Lol. This new government sef! President Buhari has approved N70 million for the entire celebration of
Nigeria 55th Independence Anniversary which is slated to commence from
September 25, 2015.
Disclosing this at a press conference today, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir Lawal, said the Federal government has decided that the independent anniversary would be celebrated low key, that is the reason only N70m was approved to take care of the entire celebration.
Lawal who was represented by the Permanent Secretary on Political Affairs, Mrs. Ibukun Odusute, explained that the reason for the low key celebration is because the present administration appreciate the economic hardship that Nigeria and indeed the nation is confronted today.
Disclosing this at a press conference today, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir Lawal, said the Federal government has decided that the independent anniversary would be celebrated low key, that is the reason only N70m was approved to take care of the entire celebration.
Lawal who was represented by the Permanent Secretary on Political Affairs, Mrs. Ibukun Odusute, explained that the reason for the low key celebration is because the present administration appreciate the economic hardship that Nigeria and indeed the nation is confronted today.
"What the President made clear is that we cannot have Nigerians in pains and unable to do what they are supposed to do by reason of our dwindling resources and then we are spending lavishly on celebrations. That has been his philosophy and principles, that it would not be fair to spend Nigeria’s money that can be spent in paying salaries to people, making sure that children are comfortable in their various schools, providing enabling environment for businesses to thrive in the country and we will leave all that and spend large amount of money on celebration. He felt it was not a wise thing to do and we totally agreed with him. So, the main reason for low key is because of the state of the nation concerning our finances. This year’s celebration is therefore in consonance with the cost-saving policy direction of this administration. The ceremony will commence with the Jummat Prayers on Friday, September 25, 2015 at 1.30pm, at the National Mosque in Abuja, the interdenominational thanksgiving service will hold on Sunday, September 27, 2015 at 4pm, at the National Christian Worship Centre, while the ceremonial change of Guard will hold at the Presidential Villa at 8.00am and the children’s party will take place at the state house conference centre on October 3, 2015 at 3pm,” he saidPresident Buhari will address the nation at 7am on October 1, 2015.
“As we look forward to our independence anniversary with deep and sober reflection, on how we can work together to return our country to prosperity. Let me seize the opportunity to wish our Muslim brothers and sisters and all Nigerians a happy Salah holiday.”
120 comments:
He knows what he is doing, his type nah eat alone, he does not want to be implicated in anyway so he is keeping d money to himself alone
HMMMMM, AT DS POINT AM SPEECHLESSS...EYES WATCHIN..TOMJERRYSWIT
Na wa o,nd dey said we dnt have money. 70m just fr independence wen lots of graduates ar jobless. Wat happened to youth empowerment?
It's quite moderate.
When your new president is Bae! I lur u Mr president!
When your new president is Bae! I lur u Mr president! Tnks ma'am
Linda please explain what you meant by this new government sef?
Good one right. ...
Abeg no time for frivolous celebrations. Nigeria leaders has to learn to be prudent and accountable.
Not too lavish
lmao...in the previous regime,70 mil would have been for the cake alone.rotfl..Sai Buhari i swear..lol.
Big deal! What of Jonah's 10 billion budget in 2010?
Will i get to receive my own Sallah ram. Its the only reasonable explanation for a huge sum.
Abeg joor, Barka de sallah to the lib readers here eg Aboki the warri ram, Bonita and the rest
70million and the economy is in hardship. Anyway na Nigeria sabi!
Dis government doesn't have any mandate, they said money to fund something in the country buy u see..dis big amount for wat naija 55..wat a waste
Our former president would have approved 1billion... PMB is a good leader! Change has definitely come!
Ok noted
What Exactly is goin on here..wat are we celebrating wth dat much...when FG workers are yet to be paid their salary for a couple of Months bck...Dis isn't d Change Nigerians voted for im sure there is soo much to do wth money...Later they wil be screening Empty treasury...#Rubbish
what the hell is going on ! after accusing GEJ of extravagance now the so called innocent or scared dove is doing worse. God help us
Okay...
what the hell is going on ! after accusing GEJ of extravagance now the so called innocent or scared dove is doing worse. God help us
N70MILLION ON A LOW KEY, WHAT IF WE WANT TO CELEBRATE IT ON THE 'HIGH KEY'
Kikikiki
We believe in baba no doubt.....
if na jonathan,5billion na em dem go spend.nigerians are rly funny to have had the slightest thought of bring jonathan back to office.
GUD BUDGET... NO BE JONATHAN WEY GO SPEND BILLIONS AND PEOPLE ARE LAVISHING IN HUNGER
HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!! BABA BUHARI I HAIL THEE!!! gone are the days of spending billions on top celebration. Abeg mek we chop pure water and puff puff. LOVE MY PRESIDENT!!!
But of course! What's there to celebrate?, previous senseless administrations used the date to squander our money. O se baba Bubu.
Na wa oo. This change is real oo. Under previous administration, Na Billions be that naa. opportunity to waste and waste
When you compare with Jonathan, this would have been termed 'impossible':
Itemised 10 billion naira Budget Proposal for 50 years celebration.
1. Anniversary parade including march past, fleet review and aerial display - N950 million.
2. National unity torch tour - N350 million.
Special visit to special homes, orphanages, prisons and hospitals - N50 million
3. Special session of the National Children Parliament - N20 million
4. Party for 1000 children - N20 million
5. Presidential banquet - N40 million
6. Calisthenics performance - N50 million
7. Cultural, historical and military exhibitions N310 million
8. Food week - N40 million
9. Secretariat equipment, accommodation, logistics and utilities - N320 million
10. Designing and unveiling of the 50th anniversary logo - N30 million
11. Special reports on Nigeria in both local and international media - N1.2 billion
12. Jingles, adverts, billboards, documentary and publicity - N320 million
13. Accommodation and Transportation of guests - N700 million
14. Production of branded souvenirs and gift items for foreign heads of state and Attention of a coat of arms on Aso Rock - N450 million
15. Variety gala night and fireworks - N210 million
16. International friendly football match and local competition - N200 million
17. Event managers and producers - N120 million naira.
18. Designing and publication of a compendium on Nigeria - N400 million,
19. Compendium on the legislature - N150 million
20. Compendium on the judiciary - N50 million.
21. Commissioning of the golden jubilee plaza - N10 million naira;
22. Designing, construction and mounting of Tower of Unity in the 36 states of the Federation - N540 million.
23. Debates, essays, conferences, lectures, and a colloquium - N150 million;
24. Musical concerts and carnivals in the 6 geo-political zones - N60 million;
25. Durbar, masquerades and cultural dances - N100 million and
26. Designing and construction of 10 monuments of the founding fathers - N80 million.
27. A memory stone at the Tafawa Balewa Square , Lagos will consume - N40 million,
28. Security and protocol - N500 million
29. Medicals - N25 million
30. Miscellaneous - N105 Million.
http://saharareporters.com/articles/external-contrib/6330--president-goodluck-jonathans-10-billion-naira-owambe-party.html
mr president biko we dont need any celebration
it is well
Hope they plan to give out at least 100k each to every Nigerian cos I don't know what that crap is about! 70m!! Are you kidding me?!! Hunger dey country, them dey throw way money, workers have not being paid and you want to spend 70m on frivolities
If it is to small madam Linda please contribute to the celebration, after all you are a rich woman.
this is wisdom, u are indeed a leader unlike Govt that would approve billion in the name of celebration and use it to enrich themselves. Just for realising that we are in a deep mess may God strengthen u to live and full all the goods things u have in mind for better Nigeria. Change indeed has come!
Hope they plan to give out at least 100k each to every Nigerian cos I don't know what that crap is about! 70m!! Are you kidding me?!! Hunger dey country, them dey throw way money, workers have not being paid and you want to spend 70m on frivolities
this is wisdom, u are indeed a leader unlike Govt that would approve billion in the name of celebration and use it to enrich themselves. Just for realising that we are in a deep mess may God strengthen u to live and full all the goods things u have in mind for better Nigeria. Change indeed has come!
And 70mil is not extravagant?
See the long sermon they are giving to make themselves look like saints.
Ndi ezigbo mmadu.
Can you just stick to blogging without being biased and hypocritical. Sometimes i wonder if you have a crush on JONATHAN cos this is blogging at his worst. Just report the news and leave the comment for your visitors or libers. You should be neutral when it comes to Politics, i know many people have told you this several times. #Stubborn
Joke of a man.. Bastard almajiri. Can u imagine ?? Hahahaha laughing so loud 2 d change pple.
Hmmm ok
Hmmm ok
Kiiiiiiiiikkiiiiiiiikwwwwaaaaaakwwwaaaaakwwwaaaaa! I love me some BUBU!
is good like dat
I do not see any reason to celebrate the independence Anniversary of this Zoo called Nigeria...
Baba Go Slow, please start working, people are dying in bornu
Say wetin??? 70m... hmmmm
is good like dat
70m hahaha what do ou expect from an imbecilic fulani president that don't know what is called celebration.
This is just the begining.
70m hahaha what do ou expect from an imbecilic fulani president that don't know what is called celebration.
This is just the begining.
This wash is getting tiring. why spend at all? We already have a holiday, that's like a massive celebration for most Nigerian workers and students alike.
Real celebration will be sending one thief to jail or bringing back a single Chibok girl.
All this he doesn't want to waste money and is approving 'JUST' 70M. Cut the crap out and let's all sober up! Which is where we should be, which is what we should be doing. Think of what that amount judiciously used will do to the IDPs.
Gerrarra here with this darn propaganda.
70m on lowkey celebration if they no won lowkey ko how much they spend?
Seyilicious
Eyo common thts My Dad the president
How much does the past administration approved for the last independent day?
Hehehehe, dis is amazing. No more billions for celebration. Nna some people go dey vex seriously. Linda take note!
I love this administration. no time for wastages.
How much does the past administration approved for the last independence anniversary?
I support you jare my president
Linda, you have asked how much your clueless uncle/hero spent when he was there
Shameless country...... This country is cursed in disguise.... Who can we trust since 70m is low key...
Ole buruku. Shey 70million is not much and lavishly spent in your books? Hediots of the century.
70million is low???? Mehn!
Αи∂ then what are we celebrating sef? Is it for hardship? Unemployment? Lack of security? Among others???
#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise
Hmmmmmmmmmmm Linda u obviously don't like this govt. U would hv proffered if it were 70billion abi just like GEJ's govt abi when people r suffering
So 70m no too much?
So Linda, what has Buhari done wrong now? Do you have a problem with the government minimizing spending by cutting cost of this wasteful event called independence day? You sef. People like you are what is wrong with Nigeria. misusing your medium to confuse people and cause chaos. Buhari can never please you Igbo people. Now I see you are one of those Biafran apologist. Hope you people get what you want soon. I give you six month after than to betray yourselves. Nonsense!
Nd then they'll say d country is broke
Linda u have been annoying me for a quite a while now over your insensitivity abt the plight of the Nigerian people. What do u mean by "this administration sef?" You talk every time abt how you suffered and had humble beginnings but you r beginning to forget not everyone is fairing well. Must we be wasting money for useless celebrations. Bcos u collected pdp money doesnt mean u shld be biased. Jst be objective and fair with the dispensation of information and state d fact as it is.
Shut up your mouth Idiot, when buhari was giving out buses worth 50million to burkina faso....he didnt know we didnt have enough....pains me this man is my president
ok seen who cares mtcheew.
we are not appreciative as people. the past administration spend billions on independence day and this govt is spending just 70m and we are shouting? how much will any of u spend on marriage or burial as individual?
U can give us the billions u have...we will be glad to celebrate highKey... Thanks
Thank u jare, JUST 70M, can u imagine?
Better than the last administration
U should first of all ask ur self wat dey r celebrating. Olodo
U r a montula, ooh, don't know y u such an idiot. U think with ur yacht
Buhari you no do well for this one oh.Lol. So if say you wan share for the 140 million Nigerians .. Na 0.5 naira you go send come our account.. There is God in this one.. For us wey been wan drink 3 bottles of Origin for ur head how we wan take do am nah.
Don't mind the motherfucking APC fanatic
PMB is a mere hypocrite, to the public he is a saint that is free from corruption. In reality Buhari is the chief of corruption. He's been running one man government since, looting the nation's treasury by proxy. Nigeria need a visionary leader,Buhari is far from what we need.
This Govt is just a big fat JOKE
Lool, see as 70 million don look small for linda. Na wa ooo God do am for me too
Linda, so diassponted with your comment. What do you mean by "this administrative sef"??? How daft !!!! Why didnt you put th figures that GEJ spent on previous anniversaries? Be responsible in your blogging Linda !!!
Linda is used to GEJ and the billions. U think say Linda no like chop I chop gov? Ibo girl.
This is the breakdown of what Jonathan Spent in 2010 Independence anniversary:
1. Anniversary parade including march past, fleet review and aerial display - N950 million.
11. Special reports on Nigeria in both local and international media - N1.2 billion
14. Production of branded souvenirs and gift items for foreign heads of state and Attention of a coat of arms on Aso Rock - N450 million
22. Designing, construction and mounting of Tower of Unity in the 36 states of the Federation - N540 million.
26. Designing and construction of 10 monuments of the founding fathers - N80 million.
27. A memory stone at the Tafawa Balewa Square , Lagos will consume - N40 million,
Goat! Check that out. Clueless ppl though
This is the breakdown of what Jonathan Spent in 2010 Independence anniversary:
Shut up goat..... pass a comment on these figures.
We obviously don't need ur father.
Don't ask me why. Read ur comment again if u want to know why
Yes pls I would also like to know what she meant! Pdp lost I dont know why you cant get over it Linda
Thank you for this
I wish she can hide her true feelings
When reporting politics
You dont have to always show you
Are on the opposing side (pdp)
Its disgusting
Nah she cant
I think she is actually
Obsessed with her clueless Jonathan
Asin Anon 5:21 I am tired of the Linda lady
I wonder what Buhari ever did to her and her igbo ppl,the man has won live with it stop trying to use your medium to bring down his work
Anon 5:56 and Jasmine Joseph are you ppl making sef? This Anon hit the right nail on the head Linda needs to stop beibg biased I hardly ever comment but I just had to comment on this
See ur big mouth 70m too much Gej would have approved 1billion and 70m would be for sweets monkey
Olodo
Worse bawo? Pls explain. GEJ wouldn't have been less than 100billion.
Ride on Baba, 70m is prudent
Dullards plenty for this blog...wtz 70million compared to 10billion(1million in 10,000 places). Sorry for your dullness
Which of the federal govt workers haven't been paid for months now? Please get ur facts b4 speaking!
Go back and check what the previous government spend not just GEJ administration.
What a foolish Post!
HE EVEN TRY SELF. WHAT ARE WE CELEBRATING,WHAT AND WHAT IS NIGERIA FREE OF
Federal staffs haven't been payed tho but you're too blind to see that as an issue
When GEJ spend $73m (not naira o) on useless centenary celebration what did you say? And the idiots GEJITES will say gej has a better head than PMB.
Some of you have peanuts for brains. I blame Linda for this wave of foolishness.
Go and think about your life.
Mumu.. .
oloriburuku
its clear u ve no idea abt govt monetary approvals in past administrations. ode oshi
Mr clueless go and get ur fact right b4 spitting rubbish gej who spent more than 1billion jst 4 independent celebration ...now tell me btw gej nd pmb who is xtravagant...mum olodo
Lmao..... anon 8:03....abeg he me tell that marafacka...if he doesn't want change he will never see Change
Aldou gudlok spent more (excessively I must confess) d circumstances differ in terms of hierachy of events bein celebrated(centenary vs annual) so d wide margin in diff wud nt hv bin as illogical as it seems now in as much as buhari is known 2 b modest in expenses (which I admire sincerely#myown10cents.
Lolololol well replied! I wonder how people like this mumu find their ways here to comment...
Lolololol did u jz say for cake alone, walahi e no reach oo...we thank God for a sensible old man...
Ur name already shows u don't deserve any reply...keep it on the 'native' key....
@Uzochukwu, pls dnt get upset, I have a feeling only one or 2 people r forming diff accs and writing these dumb statements...the rest of us know that reduced govt spending is a plus, cheers
70m for independent celebrations?
I just wonder how shallow minded many Nigerians are….… I'm sure if PMB cuts down the cost to #10,000 some sick fuck will still complain "why must he even celebrate at all"…… .the point is that we have a different person in government who at least is sensitive to the mood of the country… cutting down usual cost from billions of Nairas to just 70 million is good enough…….Publishing it might be a political stunt to win people's heart, but THAT'S POLITICS….. At least he's sensitive which is good enough for now!!!