Photos: Upper Iweka, Onitsha at night | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 2 December 2014

Photos: Upper Iweka, Onitsha at night

Christmas is upon us & Upper Iweka in Onitsha, Anambra state has some amazing Christmas Lights. Do we have in Lagos yet? See more photos after the cut...

225 comments:

1 – 200 of 225   Newer›   Newest»

wow.....so beautiful........christmas mood

LGM said...

Beautiful

Beautiful

First Time to have such Decor in Onitsha.

WIW----Willie is working.

Willie is working.

no be small tin O....

Yea...it's hre in abuja!!!how I love Christmas season

So all dis igbo traders sabi better tins... Well, seen... Next pls!

elovi said...

Nicey but they cnt beat uyo and calabar

Can't believe this... my very own onitsha

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

elovi said...

Nice tho

mzmaris said...

Onitsha looks fine nw + zero tolerance for criminals...hope it lasts

cammy said...

coool

Linda u dey fall my hand again....its opi-iweka and not upper iweka........who agrees?

This place used to be a very dirty and dangerious place, cant believe what am seeing, who Said Nigeria cant be like America ,?

destinysweet said...

All na govt money joor,dem cos cum say dem spend 1billion for street decoration
----#Auntylindagoddaughter#

Whaoooo my beautiful state. Obiano is working!

One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so

Obiano is really trying for the state.. #God_bless_Nigeria.

Darliweb@gmail.com said...

OMG! Wat am i seeing? It has been a long tym dat i visited there. School tins sha. Bt that were am currently staying nw. Gnna travel To spend little tym Wit my people am also paroll around to cee these changes before going bak TO SCHOOL.... Kudos to d Governor

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Onitsha has Realy changed,Upper iweka for dat mata

ORACLE SAYS SO

seunLondon said...

Am impressed! #SeunLondon

it beautiful..........lesti

Dats my state. Proudly Anamberian. If u re nt from Anambra marry one, date one, ve one as a friend u need to ve d Anambra spirit cos we ROCK. "Willie Is Working"

Wowww! People who knew what this place looked like will totally agree with me that this news needs to make headline! Wow. Unbelieveable.

they tried.........lesti

Stef said...

Yeah!!!!!!! Willie Obiano in action. Pls make dat state tush. E don tey I done dey wait. Can't even boost of attraction sites or fun hang out in Anambra, only joint n fast food. I tire.

Beautiful, Lucky pple

Don't see nothing yet.

Na generator them dey take power the Christmas light ?

Realli nice

Columnist said...

Double take. The infamous filty upper Iweka is looking like this ?

Adon believe it

That's my anambra. Yh I served there am proud of them....
till thier agberos steal dem all

My greatest governor!!!!

Nice one next

Ma governor is wrkin!!!

Thomas Emmanuel said...

I need to get this lighting for my Christmas resort that am constructing though it temporary.

Reloaded said...

i was around the place three weeks ago.. was amazed tho development on going.. remembered in those days when i was a corper there .. very rough place.. tnk GOD

Ma governor Obiano is tryn sha!

actually Linda, it's already in lag with even btr creativity. u should see zenith bank road on the island! totally breathtaking

Wow! Still can't believe this is the Onitsha upper Iweka I used to know.

Yes! Zenith road is beautiful!

AMAKA-BLESSING said...

Thats my city. Willie is really working

josephine said...

Wow! Osha is looking like london now o! Onwero ife n'eme nu. I was born and bred in this town and before now,dis place use to be d lion's den. Thank God for d good leaders we ve in anambra.

It's too soon sha...anyways they try pass my state finally so, good one.

Can't f*cking believe this! This doesn't look like the Onitsha I know! Damn, it is like someone waved a wand and voila a new town appeared!

olu said...

Beautiful.........

Proud of Ma home town! Onitsha we love you Gov. wille

YEAH THAT'S OSHA.....THANKS TO OUR GOVERNOR MR OBIANO. HE'S REALLY BEAUTIFYING ANAMBRA AS A WHOLE. <<<>>. REPORTING>>>. LIVE FROM PORT NOVIA>>>>

Yp, Zenith head office road in Lagos is more colourful!!!

Gorgeous Diva said...

Incredible! Lovely! See Osha o!

beautiful

Ewoo omalicha state mu ohhhhh biko willie obiano is working

Our Governor is working, Willie is working. Thank God for him o ...pepus4xhard@yahoo.com

It looks like obodo oyibo for real

Haaaaaa linda d pic isn't complete o,Anambra has bn transformed to a wonder,all tress ,roundabout n corners hv bn decorated ready for Xmas .my governor is working excellently.linda make ur giveaway no pass me by o madesince@00gmail.com

Smelling christmas from afar........ Preparations has begun. (•͡.̮ •͡ )

Wooooow.....ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

Very Ugly. Theyre putting up the ones under the maryland bridge already. the ones with MTN ads. Them be learner for onitsha.

*** Ose Ore mi*** aka *** forst to comment***

linda is very funny...
why would you compare lagos with village? huh????

wow Kool concept

Jesus Clast! Ehn! O opiweka buzi ihea? So anambra can be beautified? !
YIPPEE!!!!!

BONARIOS BABY said...

Oowww so so beautiful, looks like las vegas. This our calabar thats dead and gone, they'll start decorating on the 22nd those their sick looking decorations. Weda this year imoke will wear mary slessor suit cus everyyear him d change the woman clothes, last 2yrs she was sitting, lastyr he said she shud stand only God know weda this time around she'll be hanging on the air. That man lacks wisdom. *the bible said wisdom is a principal thing and in all ur getting get understanding* sick gov with fish brain..

Yeay! Am proud of my state. Really cool Christmas decorations..

wow..d spirit of christmas..
mildredmaisamari@gmail.com

see onitcha, Abia state governor no de see this one?

This dirty town

We have oooo.. d 1c we have here is more. Beautiful Dan ders... eko hote round about,,, he dey der, na Zenith bank do am.

Nice but why dont they keep them even after the Yuletide

Awesome! I smell Christmas already........ I wish something like this can happen in the north

It's a sight to behold

Beautiful city..but I got a question_ is there light for people to use at home?????????????????????

IF you're on system and wish to work with me on my blog follow me and also mail on meetkomole@gmail.com

#NOTE: payment is not involve for now and you have to be very active. having a laptop is added advantage.

Hehehehehehehe so xmas light is now the problem now 'lol' maybe it's GEJ fault dat xmas light ain't in Lagos yet lol #onelovefromSnow#

MMIRI BUGATTI said...

ANAMBRA ON POINT

chinny said...

willy is working

Beautiful

so lovin d xmas look .

lami said...

Nice view.

Surely christmas is an event of christianity! mjabdulk@gmail.com

Love said...

Linda i cant wait to be in Onitsha on Saturday, this is wonderful.

globaldeji said...

It will soon be stolen in that state and town.

Hehehehe Las vegas.

Abi said...

U can check ajose adeogun on the island, zenith bank has added color to the road. Some other part of Lagos have been decorated too.

Thank you Lord for another beautiful season. Am grateful! Amazing sight. Linda kudo to you, you keep me updated without a sweat.

Mak terince said...

OYa na. time to move to onitsha

so kul.(my town)

You need to visit Onitcha,it's now a pretty much city to dwell and raise kids...una fit join us(deltans) now o as anambra no too like una,we will make a Metro city both of us ;)

dj chukky said...

nice one

That's my area. Hehehehe

Ooooo nekwanu upper iweka oooo,of all places, nice one tho

Onyi said...

U neva come eko hotel round abt for night? Its heaven on earth. Better than wat u see in d US or mayb close....lol

thats my place. making sense. neva believed that onitsha can b toshed up lyk this.

Wow they swept the roads clean

(Twitter/ig)

Lovely.

sisi said...

Love is in the air .

haters-slayer said...

Come on let's go there*dancing Shoki*

Y'all should get to Zenith bank street (Ajose Adeogun VI). Looks like jand, but i dont have picures sowi.....

Ndigbo kwenu!!!my Onitsha peeps I hail una

Looks good! I'm gonna see for ma self soon, count down to 16th.

Beautiful city..but I got a question_ is there light for people to use at home?????????????????????

IF you're on system and wish to work with me on my blog follow me and also mail on meetkomole@gmail.com

#NOTE: payment is not involve for now and you have to be very active. having a laptop is added advantage.

Jaychoc.tv said...

Come To Ajose Adeogun..Thats Like The Biggest in Nigeria

When did upper iweka I Anambra become this glamorous?

Almost lik we hav it here in Shenghai China..hihihi. love dem neon lights. Pretty

Beautiful, not too far from my place

It look beautiful

maureen87 said...

Ehhh is this upper iweka? My goodness

Wonders they say will never end.

Willie, is working........chOi see upgrading ooooooooooooOOOOoooo.........but have it. at the back of your mind, that UPPER IWEKA iz still UPPER IWEKA.......

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

If this is really Upper Iweka Onitsha in Anambra State, then Nigeria will metamorphose to US in no distant time.

Thumbs up to Mr. Peter Obi and Gov. Willie Obiano's government.

Proudly Anambrarian.

Bryte Tablet from Konga.com

Is dis really upper iweka or photoshopped?😳😳😳. I still doubt it cos d last time I visited, I almost regretted schooling in Anambra state. Well thumbs up!!!

jullyet said...

Gov. Obiano z soo on point #willieisworking

Amaka.u.l said...

Wow dts good

UPPER IWEKA ??????????????? I DONT BELIEVE IT. That mad area in Onitsha . I am dreaming. wow....

Willie obiano is really working, a doundation laid by his predecessor peter obi.

Spiky said...

So u haven't passed through Ajose Adeogun?

I can't believe this is the same Upper Iweka that I used to know...Nigeria go better! I just had to comment, as this only brings beautiful memories....

ASHANKA said...

WOW COOL

Linda eh, u no get aka uru oo, lol

A good one indeed. Willie is working indeed! Just putting Christmas light on the works Peter Obi did.

seunzyl said...

Wao! This is so beautiful

Damochedxb said...

This is Onitsha? Impressive..

Talk2Henry said...

Beautiful sha

fly guy said...

Of course @ eko hotel

willie ooooooooo! i no vote for u o. but u no disappiont me at all. like is dis d up iweka i know?

Colourful and fine sha.. Can't believe its the upper iweka I did know. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

Agu nwanyi1 said...

Can't wait to be in dis beautiful state of mine! Linda hope u r coming home o! #iloveanambra

Nyc

Wow. So cool.

Fake Xmas lights,please there is nothing fascinating here! local settings

ANAMBRA ADIGO MMA,NYE AKA KA ODINMA.........CHYFORTUNE

Umewizkelly said...

Onitsha is making sense number 1 in eastern nigeria. Kudos to Obiano

BUSY BEE said...

Christmas is fun. Best festive season.

Umewizkelly said...

Onitsha is making sense number 1 in eastern nigeria. Kudos to Obiano

Madam linda,this is not upper iweka biko,has never been and never will be if dey remain as razz as dey are now! I pass deir to work almost everyday n return at night! Nothing like this.find d exact location please

OMG, so amazing. I can't believe is my own State Anambra. Kudos to my Governor Willi Obiano. You will do more dear Governor. Happy Xmas to all Anambarians. #########OTUoCHA

EJEGBO! said...

Good look,well Obiano,if you're the one doing this

Copy copy lagos but it's nice tho! Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

Men up niga oh, up anambra state joor.

Long live LIB™

Up naija, up anambra govt joor.

Long live LIB™

lee said...

I applaud the hand work of the State GOV

Linda dis is awesome I hv never seen my state look dis beautiful, i hope dis will change d mind set of my Igbo bro nd sisters to start keeping our environment clean. Thank

Waooo beautifl! Weldone Gov Obiano

banny said...

If ur really and truly a constant user of dis route, u'd know dat willie is continuing wat obi left uncompleted ddue to reasons best known to his then administration. Not just xmas light. D man is working. Same continuity u'll find @aroma, amawbia etc. Anambra ga dinma

If this is d upper Iweka that I used to know, then it is really wonderful. Well done to people that put it together.

banny said...

Sweedy that must be ssome decades ago ur talking about. I left d state yesterday. It's as wow as u see in that pic. Anambra is gradually experiencing transformation. I applaud willie.

we have it in Abj here...

banny said...

So uve not passed niger bridge(osha bridge) recently to upper iweka bridge. Broda it's like dis now. U also didn't notice any change @d owerri along park @upper iweka, how coordinated it's bn since willie mounted d seat?. D touts thr wud harass Passer by as well as commuters waiting to board buses to owerri. Willie cleared most of em off dat route. #willieissworking

Gov Willy Obiano, I can see your hand work, nice one. Sweedydiagold@gmail.com

The place they gave birth to you

Wait till you'all seen lagos last nite?

this looks like a poorly budgeted project and who ever was contracted should be questioned? cause that der looks like a millions project N/B:for those of u that wouldn't understand 1 million Naira project. and is that a ram? or a Goat Cause I'm confused. *NIGERIAMUSTPROGRESS*

Columnist said...

You fall your own hands. Which one is Opi ? Opi Nsukka. ITK

Karlsson said...

Willie is working

Look at this olodo. What?!

MAYBE THIS WILL ENCOURAGE IBO PEOPLE TO STAY IN THEIR OWN STATES AND VILLAGES, TO DEVELOP THEM INSTEAD OF THEM ALL THRONGING TO LAGOS LIKE REFUGEES.
The ibo man cant stand to live in his own state, and always come to Lagos at the smallest reason.

I agree

The sun really rises in the east.Only God knows what the east will look like today if we have been successful in 1967.

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Proud to be from onitsha. Thanks willie

It has really change

Linda I want to cry, I can't hold the tears...guess I am crying now. Never believed this could happen in my state. I have always believed in change and here it comes. Thanks to Peter obi for fighting for his mandate and now Willie. Thank you and most of all Thank God I wish I could see this, the one year I am not travelling

Woooow dats very nice

Xmas in d air......

Oma Linda said...

Transformation!!!

Ugly.please come check out ours in Lagos.you'll probably die thinking you are abroad

You are very stupid, for this comment

o beautiful........christmas mood

TEETEELAWPEH said...

linda,dont tell me uve not been to zenith road(eko hotel roundabout) victoria island lagos......have never seen anything dat creative and beutifully colourful...TEETEELAWPEH

U be mumu Na . U no dey travel comot from state Wey actally no be your own

SCANDAL said...

A beg don't show the world ur level of ignorance.hide small.

chinny choo said...

I hope Imo state will emulate, beautiful.

tnx to Gov Obiano

this is a miracle. are you sure this is upper iweke ONITSHA. igbo kwenu !!!!!

Oooooooh.....one beautiful under bridge. show us the rest of onitsha na....lol.

Clearing my eyes to see it clear
Wow!!!
Change remain the only constant thing in world
Who said igboland can't be beautiful?

waytin dat one cum mean? E be lyk say u dey crazy. Insult igbo men or mostly anambra men nd u go live to regret it

Guess u re from Abia state. Ehya ndo o?

cool(kimmierichie@yahoo.com)

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

wow... saw this since two days ago so its for real.. so we should be coming back home for xmaz? plz he should do same in other mini towns...

Sharap if nfyn reasonable can come out of ur empty skull. Ewu Pakistan guess u can't rem d last time u visited ur bush state, am sure u re 4rm Abia. Abia goat. Proudly Anamberian

wow, beautiful

wow, nice one (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

Betta thing and eye na friends! Welldone Govy Obiano,disike joor! Ednamaka3@gmail.com

Our own very onitsha! QUIN FOMA

Come to Muri okunola roundabout/Ajose Adeogun and see what Jim Ovia does to that area every year.....upper Iweka still dey learn

Omalichanwa said...

hehehehe, this is unbelievable. chai, i want to go home for Christmas. I'm tired of Lagos stress. everyday work n traffic. I miss Utuh, i want to go to villa oooooo. God abeg now make this people close office. growing up sucks.

mzmaris said...

She's right...onye nkuzi odakpu....mttccchhheeewww

Check Ajose Adeogun out at VI

mzmaris said...

*Boast..what r u boosting? Ur grammatical gbagaun?

My own very town gbam! Beautiful... proud be an onitsha person!

Its upper iweka in spelling but core Onitsha peeps call it Opi-iweka

First in history but you can't compare with my State IMO STATE. *winks*

Yes n ur ppl no sabi #shutup#

ahh shuuuuhhhhh it's upper iweka pls don't talk wat u dunno

Incredible!! Dis doesn't look like d Onitsha I used to know... Delta state make una still try small naaaaa. lol

Yes we rocks

So lovely.

Lol. Typical otondo.na u fall ur hand by urself man. U pronounce like them without ever bothering to get the real name? Go read the sign posts around there. It is UPPER Iweka. And there is lower iweka not to far from there.

vanessa said...

onitsha of all places..nawa o, no place wey God no fit touch d lives of the pple wey dey live dere..beautiful tho

Mammielicious said...

Someone with a good phone should pls send Linda pictures of Ajose Adeogun in VI

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 225   Newer› Newest»