Prof Wole Soyinka likens GEJ to Biblical King Nebuchadnezzar, presidency reacts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 2 December 2014

Prof Wole Soyinka likens GEJ to Biblical King Nebuchadnezzar, presidency reacts

Nobel Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka today likened Pres. Jonathan to the biblical Babylonian autocrat, King Nebuchadnezzar.

While speaking at a press conference at the Freedom Park in Lagos today, with the theme: “King Nebuchadnezzar – the reign of impunity,” Prof Wole Soyinka said Pres. Jonathan’s administration has become known for lawlessness and that Nigerians have been thrown into the furnace of fire just like Shedrack, Mishak and Abednego were thrown into the furnace by Nebuchadnezzar for not bowing down to him.Choi! Lol. Continue to read what he said...

"You should easily recall why I opted for King Nebu – the figure that currently sits on the top of our political pile himself evoked it, albeit in a context that virtuously disclaimed any similarities, even tendencies. Perhaps he meant it at the time when he claimed: ‘I am not Nebuchadnezzar.’ Perhaps not. One judges leaders on acts however, not pronouncements, which are often as reliable as electoral promises. King Nebu remains relevant – and not only for leadership. We, the citizens, are beginning to feel the heat. We wake up each morning to a sensation that we have been cast into the furnace together with those who at least committed the crime of dissent or criticism". 
Prof Soyinka also berated the Inspector General of Police for invading the National Assembly
"The recent choice of a new leader for the guard was clearly no accident, and this hitherto unknown enforcer, one Suleiman Abba, has wasted no time in inaugurating a season of brutish power. When a people’s elected emissaries are disenfranchised, cast out like vagrants and resort to scaling fences to engage in their designated functions, the people get the message”. 
He applauded the lawmakers who scaled the National Assembly fence on November 20th, saying it wasn't a show of shame but rather the finest moments of the lawmakers.

In a swift reaction, the Special Assistant to President Jonathan on Public Affairs, Dr Doyin Okupe, described the submission of Prof Soyinka as unfortunate. According to Dr Okupe, "it is quite saddening to note that Prof Wole had become so close to the opposition party so much that he has stopped giving appreciable and unbiased contribution to national topics. Our eminent professor also sadly plays the ostrich as he failed to reprimand Governor Amaechi, who is the ‘national champion of impunity and official recklessness’. The administration of President Goodluck Jonathan prides itself as the most liberal, keeping faith with adherence to rule of law and tolerance,”.

He accused the Nobel laureate of ignoring what he termed the immoral, indefensible and unlawful attitude of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal, after his defection.

254 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 254 of 254

illuminati things... wrong people interpreting

Sylvanus said...

Who made this cult man our mouth speak? What does he know about the Bible? I am not a fin of GEJ, but people like Prof. Soyinka do not speak for me. What does he know about governance?

It is u that is wretched may Sango, Ogun and Obatala strike ur mouth.U and ur sisi of a President who can't act right with all he has at his disposal.What wus his antecedence before coming into office, from d so call lecture room he claimed to start from we can't even point to any student of his dat has come out to say I wus lectured by dis man to suggest he can transfer knowledge how much b knowledgeable himself,we r d recipients of his docile approach to issues of national importance.Not even as an Ompadec staff ve we heard of any achievements made by him dat can b catloged he wus just a passenger in d phase of his life.And when d idiot wus Dep Gov and later Gov what wus his achievements nothing, all I could here wus dat he wus Loyal to his boss who wus being jailed for corrupt practises.And now what r his achievements and tell mi u ve benefited from it, if u can prove u ve benefited from dis govt legitimately pls state it, mayb from ur experience we can start ving hope dat his second term won't b a disaster afterall..If not pls keep ur mouth shut cause every dog has his day and Jonathan will ve his day by d grace of God he will b d 1st Civilian President of Nigeria dat will b tried for corruption.D Prof has spoken and if don't like d truth u and ur demented President should just keep quiet and let events overtake what ever achievements u claim to ve made.When u ve a militant as a President what do u expect, rascality will b d order of d day.He said he never had shoes today scores of Nigerians in d north east don't ve shoes owing to Boko haram when d bombs explode all we c r scores of shoes litering. D floors, very1 has become Jonathan, dey no longer ve shoes.Is dis an achievement

Ayo olusesi said...

@Alloy What a shame to the seat of the president. Anybody who now tells the truth is likened to be with the opposition party.

I agree with u. It is unfortunate.

Bukas said...

Wole Soyinka is not a model to emulate therefore his words shouldn't be taken seriously. he started an institution which has led to moral decay in our high institutions today. What positive moral has he imparted on our society. he should proffer advise as an elder rather than running mouth with kids in politics

Wole Soyinka does not surprise me. Is he not a Yoruba man? He and Obasanjo are enemies in the day and friends at night. Their scathing criticism of Jonathan are all part of the Yoruba agenda. He must come out clean. Let him address the rumours concerning his relationship with Amaechi. Hebgets no respect from me.

You fool, soyinka didn't serve in abacha government, rather he served in babangida government and no one can provide any evidence that he personally embezzled any fund. He however resigned when he discovered what babangida was up to. You fool I am sure you were not born that time.

Yoruba Man will always remain a Yoruba Man.Betrayals!

As usual. Linda reply my email. We need ur services.

What a confused Prof! Why can't the prof contest for Presidency under APC platform to be able to turn The Kingship of Nebuchadnezzar to David empire.I am disappointed with his statements, he seems to be a little biased instead of being peaceful. Soyinka for President 2015! shall then become a welcome development. Please Prof stop fueling the already consuming fire in our Nation, you have gone past this mess. Thanks

every 1 now has something 2 say about GEJ..may GOD continue 2 give him d needed wisdom...no one is perfect.if we can all love one another n do d right tin ...if each one culd reach one n teach one wat a much better place nigeria wuld be.we have a long way 2 go in this country n i pray GOD will send that leader that will bring that needed change in nig....it is well

Oga Soyinka, been the founding father of black axe confraternity, a leader of agba Yoruba Ogboni fraternity, what u did when FRSC was under you and the role u played in Nigeria in d 70s, don't you think you should be speaking from the prison??? Go help ur inlaw govern rivers state well biko! Attention seeker! GEJ till 2019

The truth is always BITTER.....May God help us.

Favor do u mean "is right"

Right not write

Whether you think he has become so hungry or not, the fact is dat he has said d truth except u want to deny it. At least 8 out of every 10 people don't say anything positive about GEJ or his administration so what exactly are we talking about?

sighs. Truth is bitter

Kokon Ayee

Thank you my brother, this man or prof or what do people call him have since lost my respect, he seem to critisize every regime from IBB to GEJ, if he thinks ruling a complex country like Nigeria is easy he should contest an election and fix everything. Its easy to critize. As a citizen of this country let him tell us what has been his own contribution to the onward development of this country.

Where was Soyinka when Amaechi made that statement? is a petty that he has lost his test.

Wole Soyinka have lost my respect.

8.16am,your typos are appalling.i however don't expect you to understand what Prof soyinka writes or says as you can't even spell.

Mischievous said...

@Anon 8:08 AM. Tell us who your father is and what cause he stands for or stood for, or should I say what legacy he left behind?

Prof is angry and he's not the type that keep things in his mind. the situation of things in this nation presently is out of control. I had faith in this government, I actually voted for GEJ but I'm a little bit disappointed at his results. Did you guys hear what Kenya President said concerning al-Shaba, that's how a president act. this administration to me, is a failure. I love my country and will always do.

All hail king Nebu , lolz. Nebu you are finished, even a 5 years old child knws that u re a weakning. As 4 Okupe..... What else do I expect frm u that to take side noni, ode buruku. remmynet4all@yahoo.com

soyinka talk sometime like a child.how much have u sold the adulthood in u? and why must u sell it at this end part of ur life?.its unfortunate.

While I agree on some level about the problems with GEJ's government, I don't think he has reached Nebuchadnezzar-like status just yet. However, can we be realistic with the achievements of his government, because there have been good achievements.

Mad people feel no shame. It is just their family members that are embarrassed for them. It is the same for stupid people like yourself.

Schoolfees gone down the drain........................

I'm guessing you are not praying to live long enough to gather the same white hair you are calling stupid.

Begii begii. Lie lie. Olojukokoro.

It is called a transcript my dear.

TesterBlog said...

He's pushing his luck

I urge all Nigerians to vote out GEJ out of office come next election. let us remove religious sentiment and tribal sentiment, lets vote for incredible personality, a man who is ready to pilot the affairs of this nation to a greater height. i have looked at BUHARI'S past record, with what i saw that man is better than all this criminals we have in power. I urge all my fellow youths to come together and make this country a better place by giving him the chance.

Naijarian said...

What a disappointing irony... the prof does not believe in Christianity and the bible. It is therefore incongruous for him to use the lessons therein to traduce someone else..

Egbon said...

@Apple the bitch, do you know the meaning of the word 'respect'?

Im not gonna try and analyse whether prof is wrong or right,he can do no wrong in my sight...I simply love the man...even wen I dont understand what he says,I applaud him,I just love him

This is exactly how it was for the Children of Israelite when Moses was taking them out of Egypt to the promise land , they murmured and murmured, and God kept taking them round and round.. I am not saying GEJ is a Messiah, But I am liken him to it because of the biblical reference he is made.so in as much as you call him names, also check; should he be the real deliverer?#NothingGoodComesEasy#

wole does not know the bible...nebu did not have senate or judges or house of rep wen he was king he sits on a matter himself and decide himself..nebu was proud and how did he end? so wole should go and read his bible well. he should have said this wen abacha was alive but instead he went on exile...this man self.like a write said here dying without a legacy...

GEJ likened to king Nebuchadnezzar....does that mean oga jona go chop grass soon? huh??!!

my dear snowflix, the responsibility of a president is uncountable but the 1st being that he should protect life and property.I do not have anything against GEJ as a person but when a leader is not able to resolve the issues in his domain, then he should resign and allow for new government. its a pity that our leaders will rather die there because of what they get from it.

Mischievous said...

@APPLE, of what benefit is your respect to the Nobel Laureate?

Kayode said...

My only concern is, must the presidency react to every criticism?
It shows the pettiness of the office of the President of Federal Republic of Nigeria. Doyin Okupe and his ilk are creating unnecessary enemies and distraction for the President

Obianuju Ozoeze said...

Nigerians, so blind

austine ihechukwu said...

No be only bonarios baby u 4 add linda's pet join, gold digger

You clearly dont understand his purpose.

@anon 9:43pm saddest part Of the issue is that the senile is now using religion to manipulate,is he a christain? For u pple wu are too detail oriented to see the truth don't vent ur fustration on truth seekers, curse all u want the truth will alws prevail and in time we will see who will perish of unnecessary fustration and insecurity.

Wole soyinka should please shutup and focus on his life

@anon 9:43pm saddest part Of the issue is that the senile is now using religion to manipulate,is he a christain? For u pple wu are too detail oriented to see the truth don't vent ur fustration on truth seekers, curse all u want the truth will alws prevail and in time we will see who will perish of unnecessary fustration and insecurity.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Never have I been smitten by the person of Soyinka..
Never!!!!
I would rather a Chinua Achebe!!!
His pomposity both in language and posturing has from Adam made me reject his books as the effusion of notice-me verbiage...
While many have accused him of deliberate obscurantism and mystification just to sell himself as something; I see him as nothing more than an egomaniac...
His books repulse me as his person is offensive!!!!
Unfortunately, see what he has turned himself into:An extremist, a literary Boko Haram!!!
Rather than chose the path of impassive statesmanship, he has opted for shamelessly partisanship!!!!

Idiotic element!!!!

Lapal said...

This 8 a very hash word towards your president, GEJ has never called himself God like Nebuchadnezzar did. GEJ is not only corrupt person, 90% of Nigerians are corrupt, just because they are not on any political position don't make them better than the other. All Nigerians needs to repent, I mean change the way they think and stop selling their children's futures for money and bribes. Then we can talk about who's good and bad. Check yourself, at your workplace, and your society and think of what you do on a daily basis to improve or destroy Nigeria.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 254 of 254   Newer› Newest»