Touching! Son of Nigerian billionaire donates kidney to Israeli girl! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 March 2015

Touching! Son of Nigerian billionaire donates kidney to Israeli girl!

The son of Nigerian billionaire Ladi Jadesimi donated his kidney to an Israeli girl named Omaima Halabi he'd never met! Found the story on Jerusalem Post. Read below...
A black-hatted rabbi, a white-hatted Muslim elder and a black Christian pastor attend a Christmas celebration in a Druse village. This is not the first line of a joke, but a celebration of a gift of life.
When Smith Jadesimi, a tall and athletic 25-year old from Nigeria, first approached his country’s Israeli Embassy in Abuja about his desire to donate a kidney to an Israeli, he was politely but firmly turned away.

Likewise, the organization that facilitates kidney transplants in Israel told him no; at least one Israeli hospital refused him, too.

Jadesimi was undaunted. A man of deep faith, he knew he was supposed to donate a kidney to an Israeli, and that it would happen.

Rabbi Yeshayahu Heber was among those who rejected Jadesimi. Although Heber himself was a kidney recipient and the founding chairman of Matnat Chaim – Hebrew for Gift of Life, an organization that desperately seeks organ donors – he assumed Jadesimi was seeking a way into Israel as a foreign worker, like many other Africans. Said Heber, “We don’t want [those who have fallen on hard times] and want to donate their kidneys for money; we’re only seeking altruistic donations.”

Heber, a full-bodied man with a salt-and-pepper beard, has just celebrated his 50th birthday; he reached this milestone thanks of the generosity of a kidney donor. When he was in his early 40s, working as a high-ranking educator in two prominent religious academies with more than 1,000 students, he suddenly lost the ability to bound up the stairs. His kidneys had failed, and his life now centered around dialysis.

At the Jerusalem hospital where he received treatment, there was a younger kidney patient named Pinhas Turgeman, whose brother had been killed fighting in Lebanon. The two men studied Torah together through the long hours, as the dialysis machines filtered their blood. When Heber received a kidney transplant, he assured Turgeman he’d be next. But Turgeman died of a heart attack related to his disease before the rabbi could find him a donor.

Turgeman’s parents had lost their only two sons; Heber, too, was devastated. “On that day, the second day of Adar at 7:05 a.m., when I heard the news, Matnat Chaim was born,” recounted Heber. Seven years later, 186 men, women and children have received kidneys through the organization.

The first letter from Jadesimi in Nigeria arrived on September 14, 2013. Despite his initial rejection, Jadesimi kept writing. He eventually convinced Heber that he was for real. He was ready to undergo medical tests for suitability in a Nigerian hospital – and he passed them all.

“The rabbi changed his mind about me, but there was still the Israeli Embassy to convince about a visa,” recalled Jadesimi.

I met Jadesimi at a Jerusalem hostel for children who have come to Israel for heart surgery. He is volunteering there until he returns to Nigeria.

Jadesimi was born in 1987 into a large, prosperous and highly educated family, residing in the oil-rich Delta State (population four million) of Nigeria. After public school, he graduated from the University of Pretoria in South Africa and holds two master’s degrees, one in statistics and another in computer engineering.

“Our parents read the Bible with us every morning,” he says. “They stressed the value of love. You can believe in something, obey the commandments, keep the Sabbath holy, but love is the greatest motivator. If you really love, you won’t steal or covet your neighbor’s wife.”

His parents attended an Anglican church, but Jadesimi preferred a more evangelical approach and joined the Lagos branch of the Synagogue Church of All Nations, which he says has literally millions of members.

He became a lay pastor there. Staying at a friend’s home while in Lagos, he began importing fish from Scandinavia and Indonesia to give to 100 women, market fishmongers who could make a living peddling them. He gave away 70 percent of his income, not only in Nigeria, but also to those in the Philippines and Haiti, to Christians in Syria and to rebuild Gaza.

The Middle East seemed to him to be the most troubled; he googled “People who need help” and Matnat Chaim came up. He read about the kidney donation program and checked the reputedly low risk for the donor, first with a friend studying medicine and then with a veteran physician. “I told him I was trying to convince a friend not to donate his kidney and needed good arguments.”

The odds seemed favorable for a young, non-smoking, non-drinking footballer like him.

“I figured that God isn’t a fool to give us two kidneys if we only need one, so we’re supposed to give one away to the needy,” he said. “Love isn’t just in your heart, you have to do something to show you love others. And not just someone you know, not selfish, someone beyond your circle. If you have $10 billion and a kidney problem, all of your money can’t solve the problem – only a donor can.”

When Heber’s letter to the embassy didn’t open the door, the rabbi applied to the Interior Ministry on behalf of Jadesimi. Half a year passed before a tourist visa was issued; another month went by before the visa was stamped in Nigeria.

At last, he got permission to fly to Israel. The transplant would take place in Haifa. He underwent additional medical tests, examinations, a first-ever session with a psychiatrist and another with a social worker.

“After I drew pictures for the psychiatrists, a committee including professors grilled me about why I wanted to come; I explained how God had sent me.”

He had to return to Nigeria for an important business appointment in June 2014. He was assured he’d hear within three weeks.

At last, at the end of September 2014, four months later, he received word that he’d passed inspection. Was he angry at the delays? “Love means being patient and not expressing yourself in anger,” affirms Jadesimi.

Now, he had to tell his parents. How did they take it? “They didn’t like the idea, to put it mildly. They said I was unmarried and had no children, that I shouldn’t take such a risk. I spoke about the advanced medicine in Israel. They relented, figuring they’d kill my spirit if they stood in the way. We all prayed together for success.”

Two years after beginning his quest to give away a kidney to an Israeli, Jadesimi was accepted. His only stipulation about the recipient was that he or she be a young person around his age.

The recipient, he learned, would be Omaima Halabi, 21, a recently graduated law student from the Druse town of Daliat al-Carmel outside Haifa. Jadesimi had never heard of the Druse.

The surgery was arranged for December 18 at Haifa’s Rambam Medical Center.

“I wasn’t afraid; It was a mission with God on my side. I had peace of heart.”

He met Halabi, a pretty young woman with shoulder- length dark hair parted in the middle. He was amazed that he’d be able to give her another chance at a normal life. She’d already been suffering from kidney failure for a year and a half, and had a bleak future without a kidney.

Omaima’s father, educator Farah Halabi, heard about the rabbi from the Har Nof neighborhood of Jerusalem and his kidney-donating organization from the hospital staff where his daughter was being treated.

He contacted Heber.

On the day of the surgery, Christian prayers were offered in Nigeria, Jewish prayers in Jerusalem, and Druse prayers in Haifa. “We were all praying for the same thing,” noted Heber.

The surgeons detached and removed Halabi’s kidney, replacing it with one of Jadesimi’s. They connected the tubes and voila… the kidney started to work.

Jadesimi says he felt pretty good after the surgery, and was eager to leave the hospital so he could observe Christmas.

Farah Halabi, Omaima’s dad, offered Jadesimi a ride to the Basilica of the Annunciation in Nazareth.

“I had to be careful of the stitches and couldn’t kneel after the surgery,” says Jadesimi. Halabi had a word with the priest. “I was given a VIP seat,” recounts Jadesimi. “Imagine, a VIP seat in Nazareth.”

Heber doesn’t allow payment or even extravagant gifts to donors, but he approved of the Halabi family’s offer to make a “Christmas” thanksgiving dinner.

They’d do it Druse-style, with grilled meat and abundant salads. The mayor of Daliat al-Carmel would be there, the Druse elders, relatives and Rabbi Heber, too.

A packaged meal from the religious kibbutz Nir Etzion was ordered for him.

“I’m so grateful – to my donor Smith Jadesimi, to my family, to Rabbi Heber,” said Omaima Halabi at the feast. “This was certainly arranged in heaven.”

No one in the room argued.

195 comments:

God bless him. :) lindaobserve

Story too long. And na lie, the babe na immm girlfriend. Make we hear words!

kk

Really touching
What a sacrifice!
So they're good people like this in this world

Ahhhhhhh

I don't money on my mind

Sweet men always leave me breathless

Gay Life of an Anonymous Writer

Kudos bro

Waooo this is really touching! God bless you sir.. the way God favours this kind of kindness is beyond human reasoning. It is well with you. Gal 6:10. @Bishop_Dammy

Abeg this story is too long, I never read my txtbk finish.Anyway,thank God for their lives.

God bless him

Rubylicious said...

That was very thoughtful of him. He really practiced being a Christian.

God bless him

Wow!

Awww.God bless him.pls visit my blog www.obiozorjudith.blogspot.com

May Almighty God bless him

Amazing - the grace of God!

Dis is amazing God bless u bro

Such kindness. ----C21

Wow humbling

Waoh!

Dis is amazing God bless u bro

Nekky said...

Story too long.....cant read all of it biko buh it's nice 4 u 2 do sumtin good...buh ehnnn y isreal wat happened 2 ur Nation nigeria whr countless of pple die everyday Cuz of kidney problems u didn't give den.buh u prefer anoda country Datz nigeria's 4 u always trying 2 b anoda man keeper

Etsako Pearl said...

Eyah.God bless him muchos!

Awwww really so touching

Did I read it???

This is really touching and nice! His reward is in heaven.

He don try....jah bless him

9jahub.com said...

so touching

Is the girl his girlfriend ??? I don't understand the persistence. There are many people in Nigeria that need kidney.

God bless him. This is the love Jesus talks about

janelycious said...

Wow. This is commendable. May God bless u jade

That's very good of him. A heart of faith

Wow !! Datz an amazing story...may God continue to strengthen him AMEN..

this guy is brave anyway, i can't do it
am scared...

Billy said...

Nice!!! Sme pple re practically hand picked by God. May he neva lack joy in his life. #goodheart

Billy said...

God bless him every day! Gud man well well #goodheart

mourinho firstson said...

wowwww

Heaven don sign ur name no doubt.....

Wow.... I'm speechless. We all need to reevaluate our lives. What manner of man is this???? This is so Christlike . What you expect Christians to be. God bless u Jadesimi.

Linda u can like to call Billionaire anyhow. Na ur favorite word be that. How do u know his father is a billionaire? Where have u or me heard of him before?

Wow!

AuthurWilliams:

So a black man kidney can work on a white man. I been think say our internal organs are inferior to theirs the way these white people make us feel outwardly. We sef na Human beings.

LindaHelpMe

Oladimeji said...

I totally had no objection that it was certainly arranged In heaven. God bless you jadesinmi. Wow!

AuthurWilliams:

So a black man kidney can work on a white man. I been think say our internal organs are inferior to theirs the way these white people make us feel outwardly. We sef na Human beings.

LindaHelpMe

Life sever...very kind of him....and may his remaining one kidney be like a million kidney to him. God bless you bro

::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::::

An amazing story! The young man demonstrated the real meaning of Christianity. May God reward him.

Oh my God! See husband material! Selflessness!!... Cut the joke this is really touching.

Very touching. Selfless giving. May God be with you.

Wooooooow, so there are still people like that in this world? Go bless his heart dats made of gold. Linda take note!

Linda the story is too long please haba but the guy try shall kind hearted man good lot of them are hard to find these days i
#ISKABASAYSO#

Hmm wow! So people like these still exist hmm, God bless him!!!

The western media won't write about this good coming from Nigeria. This is the most touching news i have hear since the beginning of this year. May God bless you forever your place in heaven is guaranteed. Thanks for your love and generosity.

Wow! A gud man wt a large heart, God bless u bro

Sigh!!!

chumsy's label said...

Am speechless.this is God's love.

Very Nice

Rent novels for FREE
Visit cynthiakalubookclub.blogspot.com

PRETTY GIRL said...

Wow! We still have this kind of People in Nigeria? God bless him sooooo much!

What a noble thing to do. I admire his courage and heart of love. God will continually bless you and grant all your heart desires. T

Story that touch. #THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

Great to hear a rich kid do this cuz lots of them prefer to waste or flaunt money. Such a nice and persistent heart

This is what religion should teach...unconditional love for humanity! Its not killing $ destroying lives in a most ruthless manner!!! Wish all religion should teach this, the world would be a better place.

I swear d whole of this story is confusing. Did u read it Linda?

dudette said...

Wow......he's achieved so much in his time...im sooo proud of this young man...

NiKi Posh said...

Good of him

9jaDubai said...

Wow!! What can I say.....But why Isreal? Why not 9ija

Roman! said...

Good thing to do*

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Wow! This is the GOD'S doing.

Zamani said...

So touching. God bless his soul. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

Meanwhile the NOrthern Elite are joining ISIS and funding Boko Haram

DIARIS GOD OOOOO

Humm wish more donor will arise after reading dis

Shuoooooooooo! Una go marry una self# ho ha ho ha~

PhreshPrince said...

Xo xo inspirational! May God bless him abundantly 4 his kindness.

sky said...

I am inspired. God bless him

I was moved to tears after reading. God bless u Smith. What a hero u are!!! Good people still exist after all.

Hmmmm, I don't want 2 ask why he didn't volunteer in Nigeria, all the same, saving a life, datz the ultimate......

Doris said...

Touching. A selfless act. I pray his other kidney keeps functioning effectively

kemikane said...

What an awesome story. Nothing surpasses Love. It conquers all.

Doris said...

Touching. A selfless act of love.I pray his other kidney keeps functioning effective

We should love the "world," but charity begins at home too, so there are no Nigerians he could donate to even though many are dying daily of kidney problems and need transplants...Okay oh.

I just learnt something reading the story. This is really a motivational post.

Nigerians neeed kidneys too.why not give to one of the many that need

BIG FISH said.....may God bless u dearly, keep the good work

Mercy seat said...

Na wah .. Their lives can be so uninteresting they dare n do all sorts

BIG FISH said........so touched, crying

Awww...such people are rare to find.

Ralia da sugary girl said...

It's the love spurring from within the soul that is unconditionally. Doing unimaginable favors for people without expecting payment or reward. Obviously God would shower the doers of kindness with blessings beyond measures. This all that God has asked of us to worship Him and have each others backs.. blood or no blood. Love indeed makes the world go round.. love heal everything! Jadesimi is a selfless man with a heart of gold.

He's a philantropist to the bone. GOD keep him . This are the types that deserve to stay longer on this earth, not the likes of our greedy office holders

God bless you for saving a life......my only grouse with you is the synagogue bit.......leave that church fast cos TB Joshua is demonic .....

Finest Rossy said...

Such a nice decision... God bless u...let's learn to give witout askin for a payback.

Hmmmmmmmmm, Agape love expressed in it fullness.

Love. Christian love! Not Islam where killing defines love

hrm paul ojeih said...

Na wa o am speechless una sure say dis guy na Nigerian linda abeg investigate

God will bless you abundantly and continue to increase you in all you do.

My brother you are selfless. May God continue to increase you. Ling life and prosperity I pray thee.

Oyin said...

Wow so inspiring may God bless Jadesimi Amen

Meu Deus do ceu! Story too long....

Wow!!! Very proud of u boy.! God bless u

Great heart. God bless him

This can only be ordained by God. God bless Smith Jaidesimi!

Bbamsmi

Some people get mind oh.. God bless him abundantly.

It is well

Thank God if it true sha

This is awesome, i,m dumb founded. This is what Christianity is all about.

did they check his mental state?

young man with a big heart

thisisnotmyname said...

Beautifully written. Wait a go Jade. Love is truly the greatest gift of all. I wish Omaima a long, healthy and happy life. I hope you two stay in touch.

Onyx's brother

Ma God*tears*

Hmm dis kind risk can only be taken by few people

So Touchin... May God continue 2 bless him.

All well and good BHET he don't look like a billionaire son to me. Just saying.

Henry Ekene Obianika said...

What a heart of gold this young man gat.. God please give me such heart. Amen!

Linda I said so..

God bless you....

HAWT TALK WITH TOSAN said...

Now that is true kindness. God bless him

favour4life said...

To God be thy glory! Wat a touchin story, am so happy for u smith for takin d bold step. May God bless u all d days of ur life.

Linda Fashion Blog said...

Wow very courageous of him.

Lindahrisfashion.blogspot.com

oghenejabor obi said...

dis is really a good gesture

Wow! Thank God

Touching

A rare gem! Only one in a million turns out this way. An angel.. not disguised but living amongst us. Wow!

Aww. Beautiful soul.

New post up on the blog.
www.udokajane.blogspot.com

Wow

Good gesture

What a touching story! Good to know there are still Nigerians with good souls!

The actions of people such as Jadesimi should be celebrated, if not for anything but as an inspiration for young people in Nigeria, who would find it hard to believe that Nigerians such as Jadesimi do exist. In the wave of cruel stories all over Nigeria makes it necessary to celebrate good ones.

Dats nice of him
But ....she could av bin his wife....just tinkin!

dharmmy said...

Let his mother catch you

it's rili touching...cudnt fight back my tears...an amazing thing to get a VIP seat in Nazareth....May God continue to be wit Jadesinmi...he has shown love even outside his own race

God Of TBJ........God Bless You Ladi.

Jefferson Okeke said...

This is indeed very touching. God will surely reward him abundantly.

rili touching...cudnt fight back my tears...he has shown love even outside his continent and race....God bless u Jadesinmi...am sure u can't lack in life wit all ur good deeds...and it's amazing u got a VIP seat in Nazareth....can only imagine dat feeling

yoruba people we are too kind this is nice of him...

chydiala said...

This is an awesome piece. Moved to tears knowing that we are all called individually to be a blessing to humanity. I celebrate you Jadesimi. You are simply living the 'Christ'. I am challenged by your definition of love and support. You will hear soon that some of us have followed your footsteps one way or the other. Chibuikem

Grace n Truth said...

Wow! I have always known that Nigetians are very hospitable and are givers but this has to be the first on this level that I have heard of! May God grant both the donor and the recipient long lives and great health. In Jesus name.

Wow!wow!wow!this is really amazing.such a good heart/spirit

naijaboard said...

I dont knw what to say. Nice but risky

naijaboard said...

Nice but risky

so touching !
Almost cried..
Really pays to av strong believe and faith, Hence: one wont move an inch !
Thanks aunty Linda for posting this !
i feel touched !

SUE JORDAN said...

all i can say is .....WOW...

slamj said...

This is one of the most touching things I have ever read, it forces me to question what I am doing with my own life.

Nice gesture but may I ask , why Isreal ? There are loads of willing recipeints on dialysis in Nigeria ... Pleae contact Dr Bamgboye of St Nicholas Hospital and several other foundations who ate focused on kidney failure and its treatment. I understand the initail suspicion of the Israeli embassy .. A Nigerian without an ulterior motive of clandestine economic migration ...

prettiyz said...

That was super nice of him

Nice gesture but may I ask , why Isreal ? There are loads of willing recipeints on dialysis in Nigeria ... Pleae contact Dr Bamgboye of St Nicholas Hospital and several other foundations who are focused on kidney failure and its treatment. I understand the initail suspicion of the Israeli embassy .. A Nigerian without an ulterior motive of clandestine economic migration ...

Awwww - we need to see more of this.

This young man sure has some nerves. When God is at work though...May God Richly bless and keep you in good health Mr Smith Jadesimi!!!

So so good and great. Thumbs up to him for dis nobility. God bless him abundantly and meet his needs even b4 they arise.

SWILL MARTIN said...

Dats y I loooove synagogue God really wrks tru people dere,dnt kn y nigerians hate the man of God so much!

THE DUDE DONATED HIS KIDNEY BECAUSE HE THOUGHT SHE IS WHITE..... WHY CAN'T HE DONATE KIDNEY TO OJB? ALOT OF PEOPLE NEED KIDNEY IN NIGERIAN HOSPITAL.... ALL I CAN SAY IS, HE IS JUST TRYING TO MAKE A NAME....SICK MAN

Wow! May d lord bless him abundantly

Zoë said...

I don't know what to say, may God continue to bless him.

Great to know we still have people with a good heart.

Busolami said...

GOD BLESS THEM

GOD send Linda ikeji a Man that can give his liver to her!!
I don't mean physically,I mean literally EG "someone who can love her to bones"

LIbers,let's dedicate dis lent in praying for linda, "Bishop" Arurala Dammy,pray for Linda ikeji,she needs a dude!

Linda don't be a lazy girl,Nwa nkwerre

I'm touched.

Aw! God bless him real good!

So people wey need kidney no dey Naija eh???

Wow... Good news from Nigeria. This gives me hope

kclub said...

Two of you better marry

RACISTS DOCTORS DIDNT SAY D KIDNEY IS BLACK??...U DID WEL BOY....TOMJERRYSWIT

May God bless him.

Seun said...

so rare, what a love............

Waohhhh! May God bless you smith...

God bless ur heert. be kind to one another

Madam E. said...

This is really touchy. What a great way to express love. Each of our lives is for a purpose, find your's and fulfill it. Let us always find a way to meet the needs of others on earth, that's why we are still here. God bless you real good Smith Jadesimi. ....Mrs. Eunice

Good heart filled with true love

Bussiechoco said...

Only two out of 100 people frm a wealthy home will do these. So touching, i pray the only kidney u're left with, function well and make u live till old age. Hmnn rare gem

ayomide said...

God bless u

Really touching. God bless him

Is this inferiority complex gone horribly wrong? With so many Nigerians suffering from kidney disease, why did he go to such lengths to offer his to white folks who kept rejecting him. He's crazy.

Eyah, I cant do this o.
God bless you my boy

Kolawole Taiye is an idiot. What you can deduce from the story was that it's false. I pity your life, everything is not about boyfriend or girlfriend. God bless the donor.

chukwuma ekpa said...

The good Lord of host shall forever preserve you in all your undertakings in JESUS NAME.

God bless dat dude for giving us good name NIGERIA

God bless Prophet T.B. Joshua for inspiring this young man. He is not just a member of The SCOAN by name but by deed. The man of God always advises people to spend more on others and less on themselves.

What is this "buh buh buh" craze?

Too lazy to read it all

charity at its best.....
BT charity begins at home, why not giv Nigerians who have no kidney donor or means to transplant.

OH MY!!!.....@LindaIkeji you can lie ehhnnn!.. first of all, Dafe is not from a Billionaire family as you said, I know this guy very well, I mean very very well, we live in the same estate *DSC housing complex, Warri, Delta state*, we attended the same secondary school *Challenge Academy DSC*, his names are *Ofoh, Dafe or Smith* so I wonder where *Ladi Jadesimi* is from, i know the family so well and believe me, nothing like this has ever happened..

lol.. touching story if true. but he is not a jadesimi. he is not related to ladi jadesimi in anyway or form. they don't even look like. the guy just used magomago to enter israel. his fb name is "Dafe Smith". yall be the judge :)

Strong conviction, unfortunately Israelis are very racist towards blacks, hope the recepient doesn't get taunted one day about carrying a monkey part in her> GOD BLESS YOU MAN.

Linda, please always validate all details before posting. This man is not Ladi Jadesimi's son. Get the facts fight.

if you need anyinformation about all you like to call him and ask him of he have do emaill me mcmansmith@gmail.com

Youruba people are not kind,they are inteligent for their own goodness.So nothing is free ...they do things for reasons...We would never knw.

shortblackboy said...

heee... na my class mate o abeg.... na ofoh be em name.... em papa no b billionaire ooooo... na my hood boy gaan... if he did wht u say he did... den he knows why he did it...

That's very nice of him!