What crazy things have you heard pregnant women ask for? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 September 2015

What crazy things have you heard pregnant women ask for?

As shared by comedian Ali Baba. Ever witnessed anyone go through a weird pregnancy craving?

179 comments:

It's called pica

Lolxx

My anty use to like dust during pregnancy

Wow. Let's take a moment to take our hats off to this hubby of the year!! That man is one of a kind!!!! Lucky woman.

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Raw meat, Maggi, crave for gutter smell and fuel and lastly party jollof rice

Hian! Pregnant women? Some De ask for fried shit sef...u De talk of sour sop

My friend do crave for white rice with groundnut oil and fresh pepper.

Looking for where to get quality & affordable beddings ? Click my on name for details. Delivery available Nationwide.

KWEEN said...

Lmao... yes. I've seen one desperately craving party rice. The part that burnt at the bottom of the pot for that matter.

Ade said...

Lmao...Ali baba should be grateful his wife dint have cravings.....# when an uncle of mine was called by his friend in the UK to help get some local fish from Nigeria because his pregnant wife was seriously craving for it and won't let him rest. the thing is so funny

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Rubbish, bunch of over pampered women this days.....

Lol naso, she's eating for two na and d baby's choice of food is diff from hers

Hmmmm lol, am very sure the baby will ask for Dankua by 2am. Keep it up

Lolz

Hehe I've heard the funny story of a pregnant woman who woke her husband up in the night asking him for sunlight.The guy thought she needed warmth so he got firewood & made light outta it.But surprisingly the woman said : "No not that,I need the photosynthesis from the sun" lmao

Nay. My mom always demand for things you can easily fetch..lucky us!

Vaseline to lick αи∂ she eventually did. #gross

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Lolz I knw my friend during d period of her pregnance 4 schl,she wil jst manage to finishd lect and den go stead under one tree like dat"cherekwu" bcus she wan d fruits....I can't wait to read comments

Ahaahaaahhajajaahahahahhahahah

When I was pregnant and living in the UK, I only craved for real home made Abacha and real firewood jollof rice. No so me and my husband go dey walker round London dey find food. Kia

If i dash her one slap her brain go reset i swear... What nonsense.....

lastborn said...

My wife likes to perceive the smell of kerosine and fuel

Lolz.

Lol @sour soup.

Stlanre said...

Una never see anything a pregnant friend once told me she wanted to eat saw dust after tasting it she went to bed.

Hmmm, I started craving akara at bout 4months of my pregnancy. Akara itself is not strange, what is strange is d fact that on a normal day, pregnancy aside, I hate akara with everything I am made of.

seyi crown said...

Lol I ve a friend that always want to eat party jollof rice whenever she's pregnant...sour food

Seyilicious

Seyilicious

chinwa fine ibo girl said...

Lol,its not easy na..

Hahahhahaah....my friends pregnant bar who was 7months once told my guy that she felt like eating uncooked fish,that she needed something fresh..

jahlid said...

Lol... My wife once ask for unripe plantain around 8pm luckily I got it within five minute

Ophacy said...

Pregnant women in our side usually ask for nzu or ulor (clay)

I can't wait to GENUINELY care about somebody...My wife & kids :)

Main said she wants 2 perceive d smell of rotten trashes
😄😂˚°◦hahahaha. < // >
🍠
_\\_

Lmao

I knew someone who requested for a big bottle 'orobo' Pepsi but there was none nearby so the husband decided to buy her 2bottles of small Pepsi, she decline that she wants d big bottle...

Hmmm Linda it's like dat Oooo with some women. I no of one man's wife dat eat in d toilet during her pregnancy.

I can relate. One Saturday morning, I woke my husband up around 7am and told him that I wanted Ofada rice. Na so we enter car begin drive dey find Ofada rice. After driving for about an hour 30mins, I started feeling bad that I stressed him. Ofada I no see and I did not die. LOL

Slikkys said...

My aunt once told me n my siblings abt hers n it was crazy. She said she went t d market to buy thns n saw a woman buying amala n ewedu. She paused n looked on n d woman started eating. Somehow,she said she started feeling d meal in her throat n once d woman opens her mouth to swallow,she does d same too. So a woman saw her doing dat n knew it was pregnancy craving so d woman helped her by buying d amala n ewedu for her to eat. She said she felt embarrassed after eating.

All I eat when I was pregnant with both my kids was very spicy(pepper) jollof rice. 3times a day everyday.

Mine was Amala gbegiri and ewedu.

I know of some that crave serious alcohol which is harmful to the baby! Na wa

I no say u bin no get sense before , so I'm not surprised. Over cooked mumu

zizi said...

My aunt wud wake up in d morning saying she wants ofe aku rice that I shud go nd luk for it I wud patrol d whole street till I get or she wud enter Keke to luk 4 opa pregnant women are pain in d ass

Hahahahahhaa this is hilarious, I pity the poor husband abeg

sour sop,that green fruit

My craving was chewing ice when I was pregnant. My sis in law was always chewing nylon when she was pregnant.

By 9pm one day I asked for isi ewu with small stout. Hubby had to go like a 30 minute drive to get it. I had a sip of the stout and 2 pieces of meat and never craved it again. Haven't eaten isi ewu since that 2010.

Hahahahahahahhaa! @ hating akara with everything u're made of!

Anu Funke said...

Luved d smell of d newly washed cloth. .... Always looking for cloths to put in d washing machine just cos of d smell....

Luved d smell of my bathing soap dat i had to put one under my pillow dat i sniff any tym am in bed....lol

Hahahahahahaha! I am rolling with laughter from all these comments!

Mine was popcorn wt orobo coke. I'm surprised my son wasn't born wt popcorn as hair lol

Mine was popcorn with orobo coke

Mine was cooked yam and red oil chai🙈

My mum said she drank red oil while pregnant for my elder sister
Mine was rice inside newspaper
My brother was bread
Last born was carrot
For my two pregnancies I loved to eat Aboki made indomie and egg with pepper soup from people hawking
At night I just crave for weird meals like burnt soup or bush meat den the worst is burger at night oh and I must no see that it was bought n kept in case cos I go vomit
Sometimes I just cry for no reason
My husband can be very patient oh
Caught him reading about pregnancy n I stopped crying during our second pregnancy
Looooooooool
Pregnancy can be demanding
Thumbs up to every husband dat understands and are ready to run crazy errands for us and the babies
Muuuuuaaaaaaaah!!!! (kiss is for my husband only)

Admin said...

ahahahahahahahahahahah.... more @ the24net.blogspot.com

Dabota Lawson said...

With my daughter, all I wanted was rice with palm oil, wanted nothing with any other oil.....my second baby now am pregnant and I crave all sorts....trust me, your wife isn't wicked, it's her hormones....but caffein isn't good pls..all this coke, Pepsi, alcohol shouldn't be given no matter what.... Plus sometimes a craving signifies a lack of nutrient.....am enjoying my pregnancy and eating what my body wants...lol...crazy though

Anonymous just mentioned yam and palm oil and has me drooling over that...where the tell will I get that from in Netherlands.....crazy.....now I have to stop thinking about it.....if I could I will come to Naija just to eat yam and palm oil with amala and take the next flight back....lol

Mine was ukwa and corn 24/7

Lmao. He shd hv poured it in a big Orono bottle when she's not there

LMAO

Nylon? That's some GOAT movement o

fola said...

Same here!so funny

Lol....

Funniest comment on this post.

I know of a woman that during her pregnancy, she asked the husband to change the painting of the house, that the color irritate her.

Hahahahaha

During mine, all I yearned for was beans, beans that I detest. Not just any beans oh, beans from tantalizers. And vita milk...flipping weird.

@OLUMIDE LMAOOOOO !!!!

I remember I used to crave for okro soup by 2am and trust me hubby had to find it somewhere somehow....hahaha....and also fizzy drinks. Before I became pregnant I could never eat okro soup but now I do.

Hmmmmm...

Natural wit pregnant women for their taste and desires for foods is on another level but by and large dis is one of d great joy of pregnancy.

Hmmmmm...

Natural wit pregnant women for their taste and desires for foods is on another level but by and large dis is one of d great joy of pregnancy.

I live in birmingham in d uk and 4 month pregy and i always crave for ofada rice but no were to get it and i get angry all day bcos of this !!!!

I Know of a friend that hated Ghanaian good so much in NY but whenever she's pregnant, she'd ask her husband to buy groceries for her neighbor so she can make *kenke* for her. One kind of thing called food with fresh pepper and dried fish. Jeeeeeez, prospective wife... Please let's stick with coke or Pepsi. Thanking you in anticipation.

I know say that Jupiter wer u dey dey affect ur brain.

Smoke

I'm pregnant now and I have no cravings.. None. Should I be worried. Or maybe it just means my baby has all the nutrients it needs. I am trying to eat a balanced diet. More fruit and vegetables. Or maybe it's cause I am just five months pregnant. Wait till I am further on, maybe then the cravings will strike.. Can't wait!

pumkin said...

My uncle's wife woke up @2am craving 4 suya,

Mine is chicken n chips

When your preggie u wanna eat down shoprite.. That's one of those things that comes with been pregnant.

Stop saying rubbish.

Google the real meaning of pica

Lol I no fit lauf ooo.i cant wait to add mine. GOD ABEG MK MA OWN TURN CUM OOO

My sister craved for pear and roasted corn and corn was scarce during her pregnancy.

Presently preg and eating loads of ice!

Like WTF? You craved what? Raw what and gutter what? No, this is not okay

I na tupuru ya onu if I call him ewu now smone wil say I insult him,dn't knw wat it means to carry someone 4 9months n go into labour to deliver d baby with lots of pain too.....smhhh

Osinachi IBIAM-URO said...

I feel this woman, i dont blame her one bit. My elder sister used to ask me to go look for moi moi made wit palm oil and cooked inside liquid milk tin. I jus couldn't understand it until now. I crave agidi jellof like kilode! Its difficult for so many people to understand esp guys until u've actually had these cravings urself. Bros abeg manage, its just for the next 3months, you've done so well already.

prettiyz said...

My girl friend used to eat spoilt soup and eat in d towel and she also stopped sleeping in her room but mine and I will sleep on the rug. Everyday her husband will call and thank me for tolerating her

So funny

I was looking for party jollof in my preggy days.fortunately and unfortunately my friend told me der will be a party in d neighborhood in a week's time and when d day came my friend went late for the party and jollof don finish remain semo and amala.wished I went for d party myself

Mine currently is ice, cold water, cold juice and soda. Not in the mood for food even though I ve to eat cos of the required extra calories.

Mine was ekuru

Mine is yam and palm oil,and fire wood cooked jollof rice.

My husband obviously has these but loves other things more.......had to grab my heart back.

I bin think say na only u be d mumu for here but I don' see d one wey pass u...lolz

This is d best post since today...lolzzzz

Lmao!!!

Your children are future petrol chemical engineers. Future Shell n Chevron Staff

So u don't care about anyone now? Why now?

Your girlfriend is not somebody??

Lolzxx

Lolzzz

Better craving

Lol o my God.

Abuja Media Circle said...

Linda, no b small o, all my wife wanted was ekuru she will always gt it bcus she knows how to prepare it.

Better craving

I agree because during my pregnancy, if it wasn't at home I better not crave it. Hubby didn't mind waking up at 5am to make me breakfast, but he wasn't going anywhere at odd hours looking for odd things.

Jane said...

Perfect comment@willi

I craved nzu,okpa and cashew nuts. Didn't bother asking my husband cos I always made sure I have them except okpa cos I live in the UK. I think we women make it look dramatic when you have someone looking at you. We work in separate cities so Oge adiro...no time.

I swear!!! You are OYO with mine

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Thank you Naija delta babe for giving me a new word. Accurate terminology.

I swear ds comment na die! I don laugh fall yakata oturugbekeeeoo

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Lol,love the comments, coming back to read more..

kemzy said...

Am laughing so hard it hurts

Possessed woman!

My craving now is rum. I drink it secretly. God help this baby. My first pregnancy was beer, I was able to control that with hubby's help. Now. ... only God can save us (my baby n i)

Very funny

Like WTF ?? Did you just say gutter smell ? Raw meat ...woman u strange.

So many funny comments mine was anytin roasted o corn nd pear' boli nd pomo nd sauce I will sit wit d woman so I can smell dat coal it was werid I ate it everyday then I switched ova to fruits salad my dota's pregnancy I was a begibegi

A friend`s aunt craved raw indomie noodles. she`d sit at all times with a packet of raw noodles, munching like nothing else mattered. At least that was easy to always have around.

All purpose store ng 08188861083 said...

Dt is soooo soooo mee

Mine was ice, I can eat ice for africa,then agbalumo was d constant K for me, one day I asked hubby for pizza after he got it, d mere sight of it made me sooo nausceous n hubby had to eat d pizza alone and away from me.

Mehn, I remember craving for akara n bread, amala n stew,fried egg n d greatest of my craves was eating bitterleaf.

Mine was ice, I can eat ice for africa,then agbalumo was d constant K for me, one day I asked hubby for pizza after he got it, d mere sight of it made me sooo nausceous n hubby had to eat d pizza alone and away from me.

Hmmm wahala!...Pls God help my future wife..let her pregnancy cravings be normal food...at least I can cook anything for her...But all this wierd stuffs ha! Na heavy Job I go buy for her hand be that

Guineacar said...

Lmfao.....

That's me!

God bless your home madam.... I pray for such an understanding man

Mine was Apple and it has to be from nite mile because we always pass through there on our way to the village. One day he forgot to buy it. I cried like someone died. He looked for Apple in any good supermarket he could think of in Enugu. By the time he came home I was asleep. He woke before me the next day rushed to night mile and bought half a box before I woke up. And my good morning to him was do you think the woman that sells agadi and cowhead pepper soup is up and his response was what did I do looooool. I miss him. He was the love of my life. Continue to rest in peace Sweet.

All the comments are too funny.....Cant wait for my turn to start craving.

@KweenDior

Mine was ice and palm oil. I would drink the oil and chew the ice afterwards. The feeling that came with it was awesome.

So sorry about your loss. May he rest in peace.

My wife craving was amala and ewedu...not just any amala but a specific one from a buka in Mushin, I had to drive all the way from Lekki to Mushin to buy amala.. one Sunday, I couldn't get so I improvised and bought at VI, omg she promptly noticed and rejected it saying she want Mushin amala..on a good day she will never eat that... its such stress but it's all part of the joy of being a parent..

Eeya...so sorry dear RIP to your hussy

My wife craving was amala and ewedu...not just any amala but a specific one from a buka in Mushin, I had to drive all the way from Lekki to Mushin to buy amala.. one Sunday, I couldn't get so I improvised and bought at VI, omg she promptly noticed and rejected it saying she want Mushin amala..on a good day she will never eat that... its such stress but it's all part of the joy of being a parent..

God pikin said...

me too! rice with palm oil.Plenty of onions and pepper.hahaha

All i craved for was the smell of a fresh sperm...

Lmao!!! Seriously this got me!!!

Jesus!!!

During mine I always crave Indomie pepper soup. Just1indomie with 1 full jug of water n pepper pepper. During my frnds preggy she had to stop pinging entirely. Fon itsef irritates her. Lool

Amen ... God bless his Soul

I can't stop laughing .... Future hubby ar u ready ........

Mine was white chalk ... blackboard chalk

Sorry about that madam,may he rest in peace

Mine was blackboard chalk ....The white ones will eat and spit it out .... I love the no taste crunchy taste ..Niger chalk taste soo good than UK or Yankee chalk

Toll house chocolate chip cookies.

Money Making Machine said...

Hahahaha,chemical and petro chemical Engineers indeed

My friend loved local bread and gutter smell when she was pregnant for her twins

Hahahahaha! Asoge. This is real funny

D way your father slaps your mother?its obvious you are from an abusive shattered home.

Candygirl said...

During mine i craved a lot! First it was cheese balls..then hubby bought a whole bag and that was it! Then we went to eat out and I had ofada and it became the it food..until he paid one of the ladies from the eatery to come make a pot for me..and then the aroma made me sick and I hated that too!! The list goes on!! Lol. Yea it's called pica!

Cravings are a myth. Its all mind conditioning. U can eat healthy throughout ur pregnancy.

aww sorry.

That stupid lie...

Alibaba, You talk/type carelessly.

Is she ur wife?

U helped a friend, move on,

Im pretty sure ur mum had cravings.

Ur wife too.

Ewo ni crazy ati stupid?

Lmaooooooo!!!!!!!! Oh God! Lmaooi

Pure water fr me,dnt u dare gv u bottled water or water frm d dispenser...ild bark...n searchet water is smtin i nva usd to drink

One day afta ma hub got bk frm wrk,i snt hm to buy oha soup fr me,we hd 5diff soups at home including oha bt i wantd d one frm outsyd.he dint drive,afta he got it,n ws crossn d road,he got hit by one of dse reckless keke drivers in ph.He cm bk in blood bt still held wit d soup pourd away in d nylon.Dat ws d most romantic sight eva

As fr me..jst plenty of alcohol...esp brandy,whiskey,tequila n rum.dunt care bou all dem nonsense talk bou abstaining durin pregnancy.
PS:d baby boy is so handsome,healtht n bouncing

Awww, big hugsssss

Ayomide said...

@Asoge lmaoooo

Lmaooo my cravings was peppered stew ata shakashaka wit rice dat is locally cooked in buka. I drive all d way from Agnes yaba to bode thomas orile side to buy it and I will pack like 8 plastic to store in d freezer. Later discovered anoder in akala mushin by a friend. Cudnt think I will ever in my life stay in such area and buy food nt to talk of eating dere. Wen I pack my car dos area boys will just be murmuring jagons.. I dnt miss underground yoghout every midnyt. My hubby stores is every 5days once he forgets like dis and none is at home I will cry like a baby cos my nyt will b ruined.

This is not pica. Pica occurs in iron deficiency anaemia and has to be one month of craving and eating non nutritive substances such as sand, ice, plastic etc.

Pisces said...

Chaii, may his soul continue to rest in God's embrace Amen.
Ehugs hun...be good ok

AGBA ENJOYMENT said...

This is the best post on lindaikeji.blogspot.com. The Comments are hilarious. And worth reading more. May God strengthen u

Mrs CJ said...

Wow dear.

My sista oh, my husband so understanding but his sister, my junior was something else.

My wife will leave all the food in the house, sneak out a stainless steel bowl and go to beg for party rice. Also if she asks for agbalumo, you dare not say you can't get it because she will cry like a baby you will think you have killed somebody. The one that drives me crazy most is not even food... She will suck my nipple for hours on end. No sex, she doesn't want to have sex she just wants to suck my dry nipple for hours(it tickles me lie crazy) and she will cry so much when I get up if she is not yet satisfied except she is satisfied .

monzybabe said...

Just like me. I enjoy all forms of rice now. I can take rice four times a day. I make my ofada sauce now for special pepper

monzybabe said...

Aww. So sorry about your loss. May his kind soul rip

Hahaha....enjoyed reading d comments!!!!!

hahahahah OMG, THE NIPPLE SUCKING PART REALLY GOT ME.

The pregnancy woman has a caring hubby & she's mis-using it