gentleman looks like a Kings College Old boy, pls confirm

Em manu el,em manu el...how do we know that God is with us. Dr Oluyinka Oluyode's medical expertise is true manifestation of will and presence of Jehovah. Congrats to you my Doctor and brother Oluyinka

Ogb4real said...

Em manu el,em manu el...how do we know that God is with us. Dr Oluyinka Oluyode's medical expertise is true manifestation of will and presence of Jehovah. Congrats to you my Doctor and brother Oluyinka

Ogb4real said...

We need more humble professional like Dr Yinka, we need effective and efficient healthcare delivery. God bless Nigeria.

Esther everything is not only by talking. Keep ur mouth shut!

I feel very proud of this Nigerian doctor. It is a shinning example for all Nigerian professionals to follow the path of excellence. It works all the time. Normally will require Commitment, Dedication, Discipline and Godliness. Best wishes.

Mazhub marketplace said...

This man is simply inspirational. If he can do it anyone else can do it as well. The sky is just the starting point to man's achievement.

Great achievement !!!

Macroprofits said...

The reason most leave is not money but ignorance of people that surround and make decisions. How many hospitals in this day and age have the needed equipment, power supply or the training of the support staff? NONE! With all the money Nigetia has! Yes! A few ignorant ruling and making decisions. Go and tell the hospitals how you want to save 1 life and that it will cost 20million to do and hear what you will be told. Nigeria has NO respect for life! And that is why stories like this will never happen there until we have respect for life. People die like animals.. No, not even animals because in other countries they have more respect for animal life than we have for human. So, pls, Stop asking for people to come back to do WHAT when they do. Do you know how hard it is to even come and do charity health fare? Ignorant people asking you for bribe to allow you to help the people? Start with your local chairman even before the state level on condusive atmosphere to practice medicine. How many hospital equipment do they have. Can they get their hands off the bribe for generators so you can have steady power supply for the hospitals? Can you? If not, pls don't bother people.

Oluthegr8 said...

good work i must doc.God will engrace u all t more to in ur assignment and chosen vocation.Wish u best in life

Otitoju Adediran Olugbenga said...

Good work Dr. pray for more of God's grace on u to go higher in your assignment and chosen vocation. Wishing all the best in life.

nice to see great works by Nigerians. @ Pharm Godwin, linda is correct to say in utero (within the womb). in vitro is outside the body. lets get our facts before insulting.

Great Ife! Up school

Ajayi Sade. O. said...

U hv done us proud, God will continue to elevate u.more of it In Jesus Name.

Ajayi Sade. O. said...

U hv done us proud, God will continue to elevate u in ur chosen career, more of it In Jesus name.

Ajayi Sade. O. said...

U hv done us proud, God will continue to elevate u.more of it In Jesus Name.