Read Dele Momodu's open letter to Nigeria's First Lady | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 March 2015

Read Dele Momodu's open letter to Nigeria's First Lady

Pendulum by Dele Momodu, published on today's Thisday Newspaper. Read below...
Your Excellency please let me start by emphasising the fact that this is my very first letter to you since destiny elevated you and your husband to the highest positions in Nigeria. It may be the last before your tenure expires on May 29, 2015, and another begins with you or someone else in the saddle. Despite all the controversies engulfing you and your husband, I had resisted the temptation of writing you in the past for several, if not many, reasons. Kindly permit me to expatiate a bit.

I’m a great admirer of strong, confident and energetic women who cannot be bullied by the galaxy of male chauvinists that litter the political landscape of Africa. As someone who was brought up by my amazing mum, Omo Arotiwebiojo, an unlettered woman and petty trader, I knew what it took to survive in a particularly difficult terrain. Indeed, whilst some have impugned you for your so-called lack of command of the English language, I have remained partial to you because, like most of us, English is not your first language, and your contributions have enriched our home-grown lexicon! I can therefore imagine what you and our dear beloved President must have gone through together, in thunder, lightning, rain and sunshine. The hurly-burly of life must have thrown you hither and thither when there was no one else around to share in your secret pain and anguish. But it must have pleased God in His infinite mercy to raise you and your husband up, like Jesus did to a dead Lazarus, as original examples of uncommon transformation.
I must say, Ma, that I have a soft spot for you for other reasons. I was told on good authority that you were a more formidable politician and mobiliser of people and resources than your husband. A few of your friends often regale how you have been a solid pillar and a rock of Gibraltar behind the love of your life, Dr Goodluck Ebele Azikiwe Jonathan. It is said that you’re willing to sacrifice your all for his sake and he has also reciprocated by according you humongous respect and granting you such vast powers that make onlookers see you as a de facto President in your own right. To God be the glory.
I vividly recollect your relationship with the former First Lady, Hajia Turai Yar’Adua. You gave her tremendous respect and your taciturnity was legendary. Not much was heard from you at that time and not many, except probably Bayelsans, ever suspected that you had so much buried inside your heart and that you were only waiting for the opportune time to vomit them. Even in the days of tribulations when the cabal held sway and grabbed our nation by the jugular, you and your husband handled the volatile situation with maturity and remarkable equanimity. Some of us were ready to fight your battle, and risked our lives, because we saw you as the underdogs who must be rescued from the fangs of the political hyenas. We were further emboldened by the facts of your husband’s man-in-the-street story, a fairy-tale of sorts about a man from the Otuoke manger who had no shoes. We were not just titillated but fascinated by such flashes of inspiration.
Against all odds, your husband became the substantive President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of Nigeria after the demise of President Yar’Adua. Nigerians were happy about the smooth transition of power and they even boasted that for the first time we had not just another graduate but a PhD holder as President. Sooner than later, as time sped by, it was time for your husband to run his own race. Nigerians from all walks of life queued behind him and he won without much ado. The goodwill he garnered was awesomely massive and the people were very expectant about the “fresh air” promised by him. Of course, to whom much is given, much is expected.
It is nearly four years since that momentous occasion and it is time for a re-examination and re-election. But what should have been a simple walk-over for your sweetheart seems to have developed k-leg. While your husband and those close to him would want us to believe he is Nigeria’s best President ever, many Nigerians feel he has under-performed and would want to try someone else. I have seen you and your husband waka up and down this nation campaigning like no man’s business. Many have likened the exercise to a student engaging in last minute agberu (memorising) after failing to do so all along.  This is the crux of my epistle to you today.
I have read and heard so much about you as a very powerful First Lady. I know that when you are at that level, not many people can tell you the gospel truth. No one wants to offend those in power. But I have decided to tell you the bitter reality once and for all. I’m not writing out of any malice, since none can exist between us. But for the sake of posterity, which I know beckons as always; the fact must be told to you. The summary of what I’m about to say is that you and your husband have frittered away most of your goodwill. Had you retained your humility in power, may be you could have avoided this commotion and conundrum of trying to achieve in two months what you couldn’t in about five years. You would probably have avoided the tragedy of trying to manipulate the electoral process, buying more time and doing a catch-up on lost grounds.
If the actuality must be told Ma, the whole trouble started the day you publicly ridiculed the Governor of your home state. It was reported that you yanked a microphone out of his hands and lambasted him like a recalcitrant school boy. In order not to cause mayhem right there, the Governor was said to have left you to your tantrums and went home quietly like a penitent student. That day, you sowed the seed of discord that would later germinate and snowball into a consuming fire. Though the Governor and your husband like true gentlemen chose to carry on their damaged relationship as if all was well, but the worst was on the way.
The battle for the soul and control of your state would later spread to Abuja where your husband began to see the Governor as an enemy who must be cut down to size. In the process of trying to achieve that dream, more Governors joined the fray and in a jiffy, the centre could no longer hold. I do not want to go into some obvious details as I’m sure you know about the intrigues of power more than me. But I must give one more example of how you laid the foundation for today’s grand alliance against your husband.
Let me put it this way. Never in the history of Nigeria have I read of a First Lady responding to criticisms in the frontal manner you attacked Professor Wole Soyinka over an issue that you could easily have ignored. That singular act of unrestrained combativeness was one of your worst public relations gaffes. Wole Soyinka is one of those global icons that you can’t take on and win. If for nothing, here was a man who at about 76 years of age trekked under the scorching sun of Abuja to defend the rights of your husband when many of the acolytes around you today were nowhere to be found. You were not supposed to repay such selfless gestures with verbal blows. That was when you finally lost me and I’m sure many others.
Let me remind you that virtually all Nigerian leaders have been disparaged at one time or the other. It is one of the heavy prices to pay in compensation for the privileges of leadership. Just imagine how much some of us attacked President Ibrahim Babangida, Chief Ernest Shonekan, General Sani Abacha and others over the June 12 crisis. None of their wives ever hit back at the critics no matter the degree of provocation. In fact, they acted perfectly normal and even tried to build bridges of friendship instead of bombing the castle. I remember with fond memories, Dr (Mrs) Maryam Ndidi Babangida, who remained graceful to the very end. Mrs Maryam Abacha endured the most blistering attacks against her husband in life and death. She has since reconciled with many of her husband’s vociferous enemies. Hajia Turai Yar’Adua was subjected to virulent criticism by many, and I confess I was one of her knockers in the dying throes of the cabal, but she wisely kept her own counsel and declined to join issues with anyone. When it dawn on her that the battle was lost and won, she packed her baggage out of Aso Rock without as much as a whimper.
If Justice Fati Abubakar was a selfish woman and a poor adviser to her husband, General Abdulsalami Abubakar, she would have insisted that they should not quit power within the one year he promised to hand over to a democratically-elected President. That government had more than enough resources to buy the ubiquitous array of mercenaries but General Abubakar chose to go in peace and not in pieces. It was such a rarity in Africa and till this day the General is still enjoying a standing ovation for his vision.
I must also mention specifically Mrs Stella Obasanjo, whose husband has always had a running battle with the media and yet she maintained steady media frenzy in her own kingdom. She was everyone’s friend and continues to be fondly remembered even in death. I recollect one occasion when we travelled to Beverley Hills, USA, with her, and her simplicity just wowed everyone. She made sure we jumped in the cars and buses and headed out to a night club owned by Don Cornelius. She was so down to earth. On her last trip to Ghana before her unfortunate death, I had gone to pay her a visit at M-Plaza hotel where she and President Obasanjo stayed. Despite my frosty relationship with her husband, we sat in one corner chatting away as the President attended to his own visitors. She never got involved in our endless battles with Baba. I have cited these examples to show that you and your husband are not alone in the barrage of criticisms and attacks. You must rise up way above such pedestal. But sadly, you have not been able to allow any comment pass you by, no matter how mundane.
I decided to write this open letter after the spate of vocal terror you deployed in the last few days against your husband’s opponents. In case some praise-singers told you lies that what you did was right, I wish to assure you that you’ve done almost irreparable damage to your husband’s presidential campaign. I will now proceed to paraphrase about three of those satanic verses that escaped from your tongue this week alone, but not in any particular order.
The first shocker was when you said before a crowd that those shouting the mantra of Change are not serious and that as a matter of fact they should be stoned anywhere they shout Change! I thought it was a joke until the video went viral. The next one was when you spoke dispassionately about how your husband should be praised and thanked for improving the welfare of the menacing Almajiri kids in Northern Nigeria but you then went astray by insensitively and inconsiderately saying that the Northerners are fond of bearing children with reckless abandon and throwing them on the streets to fend for themselves. You went further to say such things don’t happen in the part of Nigeria you come from. I think that wasn’t very nice or tactful.
The last straw for me was when you declared matter-of-factly that your husband’s main challenger, Major General Muhammadu Buhari should not be voted in because he is “brain dead”, according to you. That was extremely malevolent and sinister, to say the least. It is not an elegant language to be used by any lady not to mention the First Lady and certainly not about a former Head of State of the same country that you are governing and from whose citizens you are seeking a second term in office. However, I believe that this may have been an innocent quip. Whilst some may be willing to forgive such naivety, it is essential for you to quickly assure Nigerians that you meant no harm and that despite the ill-feeling and bitterness that politics and electioneering may engender you wish no evil to any man least of all your husband’s leading rival and contender. There is nothing wrong in admitting your mistake of commission or omission. It is actually a sign of strength.
In conclusion, I think you need to offer urgent apologies for those unguarded, unbecoming statements and try to be more circumspect in the future. One of your best appellations that I love most sincerely is that of Mama Peace. Please, don’t change it to Mama War …!
May God continue to bless you and yours.

562 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 562 of 562

Speechless.

Very true sir. It's not good to insult and belittle people.

This letter should have been addressed to her a long time ago... i appreciate the fact that the letter was very constructive... Nice one

lyn said...

Come Linda, what's wrong with you sef? You think you can hold people hostage by withholding your comments and releasing it at your own disposal. What's the essence of posting stories when you don't post comments as at when due. It's annoying. Do something about it. If Saturday is your outing , delegate posting authority to someone else pls.

BY4Mary said...

Thank you Oga Dele, you just sent the bitter truth but am sure it will be difficult for Mrs president to understand it.

True talk

Cliff said...

And so what because she is a public figure is that why this fat belle man is writing all this bullshit to turn people against her GEJ2015 go die Dele my ass

Very interesting write up indeed, but I fear you will be next on her list to be lambasted with satanic verses. The likes of mama peace do not believe any one is wiser than them n therefore, simply cannot take advice from anyone but themselves.

God bless you though.

And so what because she is a public figure is that why this fat belle man is writing all this bullshit to turn people against her GEJ2015 go die Dele my ass

Dele no worry ursef she as already change to Mama war....illiteracy is a serious.....Vote not fight!!

Dele why telling her to apologize, the northerners will surely show her the stuff they are made of

Ah ah uncle dele why have you decided to waste your time and intellect on an illiterate market woman? •long hiss•

A thousand applause to this man. This letter was well thought out, well written, filled with unbiased points and I can only hope that people will read and digest it with a clear, non partisan and unbiased mind.

Chichi said...

There myt be other reasons for this epistle but it is well written and I totally agree with it.

Nyce one! I pray she reads it! She nids to shut up!

Dele momodu should go and rest jare, is UK his home country.

Frustrated man that wanted to be a president but didn't work out for him. APC motivated man die in ur vomit.... GEJ2015

That's diplomacy,

Stupid motherfucker

A word is enough for the wise........
It is so sad that people that our president and CinC respect and hold in high esteem are been publicly embarrassed verbally by madam.Even for nothing else but their age,the first Lady should have restrained herself from such statements and acts of "bragado".She must understand that her position is only temporal and even if voted back,its only for another 4 years which will end before she knows it;Hence l expect her to make peace and build bridges rather being so verbally venomous.Like Dele said,we all make mistakes and it is never too late to apologise and let peace reign.Its not a do or die affair.I wish her the best in the coming election.....God bless Nigeria

Cultural Diagnostician said...

Interesting. Patience Jonathan is neither President nor is she running for the office.

Visit http://thecampaignprofessionals.com/2015-elections/ to participate in the presidential poll. GEJ or GMB?

Perfectly,Well said...she's lost me also and Mr gwomson Gwomson u are just a fool for that statement. the woman has said lots of things she shouldnt say if u are sensible enough u'll understand dis isnt just about Mr Dele wanting power or not. please be wise!!!

Cultural Diagnostician said...

Interesting. Patience Jonathan is neither President nor is she running for the office.

Visit http://thecampaignprofessionals.com/2015-elections/ to participate in the presidential poll. GEJ or GMB?

Jay Simeon said...

Chief Dele Momodu the photographer... This your letter wouldn't have gotten to the First Lady if it wasn't for God sent Linda Ikeji.. Thanks to Linda.. You've spoken well in Pete Edochie's voice but let me remind you that it's almost a wasted time writing that letter based on who it's being directed to. Madam Patience Jona is someone who is always right.. Even when she's wrong. Our President would've won this election quietly without going through huddles if Patience has taken her course.. she don shit full church.. This letter won't change anything about her.. Before you wrote this, Some persons must've told her how she's been messing up.. But she's recalcitrant and wouldn't listen.. There's difference between a child that knows that his parent are rich than a child who the parent told they are rich.. Patient Jona is always reminded of her position by those followers of hers whom are seeking for help in one way or the other. so, she its intoxicate her whenever she's in public.. Imagin someone who's been in the creek finding her self in the limelight without undergoing difficulties.. Imagin the husband who had no shoes, talk herself without high heels.. now that she's rocking presidential akpola (old skool wedge). I can bet you that that woman sometimes don't recall that she's a mother and that people are watching and hoping on her to behave proper and sound sane. I think this letter would've made more sense if you had written it the next day she insulted Buhari..that was absurd though.. Moreover, it's obvious that whatever words she must've used during campaign is basically for campaign purposes.. it's just a way of shading off the opponent and making the voters have more reason not to vote the opponent.. We don't need more letters. We need prayers that God should help our country and rescue Nigeria from the hands of these self centered and greedy politicians of our time. In other news, I'm not in support of The First Lady for using such words. Chief Dele Momodu, please kindly continue with your Ovation Magazine and give less time to Presidential race because your products are few in the market right now. You were once my motivation till you diverted your attention by trying to become the President of Nigeria.. Thank you for you're far too kind by writing the First Lady through Linda.. Linda na you and Dele carry una self come? These letters you people are writing, diaris God ooo

Eric,you re wrong, the voice of the Yorubas were aloud and that's why most of the political prisoners at that time were the Yorubas ,most opposition on exiles were Yorubas,the NADECCO and Afeniferere,even Yoruba musician such as late Barrister slightly escape state assassination, the letter is factual

Buhari didn't say that. Get your facts right

Hmmmmm BOB DEEEEE.....

Oooh, you conveniently forgot Obasanjo. So who is d lair. And yes abacha & ibb were insulted, we just didn't have the likes of Facebook & Twitter then.

readn peoples comment and i wonder if sm ppl have sense. Gej and his admin are always going to be criticized but for the 1st lady to run her mouth dis way is totally wrong...for fuck sake she's d 1st lady. mitchel obama doesnt do dat.

I took my time reading this letter.. you have spoken well sir, may God bless you too.

Who's this baga? Isn't once enough for you to post this jacked up message must you type it ten other times? Imbecile

Tolu yes! freedom of speech is part of our rights ...what about the freedom after speech

Abeg u just need to click publish once. Correction I love her like that

Speak for your self punk....don't be this foolish.you can be Someone's father

Chidinma said...

Very professional way of expressing am opinion. No personal attacks.You guys need to read this write-up to see how you can make someone fall for you or like you just by the way you hug them. Click here to read the priceless tips.

Mr Momodu,

First, I am ashamed to read that you admired Stella and one of the "memorable" things she did to accommodate all is take y'all to a club in LA and ensure that you all got into vehicles. At your grey age. That should have been you and Stella's best kept secret since she has unfortunately taken this memory with her to the grave. Now, I admire how you have eloquently portrayed your support for empowered females. But may I point out that in the same breath you share an utter disdain for the manifestation of such a trait? You love the fact that she expresses and utilizes her independence as a human, yet you want this very independence to be expressed depending on outcomes for her husband, even if she is exercising her right as a human to make an observation, no matter how ill-informed. You want her to talk. Only, she should not talk when it concerns elections. Maybe you want her to talk about meals and sex and weddings and church women’s meetings? Or may be Don Cornelius club or whatever is the place for old people to be now?
When then can Citizen Pashay talk if no be election time? Citizen Pashay seems to have lost all her rights as a member of the Nigerian electorate because she is married to Uncle Jonah who is vying for presidency. Since when did that one take root in Nigeria? Do you know it is VERY OKAY for Patience to be a member of APC and vote along APC lines while married to a PDP candidate if they are able to separate their marriage from their political beliefs, i.e., if we exist in a truly democratic society? Do you know it is okay for a spouse to say I trust you in bed only but when it comes to the future of this country and managing people’s lives, I trust someone else? What I am trying to point out to you is that Patience can go as far as signing up for APC or some other party in Nigeria and it should not irk you Dele. If Pashay has equal rights and the right to speech, even though her speech may offend you, she should be able to say whatever she wants in a way she knows to. Since your mom was unlettered, you should know that the language of broken English cannot be translated literally to Queen's English. Broken English is figurative in every way possible. If someone wants to, for example, tell you that your note is unwise, they will say "you be mumu" in a way that directs the message so that it seems like a personal insult. You have to understand the language to know that the person is speaking not about your individual but about your work of art, which they think is unwise. Patience thinks Buhari's brain is tired and dead due to old age. Why are you aggrieved? Is it not true that many old people are senile? Is it not true that senility starts manifesting in the seventies? Is it not true that people in their seventies are not as strong as younger people? We are talking general consensus here. So why is everyone choosing to misinterpret her? So even if she said he is brain dead, can you a literary person not see that that is figurative speech? Abi your Nigerian superstitious nature was conjured and you are saying she should take it back so that he does not suffer real brain death?

Letter to Mr Momodu continued:

Puhleesee!!! For the first time in Nigeria, everyone has the liberty to say what the hell they want and they are exercising that new found freedom. Patience MUST NOT be exempt because she is [drumroll] married to someone. Hell No! May no woman ever lose her voice because she is married to someone. May every woman never have to morph into something she is not because she married someone. Marriage is a blessing not a curse. Patience is in a good marriage that allows her to be who she is. Whether it scrapes under our skin does not matter. She has FREEDOM that is unprecedented and I say to her “keep it rolling.” Now if you really wanted to make nonsense of what she said, what you and other APC icons coulda done is to say "Thank God medical practice is not in the hands of common men and there is a definite way to diagnose brain death. Clearly Patience is not aware of this." Then you move on and make her comment a joke AND KEEP MOVING ON. Ah, dont pick a fight with women unless you are gay. You will lose, no matter what.

And I was thinking BUHARI supporters were the naive ones on here...😞 *heartbrake*

Yea, he too fucking stupid....am surprised people think like this

Yes, it is as long as u re not violating other people's right. How will u feel if u were to be seeking employment in a big coy and someone u knw says he knws u to be brain dead that u won't be fit for the job..... I guess to u, that will be freedom of speech

The title of mama peace should be withdrawn immediately She is not a good example

This fatoki nigga has no brain..

What is this one blabbing about...lol.people are foolish sha o,since this is all you grabed from the writeup...Did u realize most names you mentioned there are from the south.apparently change is off the order....to be sincere you are a highly confused man

Dele I just pity your live.say anything you like but after March 28th one that your filthy mouth.GEj has kept quiet especially on all display names Apc call him and the wife.All of you will see where you ll end up.your looking for a ministerial post abi.we all know that.stupid man .the so called ovation never took you anywhere.aturu ocha.who the hell are you.mad Animal. GOD PUNISH THAT YOUR DIRTY STINKING MOUTH.onu ikputu,pig,Ezi bida.who are you writing that letter to. BEAST!

Richard Afon Yinka said...

This letter make sense. Kudos SIR.

Mrs Patience Jonathan you have no kids of yours, so you don't know how mothers feel. Continue to talk rubbish. Secondly, you don't know your parents you were brought up by foster parents, you don't know what elderly people look like in your family neither have you seen pictures of elders. Continue to insult elders. Tomorrow you will speak to children to always respect the elders. Continue

Mrs Patience Jonathan hear yourself speak my fellow widower, who is brain dead. Don't let me hear you speak nonsense again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Linda I really don't get you most times...I know i could get a lil too complicated and advanced for your business sometimes,but I mean my comment on this very post was just fine...not like It matters but it's just unjust to post only your so called loyalists.we all can't go naked on here....we started it here as anonymous,what has suddenly gon so wrong with anonymous,imagine this young man here having over six chances to write same nonsense n I don't even one....oh I don't want to believe all this for accountability* Look it's a blog,people are open to share their views,if you hold mine down Sister you are the real Hater lol

lucybings amebo said...

I totally agree wit u.

Mama Piss your potty don full

Stone them. Brain dead. Northerner and their almanjiri children. ....huuñn. ..not ladylike

Leave Change out of this you foolish Mallam....he did not write this for you,don't forget that please

true talk. change we want

well articulated letter

Ur write up is contradicting itself. U said he didnt write b4 election nd all dis is coming up bcos of campaign and dsame election again. If obama's daughters misbehave in public, i am sure most citizens will talk about them. Its just a simple advice and its not violent. So wot u saying? illegal immigrants be like " this shit can't hapen here in d US". Get urself a life.

Lol desperate Nigerian wives na juju get them,I must control my household.the woman is something else,sometimes when I look at her I wonder what the president was doing letting her run campaigns,First Ladies organize programs and enlighten people,not call our football team,Big Eagle and Baby Eagle in public...I say dump this woman and you have my family votes,take your beautiful,intelligent hidden wife Sir.I beg you.Comfortably living with a woman like that officially tells a lot about you...all she would ever understand about government is Power,garri,egusi,Jeepu,Wrapper,Golodu,Madam,Sirdam,fish,goat meat,Mirrion dollar.meetings and depression.#teamdroptherascalFirstlady

You shall know the truth and the truth shall set u free. I know d truth is bitter, but please swallow it for once. It doesnt kill.

Okowright Balaxy said...

All this long biased and meaningless letter because APC has promised to make him minister of information if that devil of Buhari wins. Sorry man,your pot belly is probably deceiving you. Other past first ladies are kitchen first ladies that's why they were relegated to the kitchen. Mama peace believes in given voice to the women, the days of women been voiceless should be over. Women are humans too and should not be treated like they don't matter. Every reasonable Nigerian woman/girl child should be wise not to vote Buhari,because some of his agender include banning of women from holding public office, legalising of under age marriage(making the marriageable age 12years and above). Spreading sharia all over Nigeria. Taking Nigeria back to the analogue age, abolishing of the freedom of information(speech) bill amongst other evil plans. Nigerians be wise, all the Boko Haram saga is been sponsored by Buhari and APC in other for them to deceive Nigerians into believing the have the power to bring peace in the country. Have ever wondered why APC has never released a press statement to commend the military in their recent victory over Boko Haram? The answer is simple,APC are not happy Boko Haram is coming to an end,they celebrate Boko Haram bombing but never celebrate the military victory. Be wise Nigerians,especially the youths. Think about a Nigeria under Buhari in the 21st century,most of you youths shouting change will end up in prison because no one will dare criticise him and go free. GEJ till 2019!

Da Fuck is wrong with most LIBERS? Y'al gotta cultivate the habit of reading as it is the sure way 2 gain knowledge n intelligence. Ask Linda.

How do u mean the same? You mean he attacks anyone that say anything about him, abi is he doing his work wrongly or na wetin u mean ode

If Buhari (APC) says same, PDP will put it on AIT and NTA as campaign advert. I won't blame them since they have nothing reasonable to show

U don't need glasses to see intelligence. Mama Peace in deed

shebi she be pdp bull dog,abeg put her in the ring with ronda rousey (best female MMA pound4pound champion!!!

Nice! This is the first neutral writer/speaker since this election saga started. My first lady, I no you can defend your actions as stated in this letter, but for the sake of peace and humility to your people, apologise to us and make the hatters of democracy & nigeria speechless.

Good word!U r blessed Anonymous.

Information said...

HumMmmmmmmmmm! This world is evil, if you love yourself, don't be in support and do be against, always stay at the middle, so that nobody will embarase u. http://tinyurl.com/mmdfa4w

Nkechi J. said...

People like you are why leaders don't take correction. This man I don't know him from Adam, but anyone with half a brain knows his telling the truth. And he never mentioned support for Buhari. The truth is the Jonathan's have lost a lot of favor and a lot is becos of this woman. After all Buhari have been running for this position for the third time now. Ask yourself, what changed this time around?

Nkechi J. said...

In other words, you know nothing about American politics. Do you know how many names and words that have been used to describe the Obama's. The reason people reacted about the kids issue is that in American election, kids are off limits. Everyone else is fair game.
So girl get it right!

Not too bad.

I agree with you completely

Nkechi J. said...

Some people here clearly miss the point entirely. Do you act like a fool because your opponent is a fool? Buhari is not the one that is in the fight of his life, Buhari didn't loss favor because his wife can't control herself. You people shouldn't make everything political, something's are just simply truth. If GEJ didn't step on some major toes, this election would've been like the last, Buhari will run and loss with zero or no one support. Don't forget this is the third consecutive time Buhari is running for this position. Irrespective of your alliance, you should be able to call truth truth. And if you really want GEJ in the office for 4 more years, Dame Patience Jonathan has some serious bridges to mend.
#fact

Very well said but he should ve written it in "PIDGIN LANGUAGE" lol. I don't think she would understand all these big VOCABULARIES. Maybe u should also get her an OXFORD DICTIONARY. lol

Linda please, is high time u upgrade ur blog, so we can have playing recording audio app, something like this letter is too long to read and is also a waste of time to, with the help of audio application, we can just play and listen, instead of read a long bible called letter.... i dont have such time to read such long tin... thanks

Nkechi J. said...

Some people here miss the point entirely. Do you act like a fool because your opponent is a fool? Buhari is not the one that is in the fight of his life, Buhari didn't loss favor because his wife can't control herself. You people shouldn't make everything political, something's are just simply truth. If GEJ didn't not step on some major toes, this election would've been like the last, Buhari will run and loss with little or no one support. Don't forget this is the third consecutive time Buhari is running for this position. Irrespective of your alliance, you should be able to call truth truth. And if you really want GEJ in the office for 4 more years, Dame Patience Jonathan has some serious bridges to mend.
#fact

That's because Obama's wife is well cultured and does not reply foolishly. She can never be in Patience's shoes.

Mr. Dele, pls stop playing amplifier 4 one's little misgivings. Man, if we open your wardrope, you have cockroaches else, u wud have been SAINT Dele... U're just trying to blackmail d First Lady 2 Gain cheap congregation. HIPOCRITE.!

Dele giwa sorry Dele momodu or wat ever u call urself, if u werent sponsored, why didnt write to her (the First Lady) privately b4 this public blackmail. U'll soon reap wat u hav sown. Someone, some where will display you weaknesses b4 d Whole world. Let's watch...

Humphrey said...

Brainless igbo gal

Your English will kill me one day.

Hmmmmmmmm like your bravo man you just gave her polite insult hope she change for better

Linda I wonder what u gain by posting some comments and leaving others. Ur own is jast too much abeg. If u like, swallow dis wan. Or until I add "Linda take not or Linda observe" before u post my comment.

Thank you Nkechi at least some of us still know the truth #PGEJ2015

The old pot belly retard is fighting so hard to remain relevant especially with the poor sales of his already dead Ovation mag... and to think his best way of resuscitation and staying relevant is by attacking the 1st Lady of the Nation?.. #Saboteur

Bros. Dee

Campaign strategy for APC by Dele Momodu
PGEJ till 2019

Well said Dele! I hope our dear Mummy will take note nd apologize. Then, learn to think before talking. Peace!!!

Many thanks to Publisher Dele Momodu, for this long but eye opening piece!

I am one of the many Nigerians being hurt on daily basis because of several un-presidential comments from our dear President, whom I still regard as a gentleman save for the bad influence from the evil cabal he has entrusted with his Executive Office.

As a matter of fact, the First lady, Mama Peace, has proven to Nigerians that matrimonially, she is the lord over her husband /home and further have done more harm than good to the President, the Presidency and Nigerians.

An apology by her and total avoidance of confrontations with opponents or critics of her husband's reign is highly desirable at this politically tensed period.

God bless Nigeria and ensure peace reigns onwards.

I am so ashamed of the first lady of my country. What a waste of office...

Patience Jonathan suppose to be a role model in this country. Being the first lady I think people should emulate her.she have programme that called women for change, I think she is campaigning for his husband on this platform, now what do you want the women to change for.good to bad and bad to worst.she is not a role model at all.a woman suppose to be the salt of life, but she is on a way round, even if she is the husband at home I think this is a case of a whole country called nigeria, not an organisation,.somebody that doesn't have respect for others should expect insult.madam should learn how to talk or shot up her mouth.i think buhari is a nigerian and have ever right to contest , so let madam keep quiet and give peace a chance. We don't want war in this election.

Hmmmmm BOB DEEEEE

Soooo true!!!! Sigh she throw trantrumS wen she damn please like she answers to no1 Buh hersef!!!

Because u live with them! Mr. Notice
Busy body

But not d First Lady! U would never hear Mrs. Buhari talk so carelessly.....

Dele Momodu may seven thunders strike you down. olishi u think we nigerians are stupid ..your father there. all of you wine and dine together in the night then in the morning you come and write rubbish for us feast on while you people steal our money. na ogun go kill you sir lmao!

Any1 who sees notin wrong in all pat has done in d last 2wks,or dat faults mohmodu for saying d truth is brain dead.

Dear Momodu, kindly add 2face to your name.

Well said, good to know we still have some good critics in this part of the world.

U r a fool.i watched dat rally live on tv n was rilly shocked wen she said dat about d northerners n dats wen I realised we hav a clueless n insane woman as a 1st lady.

What this current government of GEJ lacks so much is the wisdom of God. How can a First Lady be so reckly in her speech like these? Thank u for a well articulated open letter Mr. Dele. U shown a group at deal of light.

Its funny how pips dont read and just rain abuses. Linda its better not to post rubbish from clueless pips

COol

Nkechi J. said...

Because she has literally gotten worse with this whole election madness. With her last diarrhea of the mouth, instead of her aids and PDP cautioning her, they came out to support her as if she displayed some admirable act carrying on the way she is.

Hmmmmm, well written. I pray she listen.

ACE said...

A really nice piece, I must say but some of the comments above simply shocks me. But then again Literacy isn't accessible to all, the only thing y'all expecting to see on the blog is fashion trends and some infidels influencing your thinking.... to bad.
Again nice piece Dele and beautiful Post Linda

Dele trout mouth is an idiat.a failed human servial pig to thiefnubu.the funny thing is that Nigerians find it offensive when a bold woman defends herself.running from pillar to pillar .stone age mentality and mob frenzy is what is leading to all this comments.let APC lead by example by starting the apologising.they have made some atrocious utterances

You're very dumb. So to you, nothing is right or wrong, it just depends on who is doing/saying it? Shame unto you. You must have drunk the same water as the Jonathans cos this is exactly how they think.

Patience Jonathan is a disgrace to all women.

Did u even read the piece????

I was gon react to ur saying dt he spoke the mind of many Nigerians but then I equally saw where u said u never heard of him, then I smh! Sad

All these idiots that come to the net to display their stupidity. If you can't read a letter this "long" Pls shut up. It's not mandatory to make a comment.

So u fink as an African man,its a gud fin dt ur wife speaks fr u??????

Buhari can't put him in jail, it is not a military era.

U b oloodooo,whats is there that can not read

Hehehehe @shepopotemous, don't kill some1 with laughter abeg

#abbytohxoft

Well said. A wonderful piece.

Iphy said...

Well said

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

Sandra Uzor have you ever heard or read about Obama's wife ranting or replying her husband's critics? Don't say what you don't know. America is a free country.

Esther said...

AN OPEN LETTER TO DELE MOMODU
I really don't usually comment but I have to in this case....... I hope Mr Momodu reads this...... Firstly I suspect this is letter is political and you will be rewarded by who so ever you want to notice you.... Maybe a you need a post or something.... you might get it. Because I know that if you truly care, you would have made it known to her, quietly, but this OPEN LETTER is part of THE GAME. Then about our first Lady.... I think she is just being her true self... let us all be honest, she did exactly how she felt inside without any pretense.... we all will feel d same when someone hurts our feelings....How we will react will be determined by our temperament and decisions. So it is either u choose to let it out or fake like everything is fine.....THIS IS DEMOCRACY. All those other women you mention trust me will say worse things in close doors, swear and curse in the most unpleasant manner at the person that hurt their feelings, but they will do this behind closed doors or in their heart... they are only PLAYING A GAME. Fake!!! You just called politics a game or permit me to say you just advised women and everyone to play politics as a DIRTY GAME.... Mind the lives of the citizens who are human and not toys, are at stake here, it should be a GAME. Our current first lady acted without pretense. I admire her courage to say how she truly feels. Are you an opposition to feminism?? Because she is a woman, she is not suppose to fight. Abeg make I see road. I respect the fact that she stood by her husband and irrespective of her imperfections she is always standing up and expressing her true feelings although sometimes she is misunderstood because she can't put her tenses right, if only she uses her diction well all what she has been saying would have MADE SENSE. Nobody is perfect. Some people will say if she can't speak good English, she shouldn't speak at all, these are d same people that will criticize her as being too quiet and ineffective. Rather that seeing her shortcomings why not people looking into their lives and see the areas that they are not doing well and decide not to make it a barrier to their success.
Back to you Dele, in this letter you called her SELFISH. But because of your good command in English, it looks almost unnoticed. So why not write an apology letter to her. Stop deceiving yourself, in most of the things she say wrongly they can be put politely if only she uses the right tenses.... you of all people should know this.... but as usual... people like u will pretend like they don't understand what she is trying to say.
Well I respect the fact that she got where she is today without any too much much notice me and despite her background and IQ, not everybody was raised with silver spoon or was sent to the best schools.... I like the fact that she is strong and not pretentious. Everybody has different temperaments and she has truly shown hers.... She chose to speak her mind period!!! Dele Momodu write a true open letter to yourself true self... about the things you wish you could say in public that you kept back and pretended that all is well.... write an open letter about all the fake games other women or people play all in the name of politics....Write an open letter about all the people you have cursed in your heart and in closed doors and smiled with them when u see them...... and you will see that nobody is perfect.

Kulikuli said...

Some FACTS: 1) Osinbade instead of Osibanjo. 2) Ibo State instead of Imo State 3)All People's Confidence instead of All people's Congress(APC?!!!). These are from Buhari's mouth. The brain is a complex combination of chemical and electrical reactions. In a country with 17million sharp sharp human beings we need a brain that is not short circuiting to lead. Mama Peace is guilty of being married to a man who believes in women's voices, who gave her the voice to call a spade a spade, educated or not. This is 21st century Dele. Men who do not muzzle their wives are winners. Not Mumu. Ask Bill Clinton.

Kulikuli said...

Some FACTS: 1) Osinbade instead of Osibanjo. 2) Ibo State instead of Imo State 3)All People's Confidence instead of All people's Congress(APC?!!!). These are from Buhari's mouth. The brain is a complex combination of chemical and electrical reactions. In a country with 17million sharp sharp human beings we need a brain that is not short circuiting to lead. Mama Peace is guilty of being married to a man who believes in women's voices, who gave her the voice to call a spade a spade, educated or not. This is 21st century Dele. Men who do not muzzle their wives are winners. Not Mumu. Ask Bill Clinton.

Kulikuli said...

Some FACTS: 1) Osinbade instead of Osibanjo. 2) Ibo State instead of Imo State 3)All People's Confidence instead of All people's Congress(APC?!!!). These are from Buhari's mouth. The brain is a complex combination of chemical and electrical reactions. In a country with 170million sharp sharp human beings we need a brain that is not short circuiting to lead. Mama Peace is guilty of being married to a man who believes in women's voices, who gave her the voice to call a spade a spade, educated or not. This is 21st century Dele. Men who do not muzzle their wives are winners. Not Mumu. Ask Bill Clinton.

Kulikuli said...

Some FACTS: 1) Osinbade instead of Osibanjo. 2) Ibo State instead of Imo State 3)All People's Confidence instead of All people's Congress(APC?!!!). These are from Buhari's mouth. The brain is a complex combination of chemical and electrical reactions. In a country with 170million sharp sharp human beings we need a brain that is not short circuiting to lead. Mama Peace is guilty of being married to a man who believes in women's voices, who gave her the voice to call a spade a spade, educated or not. This is 21st century Dele. Men who do not muzzle their wives are winners. Not Mumu. Ask Bill Clinton.

Kulikuli said...

Nneka said...

OMG, I was just laughing throughout this write up. I love you Dele Momodu. I like the subtle way you put these bitter truth to Madam Patience. Truth is Nigerians are tired of this directionless, inefficient and corruption Madden government of GEJ and we yearn for #Change we cannot continue like this. Unfortunately she she is not making things any easier for her husband. I hope she learns ( a little too late though). #GMB 2015

You mean you don't know Bashorun Dele Momodu? Ovation magazine publisher? One time contested for the number one seat? How old are you little girl?

Crude woman that's it. Lacks pedigree. Nigerians which way now???

This person is simply a Global embarrassment to all Nigerians with a weakling of a husband. No one can imagine her holding down a talk with Michelle Obama. To have this as a First Lady. It's laughabe. So unreal.

Most Nigerians mortgage their lives and their children's future for 5kg bag of rice and a tuber of yam. So, people like these have the chance to rise to a position of power. What a crude woman. When will Nigerians wake up from thier deep slumber?????????????????????????

Mr Momodu. Eloquently put. Well done sir.

Information said...

Nah them sabi ooooo! http://tinyurl.com/pfgxd4d

@juliet iwuno you couldn't read through cos you're daft and can't read like mama war oponu aye radarada Oshi.

#smh - clearly shows that GEJ can't even caution the wife let alone corrupt people around him.

No major hospital built in 6 years? They all are going abroad for head ache and even smaller health issues.

SAI BUHARI

Mr Dele Momodu, u might be right all the way, but why don't u be fair, u are castigating our first lady and u refuse to advice GMB on his statement too, call other political parties mushroom is degrading, if truly gmb has regard for d he wants to lead, he would not have used such word cos these parties are made up of party of the people he's asking for their vote. Again u are also guilty of d same offense u are accusing mama p of cos all I can make out of what u wrote is insults and u have also succeeded in instigation other Nigerian thru ur letter to insult ur country's first lady. Too bad. Remember what goes round come round. Pls if u really love Nigeria, think b4 u write anything concerning d leader. We no u are a journalist and u have a very good command of English, abeg save for the right time and occasion.

That kind of grammar is too big for mama patience, I doubt if she can read a line.deres God oooo

Thumb up Mr Dele Momodu. I hope she hear . Risigreat@yahoo.com

Mee said...

Good stuff happening here

Very interesting that u don't know Baba D o...have u read Ovation Magazine?

U b fool! It is disrespectful people like u dat encourage the lawlessness and impunity that has taken ova d land. Its not about politics but about regard for fellow human beings. Dats wat our culture preaches!

Would Obama's Daughter or wife call his Opponent "BRAIN DEAD" ish?

Badoski said...

very well written Dele. I thhink other caustic media people take a cue and learn how to pass a message without being insultive. Do you notice a lot of people have complained that the piece is too long? Thats the crop of youths we have today. Thats the real reason why a lot of them remain unemployable!

well said...jus hope mama peace would get the message loud and clear

Jewelry Queen said...

Please this man should go and sleep. We Nigerians are not stupid. As for me, instead of Buhari to rule, GEJ should continue, at least he is working and we can see, no matter how little. Then come 2019 a new government comes in, not APC, PDP, DEFINITELY NOT BUHARI, an entirely new system, free of radicals, gosh what's the difference with the two parties, this group was angry cos they weren't being served equal ration of the National cake, hence APC! Oga Dele, I repeat o, We Nigerians aren't FOOLS, If u are, we are not. KPONKWEM! CAPICHE! SEFINI!

Jewelry Queen said...

Please this man should go and sleep. We Nigerians are not stupid. As for me, instead of Buhari to rule, GEJ should continue, at least he is working and we can see, no matter how little. Then come 2019 a new government comes in, not APC, PDP, DEFINITELY NOT BUHARI, an entirely new system, free of radicals, gosh what's the difference with the two parties, this group was angry cos they weren't being served equal ration of the National cake, hence APC! Oga Dele, I repeat o, We Nigerians aren't FOOLS, If u are, we are not. KPONKWEM! CAPICHE! SEFINI!

Jewelry Queen said...

Anyone with a negative comment here has clearly not taken out time to read the post. Nigerians dont have reading culture so the truth can be hidden in pieces like this. Ignore Dele's person and address the content of this letter. God bless you for reaching out to Mr Presidents major problem.

some ppl sha, y dnt u c @least 1 truth in all dah he sed b4 askn im f his own evil deeds, lyk u sed no1 z perfecto,so lets deal wf mama peace @ d moment b4 faln bk on his own....wel Dele Momodu i ril agree wf u in all u've sed, my advice 4 ha z 2 jes handle tins wf care
#madeofblack

Dele, if you really want to advise Mama peace, You would have explored a means of handing her this letter instead of making it 'open' . You just want to ridicule Her. thank God for freedom of speech.

cheeeed

Momodu in my dialet is mumu,u ar like ur name, behavin like ur name, fat like ur name also Tink like ur name, wy not go quietly to her as a good Nigerian, u want to scatter dis country u want to bring war, I return it bak to ur family as they wil neva hav peace from nw, u want to lay evil in there both heart wicked fool u tink u ar doin d right tin.

well written, only if she understands the content and everyword in this letter. she shuld just go plsss, she has done enough.

Either APC or PDP, every position has its own ethics and decorum. For a sensitive position like that, you need to choose your words carefully because it is not about you any longer but the whole populace. Wish all public figures understand that.

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 562 of 562   Newer› Newest»