Beninoise man arrested for murder over birthday pig in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 24 September 2015

Beninoise man arrested for murder over birthday pig in Lagos

A 30-year-old Beninoise man, Samuel Francis, stabbed 35-year-old Clement Houme to death in Lagos, during a fight over a pig for a birthday celebration. According to reports, Samuel had been contracted by a relative of the deceased, identified as Victoria, to kill the pig for her birthday celebration.
When Houme got there with his brother, he asked the celebrant where they got the pig from,  accusing them of stealing the pig.

According to Punch, an argument ensued among the three men, and in the ensuing scuffle, Samuel stabbed the victim with the knife he brought to slaughter the pig with.
Houme  reportedly died from his injuries.
Samuel, who was also injured, was first treated before he was arrested by policemen from the Tarkwa Bay Police Division.
Samuel that Huome had first attacked his brother.
He said:
“I have my family in Cotonou, but I came to Lagos in 2010 to hustle. I was in my house on Saturday when I was called to kill a pig meant for a birthday celebration.
“The next day, around 6am while I was still on the bed, the people called me on the telephone that I should come. I called my brother, Jeff, to assist me.
ADVERTISEMENT
“When we got there, we were given the pig by a man. It was around 6.30am that Huome came and started quarrelling with us. Before we knew what was happening, he broke two bottles and stabbed my brother in the head. As I tried to restrain him, he came after me and cut me in the hand, as well. When I could not handle it again, I stabbed him in the shoulders with my knife.”
Samuel said he ran to the police station to seek refuge from the deceased and a mob that came to attack him.
He said the police took him to the Lagos Island General Hospital, where he was admitted for a week, before his eventual arrest for the crime.
He said:
“The man’s family has already said they were no longer interested in the case, but the police said it had become a government matter and there was nothing that could be done.
“I have nobody to help me in Lagos. My wife has left me for another man. Our six-months-old baby is now with my grandma in Benin Republic and I came to Lagos to make money; but see where I have found myself?. Who will help me now?”
The suspect was arraigned on Wednesday before an Ebute-Meta Magistrate’s Court on two counts of murder.
The police, in a remand application, said the defendant had confessed to the crime, was identified by witnesses and arrested with a weapon.
The prosecutor subsequently asked the court to remand him in prison, pending legal advice from the Directorate of Public Prosecutions.
“We have a request for remand, based on Section 264 of the Administration of Criminal Justice Law of Lagos State.
The remand will enable us to obtain legal advice from the DPP,” Ighodalo said.
The magistrate, Mrs. A.O. Ajibade, agreed to remand the defendant in prison.
The case was adjourned till October 23, 2015 for legal advice.

27 comments:

Nawa ooo see how trouble knock 4 person door....

He must be made to face the full wrath of the law

Hmmmmm. Didn't know that puck was a delicacy for birthday celebrations.

I just pity him. But he killed someone, so he's got to pay for his crime.

Just because of a pig? Anu ezi? Na wa o

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

See wetin pig don cause......btw do ppl still eat pig, oh i forgot the 50naira pork around my lodge is my favorite............ I blame Samuel sha, why didn't he talk a walk, when Houme came claiming that the pig is his, its just simple sense, not like the pig is urs

Rip

All in the name of a pig...na wah!

Rip to the dead .

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

mira cookie said...

This was self defence. Cases the police are suppose 2 take seriously dey won't. Bloody foolz

You see NPF ko? The deceased family said they aren't interested in the case but the police insisted its a govt case.And I'm sure they aren't pursuing it with good intentions. They just wanna milk the poor man dry until he can cry no more then they throw his ass in jail.
If only he has a good lawyer & the money,He could actually walk a free man based on self defense.From all indication he is guilty but only to some extent

Can't we just go a day without hearing about death? without hearing about somebody murdering another?

Act of self defence.

CN U IMAGINE DS??? PIG KWA......TOMJERRYSWIT

What a pity

andre kelvin said...

Shoro niyen

For a pig? Hia!

Bro even if you are on your right before you are wrong now,you've killed someone out of anger,desist from anger it destroys. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Ok but why the Beyonce and Blue Ivy pic nah?

Sweet Ama said...

This story is not just adding up...dis wasn't what I read on miss petite blog. .RIP to the dead

KWEEN said...

Na wa o. Things are really happening.

Just cos of a smelly pig? What a stupid man!

He gets to heaven and God asks him: 'how did you die?' and he goes 'erm I died fighting because of a pig' LOL going to sound very funny.

He's looking so confused

Pork*

Pig wahala..I hate that meat. Linda take biro!

What a pity!