"UN appeals for help for Boko Haram displaced; Nigeria a no-show"- Reuters | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 September 2015

"UN appeals for help for Boko Haram displaced; Nigeria a no-show"- Reuters

Ms Shonibare is right after all. This report below by Reuters confirms that U.S. and European Union diplomats were disappointed Nigeria Government didn't send anyone to the event.

The United Nations, Chad, Niger and Cameroon appealed on Friday for help for millions of people in the Lake Chad Basin region forced to flee the violence of Boko Haram and hit with repeated droughts and floods that have brought malnutrition and disease.

But while the radical Islamist militants operate out of Nigeria and U.N. aid chief Stephen O'Brien said that is where most people have been displaced by their attacks, Nigeria did not send anyone to the United Nations event. U.S. and European Union diplomats said they were disappointed that Nigeria did not attend the event chaired by O'Brien on the sidelines of the U.N. General Assembly. The Nigerian U.N. mission was not immediately available to comment on its absence. A regional offensive by Nigeria, Niger, Chad and Cameroon earlier this year drove Boko Haram from much of the territory it held in northern Nigeria. But the militants have since struck back with a renewed wave of deadly raids and suicide bombings.

"These (displaced) families are being used as ammunition because it is the children that are used as bombers in markets and in train stations," said Chad's Foreign Minister Moussa Faki Mahamat. "Trade is virtually wiped out in this area." Several U.N. diplomats at the event warned that the aid emergency in Lake Chad Basin risked being forgotten amid other humanitarian crises in Syria, Yemen and South Sudan.

Niger Prime Minister Brigi Rafini said the region was in the midst of a "genuine disaster." "We need massive assistance from the international community," he said. "It is the population that has shared with these refugees and displaced people the little they have while they themselves are living in extremely vulnerable situations."

The United Nations said some 2.3 million people have been forced from their homes since May 2013, and a quarter of a million of them have fled from Nigeria into Cameroon, Chad and Niger, many walking hundreds of miles. "Droughts and floods hit the region repeatedly. Malnutrition and disease outbreaks hover at emergency levels. Some 5.5 million people do not have enough to eat," O'Brien said.

"The emergence of Boko Haram has pushed them over the edge." O'Brien said U.N. appeals for 2015 to help those displaced people and refugees in Nigeria, Cameroon, Chad and Niger were all less than half-funded. The United States on Friday announced $6.8 million in funding for regional aid efforts. -Reuters

28 comments:

#LordSandra said...

Nigeria we know the true story.

Nigerian government am very disappointed in you for this,thanks to you people may the presence GOD be with your countries. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Linda what are u implying na? I know the tone of that "Ns Shonibare is right after all" .I'm so sure an explanation from the presidency will surface soon.Until then its safer not to make assumptions

This is very important. May God help Niigeria Ouch! Denrele Edun falls off stage while dancing to Masterkraft’s song ‘Indomie’ with his abnormal heels (Photos, Videos)

Ok. Mr Shonibare, you are right

Read Simple benchmarks that can help predict if you'll live longer than your peers 5 and 13 will Shock you

Linda APC and their band wagan as no plan for this country. PMB cant run a one man show and we can all see the mess he is placing himself in. The is God ohhhhh

That's uncool

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

According to APC's Lai Mohammed and Buhari's Femi Adesina, it was Goodluck Ebele Jonathan who told PDP to drug Buhari and the whole Nigeria Delegation to sleep off while the meeting went ahead .... hahahahahahah ... i no go die o o o.

May God help our country. The more the days pass the more it is evident that Buhari is not the one we Nigerians are waiting for. David is yet to come. This news as embarrassing for Nigeria as it is is just sad. Sad. If any country should have been the first at that meeting it is Nigeria. What a shame on this government.

Na only probe dey sabi. Smh

And what has that got to do with what Nigeria ask of the UN or are we not part of the UN any longer

Dey have tried. Nice one! Linda take note!

Nigerian government is the boko haram

Every body have know now A P C is behind...boko haram. So bad of them.

I thought PMB went with some northern Governors, or did they just go there to take selfies? SMH.

This is new development

Hmmmmmm

Real Shame. With The Animal Called OBJ at the UN masquerading the place with spent forces such as Gordon Brown and Bill Clinton, how can Buhari get his priorities right? What was that old ego maniac doing arranging meetings for Buhari at the UN? Imagine that stupid speech that Buhari was made to read on HIV infecting 13 million pregnancies in 2014 when we have more pressing securities issues plaguing the region and yet Nigeria was absent. If this is not gross irresponsibility then what else can? That old hag must leave Buhari alone. OBJ is the worst curse Nigeria has ever had in the corridors of power. These ex this ex that have added nothing to Nigeria. Under GEJ Nigeria was duped of $20 million under the so called Safe Schools Security project. What has Gordon Brown done since he stormed the World Economic Summit in Nigeria and duped the country with that scam of his asking Nigeria to match his $10 million grant? People like Clinton rip this country off. Can anyone point to anything Clinton has ever done for Nigeria? Can Clinton Foundation compare with Jimmy Carter Foundation in services to humanity? Clinton is a beggar and a thief. Now they want to scam Buhari then OBJ will collect his peanut as commission. Just look at the missed opportunity of getting the UN relief for displaced persons while OBJ is toasting the spent forces looking for donations. Very shameful.

Buhari is an old fool now

Am disappointed too.. But my question is why is d president always traveling?!.. When he can't send delegates to attend to issues that matters and yet he needs an assistance to fight boko haram?.. PMB is not serious!!!

Meanwhile all d president is interested right now is to witch hunt the senate president Saraki. God is watching you all😂

They should continue clapping they went with the least number of people. They didn't even have enough people for the most important meetings just a couple of Aboki smiling they shook bill Gates hands. Ok na

Plz we are busy fighting boko haram no time for that tour. Just bring your aid. We appreciate.

Finally someone who understands.

APC is boko haram?
The Nigerian Govt is the real boko haram?
If we must comment in the public space at least let us pretend to be intelligent!
The intelectual poverty of some of these comments are even more embarassing than the government's gaffe.
At every UN gathering there is quite a number of meetings going on at the same time. Even some unscheduled and spontaneous side events crop up and Countries that are well organised select and prioritize accordingly.
What we need to to is to demand an explanation for this gaffe, it is quite unacceptable.
Anyone attending a UN assembly must be on the ball at all times, you drop it and this is what you get - embarassment.
- AE

So, Buhari went to UN to talk about HIV! But when it was time to talk about Boko Haram and the IDP, the one that is really pinching us, he is no where to be found kwa! Isoright. Let him continue, he is becoming worse than GEJ, he is worse than clueless, he is both clueless and directionless, no direction President, that's why he is going slow, because the man truly does not know when and how to steer this ship he fought for 12 years to win now he won the battle, he honestly does not know how to navigate this complex county oh. My goodness, we are in deep s__t.