Photos of Buhari addressing the UN General Assembly | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 25 September 2015

Photos of Buhari addressing the UN General Assembly

President Buhari addressed the UN General Assembly and spoke on the topic "Strengthening The Means of Implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals and Ensuring an AIDS-free Generation By 2030 Through The Elimination Of Mother To Child Transmission of HIV. A Dual Imperative For Nigeria". Continue to see more photos + full text of President Buhari's address..

Excellencies,
Ladies and Gentlemen,
I welcome you to this important event. Let me express Nigeria's sincere appreciation to UN-AIDS for the support and collaboration in organizing this event.
2. We are on the threshold of history as world leaders adopt the successor development agenda to the Millennium Development Goals. For over 30 years, HIV as a public health challenge has been causing havoc and untold hardship in virtually every part of the world. To date, several million children have been orphaned and some communities have been devastated, while economic activities have been disrupted.
3. Unfortunately, Sub -Saharan Africa bears a disproportionate burden of this epidemic. The good news is that the effort of the global community has resulted in greater control, less spread and better management.
4. Furthermore, we have made significant progress towards the interception of mother to child transmission of HIV. In 2014 alone, over 3million pregnant women were tested for HIV and 63,000 of these tested women, accessed anti - retroviral therapy.
Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,
5. What is required in our continued fight against HIV/AIDS is improved health delivery system, education, and cheaper production of anti - retroviral drugs through technology exchange. Our countries should also look at the whole field of medicare and strengthen our partnership with all stakeholders including the civil society, inter- faith and cultural bodies for education and dissemination of information at all levels. Nigeria will also like to call upon all pharmaceutical companies for more cooperation and understanding in reducing the cost of anti - retroviral drugs through production of generic items.
Excellencies, Distinguished Delegates.
6. Nigeria will continue to work with development partners and key stakeholders to strengthen the means of implementation of the SDGs as elaborated in the Post- 2015 Development Agenda. At the continental level, Nigeria remains fully committed to the outcome of the Abuja process as evident in the 2002 Declaration, the Action Framework on Roll – Back Malaria. In addition, the 2013 Abuja + 12 Declaration is a strong commitment towards eliminating HIV and AIDs in Africa by 2030. Globally, the United Nations Political Declaration on HIV and AIDS of 2011 is a major reference point for intensifying efforts to eliminate the epidemic.
7. Nigeria appreciates the support of our development partners for their support and commitment to the total eradication of HIV/AIDs, Tuberculosis and Malaria as well as other deadly communicable diseases, for example Ebola, when an epidemic arises.
8. I therefore encourage you to continue in your efforts to sustain the fight against infant and maternal deaths, HIV and AIDs, Tuberculosis, Malaria and other communicable diseases, high on the global development agenda.
9. Let us work together to make HIV and AIDs history by 2030.
10. I thank you.

59 comments:

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Long speech

My humble president may God almighty protect and guide all that concerns you as you honestly stand to protect the future of our children and nigeria Godbless.

Applause for my able President

What a FUCKING RETARDED AND LIMITED SPEECH. Who wrote this speech? Who? They should be fired. How embarrassing coming from the President of the giant of Africa. Thank God the pope had a better message for the poor. HIV??? when we are talking SDGs and upstream factors? PMB, what SDGs mean for HIV is that we should focus on getting to provide people what they need to not be so willing to spread their legs for everyone and find solace in indiscriminate sex. Things like poverty, well paying jobs, self-sufficiency, etc.

Dr. Luper said...

Need some cash online??????
http://Exploit.ppcbeast.cpa.clicksure.com

Ok seen

God bless you my president.
Nigeria gradually assuming its rightful place among the comity of nations.

GOD is with you Sie it's well with you.You are my hero

Shawn said...

Chai make dis people no take baba Go slow judge .. The intelligence of Nigerians

Well done o. Jonathan house boy aka Orubebe.
We see you fooling yourself over here.

Buhari I I mistake that happened. Bloody retard

Amin

Great speech

Thank u

Thank u

Who is incoherent? U or ur grandfathers mate...? Its obvious u are just a dumb imbecile...-double curse.....where u xpecting him to read a manuscript or scroll...if u were educated u wld knw that he will have been giving a minimum and maximum num of words to write....he is not yhe only leader that wld be speaking....na only am waka come?.... What he just read is a synopsis like speech....not a project or an entire research work....

God bless you mr President, you are representing us well. I salute ur determination to pull us out of the mess created by our past evil leaders especially IBB and GEJ. We are praying for you sir.

If this is why buhari waste tax payers money flying to New York then its a big shame we have big big pressing issues in all over Africa and all this man can talk about is HIV? One will wonder if Zara is HIV positive shame!!

Joker

is this the only clothe Buhari has? He should wear a suit or another color of his babariga.

I am proud of Nigeria and the way we have continue to keep HIV under control. For the past 14years no mother-to-child pregnancy transmission has been recorded. Even the almighty U.S of America cannot boast of this feat. Its impressive. May God bless everyone working tirelessly to ensure that this disease is tackled. And to those insulting president Buhari, continue. Whatever insult you rain on this man will surely go back to the sender. Apparently, you have no respect for elders including your parents. If you did, you would mind how you abuse an old man with gray hair.

More grease to ur elbow sir, sai baba...

Yoruba fool. You forgot to add Obj

Bonario, no hope for you in Zarah the president's daughter. Reduce your boy boy and lick ass behaviours and respect your dignity and tribe abeg.

Amen.

I throwey salute 4 my able presido.....may God continue to guide and protect you 4 us....and lead u to the Wright part

Whoever that wrote this speech should be fired. Baba u r not in WHO meeting

Ode.

Lol got me cracked up don't mind d guy

Lol got me cracked up don't mind d guy still a learner

Hahahahahah, n he was cald an illiterate! Weldone sir, u av spoken beautifully. D likes of GEJ will only go der, jus sit and watch oda presidents talk kos dey av notin intelligent to bring on d table.

Yea

Better I pray God help with all d plans

Let's pray for our leaders said d bible

Agreed Bro. The first two paragraphs turned me off. Where did the 3 million pregnant women test HIV positive in 2014? In Nigeria alone? How many women got pregnant in 2014 in a population 170 million that will mean 100% HIV positive population. So who wrote this rubbish? Certainly not a Nigerian. No applause here at all. We have several other more prominent problems to have presented to the U.N. What about Terrorism and child marriage? Very disappointed.

Through The Elimination Of Mother To Child Transmission of HIV. Pls i don't understand this. Can someone explain to me

Agreed Bro. Wrong speech wrong figures. Out of a population of 170 million 3 million pregnancies are HIV positive% in one year? That would mean very high rate of infection in the country and we know this is not the case. So this speech was written from abroad. Nigeria should have presented more relevant and pressing global crises such as Boko Haram, Alternative Energy, Women Education, Child Marriage or stuff like that. This was a wrong speech. Could not read it beyond the first few paragraphs.

Presido on point sai buhari we r getting there

Naame said...

That is to say if a woman has HIV she can give birth to a baby without transmitting the virus to the child

Big fool.....

I thought the story was that he was to attend UN to discuss the security challenges. Now a speech on HIV/AIDS?

But what's with this dressing ne..... #loveumypresident

Okay seen

Anon 7:thereafter. Being daft is not license for u to jump up n speak. Others that are coming first in class listen to teacher first. Where did he say they tested positive. Olodo.
When u will be busy dubbing.

Dats wat u will be wondering. Wen your children have not eaten.

You are too eager to throw stones that You cannot even read well. "3 million pregnant women tested for HIV" is not the same as 3 million pregnant Women tested Positive for HIV. And you haven't read through, Yet You Can foolishly declare that it is a wrong speech. Stop hating

FIND OUT 11 sex tips that are better than ‘female Viagra’ 

God bless Our president. God bless Nigeria

FIND OUT 11 sex tips that are better than ‘female Viagra’ 

God bless Nigeria

Bonario, ass licker your hatered on previous administration won't change Zara 's mind. Even if bokohari makes you his Pa on domestic you can't never get her.

Do you think before you write at all? Is he supposed to be reading a novel to other world leaders? Pls write yours and publish it here for all of us to see. Also,PMB did not go there to present a problem,rather they are all jointly finding a way to proffer solution to the challenges they are facing on AIDS and the likes. You are just a dumb head. Linda pls find a way to screen people before they comment on this platform. @Abayomi:thanks for your comment,and many thanks to others too who thought carefully before they wrote.

Dear Respondent at the same time nobody has the statistics of Nigeria better than the President of the country. So think twice.

Dani said...

You fool,may you be Hiv positive

Edward aka general; Good speech PMB ; some people talk dogshit nothing do you

Am liking this man now. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

HIV/AIDS? its a no, no for me. There are more pertinent issues....just keeping it real.

Amen to ur prayer.... u said it all Gej has messed this country may God strengthen Pmb to clean up the mess created by d past Administration

Actually Linda,would av loved to c d video,I love his awesome Chinese English