Dabiri-Erewa had on August 6, 2015, dragged the bank to court in a N500m suit for publishing her name among the list of chronic debtors who had refused to liquidate their debts.
The report, allegedly published by Punch, claimed that Dabiri-Erewa owed the bank about N122m. Diamond Bank had published her picture as a Director of Thriller Endeavors.
The former lawmaker has remained adamant, saying she has never heard of the company. She insisted that the publication is false and it has subjected her to public ridicule and embarrassment.
In a suit filed before a Lagos High Court, sitting in Igbosere, Lagos Island, she also listed the Punch Newspapers Limited as the second defendant. When the matter came up for hearing on Thursday before Justice Abdulfattah Lawal, the counsel to Diamond Bank, Chuka Agbu SAN, told the court of the moves to settle the matter out of court. He then urged the court to adjourn the matter to enable the parties conclude discussions on the process.
Outside the court, Counsel representing Punch Newspapers, Clement Onwuenwunor, said the paper is not part of the settlement talks as it has indemnity from the bank for its publication.
Counsel representing Dabiri-Erewa, Ademola Fadipe, said they were optimistic that the settlement talks will be agreeable to all parties. Justice Lawal has adjourned the matter till March 10, for a report of the settlement.
56 comments:
They try...
THATS GOOD
Their business
Really.. This matter still exist
They just want to tarnish her image
if it okay for them
Whoa!!!!?
I love this
This is how it should be
Prove ursef true to ur words and make da mudaf--kers pay
OKAY.
PERHAPS, THAT'S THE WAY FORWARD
The consequences of slander ,but 500 million???? Come on
hmmmm na wa o.
Defamation of character is very bad. Anyway I wish them success in their settlement
Good!
Giving peace a chance
Hmmmmmmm
Na them sabi cus chin chin no go enter my account.
Enter your comment...NOTED BY DJ BANTI.fellow on IG@djbantiben or like my fbpage@djbanti
Giving peace a chance
Was thinking how could punch be part of that settlement when it obviously had its source from Diamond bank till I saw the concluding part.
If I were this woman, I'd do same.Just imagine!
They have gone to beg her
Oloriawhy
God save them asses.
how come you let people owe you that much even though I know it's mistaken identity and you yeye newspaper, you quickly publish that nonsense so that you'll sell your papers.. and finally madam you want 500million.. are you for real? even in court they'll still not pay you
Good for them,how can coperate entities be so careless. As to. What they published,pay day for Hon Dabiri..
They should settle it amicably cos that money is damn too much....
Milez
Madam don hammer b dis oooooooo... dee
Abike ole... o fe gba owo
This is one woman i love. Settling out of court. Nice one
MY WOMAN MY LADY!!!! no gree anything shot of 300m. Bank managers with their dubious deals....they must have diverted the money into different thing thinking that the Board won't publish the names. stupid and economic sabo!!
Lol, it doesn't mean that amount will be handed over lyk a piece of meat
Nice one. Who will be my val? Have got plan
their cup of kunu #still that Imo boy
There is no smoke without fire. Y Dem no publish my name huh?
Y dem nor put my name, Lol
Good one. Next time they will think twice before posting false info
Settle out of court but collect ur damages...don't listen to dere abeg lol..
~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~
I hope this won't affect my chicken change in diamond bank. If i hear error.....
OK.
Okay ooooooo
Gd for them
Good for her
That's a nice move from her. Nawaoooo how can a bank publish somebody's name claiming that she is owning u were as is false. What an insult!!
People like u don't have a name so u don't know the value of it.
Damn.
I hate Banks.
Fucking criminals
Sue the assholes 2 Bankruptcy.
Enter your comment..more money
Linda I'm here o
Good move Hon Abike, a woman of integrity
People like this woman who has a sterling reputation will not delay seeking justice and clearing her name
If only other Public officers and Politicians could be like her,I wish I could meet her , Great woman
Punch was very irresponsible to have published an advert as news
Fraudulent and against ethics of journalism
Way to go Madam Abike.But not just apology o! Claim big damages as a deterrent to others
Good for her
Their matter
POPULAR LIB READER!
Seriously Am sure if you are in her shoe u will probably be begging the bank that you are not involve instead of standing for your right, in an unjust situation silent is a crime and for deformation of character seriously I was thinking she should be asking for 1billion, what's 500million to the back, calling her thief clearly shows that u don't have a reputation or a name to protect so u don't know the value of it
Just passing