President Jonathan’s N9bn jet develops technical problem in Minna | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 9 March 2014

President Jonathan’s N9bn jet develops technical problem in Minna

President Jonathan and some top government officials yesterday Saturday March 8th escaped an air mishap at the Minna Airport, Niger State, when a presidential jet developed a technical fault, while they were aboard, Punch reports. Find full report below...
The presidential jet, Nigerian Air Force 001 (5N-FGT), had earlier conveyed Jonathan to Minna for the -Peoples Democratic Party’s North-Central rally which held at the Trade Fair Centre, Minna.
At the end of the rally, the President returned to the airport in company with top government officials, PDP state governors and party chiefs for a trip to Sokoto, from where he was scheduled to return to Abuja.
However, several minutes after Jonathan had bade farewell to those who accompanied him to the airport, and the door of the aircraft was shut, the aircraft failed to move.
After many attempts, crew members and engineers disembarked from the aircraft and made spirited efforts to fix the fault as armed security men took strategic positions around it.

While this was going on, Vice-President Namadi Sambo; President of the Senate, David Mark; all PDP governors, members of the National Assembly and members of the Federal Executive Council were watching under the scorching sun.

When it became obvious that the fault could not be easily fixed, the commander of the Presidential Air Fleet, Air Vice Marshal Uko Ebong, ordered that a smaller presidential jet, 5N-FGW, which conveyed the Vice-President to the state be brought to fly Jonathan.

Jonathan disembarked from the faulty jet at about 3.30pm and quickly moved to the smaller aircraft.
He later left the airport in the smaller aircraft at about 3:35pm, leaving behind some of his co-occupants in the bigger jet.

Sambo also had to join Mark in another smaller presidential jet, 5N-FGV, which had earlier conveyed the Senate President to the state. Senator Barnabas Gemade and a few other dignitaries also joined them.

Those who were with the President in the faulty aircraft before they disembarked included the National Chairman of the PDP, Adamu Muazu; Chairman of the party’s Board of Trustees, Tony Anenih; former chairman of the party,  Ahmadu Ali; former  Sokoto State Governor, Attahiru Bafarawa, and some presidential aides.

At the time of filing this report, engineers were still battling with the faulty jet on the tarmac in the deserted airport while officials of the Federal Airport Authority of Nigeria were seen taking notes.
Some security men were left behind to keep watch on the aircraft.

When asked for what was wrong with the aeroplane, an official of FAAN simply said, “The return engine refused to pick.”

Another source who pleaded anonymity, said the hot temperature in the city led to the fault.
“What the commander said was that the high temperature affected the engine of the aircraft,” he said.
When asked why the hot weather did not affect the two other presidential jets, the source explained that the Air Force 001 is “more digitalised than others.”

The incident occurred despite the fact that in the past four years, at least N48bn has been allocated to the Presidential Air Fleet, a range of 11 luxurious aircraft which are at the disposal of the President.
According to the 2014 Appropriation Bill presented to the National Assembly by President Goodluck Jonathan through the Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, in December 2013, a total of N4.91bn was earmarked for the Presidential Air Fleet.

For the maintenance of the 10 aircraft currently in the Presidential Air Fleet, N1.52bn was allocated.
This was apart from the N747m earmarked for the purchase of aviation fuel for the aircraft already in the fleet.

The government earmarked the sum of N2.66bn for other expenses on the PAF, including international trainings for the fleet’s personnel, rehabilitation/renovation/repairs of the PAF Barracks, completion of a hangar project, tyre bay tools and equipment, insurance premium, cleaning and fumigation services, 797 units of LG 2HP air conditioners for the PAF Barracks and refreshment and meals.

For the year 2013, a total of N7.5bn was allocated the Presidential Air Fleet, while in 2012, N15.6m was allocated for personnel costs; N969m for overheads, which included spare parts, checks, aviation fuel; and N16.8bn was allocated for a brand new plane for the presidency.
In 2011, an N18bn allocation to the PAF was tucked under a N105bn budgetary allocation to the “Intelligence Community.”

Also, in the 2010 proposal, the Presidency had proposed the acquisition of four new aircraft for the presidential fleet and had made a budget provision of N23.4bn in that budget for them.

Experts have put the combined estimated value of the 10 planes in the presidential fleet at about $390.5m (N60.53bn).

94 comments:

Lufe Melish said...

Ibb just wanted 2 panic Jonah small

At least dey shud feel wat we normal citizens feel 4 once..

Thank God they escaped alive.This should serve as a warning to GEJ and his cohorts that whatever good/bad you do comes back to you.I expect him to have a thanksgiving today in church coz this is a miracle.

Wow 2 much money in Naija. Were soo rich I mean look at the amount we spend on the presidential aircraft. Let it get 2 the masses that's all----C21

Na wa o. All this money. Naija is rich o.

Mercy Johnson shares new photos of baby Purity

The only country with the most comedy!

Opelicious Morgann said...

Can you imagine if the aircraft had developed the mishap in the air? All those blood suckers called politicians would have died and the country would have been plunged in political turmoil. But isn't that what you beer parlour freaks usually say, that the country will be a better place if they all die.

Speaking in Spartacus' voice : "Kill them All"

Abeg, I dey joke oooo. Thank God for them although 48bn on planes is damn ludicrous when an average Nigerian is living in poverty.

Igor said...

Thank God the plane mishap developed on the runway,and not midair.

I wish they flew that yesterday and he died in the plane crash....stupid president.....9billionaira aircraft and we are suffering in naija + no fuel....

Same owe sheet #bright bravo#

Its a minor technical fault, we are going to spend up to 3billion to repair it. God bless Nigeria. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Amarachukwu said...

Thank God!

Nawa!!!see money on top one person head..SMH

Smh 4 all of dem........

ty'Noble said...

Am gonna be President Someday. God's willing............................. #Mr.Gboluwaga

Smh 4 all of dem

Na ogun go kill them. With all these billions,plane refuse to move. Smh

Wow, See how billions of dollars and naira are moving and going. Only for MR to move around. Hmmm, God is watching o. Is now that i 2rully belief that MR don't have house and money in abroad. Who is fooling who? ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

“What the commander said was that the high temperature affected the engine of the aircraft,” he said.
When asked why the hot weather did not affect the two other presidential jets, the source explained that the Air Force 001 is “more digitalised than others.”
Dear Prez Jona, these are the people in charge of your fleet?, with all the money you allocate! Na plane crash go kill you, the result of corruption and cluelessness.

peperina said...

How i wish they all died inside, then the wife will knw how its feels to lost somone.

peperina said...

How i wish they all died inside, then the wife will knw how its feels to lost somone.

tobbie said...

WTF! Why didn't the plane develop the fault while flying. The crash for make mad sense.

Hmmmmm Lobatan

FDJ

Obinna James said...

Its normal, there must be snag.

Swaggs isimemen said...

Hmmm look @ d money they hv wasted so far, PDP party leader re d worst leader nigeria has ever had. Corruption everywhere, is just remainder dis year 4him shall

Swaggs isimemen said...

Hmmm look @ d money they hv wasted so far, PDP party leader re d worst leader nigeria has ever had. Corruption everywhere, is just remainder dis year 4him shar.

60bills father lord...

Thought it crashed....oh well, there is always another day. God will get them next time.

hw does make me get a first class

HATERS_SLAYER said...

SEE THE WAY THEY ARE MENTIONING MONEY. WHEN AM DESPRATLY IN NEED OF JUST 1M.

There was a country indeed

May God help us on dis country. I wish d fault of d aircraft occur wen dey re flying so dt dey will feel d fear dose dt have died in d air crash.imagine $390.5m for 10 planes when many nigerians can not afford 2 square meal in a day. May God judge them all

Hehehehehehe! (I laugh in french) o ga oh! 11 private jets fo 1 person, no wonder dey r using it for PDP runs! What rubish! See all d billions they r spending, and there is no electricity! D plane fuck up, d engine for pik u, then crash smwhr! Shio! Awon Omo ale jati jati!

Ezekiel I mcbernards said...

seriously how does this border me?

Smh Linda....badly written piece..

inspireify272B3120 said...

Linda no b news again na...he leta took one of d smaller private jet dat brot Sambo. den headed to Sokoto

Smh

Shush said...

Dear Lord,pls do it for us again the way u did Abacha na.........

I COULD SWEAR WITH MY LIFE YOU WILL CARRY THIS NEWS ..AND WHAT IS A NEWS ABOUT IT? IS IT A BRAND NEW PLANE?IS IT NOT A MACHINE?IF YES IS IT 100 PERCENT EFFICIENT?...THANK GOD IT DID NOT EVEN FLY...HATERS WOULD HAVE BEEN DANCING BY NOW..

Father lord, anyone that is works against the progress of Nigeria, Holy Ghost fire consume them. Amen

Oh Nigeria! What a country!!

kclub said...

Hw I wish the plane took off and crashed sef. Iiish

This is unlikely to be a result of poor maintenance...shd be reported to the makers of the plane.

Bella said...

Just passing and commenting my resserve.

Imagine...hissss

What is our President doing with 10 aircraft when thousands go to bed without food. An Economical waste.

Naija I Hail !!!!! For crying out loud how far is Abuja to Minna? It's just less than 2 hours but because of the bad raod let me calculate it as 2 hours. If the Plane had crashed they would announce Terrorist Attack!!! The Government is funny though!!! $390.5M. For Private jet and it's maintenance. It's a Pity!!!!

Oge Nsimah said...

I don't get it... What are the reporting now, is it the cost of the jet or the techincal fault. Nijja media. Cause problem and creating enemity between government and mass.

onesmith said...

They will all die in the wreck of the billion naira planes, allocating such hugh money yrly and basic amenities is not available to Nigerians.

Thank God nothing happened to my beloved president,bt linda did the punch news put the worth of the plane....I guess is just to ridicule our president again...Arc ugoes

Francis said...

God de

Dee Tee said...

Hmmmm. Billion Dollar Presidential fleet. No comment
...#NewsBlist

And me dey fly danfo up and down? Ogun kill una

Zenki brown said...

With A̶̲̥̅ll †ђξ billions, †ђξ jet stil embarrass Jona. Too bad

I swear my thoughts exactly

So many inept peeps, God go help us

Luipita nyong In sexual scene with 2 men

Odinanwa1 said...

Haba! Habatically!! People dey suffer with all dis kind amount wey una dey mention Ooº°˚

-Blunt Ibo boy-

Odinanwa1 said...

Your father is more stupid. Frustrated fool.

Odinanwa1 said...

Linda, why are you so Anti Jonathan?You hv made so much progress during his administration bcos of freedom of speech and what hv u.

I think it was designed 2 kill them mid air but it failed :(

Lmbo ok

God dey , smh

GOD LINDA, WHY ARE YOU FEEDING THE STUPIDITY AND CLUELESSNESS OF NIGERIANS?
PRESIDENTIAL FLEET DOES NOT MEAN THE JETS WERE BOUGHT DURING JONATHAN'S REGIME. IT WAS THERE BEFORE HIM AND IT'LL BE THERE AFTER HIM. SO STOP PICKING ON THIS PRESIDENT IN GENERAL. EVERY COUNTRY HAS A PRESIDENTIAL FLEET.

Visages Parfait said...

Very True!!!

Dear God,my country is truly blessed,all I ask is that you please,in your mercy,cause me to enjoy these billions of dollars,in my life time,as I do my legit business! In Jesus name_amen!
All this cash 4 jet,look how d security men r guardin the plane and occupants,ready 2 fight to d death. Its well o.

Jesus save us oh# can't believe such....words are coming from another human being mouth and sum of them are claiming christianity# so u want ano human being to die# may God forgive u# rememba jesus Golden rule....love ur neighbor as u love urself# ppl da are saying sum ppl dnt even hav a 2square meal# even jesus said it# as long as dis world exist dere must be poor ppl# same tin in america china dere must be poor ppl living in d slums as powerful their country is#. Quote: wat u wish 4 odas is watt God will.....4 u# iuntil u want oda ppl to rise u can't rise.....# egs in d bible elijah and elisha until elijah was taken up d double portion didn't fall(nb: elijah had to rise 4 elisha could move to d next level)# until jesus resurrect and was taken to heaven# power didn't fall# so until u want ppl to rise u will nt rise# God have mercy on us#

hmmmm....i can't fit shout. bros Jona, tell dem say u dey ghost mode and them no go see u.

We? Have u boarded a plane b4?

Guys relax it was just battery problem , one rewire guy has gone and jump started the plane

It is well with you my dear President.

Don't worry, the one u will use one day will develope fault mid flight and crash. Ewu togo.

If this is what u wished for number one citizen of this country, then trust me that ur wish will befall u earlier than u expected. Mentally derailled goat.

Seriously, his father is actually the stupid fool and obviously he is wishing his generation death.

AnnMarie said...

now they have had a taste of their own medicine

Anon 10.13am, my thoughts exactly. Would have solved so many of this country's problems.

Gbam!

@Odinawa1, how have u come to that conclusion. She has simply reported facts as stated by a National newspaper. Any lie dey inside the report?

Thatt jet really messed up...... imagine the blessing it would have been to naija if it had helped us get rid of that demonic lot....... anybody Wey yab me, u r an enemy of naija's progress & it would go back to ur head 100 times more In Jesus ' Name AMEN

That is the repercussion of a 900million naira worth of plane they call 9billion.who is fooling who.you all will die in your own corrupt mess.

Kai, why didn't it go down with them on board, at least it will have solved 90% of the country's problem immediately. Awon foolish oles.

Naija is so rich dat children to b born in d nxt 100yrs shall feel abundantly...beginning of his downfall In 2015

My dear, u r even looking for 1m, i'm asking for only N500,000 and my life will never remain d same.

All dos praying for d crash would av relocated to Niger Republic bcox d wrath of d South South and South East would av been too much and Boko Haram problem would av been a minor issue. D plan of d muslems to kill him wunt work. Dos planes av been der from Obasonjo to Yara'Dua so haters stop exhibiting yo illiteracy ye. Mtcheeeew. By Edonkumoh Dimien

What u wish others, comes back to u. This world is full of mystry. For those wishing GEJ dead. And press should stop giving us wrong info, those aircrafts was there before he becomes presdo and it will still be there when he leaves. Kay.

Sad news...... I was expecting to hear that the plane crashed due to technical issues... tired of this man called Jonathan and his administration. God help our unborn children sha.

Moron, is this Reno or his harlot?. Does the UK have even one plane in presidential fleet? The queen and pm both fly commercial. Maybe I should name more countries. Bought fools, you will all die with this greedy illiterate called Jonah, when the time comes. The bastard hasn't built one single world class hospital, keep buying planes and redecorating the villa. They have forgotten they serve the people. Bastards! We will sabotage these planes one day and they will all perish on the stupid planes.

Deolar08 said...

9billion for a jet! Holy mother of mary!!! We're on earth wil diz man dat claim he neva wore shoe get diz kind of money if nt for d money meant for d planning of d country!! God save us frm dis corrupting president nd politicians#

The tin is dat no President can satisfy Nigerians,dey must find 1 fault or d oder in d person,not dat dey can even do better wen dey get in dat possition!!! N dose wishin ur fellow human being dead,just av it @ d back of ur mind dat KARMA dose not av any friend!!!! God will continue 2 protect Mr President Amen!!!

The jet fuckup big time na for air the jet suppose develop fault make all of them die weak politicians . Secondary school children dey die he no go greet their family na campaign he dey do from kwara to minna people dey suffer dem dey carry 9billion naira buy jet join the ten we already dey ground God dey watch all of uuma . Na that petrol and plane crash go kill them

The reaction I get frm here tell me how disenchanted & angry Nigerians are wt their leaders. Leaders as suppose to serve their people, but in Naija reverse is d case. Just hope they change quickly b4 d anger of God catch up wt them.

Is that what u think? It wld have make this country a living hell for u and ur brainless colleagues droping comments without thinking. O my gosh! U are such a kid. Wasted my time.

Oku, D. E. said...

Nigerians grow up please!!! Grow out of this poverty mentality!!! So because people are hungry, the President should treak or enter ABC bus?! Or book ticket and fly N10,000 Aero?! We just see seemingly big figures and start shouting...This is a big embarrassment, not only to GEJ but to this country as a whole!

Finally, to the moron that cited the UK example, why dint you say America, Russia or any other one of them G8 countries?! Plus FYI, there is the Queen's Helicopter and d no.32 (The Royal) squadron of the Royal Airforce which Her majesty and her government sometimes use. Even if the UK dint have those, can you compare the MI5/MI6 to our JTF/DSS?!

Nigerians should stop giving extra taught to this kinda stories, because even in the next 20yrs the budget for things like this will still be there, infact the next administration may increase it!